Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your most hated phrase??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 801 ✭✭✭jobucks

giggsy664 wrote: »
    OMGWTFBBQROFLCOPTERLULZLOLFACEPALMGENTLEMENMENTLEGENLOLZ

GTFO

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

Just thought of another one:

People who say they got something "off" someone. IT'S FROM! You got that cd from Mary you eejit :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 183 ✭✭mikeystipey

wicklowgal wrote: »
    I hate HaTe HATE the phrase to 'shift' someone when referring to kissing someone...it's just disgusting. It sounds wrong, as if you're doing something much more physical than just kissing them!!

true, "wearin' the face off" is much nicer :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭smileysurfer

true, "wearin' the face off" is much nicer :D

Ya or ''i mauled the face off her'' is even more charming ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭TeletextPear

having your day in court / ill have my day in court

drives me fooking bonkers!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

Well that's a Harry Enfield thing, not a "proud Brit" thing.

The Fast Show.

The phrase that annoys me most is

"life is short"

Emmm,no,its not.

Name one thing that will take you longer than your life,you retards.
    :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

"I done it yesterday"

• Registered Users Posts: 245 ✭✭ballybay_eh

nedtheshed wrote: »
    The Fast Show.

The phrase that annoys me most is

"life is short"

Emmm,no,its not.

Name one thing that will take you longer than your life,you retards.
    :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

If you were especially fat it could take you a good while after you kick the bucket to lose it.

Or if you were impotent your whole life you wouldn't get hard until rigor mortis sets in.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭nibtrix

"rock down" as in "after I finished work I rocked down to the pub for a pint".

I know someone who always "rocks up" to the pub, trying to decide if one is more annoying than the other...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 443 ✭✭valery

havent read back on the thread so if my contribution is a second timer ...sorry.
    Anyway my all time most hated phrase is from a while back ....
    ya de ya , boiled me freekin blood i can tell yiz.

• Registered Users Posts: 173 ✭✭venividivici

i hate when people finish there sentences with 'like'...
    do ya know what i mean like, ya know that kinda way like..

no i don't bloody know like, so why don't ye tell me like..

i'm sure i do it myself but i try and avoid it!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭Bob Z

i hate when people finish there sentences with 'like'...
    do ya know what i mean like, ya know that kinda way like..

no i don't bloody know like, so why don't ye tell me like..

i'm sure i do it myself but i try and avoid it!!
    I know what you mean, like

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭Vanbis

"Do you know what i mean"

"Do you know like"

"Your barred for life" is another phrase i cant stand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 200 ✭✭Neverwhere

"you've ruined your life."

well **** you too. And you would know this exactly, HOW?

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,076 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

People who instead of saying

"Should I xxxxxx or xxxx".

Instead go all shakespearean and say

"To xxxxx or not to xxxxx"

That and I also hate when someone says "Sir, you're making a scene"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 200 ✭✭Neverwhere

MarkR wrote: »
    That and I also hate when someone says "Sir, you're making a scene"

hear it a little too often, do ya?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 The Prophecy

"******/black wasters!

I feel the red face when country people say that.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,076 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Neverwhere wrote: »
    hear it a little too often, do ya?
    A day isn't complete without a restraining order... :)

Sir, your making a scene

• Registered Users Posts: 255 ✭✭JC06

"It caught me unawares" :mad: is it not just unaware?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

Or the Simpsons I take it?

nedtheshed wrote: »
    Or the Simpsons I take it?

Or both

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

A guy I used to work with SERIOUSLY overused the word "irregardless". It always cropped up whenever he wanted to get a point across (while sounding super intelligent in his own mind...)

The day before he left I pointed out that "regardless" would have sufficed:p

Also; "Cheer up, it might never happen!"
    I'm not a violent person, but a red mist comes over me whenever I hear that one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

maloney333 wrote: »
    What's the story BOSS!!

They're talking about phrases that annoy them i think. ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,187 ✭✭✭jiltloop

When people say "same difference" instead of "that's the same thing". That really irks me. "Same difference" doesn't even make sense. It's grammatically redundant (most of the time).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭Lo23

When people say "What Not" instead of actually finishing their sentence, I just dont get it!

Agree with previous posters who mentioned "Going Forward" and "Touch Base"...:mad:

Guy in my office has a really annoying habit of typing EOM at the end of every email! Ehmmm I know its the End of Message because you have stopped typing you clown!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭eamon234

I noticed recently some of my friends started saying Kudos a lot.
    I killed them all.

• Registered Users Posts: 81 ✭✭barkingmadlolly

"Ill drop you a text"

FFS!!! How would you do that exactly??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 443 ✭✭valery

eamon234 wrote: »
    I noticed recently some of my friends started saying Kudos a lot.
    I killed them all.

Felicitations;)