Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Good weather brings Dog Owner Aggro!!

• 26-05-2009 2:42pm
    Registered Users Posts: 357 ✭✭

Had an unfortunate run in while walking our dogs last night. Walk was over and back in the carpark, one dog (Golden Retriever) was in the car and was about to get the Newfoundland in when he spotted a distraction! He's 11 months and loves people and other dogs so always wants to say hi. He hasn't a bad bone in his body and has on occasion even been too punchy and goofy to defend himself from attacking terriers. So the distraction was two guys in their mid sixties coming towards us with their dogs. Our guy was ON LEAD (and its only about a meter long) but moved forward towards them; to say hi really and in no way lunged, barked, growled, acted threatening etc but as I turned to gain purchase on the lead I see one of the old guys raise his walking stick up over his head and go to let him have it.

Now he already had it held by the bottom to get maximum force with the heavy handle on it so he obviously came towards us prepared to wield it. The car park had room for them to pass we were at our vehicle and the dog was on lead and couldn't get near them if I didn't want him to. Most are happy to say hi to him and let dogs be dogs and have a sniff etc but this guy if I hadn't pulled the dog away was gonna crack him over the head. I told him firmly and in no uncertain terms that the stick wasn't necessary and would not be tolerated to which he responded "don't you worry I'll let him have it", "I'll defend myself" to which I asked him; against what?; the dog is harmless, fully under control and was not threatening, he said "he moved towards me I'll let him have it" I pointed out that they moved towards us but we didn't need to take sticks to them and twas his dogs that were doing all the barking and growling all the while. I'd imagine they get the stick as well and that’s certain peoples "way" of training and discipline.

It went on etc then with much grumbling and the likes from both parties before they finally walked off and left myself and my girlfriend raging. I understand a big dog requires measures to make sure people don't feel threatened etc which is why he was on leash and is only allowed interact with people who wish to interact with him. If he'd managed to hit him with the stick I don't know what I woulda done, I would have lost it altogether. Suppose legally the gardai wouldn't wanna hear about it would they? anyone else a have similar experience. I'm sure we'll meet them again on that walk as its coming into summer now and its getting busier.

• Registered Users Posts: 183 ✭✭Allgäuerin

I had similar experience in Germany. I was walking my dog (Westie) on a long flexie lead when we met a guy with a Deutsch Kurzhaar (Pointer). Before i could pull my dog back he was over for a sniff. At this moment the other dog owner pulled his dog back and started attacking my dog with the leather lead. Totaly shocked i asked the guy why he was doing this. Answer: Your dog (westie) attacked my dog (Pointer)!!!!!:eek:
    I was so shocked that i couldnt say anything at this time.
    But from this on i started to inform every dog owner in the area what happed with my dog and this guy. This wasnt maybe the right way but it helped me to compensate my anger about this guy!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 357 ✭✭Skillie

well i'm glad at least we let the guy have it verbally. they were outraged because they saw us as youngins (i'm 30 btw) givin them lip and being disrespectful. I'd rather impale him on the stick than let him assault my dog with it though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭sorella

REALLY; Some people!

I have only been around dogs a couple of years but even I know when there is danger and when they are just curious.

Newfies are gentle giants. Beautiful dogs. Met one once and loved him on sight. The first time I had seen our bumptious wee dog overfaced too:) As she stared up at this great bear.

Blessings and peace this night. Give that dog a hug from me.

sorella wrote: »
    REALLY; Some people!

I have only been around dogs a couple of years but even I know when there is danger and when they are just curious.

Newfies are gentle giants. Beautiful dogs. Met one once and loved him on sight. The first time I had seen our bumptious wee dog overfaced too:) As she stared up at this great bear.

Blessings and peace this night. Give that dog a hug from me.

thanks the big baby was oblivious anyway they are so sweet and gentle but not the quickest on the uptake or at interpreting when they are not the centre of the party!! he just looked up at us arguing with his curious face and a heart full of love as always!

