Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Deadlifts are ripping my hands apart

• 05-06-2009 1:39am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 703 ✭✭✭

Just wondering if people find gloves effective at protecting their hands while deadlifting, or are they more for grip. Currently my hands are in bits:(:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

jayoo wrote: »
    Just wondering if people find gloves effective at protecting their hands while deadlifting, or are they more for grip. Currently my hands are in bits:(:mad:

Chalk is probably better than gloves. Dries out the skin so the bar is less likely to stick to the skin, get caught then tear the skin when it inevitably does move.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 703 ✭✭✭jayoo

excellent, cheers for the speedy reply, i think i will have a look for some chalk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Absolute Zero

dont use gloves the grip is usually ****, just stick to it your hands will get tougher over time and nothing says hard work without bleeding hands :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭ragg

Some Gyms wont allow chalk - consider liquid chalk...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

gloves are not allowed IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,454 ✭✭✭slicus ricus

You can get liquid chalk in some of the camping shops, there one (cant remember the name) beside tkmaxx in the blanchardstown shopping centre. It costs €11 and will last a good while. Works very well for deadlifting and any other exercise where grip is important. For me, chalk is a must when deadlifting.

Are you serious, ragg, that some gyms don't allow chalk??:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

You can get liquid chalk in some of the camping shops, there one (cant remember the name) beside tkmaxx in the blanchardstown shopping centre. It costs €11 and will last a good while. Works very well for deadlifting and any other exercise where grip is important. For me, chalk is a must when deadlifting.

very few commercial gyms i've been to allow chalk, its a pain in the arse to clean up when people get over-zealous with it

I don't know what the craic is with non-liquid chalk but I know Total Fitness are perfectly ok with the liquid stuff. TF aren't exactly the most commercial of all the commercial gyms though in that they cater for heavy lifting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭cardio,shoot me

id reccomend snow and rock in dundrum for chalk, they have 2 different sizes for chalk bags and liquid chalk for around 8 quid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,863 ✭✭✭kevpants

Our gym doesn't allow chalk. Seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭cardio,shoot me

ive had no complaints in TF sandyford about normal chalk, so i assume liquid would be ok, all though one personal trainer keeps bitchin to me about deadlifting barefoot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭dioltas

Ya, my college gym doesn't allow it, I'd say you'd get away with liquid stuff though.

Thanks for the camping shop tip, out of curiosity, why would you need liquid chalk for camping?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭gnolan

See the problem with gloves is you're effectively increasing the diameter of the bar, its marginal but it kind of turns it into a fatbar deadlift; and its easier (generally) when you're pulling a smaller diameter bar - it tends to dig in and grip easier. The gloves can stop you're hands gettin' banjaxed but will probably make the lift even harder.
    ive had no complaints in TF sandyford about normal chalk, so i assume liquid would be ok, all though one personal trainer keeps bitchin to me about deadlifting barefoot.

Which one? I assume you're wearing socks. They'd be better off getting on top of those spandex-wearing-motherfukcers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭floggg

Coach ripp says if you must wear gloves when lifting weights, make sure to get a pair that matches your purse. Its enough to put me off them!

kevpants wrote: »

Don't think that stops everyone, as i'm pretty sure i've seen people using it. The liquid stuff creates a fair bit of mess anyway, so I can only imagine what sort of mess the real stuff causes!
    dioltas wrote:
    out of curiosity, why would you need liquid chalk for camping?

It's for rock climbing, I think. When I said camping shops, perhap I should have said outdoor pursuits, might have been a more accurate description.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

ive had no complaints in TF sandyford about normal chalk, so i assume liquid would be ok,
    It is easier for gyms or any place to just ban things, then they can point to the rules if people are taking the piss. e.g. if some lad brings in a big chalk bucket and is dust is getting everywhere they can tell him to stop and he could not object if a rule is in place. The rule in place also means those who will break it will do it discretely. Sort of like the gardai turning a blind eye to some offences like jaywalking, but if a lad struts down the motorway he will be done. The law/rules are there for a reason many people breaking them are not doing what the law/rule intended to stop (i.e. dust all over the place).
    Transform wrote: »
    gloves are not allowed IMO
    On deadlifting or on all exercises? I use chalk, gloves, and more recently high strength anti-perspirant. If somebody can lift more weight with gloves would you still be against them.
    gnolan wrote: »
    See the problem with gloves is you're effectively increasing the diameter of the bar, its marginal but it kind of turns it into a fatbar deadlift; and its easier (generally) when you're pulling a smaller diameter bar
    I find over head dumbbell presses easier with a thicker bar. I can get 1-2 more reps in with gloves or wrapping the bar with a small towel. I can do more pullups with gloves too, I have very thin "grabber" gloves in work which I use all the time for lifting stuff. I do deadlifts with chalk though, depends on the exercise.
    floggg wrote: »
    Coach ripp says if you must wear gloves when lifting weights, make sure to get a pair that matches your purse.
    If wearing pink panties increased your reps or lifting ability by 10-15% I expect at least some people would wear them, and not give a sh!te what others think or say. I can see more reason for people to be against using lifting straps than gloves.

