Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If you can't shoot, should you/do you give up?

• 03-06-2009 9:32am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭

Interesting debate the other night, I though I would put the question here for more opinions...

A new shooter, who decides to try the sport, and makes no real shape at it, can they continue for years without losing interest?

At my club we have a few very average shooters, they can hit the 50m 6 diagram target with 20 shots, but you would have trouble knowing which 5 were meant for which diagram, yet they have been shooting for years and take as much enjoyment as anyone else. Even excitment at a diagram with 5 on the black.

I think thats great; they are competeing aganist themselves and far from getting disheartened seeing cards with scores of 190+ they strive harder.

We are talking members of 10+ years here.

Is the trend the same in other peoples experience?

**EDIT** Also if you are of 'reasonable' standard shooting (hitting 10s, 9s and the odd 8 or 7), how long have you been shooting and what's your ambition, if any?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

I've seen shooters down here spend forty years shooting and never break 560 in a match and keep shooting. So long as they're safe on the range, and happy doing what they're doing, more power to them. Their membership fees and entry fees help pay to keep the clubs going just as much as the 590+ shooters and the guys going for international matches.

Personally, I'm one of them when it comes to air pistol - I still haven't reached my first target with that sport (keeping all the shots in the black for a full match). But I still enjoy it, and I like that there's still a challange there.

In fact, if it was too easy (if someone said, here, shoot at this 300m target instead), I'd probably drop it.

In fact, we have more problems with retention on the other side of the equation - relatively (ie. as a percentage), we've lost far more high-end international-level shooters in the last ten years than we've lost long-term plinkers. It takes far more effort to get up to the top and stay there for them than they can afford when it comes to holding down day jobs and paying morgages and raising kids and so forth (and it probably doesn't help when they go to Finland or Germany or wherever and see how good a full-time organisation with lots of resources can run things, and then come back home where we can't do that). And they find rapidly that they don't have competition at home to jostle with - they get to the stage where they beat everyone in the Nationals by a dozen points without trying and then they look abroad and see they're at the bottom of the ladder, and it's such a kick in the teeth that it's painful to go on. They have to shell out €1,500 or more to go to a match abroad where they have the competition, and then it doesn't jostle them, it stomps on their necks. The plinkers may actually have it easier in this case...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 416 ✭✭G17

demonloop wrote: »
    Is the trend the same in other peoples experience?

I get really frustrated with the plinkers (in my head). Money is so tight that it galls me to see guys coming to the range week after week and just flinging lead with no intention or indeed desire to improve their scores. There's one guy who I've tried to coach; when I shoot a (fairly) tight group with his gun he always says "now, why can't I do that?". He's tried every accessory/round/dvd/wind meter under the sun but refuses to go back to basics, GGRRRR!!!

BUT, he loves the range, and loves to shoot so I have to remind myself that not everyone has a 'need' to improve.

If I come back from the range not having learned something, I despair.

So in short, long live plinking and those who go to the range to have a coffee, chat and a biscuit and maybe shoot a ten once in a while! :)

God knows how I'll be when the IZH-46M arrives and have to start from scratch........:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

If ya ain't enjoying it, why do it ?

I like to shoot, don't matter what really, scores are not part of it. I shoot 'cause I ENJOY IT :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭bigred

G17 wrote: »
    God knows how I'll be when the IZH-46M arrives and have to start from scratch........:confused:

The IZH is a thing of great (twisted) beauty. I dunno, it's hard to explain, but air pistol is very pure if I can put it that way. There's no outside factors to affect your shot, like inconsistent ammo, wind, inherent inaccuracy. If you get your shot right everytime, every shot will be a 10. Without being distracted by recoil, empty casings and that lovely smell of cordite, you can really focus on the key elements of a shot.

If you put the time in, she'll reward your effort with top scores! I got to 553, and traded up, but you know what, I kinda regretted it as I'm struggling with my scores now (more to do with 3 kids under 5 though :rolleyes:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

I don't really do any plinking at smallbore rifle or even air rifle. It's all training there and all trying to learn more and get to the top. When I do stuff like the VCRAI shoots, I go to have fun, and while I'm still competitive, I don't mind so much one way or the other. With regard to ambition, I'll take it as far as possible, and do a lot of work for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

I think the only way the thread title would have any validity would be if the word 'safely' was inserted:
    If you can't shoot safely, should you/do you give up?

...to which the answer would be, of course, "yes".

Provided a person isn't a danger to themselves or others, everything else is irrelevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭dresden8

Dresden like make gun go bang.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,696 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Started going shooting when i was 5. Got into target work when i was 15. Average score was 137 - 155. I carried on that way for well over a year just enjoying the buzz of shooting. Still love shooting over 30 years on from when i first held a gun.

I gradually got better as the years went on and started to branch out into other disciplines (fullbore, pistol and clays). I hold my own and on more than a few occassions have won competitions. My father though is a plinker. He shoots away every week non fail. Score is irrelevant. Sometimes the gun never comes out of the case. Talking, having the craic and slagging is all thats on the menu for the day. I'm with G17 on the fact that i like to come away from the range with a little more knowledge than i went in with, but to be honest if it ever got to the point were i stressed, worried and fretted over every little detail, mistake or off day and the sport became a chore then its bye bye range and hello full time game shooting. Just me, myself and i.
    Originally posted by bunny shooter:

If ya ain't enjoying it, why do it ?

Sums it all up really, doesn't it.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭Kimber

Do you know what does it for me.
    The Banter, the cup of tea, the stories the fact that a bunch of like minded individuals can have a break for a few hours.

To add the topping. A few hours shooting at targets and really enjoying yourself.

Simple really. But hey thats me.

Funny that - I find the best thing about it all is the lack of talking. Pull trigger, shoot target, there's the score right there, no human getting in the way deciding on points for style or who's a better drinking buddy. Very equalising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭fish slapped

For me, and lord knows I would not be a great shot, it's down to that peace, quite and the inner control when placing the cross hair on target. Being able to shut everything else out, problems at work - if there is work, hassles at home , etc... just me , my gun, the target, my breathing, heart rate ... breath ... pause... squeeze and breath...

Oh and talking sh1t and slagging WITH YE LADS..

FS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭ayapatrick

if they get enjoyment out of it, why would ya give it up no matter how bad ya are? its all about havin a good time, getttin outta the house!