Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Velib like bicycle rental kiosks are being constructed in Dublin

• 22-05-2009 8:21am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5

I noticed that the Velib like bicycle rental kiosks are being constructed in Dublin

Took these pictures on Thursday May 21.

Exchequer St.

3551625969_1cca287ab8.jpg?v=0

3552446372_f03a67334a.jpg?v=0

Nassau St.

3552469484_bd62b94d6f.jpg?v=0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

Yeah - it's a JC Deceaux scheme here too. There mas been much controversy about it, these bikes were supposed to be available to the public ages ago. The advertising space that our beloved (and hugely competent, accountable and transparent :rolleyes:) county council exchanged for the bike scheme has been in use since last summer.

Are you the sideways bike man?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 sidewaysbike

Yes I am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

Yes I am.

Hey I've seen you out on Clontarf loads! I'll wave next time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭rob1891

I wonder if they are changing the mounting point for the locking part of the bikes. The Paris bikes would protrude a fair bit into the street with the way they have placed the stations. Usually the stations are right up against the path ....

velib-attach.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

sidewaysbike.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Morgan

rob1891 wrote: »
    I wonder if they are changing the mounting point for the locking part of the bikes. The Paris bikes would protrude a fair bit into the street with the way they have placed the stations. Usually the stations are right up against the path ....]

Cue all the Dublin bike stations being dug up within a week and moved a few feet :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭tomc

Is it true that there will only be 450 bikes in the scheme or is this just the first phase? 450 bikes sounds pathetic :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

Morgan wrote: »
    Cue all the Dublin bike stations being dug up within a week and moved a few feet :)
    They can just move the white line out further into the carriageway. Its a tried and tested methodology for all things bicycle related in Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 DCC_Cycling (Elaine)

We're working on a new cycling web site for Dublin City at the moment but thought this information may be valuable to pop up as the new site won't be live for 2-3 weeks. When it is we'll post the address here too.

http://www.dublinbikes.ie is JCDecaux's web site specifically for the City Bikes scheme itself.

NOTE: This post was also published over here but we felt it was good to post it in Cycling too and checked with the moderators before we did so

CityBikes scheme
    The scheme will provide 40 public bike stations around the city with 450 bikes available for general public use! The network of stations will extend from the Mater Hospital in the north to the Grand Canal in the south and from Smithfield in the west to the IFSC and North Docklands in the east.

80967.jpg

City-goers will be able to collect a bike from any station and return it to any station on the network e.g. you could collect a bike from a station on Talbot Street and return it to a station at Stephens Green or vice versa. The cost of installation, management and maintenance of the bikes and their stations (including replacing and repairing the bikes) will be covered by JC Decaux. JC Decaux have agreed to provide the bikes as part of an Outdoor Advertising and public Amenities contract with Dublin City Council.

The dublinbikes scheme will operate between 5am and 12.30am, 7 days a week. An automated card machine will be located at each station where users can either use a smartcard (members) or a credit card (non-members) to take out a bike. Bikers who wish to sign up for a smartcard will pay an annual subscription fee of just €10, while occasional dublinbike users may prefer to pay a small charge (€2 for 3 days) for the use of the bikes. Once removed from any station, the bikes can be used for up to 30 minutes free of charge, with a relatively low charge per hour of rental thereafter (e.g. 0-30mins = free, 30-60mins = €0.50, 60-90mins = €1, etc). The bikes cannot be taken out using cash.

Locations of the ‘dublinbike’ stations:

You can see a mockup here Attachment not found.

1. Chatham Street
    2. Blessington Street
    3. Bolton Street
    4. Greek Street
    5. Charlemont Place
    6. Christchurch Place
    7. High Street
    8. Custom House Quay
    9. Exchequer Street
    10. Dame Street
    11. Earlsfort Terrace
    12. Eccles Street
    13. Fitzwilliam Square West
    14. Fownes Street Upper
    15. Hardwiche Street
    16. Georges Quay
    17. Golden Lane
    18. Grantham Street
    19. Herbert Place
    20. James Street East
    21. Leinster Street South
    22. Townsend Street
    23. Custom House
    24. Cathal Brugha Street
    25. Merrion Square East
    26. Merrion Square West
    27. Molesworth Street
    28. Mountjoy Square West
    29. Ormond Quay Upper
    30. Parnell Square North
    31. Parnell Street
    32. Pearse Street
    33. Princes Street North/ O’ Connell Street
    34. Portobello Harbour
    35. Smithfield
    36. St. Stephens Green East
    37. St. Stephens Green South
    38. Talbot Street
    39. Wilton Terrace
    40. Jervis Street

FAQs

Do I have to return my bike to the same station I got it from?
    No. The bikes can be taken from/returned to any station on the network.