Gloves don't improve your grip. You may think they do because they make gripping the bar more comfortable but at heavier weights you'll just drop the bar. They save your hands that's all.

You could never say gloves help someone deadlift more. If someone can deadlift more in gloves it's because their hands are soft and gripping the bar is sore. Gloves will get rid of the soreness but not solve any problems. They'll very quickly get to a level where you simply can't hold on to the bar with gloves and taking them off means tearing strips off your hands.

Your hand alone is the best thing for you to grip with, chalk just makes sure it's completely dry so there's no lubrication between your palm and what you're gripping (giggidy). Over time your hands will harden. Trust me having a strong grip is an asset, people always seem to ask questions about getting around the issues they are having with grip. This is completely the wrong attitude to have, if you can't grip the bar and that's the reason you can't deadlift 150kg even though you think the rest of you can handle it, it counts for nothing. This is all not to mention the importance of being able to squeeze a bar tightly in lifts which actually helps you move more weight. Grip is an important part of overall strength and is closely linked to the effectiveness of your CNS.

I've read recently that gripping the bar is the most CNS intensive part of deadlifting and is usually the main culprit in fatigue. It's been proven that deadlifting with straps reduces CNS fatigue. You could then make the argument that you should always deadlift in straps, this is an incorrect conclusion as well, taxing your CNS will return great results in strength gains, it just means you need to rest often and back right off when you start to feel the malaise that it is your nervous system getting shot. Deadlifting and resting from deadlifting are as effective as eachother and need to be balanced.

God that was quite a ramble, what was my point again? Oh yeah, gloves are for teh gheys :)

Awesome post Kev!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭Magic Eight Ball

I had the same issue when dead lifting/Framers walk etc. I don’t mind too much anymore, my hands have seemed to develop a thick skin at this stage and cut lest often.

Wear your calluses with pride my friend.. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 859 ✭✭✭BobbyOLeary

The main problem (I've found anyway) is not callus formation but rather a tear of those calluses. Calluses form quickly enough, you need to file them down and let them grow again. Eventually you'll get to a stage where filing your hands will leave you with about two weeks of tear free usage.

This advice is coming from my experience of regularly crossfitting, CF is pretty grip intensive (think kipping pullups nearly everyday and deads and so on) and I've tried loads of ways of reducing my tears.

There's a good tutorial on the BeastSkills website but the best I've found is to grab a fine enough pumice stone and go at your calluses cold. It's been a few weeks now since I tore my hands thanks to that method.

Um

does anyone else bite their callouses........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Very few things are more satisfying that chewing your calluses!

Jayoo there should be no problem using chalk in NUI KF, I have it in every week and nothing's been said.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Your problem there lads is that you asked. Pleading ignorance is the best form of defence! Tbh I think liquid chalks good enough for pretty much everything exepct the heaviest of deadlifts.
    Coach ripp says if you must wear gloves when lifting weights, make sure to get a pair that matches your purse. Its enough to put me off them!

How witty..... Hanley says Coach Ripp should make sure he's wearing a helmet up there on his high horse!
    The main problem (I've found anyway) is not callus formation but rather a tear of those calluses. Calluses form quickly enough, you need to file them down and let them grow again. Eventually you'll get to a stage where filing your hands will leave you with about two weeks of tear free usage.

This advice is coming from my experience of regularly crossfitting, CF is pretty grip intensive (think kipping pullups nearly everyday and deads and so on) and I've tried loads of ways of reducing my tears.

There's a good tutorial on the BeastSkills website but the best I've found is to grab a fine enough pumice stone and go at your calluses cold. It's been a few weeks now since I tore my hands thanks to that method.