• Registered Users Posts: 37,297 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Skillie wrote: »
    he responded "don't you worry I'll let him have it", "I'll defend myself" to which I asked him; against what?; the dog is harmless, fully under control and was not threatening, he said "he moved towards me I'll let him have it"
    Some people have a very big fear of dogs. I used to freeze when coming home from primary school, and fairly big dogs would be sniffing me, and parking. I'd be petrified. Have a westie now, and the fear of dogs is pretty much gone.
    I pointed out that they moved towards us but we didn't need to take sticks to them and twas his dogs that were doing all the barking and growling all the while. I'd imagine they get the stick as well and that’s certain peoples "way" of training and discipline.
    If you see a big unknown dog come at you, fair play for thinking it wants to say hi. My own westie was attacked by a dog on my road (luckily not badly): if it gets close (said large dog roams free, have never seen it on a leash) when I'm there, I stamp on the ground, telling it to go home. As I said, my fear of dogs is pretty much gone, but if I think the dog is coming at me agressivly, I'd probably kick it in the head.

=-=

Likewise with your dog. It may be friendly, but if it lunges at someone, they may only see a big dog lunging at them.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

Being frightened of a Golden Retreiver is like being scared of a pillow in fairness.

I am trying to train my dog (husky) not to jump on people . I have been in a few situations now were people approach me, especially teens trying to pet him. They dont even ask and they actually start calling him from across the street . When i dont respond or ignore it they get a bit agro . I had one polish girl actually follow me whistling untill she caught up. I just pretend to listen to my walkman.

• Registered Users Posts: 200 ✭✭Crafty-Chel

Aren't some people such drama queens, id have stuck the stick up his nose... wat a twit...

fair play for standing up for you doggie, people think they can say and do anything they want.. if anyone every touched any of mine id break there neck... animal cruelty brings me to tears... i dont know if you saw the other post about the guy attacking the dog, its fecking shocking what people do...:confused:

i dont know if you saw the other post about the guy attacking the dog, its fecking shocking what people do...:confused:
    Aye. Fear prevents you from thinking straight sometimes.

• Registered Users Posts: 527 ✭✭✭Call me Socket

the_syco wrote: »
    Aye. Fear prevents you from thinking straight sometimes.
    :confused: I don't understand your comment in relation to the guy attacking the dog....

• Registered Users Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

I have learned that you can split the people that we meet when out with the dogs into two camps:

The majority who just looooove dogs and have to go and give them attention/ cuddles / treats, no matter what we on the other end of the lead think about it or are currently doing. Any objections go totally unprocessed.

or

The minority who just dislike/fear dogs and regard them as potential killers and gather up their children/dogs in shrieking hystrionics no matter how much in control of the dogs we actually are. Any assurances fall on deaf ears.

Such is life.

the_syco wrote: »
    Some people have a very big fear of dogs. I used to freeze when coming home from primary school, and fairly big dogs would be sniffing me, and parking. I'd be petrified. Have a westie now, and the fear of dogs is pretty much gone.

If you see a big unknown dog come at you, fair play for thinking it wants to say hi. My own westie was attacked by a dog on my road (luckily not badly): if it gets close (said large dog roams free, have never seen it on a leash) when I'm there, I stamp on the ground, telling it to go home. As I said, my fear of dogs is pretty much gone, but if I think the dog is coming at me agressivly, I'd probably kick it in the head.

=-=

Likewise with your dog. It may be friendly, but if it lunges at someone, they may only see a big dog lunging at them.

did you read my post at all? the guy had his own dogs (plural) they were yappy little agressive dogs. don't think he had a fear of dogs as he owned them. he approached us we were stationary. the dog moved forward as much as the lead would allow, i'll repeat in no way scarey or threatening he didn't lunge, run, jump etc the guy approached already with the stick held by the end so he made up his mind in advance.

ps why were the dogs sniffing you and parking? do you mean panting?

Well of course Newfies are not dogs at all; they are really BEARS.

I am fairly new to dogs and could not believe the size of him.

Yes slow on the uptake thankfully with that weight.

Next were two Irish wolfhounds who raced up to me on a beach, with their owner saying they were too strong for him to control. ....beautiful animals...

thanks the big baby was oblivious anyway they are so sweet and gentle but not the quickest on the uptake or at interpreting when they are not the centre of the party!! he just looked up at us arguing with his curious face and a heart full of love as always!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

OP, i do understand how you feel, its happened to me on many occasions with my Boxer. You do have to understand however, that some people do have a massive fear of dogs, even if the do look like teddy bears.