Can I pay by cash?
    Unfortunately no. The cards offer security so that if a situation arises whereby a user does not return their bike after use they will be charged. Cash does not offer the same security and could lead to a small percentage of users abusing the scheme.

How much does the scheme cost?
    10 euro per year for membership or 2 euro for 3 days. It is then free to use the bikes for the first half hour, 0.50 euro for the next half hour(i.e. 0.50 euro for an hour), 1 euro from 60-90 mins(i.e. 1.50 euro for an hour and a half), and 2 euro from 90-120 mins(i.e. 3.50 euro for 2 hours)

Why is it more expensive for longer durations?
    We wish to encourage short-term use of the bikes so that there will be more bikes available to as many people as possible. In other cities there has been a high turnover of bike usage e.g each bike in the velib scheme (in Paris) is used on average 8 times a day.

What’s to stop somebody else taking a bike using my details while I’m still at the ticket machine?
    Each bike stand will be numbered. Once you have selected your bike there will be a time delay before the bike is released from its stand. This will give you a chance to walk from the ticket machine to the bike before the bike is unlocked.

Why is there no bike station at Heuston Station?
    In order for the scheme to work, the bike stations must be ideally no further than 300m apart. This will ensure that in the unlikely event of a bike station being full, users will not have far to travel to the next nearest station. Heuston station serves many commuters and therefore it is likely many users would arrive at the station at approximately the same time (evening rush hour peak) on bikes taken out from a number of different stations. If the bike station at Heuston were full and there wasn’t a sufficient number of bike stations nearby to accommodate the user, users would be likely to miss their train. This would put many people off using the service.

It is predicted that the usage of the service at Heuston would be such that a high concentration of stations would be required in the vicinity and furthermore on the approach from the city centre (every 300m) for the scheme to work effectively. Given that there are 450 bikes overall, this would spread the scheme quite finely, with core areas in the city centre suffering as a result.

If the scheme proves to be a success, it is likely the scheme will be extended to a ‘phase 2’ which will include Heuston station and other areas outside the city centre core.

What should I do if I get a puncture en route?
    Don’t worry - punctures happen from general wear and tear and you won’t be charged if your bike gets a puncture. Just drop the bike back to the nearest station. A number of service vehicles will travel to and from each station regularly with staff carrying out general repairs on the bikes.

80968.jpg

Elaine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

Boards spin on Velibs anyone!? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

Boards spin on Velibs anyone!? :)
    Who will be the first to volunteer to do the WW200 on a velib then? Certainly not I!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

Elaine, since you didnt answer my questions on the original thread in communting,:rolleyes: here it is again

When will we see these infamous bikes? Do you not feel that you have been ripped off by Jcdecaux??? I mean We have these eyesores popping up everywhere obstructing views and causing blindspots to traffic.

Also why is the majority of these on the Northside of the city????

Are the people who maintain the bikes trained mechanics or just ordinary joes?

Also good luck keeping saddles on those bikes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭oflahero

Mmm. I can't see the machine gun nests on the mockups necessary for taking out marauding scobies. Are the turrets built into the bike stands?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 6,376 Mod ✭✭✭✭Macha

Elaine, do you have a map of the exact location of these bike points? For example, Pearse St is very long - where exactly is station?

I'm hoping the stations will be properly integrated with existing transport points, eg Dart & Luas stations, major bus terminals (eg the quays)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭Blanchguy

In fairness to Elaine I doubt she negotiated the contract. Those might be excellent questions for your local councillor who should be calling to your door/eager to answer your questions for some reason these days.

taconnol wrote: »
    Elaine, do you have a map of the exact location of these bike points? For example, Pearse St is very long - where exactly is station?

I'm hoping the stations will be properly integrated with existing transport points, eg Dart & Luas stations, major bus terminals (eg the quays)

Il go out on a limb here and say no. Because that would make sense.

What doesnt make sense is removing bike stands on princes street used by people who dont want to rent a ****ty embarrasment of a bike from a advert company that just raped the city.:mad:

Blanchguy wrote: »
    In fairness to Elaine I doubt she negotiated the contract. Those might be excellent questions for your local councillor who should be calling to your door/eager to answer your questions for some reason these days.

local counciller will just go yup yup yup, well look into that....VOTE number 1.:rolleyes:
    shower of ****, Ive people wanting my vote who aint from my area of even done anything for it.