It's weird (and I'm probably about to jinx it) but I've NEVER torn a callous. I tend to pick at them every few weeks when I noticed one getting noticeably big but I don't really have any set routine!

When the bar slips or your grip's not solid is probably when you're most likely to tear one... another reason to use some kind of chalk!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 703 ✭✭✭jayoo

Lots of good info guys.:pac:

Brian ,Did you get your chalk in Galway??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

No but you should be able to get ordinary chalk in any of the climbing/outdoors shops. None of them have liquid chalk though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 Queev18

Personally, I use sandpaper when deadlifting or romanian deadlifting. Just have the rough side on both your hand and the bar. Works really well and its a cheap alternative

It's weird (and I'm probably about to jinx it) but I've NEVER torn a callous.

Colm is the same, I've only every seen him tear his skin once. I've been tearing them since the get go, though that was due to a bad grip. I'd laugh if you tore your hands up the next day in the gym after saying that though :pac::pac:

Queev18 wrote: »
    Personally, I use sandpaper when deadlifting or romanian deadlifting. Just have the rough side on both your hand and the bar. Works really well and its a cheap alternative

Hard****ingCore!!

Mental.... but +1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Gloves don't improve your grip. You may think they do because they make gripping the bar more comfortable but at heavier weights you'll just drop the bar. They save your hands that's all.

You could never say gloves help someone deadlift more. If someone can deadlift more in gloves it's because their hands are soft and gripping the bar is sore. Gloves will get rid of the soreness but not solve any problems. They'll very quickly get to a level where you simply can't hold on to the bar with gloves and taking them off means tearing strips off your hands.

Your hand alone is the best thing for you to grip with, chalk just makes sure it's completely dry so there's no lubrication between your palm and what you're gripping (giggidy). Over time your hands will harden. Trust me having a strong grip is an asset, people always seem to ask questions about getting around the issues they are having with grip. This is completely the wrong attitude to have, if you can't grip the bar and that's the reason you can't deadlift 150kg even though you think the rest of you can handle it, it counts for nothing. This is all not to mention the importance of being able to squeeze a bar tightly in lifts which actually helps you move more weight. Grip is an important part of overall strength and is closely linked to the effectiveness of your CNS.

I've read recently that gripping the bar is the most CNS intensive part of deadlifting and is usually the main culprit in fatigue. It's been proven that deadlifting with straps reduces CNS fatigue. You could then make the argument that you should always deadlift in straps, this is an incorrect conclusion as well, taxing your CNS will return great results in strength gains, it just means you need to rest often and back right off when you start to feel the malaise that it is your nervous system getting shot. Deadlifting and resting from deadlifting are as effective as eachother and need to be balanced.

God that was quite a ramble, what was my point again? Oh yeah, gloves are for teh gheys :)
    That's a terrible post. I agree with almost all of it. I literally forgot to open a door fully before walking through (into) it a day after a strength test. CNS fatigue... it can kill.

The reason the CNS is most fatigued on the deadlift is the grip, as you said, and that's because gripping could be, per amount of muscle used, one of the strongest actions pound for pound since it uses so little muscle. That's a dreadful sentence right there but I think most will know what I mean. So basically, when you talk about CNS strength versus having big muskles to someone who wants to do 500 reps of everything per night, grip is a good example to use.

As for gloves, I've never seen anyone lift heavier because they were wearing gloves. Wait a sec, I've never seen anyone who wears gloves lifting heavy! I can see why a torn callous might need to be protected, but they will not and cannot improve your grip. Grip is not friction, which gloves might help with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭crotalus667

I may of missed it , but has any one suggested straps ??

Roper wrote: »
    I agree with almost all of it.

What's going on? I'm scared.

I only agreed with the content. If it makes you feel better though: While there were some high plain grammatical errors, overall the syntax was good and I was generally happy with your spelling. However your prose style is disjointed and you seem to lack the ability to link one paragraph to the next. There were other things I'd change but overall it was a solid C.

You could never say gloves help someone deadlift more.
    I can certainly do more overhead presses with gloves. And more pullups since my bar is smooth. I deadlift with chalk.
    Grip is not friction, which gloves might help with.
    Yes, and so if they do help I don't see the big problem. I am not too concerned about how they improve my ability, i.e. is it grip, friction, comfort etc. All that matters to me is they DO work for me so I will continue to wear them. I can do more chinups indoors than outdoors as I find the breeze distracting. I think Hanley said he could lift more with a particular bar which had better knurling on it. Maybe I am just used to lifting with gloves since I wear them all the time in work when lifting stuff.