On the other hand, there is no need to react the way he did. Just take the long way around if you see a dog like that. Not threaten to hit it with a stick, and potentially cause yourself harm.

• Registered Users Posts: 308 ✭✭Welruc

I was out with one of my mastiffs for his usual walk when we met a woman with a young girl and her king charles coming in the other direction, she crossed over to the other side which was fair enough but when the young girl asked why they had to do this she told her it was because my dog would probably eat them and the dog!! I couldn't believe her attitude. My dog is always well behaved.

:confused: I don't understand your comment in relation to the guy attacking the dog....
    Sorry, I was responding to number post 7, which seemed to have been responding to me.
    did you read my post at all?
    Aye, I read your post. He should have given you more space, but meh, these things happen.
    the guy approached already with the stick held by the end so he made up his mind in advance.
    Again, I agree with the fact that he did it wrongly, but he could have been fearful of the dog. Also, he could have been one of those f**kers who things that hitting a dog with a stick is the "right" thing to do :rolleyes:
    ps why were the dogs sniffing you and parking? do you mean panting?
    No idea. I would have been probably 9 or 10 years old at the time, and all I remember is that they'd bark (slight type-o in the previous post), come over to me, and I'd be rooted to the spot, completely terrified of them. There'd be usually 3 or more of them. What can I say: when a dogs head would be at the height of your elbow starts barking at you in close proximity, and they then surround you, there's not much you can do. This would happen at least once a week, sometimes 2 or 3 times a week, on my way home from school. I'd go one of two routes, and the dogs would still get me. The encounter would last maybe 20 or so minutes. They were friendly, as they would never attack me, but at the time, I dind't know much about dogs. Now, I respect them, but I don't fear them.

=-=

I do like dogs, but I treat all large unknown dogs with the respect you'd give to a larger adversary. The dog which attacked my dog will threaten anyone coming within a 3 house range. Sure, it's probably defending his territory in it's mind, but since me coming out of my house enters into this "zone", it will come pretty close to me and bark. Luckily I've read how to scare dogs off, to control my fear so that they wouldn't smell it, and so that the dog would go away, but this particular dog has often come within 2 feet of my dog, aggressively, snarling and barking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 312 ✭✭cloudy day

well i'm glad at least we let the guy have it verbally. they were outraged because they saw us as youngins (i'm 30 btw) givin them lip and being disrespectful. I'd rather impale him on the stick than let him assault my dog with it though.
    :D many laughs from that conjured image.
    poor gorgeous newfie.

i think it the old irish way, when people used let their dogs run riot and they did actually attack you.

my dad, old man ( he'll kill me if he hears i called him that) took my kids up the road with their little terrier on a lead and dog shot out from a farm and attacked kids dog, they freaked out, dad has a walking stick cos he half crippled ( again will kill me if he hears i said that - thinks he's still in prime) whacked aggressor over head, end of attack, kids stopped screaming, their beloved pet saved and grandad the new super hero. they still talk about it to this day.

erm i hope that doesn't offend anyone cos he is actually an animal lover. :o

Some of the farm dogs are really aggressive; had them try to get in through the car windows and their intentions were not friendly. We all them Irish suicide dogs as they race out from nowhere almost under cars.
    cloudy day wrote: »
    :D many laughs from that conjured image.
    poor gorgeous newfie.

i think it the old irish way, when people used let their dogs run riot and they did actually attack you.

my dad, old man ( he'll kill me if he hears i called him that) took my kids up the road with their little terrier on a lead and dog shot out from a farm and attacked kids dog, they freaked out, dad has a walking stick cos he half crippled ( again will kill me if he hears i said that - thinks he's still in prime) whacked aggressor over head, end of attack, kids stopped screaming, their beloved pet saved and grandad the new super hero. they still talk about it to this day.

erm i hope that doesn't offend anyone cos he is actually an animal lover. :o

ya i guess he's just from the old guard who think dogs need to be beaten into shape to behave. met an auld codger few weeks back on our road who had a lovely friendly German Shepherd but while the man was talking to us he kept hitting (more like tapping, he wasn't hurting but threatening the dog) the dog to leave us be and "stop being a hoooore". We had to tell him stop the dog was fine he was just saying hello and we were used to dogs that he wasn't bothering us. but thats the way with some folk.