It was a counciller who AFAIK organised this farce, and probably a brown envelope for himself.

Fact remains, ive these black eyesores all over my area, would you find them in blackrock?? Nope.

But can sombody from blackrock use them? yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭DadaKopf

Blackrock is a different council, duh.

DadaKopf wrote: »

Why is it DCC that always does all this? It should be shared, The northside is **** on every ****ing time, im sick of it, the southside and the northside are totally different worlds, with the southside having better roads, better developments, nicer on the eye. What do we have on the northside? more nacker yards, graffiti, **** roads, **** maintenance, Now we have these big huge adverts everywhere? why?

If sombody from the southside can use it, why cant they look at these poxy signs too?

Then blackrock residents should not be allowed near them, duh:rolleyes:

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Alright, alright, calm down.

352840552_7a9a0a6ec7.jpg

Well I for one am happy to have the velibs available as an option to me to get around the city, without having to take my own bike in and risk having it stolen/vandalised. Yes we've been shafted in terms of bikes:advertising signs ratio, yes they're incredibly ugly advertising signs, and yes the bikes are heavy, ugly and slow, but they'll do the job they're intended for; cycling around the city centre and being low maintenance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭DadaKopf

kona wrote: »
    Why is it DCC that always does all this? It should be shared, The northside is **** on every ****ing time, im sick of it, the southside and the northside are totally different worlds, with the southside having better roads, better developments, nicer on the eye. What do we have on the northside? more nacker yards, graffiti, **** roads, **** maintenance, Now we have these big huge adverts everywhere? why?

If sombody from the southside can use it, why cant they look at these poxy signs too?
    People who live/work/shop in the DCC area pay for the use of Velibs. I don't see the issue. Hopefully the scheme will encourage DLR, Fingal and SDubCoCo to adopt such schemes, or other pro-bike schemes for residents. Obviously there are issues of population concentration.

Better still, start lobbying your local councillors to improve cycling conditions and introduce innovative schemes.

I agree with you, there's less than ideal joined-up thinking across the Dublin city region (which also includes bits of Louth, Meath, Kildare, Wicklow). The north gets left behind, but there are political and financial reasons for this. It'd be nice if local authorities could afford to do what needs to be done. DCC is the best funded because of commercial rates. More joined-up thinking needs to happen for cyclists, and all will be clearer when or if the Dublin Transport Authority is formally established.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭Marvinthefish

Pearse St is very long - where exactly is station?

I see them building a bike station just outside the Naughton Institute on Pearse Street. That's the new building where the Science Gallery is situated. Just around the corner from Pearse St DART station.

People who live/work/shop in the DCC area pay for the use of Velibs. I don't see the issue. Hopefully the scheme will encourage DLR, Fingal and SDubCoCo to adopt such schemes, or other pro-bike schemes for residents. Obviously there are issues of population concentration.

Better still, start lobbying your local councillors to improve cycling conditions and introduce innovative schemes.

I agree with you, there's less than ideal joined-up thinking across the Dublin city region (which also includes bits of Louth, Meath, Kildare, Wicklow). The north gets left behind, but there are political and financial reasons for this. It'd be nice if local authorities could afford to do what needs to be done. DCC is the best funded because of commercial rates. More joined-up thinking needs to happen for cyclists, and all will be clearer when or if the Dublin Transport Authority is formally established.

**IF**(i never will) I use these Bikes, I have to pay, and then I have to contend with these ad signs in the most inappropriate places where I live.

But since I dont I have to just have these eyesores around me.

If you are from the south side

You just pay for these bikes and forget. If you dont want to use them you dont have a big black adboard in yer face.

SO

Northside has to pay to use the bikes, and deal with the Ads.
    Southside has to pay for the bikes.

A bit of cop on is needed, its not fair to have every piece of **** dumped on the northside. DCC does have the most money but then agin they have far more to deal with than the other councils.

Its pure ****e, that I have to put up with, so some la-de-da gob****e in a position of power can turn around and say oh look how great I am Ive organised to have 450 heaps of **** bikes that wont last a year placed in the city in return for millions of euros worth of ad space.:rolleyes::rolleyes:

They get the praise and as usual northsiders get **** on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

This has loads of potential to be a brilliant scheme - hopefully it'll work out.

What kind of turnover in terms of bikes replaced per year is anticipated?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Wez

Ha, just counted there and there's 16 on the Northside & 24 on the South..