John Brookfield has written a lot on grip strength, and he favours the use of ropes and materials which are compressible. Maybe it is the compressibility added to the bar that makes it easier for me. I sometimes wrap my dumbbell with a small towel, being compressible allows me to really grip tight and focus more on the fact I am gripping it. It also thickens the bar and I find it easier to press a thicker bar, some other poster mentioned this too recently. I deadlifted on a different bar in a gym yesterday and found it slightly easier as it was thicker than my bar at home.

rubadub wrote: »

If wearing pink panties increased your reps or lifting ability by 10-15% I expect at least some people would wear them, and not give a sh!te what others think or say. I can see more reason for people to be against using lifting straps than gloves.

I think his point is that gloves DON'T actually help you lift any more - the only thing they actually do was stop you getting calluses, and if you are more concerned about protecting your frshly manicured hands than lifting heavy, than you should treat yourself to a nice purse! Or something to that effect (his opinion, not necessarily mine).

Personally, i used to use gloves, but found that my grip strength never actually got any better while wearing them, and struggled to up the weight on deadlifts. I ditched them, grew some calluses, and now have no problems with the grip. its the weights on the end of the bar that are killing me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

I think his point is that gloves DON'T actually help you lift any more - the only thing they actually do was stop you getting calluses, and if you are more concerned about protecting your frshly manicured hands than lifting heavy, than you should treat yourself to a nice purse! Or something to that effect (his opinion, not necessarily mine).

Utter nonsense. When i started deadlifting the callouses tore a lot, if i didn't bother using gloves those tears would never heal and in turn effect the amount i can lift.
    Tired of the macho rent-a-quote bull**** that is attached to weightlifting.

Davei141 wrote: »

Personally I'm tired of people not addressing a very simple problem. Take care of your hands and your calluses won't rip.

rubadub wrote: »
    I can certainly do more overhead presses with gloves. And more pullups since my bar is smooth. I deadlift with chalk.

Yes, and so if they do help I don't see the big problem. I am not too concerned about how they improve my ability, i.e. is it grip, friction, comfort etc. All that matters to me is they DO work for me so I will continue to wear them.
    I don't really understand what you mean. Are you saying that you don't care if your grip isn't aligned with your deadlift weight, or that you think gloves are training your grip?

I don't really understand what you mean. Are you saying that you don't care if your grip isn't aligned with your deadlift weight,
    Not sure what you mean either! if you mean aligned meaning weak point then I don't think it is an issue, I could probably work on other areas to improve my deadlifts.

I only use chalk on deadlifts. I do not consider my grip to be a weak point, in fact I train quite a lot I would say my grip would be stronger than most at a similar strength level to me in other lifts. I use hand grippers several times a week, and do isometric closed holds with them.
    you think gloves are training your grip?
    I think they do, people will use thicker bars to train grip, and gloves will have a slight increase in diameter. I just prefer the feel of them, and seem to be able to grip harder with them. I have to be "forced" into isometric grips, by that I mean I prefer a resistance which forces me to exert force, rather than just attempt to grip hard.

e.g. if I do pullups I know gripping the bar tight will improve my performance, I can do 15 deadhang rope pullups, and probably the same number of regular pullups. I expect many would find the rope pullups harder, but for me the fact I am forced into gripping the rope so tightly seems to tension my whole upperbody which in turn seems to give me more power. After rope pullups my hands and fingers are in agony, I can barely open my hand for a minute or so, and my forearm veins are very prominent. There is no way I could just grip a bit of free rope with such intensity, I just mentally could not do it. I also think if I could grip the bar with such intensity for normal pullups then my reps would go up too.

The towel on the dumbbell might also be forcing me to grip extra hard which seems to deliver me more power, I also sometimes do one arm presses with a gripper in my free hand, which also seems to give me more power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭biomed32

the shop is called 53 degrees north

Utter nonsense. When i started deadlifting the callouses tore a lot, if i didn't bother using gloves those tears would never heal and in turn effect the amount i can lift.

You're not actually disproving his point there - you used the gloves only to prevent calluses/callus tears, but it doesn't actually improve you're grip strength at all.

My guess is that if you ditched the gloves, then after you had built up a bit of thick skin at the base of you're fingers, callus formation would reduce significantly and you would build up grip strength. Just like first few times you walk around bare foot you get your feet torn to shreds, but if you come from someplace where shoes don't yet exist, you pretty quickly get thick skin on you're feet and can hack it no problem.