My dad whos 70 always brought a walking stick with him and has had to use it but never unless it was to scare away an actual attacking dog or break up a fight.

I was walking my dads dog sunday off leash in a field and a black lab cross (running loose around the neighbourhood) chased her teeth bared and growling/barking. I had one of those tennis ball throwing gadgets and i just made towards her and gave her the auld "get out of it" and off she ran.

Again i understand my responsibilities owning a giant breed dog with regard to the public and any fears they may have which is why i do my utmost to accomodate them. he is nly ever off leash when there is noone around as soon as we see another dog or person in the distance he is back on the leash and only allowed interact with people who wish to interact with him. Since he was 4 months old hes been brought to cork city centre once a week for a walk so that he is very well socialised with people, crowds, traffic, noise and as a result he has nothing but love for people due to the adoration heaped on him usually. Suppose you'll always meet crackpots but i'll again reiterate i don't for a second believe this prat had a fear of dogs the dog was fully under my control, had no bad intentions or actions and it was him who choose to come by us at such close proximity when he had more routes he coulda taken or just given us a sec to get him in the car.

• Registered Users Posts: 456 ✭✭kildara

peasant wrote: »
    I have learned that you can split the people that we meet when out with the dogs into two camps:

The majority who just looooove dogs and have to go and give them attention/ cuddles / treats, no matter what we on the other end of the lead think about it or are currently doing. Any objections go totally unprocessed.

or

The minority who just dislike/fear dogs and regard them as potential killers and gather up their children/dogs in shrieking hystrionics no matter how much in control of the dogs we actually are. Any assurances fall on deaf ears.

Such is life.

And you can sub-divide the first category of people into a further two groups:
    A)Those who just looooove dogs and have to go and give them attention/ cuddles / treats, no matter what we on the other end of the lead think about it or are currently doing, regardless of the breed. Any objections go totally unprocessed.

B)Those who dislike/fear certain breeds of dogs and regard them as potential killers and gather up their children/dogs in shrieking hystrionics no matter how much in control of the dogs we actually are. Any assurances fall on deaf ears.

People who fall into category B are, in my opinion, worse than those who dislike all dogs - these include the ignorant owner mention in the OPs post.

I wouldn't like to see how I would have reacted in similar circumstances if either of my dogs were involved.

OP - good on your for not ignoring it...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭R.D. aka MR.D

deuceswild wrote: »
    I was out with one of my mastiffs for his usual walk when we met a woman with a young girl and her king charles coming in the other direction, she crossed over to the other side which was fair enough but when the young girl asked why they had to do this she told her it was because my dog would probably eat them and the dog!! I couldn't believe her attitude. My dog is always well behaved.

this is where most people get there riduclos attitude when they grow up! silly parents!

A newfie is the sweetest dog ever!! So calm! I used to mind one where i worked and i was out taking him from one area to the next and a wee terrier x started barking and trying to attack him and he let a big giant bark out and i was petrified because i thought i wouldn't be able to hold him but he didn't move a musle and just looked up at me like help somethings attacking me! so sweet!!

In fairness i'm most scared off little dogs becaus they are the ones that have bitten me in the past!!

If i had of been in that situation OP I would have done what you did. its completly unacceptable! But alas the world is full of ignorant people.

here is the offending predator!!

Oh what a beauty... Thank you
    here is the offending predator!!

• Registered Users Posts: 71 ✭✭Wotzit

That is one gorgeous dog. And he's lucky to have an owner like you to defend his honour!!

I'm afraid (as other posters have said) it sounds like this guy is pretty old school when it comes to the 'disciplining' of dogs :mad:. All we can do is keep educating, especially young kids.

SO SPREAD THE WORD PEOPLE !! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 823 ✭✭✭kakee

Hi guys. We too have had encounters when walking our dog. He is a bichon of 18 months and quite small for his breed . We meet many dogs of all shapes and sizes on our walks but the most aggressive dogs without doubt are the jack russell terriers. They dont want to come by and sniff they just growl and snap at our dog. I know JRT owners will be on saying their dogs are great and perhaps they are but I am just speaking from my experience

• Registered Users Posts: 1,045 ✭✭✭Bluefrog

Its one thing when you get this kind of thing from those without dogs themselves - that you can put down to ignorance or possible previous bad experience at least, but when they have dogs themselves, it becomes mind numbingly stupid.