Looks like we really did well outta this! :P

Wez wrote: »
    Ha, just counted there and there's 16 on the Northside & 24 on the South..

Looks like we really did well outta this! :P

as usual.:mad:

At this stage i reckon everytime a d4 head loike flushes the toilet loike, the posh **** is pumper over to the northside loike. Its okay though posh **** smells loike hugo boss loike and looks all fake tanned and hairy loike:pac:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 6,376 Mod ✭✭✭✭Macha

kenmc wrote: »

Thanks for that. OK two omissions I see:

Heuston Station
    Somewhere near Aston Quay - I know space is of a premium though here.

Overall, I'm pleasantly surprised how close stations are to DART and Luas stations. *faints in shock*

taconnol wrote: »
    Thanks for that. OK two omissions I see:

Heuston Station
    Somewhere near Aston Quay - I know space is of a premium though here.

Overall, I'm pleasantly surprised how close stations are to DART and Luas stations. *faints in shock*

I think Elaine mentioned in her post why they couldn't put one at Heuston - hopefully they'll rectify that in due course.

Kona what are you rabbiting on about now? The advertising signs are not confined to the Northside, they are on the southside of the city too. I don't know if there are any in blackrock, cos I've not been there in a good while, similarly I don't know if there are any in Howth; of course by your logical reasoning if there are no signs in Howth, then people from Howth should not be allowed to use the velibs either?
    Seriously dude, you should go to the doctor to get that chip removed from your shoulder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

as usual.:mad:

At this stage i reckon everytime a d4 head loike flushes the toilet loike, the posh **** is pumper over to the northside loike. Its okay though posh **** smells loike hugo boss loike and looks all fake tanned and hairy loike:pac:

Finished yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭Ghost Rider

Howth would fall under the remit of Fingal County Council anyway.
    Kona what are you rabbiting on about now? The advertising signs are not confined to the Northside, they are on the southside of the city too. I don't know if there are any in blackrock, cos I've not been there in a good while, similarly I don't know if there are any in Howth; of course by your logical reasoning if there are no signs in Howth, then people from Howth should not be allowed to use the velibs either?
    Seriously dude, you should go to the doctor to get that chip removed from your shoulder.

We don't have chips on our shoulders on DNS - unless they're covered in curry sauce.

The signs are an eye sore wherever they are, but they may be worth it if the bike bit of the scheme works.

I have a nagging feeling though that in a few years the signs will still be with us while the bikes will be long gone........but I really hope I'm wrong; that the scheme is a success and that it's expanded (without the signs:)) to other parts of Dublin and other local authorities

Personally, I'm looking forward to using them.

I wonder what the legal situation is if someone is injured while using them? I can see the scheme being done down by such claims rather than by vandalism.

Howth would fall under the remit of Fingal County Council anyway.
    Exactly, in the same way Blackrock is under DLRCC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭Ghost Rider

I share that hope, but also that suspicion. I wonder does the agreement between JC Decaux and DCC allow for this eventuality (i.e. that the advertising signs be taken down if the bike scheme is discontinued...)

If not, DCC would effectively have given away chunks of public space to a private interest.
    Jawgap wrote: »

I have a nagging feeling though that in a few years the signs will still be with us while the bikes will be long gone........but I really hope I'm wrong; that the scheme is a success and that it's expanded (without the signs:)) to other parts of Dublin and other local authorities

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭penexpers

Sorry I just wanted to say **** ****** *****

Somehow seems appropiate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭L'Enfer du Nord

local counciller will just go yup yup yup, well look into that....VOTE number 1.:rolleyes:
    shower of ****, Ive people wanting my vote who aint from my area of even done anything for it.

It was a counciller who AFAIK organised this farce, and probably a brown envelope for himself.

Fact remains, ive these black eyesores all over my area, would you find them in blackrock?? Nope.

But can sombody from blackrock use them? yes.

I'm from Blackrock, but I live in Galway. No sure where this puts me vis-a-vis velib use/exposure to JCD signs.

But I'll make a few points with regard to cycling in and from B'rock. There were a load of bike racks next to the cross on the main street which were removed for a Christmas tree about five years ago. Come New Years only a few were put back, I think we lose a few more every Christmas.

The cycle path facilities are much better on the Contarf coast road than on the south side coast road.

We have to put up with a lot more oversized SUVs. (Galway is just as bad!)

Dont patronise me.

The chip is a crater, and you would have one too if you lived near me.