Now, Ripp does actually state that if you're calluses are torn so badly that its either train with gloves or don't train, go with the gloves, but only in those limited circumstances.

I also meant to add to the above post that its not that he is against aids when lifting, and i am sure he would endorse gloves if they actually worked. He just doesn't think they do. He does endorse chalk - in fact, he insists upon it, on the basis that it dries out the skin as stated above which helps prevent against said calluses. But more importantly, he endorses a proper grip, with bar as close to the base of the fingers as possible, to prevent the bar pinching the skin and damaging it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

I also meant to add to the above post that its not that he is against aids when lifting

Yeah, just make sure you're wearing knee high socks when you deadlift and a t-shirt when you squat or bench!!! :D

You're not actually disproving his point there - you used the gloves only to prevent calluses/callus tears, but it doesn't actually improve you're grip strength at all.

My grip strength is fine at the moment it hasn't failed me so far. The tears in the skin were becoming too much of a problem once i went above 110kg and started taking too long to heal. time that i would rather spend lifting. I didn't mention gloves improving grip. I mean they stop my hands from tearing which enables me to keep lifting.
    My guess is that if you ditched the gloves, then after you had built up a bit of thick skin at the base of you're fingers, callus formation would reduce significantly and you would build up grip strength. Just like first few times you walk around bare foot you get your feet torn to shreds, but if you come from someplace where shoes don't yet exist, you pretty quickly get thick skin on you're feet and can hack it no problem.

I understand what you are saying and yes the skin on my hands are thickening up even with the gloves on due to the weight. They are thickening without tears and once they can withstand over a 100kg with multiply reps without my skin hanging off i will ditch them.
    Now, Ripp does actually state that if you're calluses are torn so badly that its either train with gloves or don't train, go with the gloves, but only in those limited circumstances.

I also meant to add to the above post that its not that he is against aids when lifting, and i am sure he would endorse gloves if they actually worked. He just doesn't think they do. He does endorse chalk - in fact, he insists upon it, on the basis that it dries out the skin as stated above which helps prevent against said calluses. But more importantly, he endorses a proper grip, with bar as close to the base of the fingers as possible, to prevent the bar pinching the skin and damaging it.

But it work's for me and a few others at the moment. No doubt i will end up ditching them in the long run while the skin hardens but for the time being im not letting my hands get in the state they got in first time deadlifting heavy.

But it's not working. Your hands are going to get the shock of your life when you ditch the gloves and they are going to tear even worse because chances are you're going to be deadlifting more weight than you were when you originally adopted gloves. If you'd just let your hands heal and harden back when you started you'd be over it now.

If you decide to use gloves to deadlift there are either going to be two options:

1). You eventually get to the point where you miss deadlifts because you keep dropping the bar rather than fail to lock it out and you settle for this being the case in all your future deadlifts.

2). You eventually get to the point where you miss deadlifts because you keep dropping the bar rather than fail to lock it out and you ditch the gloves and your sub 100kg soft hands get torn to shreds by the new bigger weight.

It's not "utter nonsense" nor is it "macho". I'm not going to recommend a beginner do something deadlifting that is just to make his balls swell. I'm not slagging off gloves so we can all stand around high fiving each other about how tough we are, using gloves when deadlifting makes no sense.

My grip strength is fine at the moment it hasn't failed me so far. The tears in the skin were becoming too much of a problem once i went above 110kg and started taking too long to heal. time that i would rather spend lifting. I didn't mention gloves improving grip. I mean they stop my hands from tearing which enables me to keep lifting.

I understand what you are saying and yes the skin on my hands are thickening up even with the gloves on due to the weight. They are thickening without tears and once they can withstand over a 100kg with multiply reps without my skin hanging off i will ditch them.

I don't think you will ever get to that point while wearing gloves - your hands will only adapt to the conditions you train them in, so they will only get as tough as they need to under the gloves.

When you do switch, you will get your hands cut up a bit, but are you not better to do it as soon as possible, when the weights are low, than waiting till you're lifting huge weights when it will be a lot worse.

Don't take my word for it - i know jack **** about this stuff. But the fact that i managed to quote Rippetoe and still get Kevpants to agree with me means i must be right this time:D:!!!!!!!

But the fact that i managed to quote Rippetoe and still get Kevpants to agree with me means i must be right this time:D:!!!!!!!