Had a incident in the park myself during the last bank holiday weekend with another dog owner claiming mine was savaging his because they were 'mouthing' as they do during play - his dog was actually bigger and had instigated the whole thing.

What never fails to amaze me in these situations is how quickly people seem to lose the plot, sometimes I think the fact that I remain calm for the sake of the animals just makes it more infuriating to the other party - hope I'm never in a real crises with these people like an airplane crash or the like.

Anyway, so much of this comes down to education and exposure I think. Learning some 'dog etiquette' should be part of every kid's education and I would love to see programmes like this developed for schools. I am sure there would be no lack of people willing to volunteer their dogs to bring into classes as part of this and it might go some way to improving the general attitude to dogs here.

kakee wrote: »
    Hi guys. We too have had encounters when walking our dog. He is a bichon of 18 months and quite small for his breed . We meet many dogs of all shapes and sizes on our walks but the most aggressive dogs without doubt are the jack russell terriers. They dont want to come by and sniff they just growl and snap at our dog. I know JRT owners will be on saying their dogs are great and perhaps they are but I am just speaking from my experience

i love JRT's but they can be very yappy and aggressive they are the epitome of "its not the size of a dog in a fight its the fight in the dog that counts" addage. Once had one hanging from our retrievers stomach, drew blood etc, owner did nowt
    Bluefrog wrote: »
    Anyway, so much of this comes down to education and exposure I think. Learning some 'dog etiquette' should be part of every kid's education and I would love to see programmes like this developed for schools. I am sure there would be no lack of people willing to volunteer their dogs to bring into classes as part of this and it might go some way to improving the general attitude to dogs here.

have had this conversation manys a time, dogs should be used for education and in hospitals, old folks homes for therapy etc etc but can you imagine the red tape a beurocracy in this country that would make this completely impossible?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,045 ✭✭✭Bluefrog

As far as I know, there is at least one organisation here doing dog therapy with the elderly - I was approached one day in the street by a lady who wanted to enquire about the possibility of using Holly - unfortunately she's a wee bit too lively I think yet but in another year or so I will definitely follow that up.

But the kids are vital. I would guess most larger dog owners have had the experience at some point of a mother hysterically grabbing her kids when she sees a large dog approaching and the poor kids being terrified for no real reason, only attracting the dog's attention with their high pitched screaming etc. Then re-imagine that scene instead with the kids calmly and quietly telling the mother to cop herself on :)

This has to be possible.

It can be hard for non-dog owners. I say this ruefully as three years ago I had never kept dogs, and have had to learn slowly what is play and what is aggression.

If folk only have one dog also they will not know the difference. Because they have never seen that interaction.

We had three puppies and at first I was shocked at the rough and tumble.

I am sure I have spoken here in Ireland to PAT dogs. Yes, definitely so.

Everyone has some irrational fears. I am happy picking up a mouse, but it freaks some out totally.

Now spiders!!!!!!! No use telling me they will not harm me either.

Bluefrog wrote: »
    Its one thing when you get this kind of thing from those without dogs themselves - that you can put down to ignorance or possible previous bad experience at least, but when they have dogs themselves, it becomes mind numbingly stupid.

Had a incident in the park myself during the last bank holiday weekend with another dog owner claiming mine was savaging his because they were 'mouthing' as they do during play - his dog was actually bigger and had instigated the whole thing.

What never fails to amaze me in these situations is how quickly people seem to lose the plot, sometimes I think the fact that I remain calm for the sake of the animals just makes it more infuriating to the other party - hope I'm never in a real crises with these people like an airplane crash or the like.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,438 ✭✭✭✭Alun

have had this conversation manys a time, dogs should be used for education and in hospitals, old folks homes for therapy etc etc but can you imagine the red tape a beurocracy in this country that would make this completely impossible?
    Oh ye of little faith ... it is done here. There was someone at Dunnes stores last weekend collecting for a charity that does just that. They were called PEATA ...

http://www.peata.org/