What parts of the southside are they in? Id be willing to bet they most definatley are not in the more middle to upper class areas, if they are, im very suprised.

Everybody should be allowed use velibs.

..... but everybody should have to put up with the consequenses of the contract, not plonk the majority of the ads on the northside or in less well off areas of the southside(if its DCC it will be inner city) then hand the majority of the bikes to the southside.

Thats what Im "rabbiting" on about, so do you agree with JCdecaux and DCC?

I'm from Blackrock, but I live in Galway. No sure where this puts me vis-a-vis velib use/exposure to JCD signs.

But I'll make a few points with regard to cycling in and from B'rock. There were a load of bike racks next to the cross on the main street which were removed for a Christmas tree about five years ago. Come New Years only a few were put back, I think we lose a few more every Christmas.

The cycle path facilities are much better on the Contarf coast road than on the south side coast road.

We have to put up with a lot more oversized SUVs. (Galway is just as bad!)

If you look at the areas that cyce track passes through, you will also notice that, howth, sutton and clontarf would all be considerd to be quite middle to upper class.

You wont see ad boards in these areas either:rolleyes:

..... but everybody should have to put up with the consequenses of the contract, not plonk the majority of the ads on the northside or in less well off areas of the southside(if its DCC it will be inner city) then hand the majority of the bikes to the southside.

So southside inner city too? so your complaining about the adverts being in the south and north side inner city....odd i'm pretty sure thats where all the bikes are too ? :confused:

If you look at the areas that cyce track passes through, you will also notice that, howth, sutton and clontarf would all be considerd to be quite middle to upper class.

Yeah you won't see any of the bikes there either? i think you picked terrible places to have some sort of random principled stand. By your view the inner city should get the bikes but because other people can visit there the adverts should go everywhere? Isn't that something like we should pay english road tax incase we go over there with a car? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

Kona Phone/Write/Email your local representatives. I cycle those routes home. I'll have a look out for advertising and report back

Also on location of the stations, wasn't there a website where you could vote on where the velib stations were located or did I dream it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭c0rk3r

Can you tell us where your from Kona ? And also is there a map pinpointing every jcdeux advertisment throughout Dublin so we can see the areas where these ads are concentrated ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,083 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Howth and Sutton are in Fingal CoCo's jurisdiction. DCC has no control over what gets put up there. Blackrock comes under Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown.

So southside inner city too? so your complaining about the adverts being in the south and north side inner city....odd i'm pretty sure thats where all the bikes are too ? :confused:

do you even know what your talking about?:confused: have you seen where the signs are? I havnt seen many on the north inner city, just east wall, then mainly around the malahide road/ M50.

DCC has Inner city dublin(north and south) then most of the northside.

Since they agreed the deal the ad space is in their area(South inner city:rolleyes: and the northside)

However people living in DCC have to put up with these signs. Since everybody can use the bikes, why cant they be put in Fingal, DLRCC, SDCC etc?
    Thats the question I ask.

Stark wrote: »
    Howth and Sutton are in Fingal CoCo's jurisdiction. DCC has no control over what gets put up there. Blackrock comes under Dún Laoighre-Rathdown.

This is going off topic, DCC is the main player in the northside, yes some areas arnt under their juristiction.

Im talkng about why people in DCC(mainly N.side), have to put up with these eyesores, when people in other areas dont?

Yet everybody can use them, Im just saying some people are paying more than others;) which isnt the way it should be.

Then ironically, there are more ads on the northside and more bikes on the southside:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,083 ✭✭✭✭Stark

This is going off topic, DCC is the main player in the northside, yes some areas arnt under their juristiction.

Im talkng about why people in DCC(mainly N.side), have to put up with these eyesores, when people in other areas dont?

Because it's DCC's project.
    kona wrote:
    However people living in DCC have to put up with these signs. Since everybody can use the bikes, why cant they be put in Fingal, DLRCC, SDCC etc?
    Thats the question I ask.

Because the bike stands are based in the DCC area. Sure, someone coming up from Cork for the weekend can use the bikes. By your logic, we should put ads up around Cork as well. DCC has no power to put up either advertisements or bike stands outside its own border.

c0rk3r wrote: »
    Can you tell us where your from Kona ? And also is there a map pinpointing every jcdeux advertisment throughout Dublin so we can see the areas where these ads are concentrated ?

unfortunatley a DCC area, which has a heap of these ****ty dangerous ad signs in it.

I dont think a list of ad spaces are published.