This is very true. Rarely do the planets align so.

Funnily enough, I have never had a callous cut either. I used to wear gloves for all my training back in the day but ditched them after a while. I probably wouldn't be putting myself in the firing line as much as the crossfit guys in terms of callous tears though.

For deadlifting, I think chalk is defo the way to go due to its anti-persperant qualities. Definately enables you to get the most from your grip.

What are peoples opinions on wraps for deadlifting when you start lifting heavier. Are they worthwhile or just counterproductive? Should they be used in the same manner as a belt (i.e. when you put a certain amount of weight on the bar, should you use them)?

But it's not working. Your hands are going to get the shock of your life when you ditch the gloves and they are going to tear even worse because chances are you're going to be deadlifting more weight than you were when you originally adopted gloves. If you'd just let your hands heal and harden back when you started you'd be over it now.

They are hardening without a doubt because i tried a rep the other day without them, it burned like **** but no tear. im still getting callouses without tears. By the end of the month the gloves will be gone.
    If you decide to use gloves to deadlift there are either going to be two options:

1). You eventually get to the point where you miss deadlifts because you keep dropping the bar rather than fail to lock it out and you settle for this being the case in all your future deadlifts.

But the only time i dropped the bar was with a double overhand grip, haven't once dropped it since changing to over & under
    2). You eventually get to the point where you miss deadlifts because you keep dropping the bar rather than fail to lock it out and you ditch the gloves and your sub 100kg soft hands get torn to shreds by the new bigger weight.

When that point comes along they will be hardened already.
    It's not "utter nonsense" nor is it "macho". I'm not going to recommend a beginner do something deadlifting that is just to make his balls swell. I'm not slagging off gloves so we can all stand around high fiving each other about how tough we are, using gloves when deadlifting makes no sense.

Going on about gloves and purses is soundbiting. If this thread was deadlifts are ripping my shins apart everyone be saying wear football socks. Football socks have no use apart from protecting your shins. Gloves for the time being protect my callouses. They still harden slowly on squats and bench. I have no problem with grip near my max so all this dropping the bar stuff won't apply for a while yet, by which time the hands will be hardened and the gloves discarded. Till then, ill keep using.

They are hardening without a doubt because i tried a rep the other day without them, it burned like **** but no tear. im still getting callouses without tears. By the end of the month the gloves will be gone.

But the only time i dropped the bar was with a double overhand grip, haven't once dropped it since changing to over & under

Hey look do what you want. But for the purposes of this thread being read by countless other people with soft hands I can't just sit back and leave it be.

All your advice is based on assumptions, you assume your hands are hardening, you assume at the end of the month you'll have a set of hands able for your deadlifts. I've been to calous city, bought a mug and a t-shirt, and I can tell you your hand troubles haven't been fixed by the gloves.

You say you did a rep with no tear, you won't get a tear after one rep. Try a few weeks of repeated deadlifting on your previously gloved hands and come back to me.

Hey look do what you want. But for the purposes of this thread being read by countless other people with soft hands I can't just sit back and leave it be.

All your advice is based on assumptions, you assume your hands are hardening, you assume at the end of the month you'll have a set of hands able for your deadlifts. I've been to calous city, bought a mug and a t-shirt, and I can tell you your hand troubles haven't been fixed by the gloves.

You say you did a rep with no tear, you won't get a tear after one rep.

I am not assuming they are hardening, i can see and feel the evidence. Plenty of callouses but as i said callouses aren't/weren't the problem. The problem was i did get tears and pretty bad tears at that from one rep, i was not used to that weight or the olympic bar and in turn i wouldn't of been able to repeatedly deadlift for few a weeks had i not stuck the gloves on.
    Try a few weeks of repeated deadlifting on your previously gloved hands and come back to me.

Gladly. You said you have been to callous city, what did you do when you got multiple tears on your hands? Did you repeatedly deadlift for a few weeks with them?

I am not assuming they are hardening, i can see and feel the evidence. Plenty of callouses but as i said callouses aren't/weren't the problem. The problem was i did get tears and pretty bad tears at that from one rep, i was not used to that weight or the olympic bar and in turn i wouldn't of been able to repeatedly deadlift for few a weeks had i not stuck the gloves on.

Gladly. You said you have been to callous city, what did you do when you got multiple tears on your hands? Did you repeatedly deadlift for a few weeks with them?

ah ya!! i've bled all over countless bars(and no it wasnt my TOM). suck it up man