Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Prime Time, Tue 19 May (Immigration)

• 21-05-2009 11:27am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭

Anyone see this?

I've seen some horrible racist abuse of ticket checkers on the red luas line. The worst one was a drunk and horrid pair of skangers who were SCREAMING "**** off back to your country! AIDS came from your country!" over and over again at the poor staff. They really do get a terrible amount of abuse from the massive racist population of this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭Tchaikovsky

Very biased report, as to be expected... of the 4 Irish people they spoke to, 3 of them were very clearly scumbags.

And if you work on the LUAS you're going to get abuse by the vermin, be you white, black, yellow or manbearpig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

or manbearpig.
    Quit pointing your grubby fingers at me! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Very biased report, as to be expected... of the 4 Irish people they spoke to, 3 of them were very clearly scumbags.
    The first two (and possibly the third) were definite junkies. You could see their eyes were pinned from opiates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭eightyfish

And if you work on the LUAS you're going to get abuse by the vermin, be you white, black, yellow or manbearpig.

True, but that's only the people at the start. The responses that the candidate gets as he goes door to door are nasty. As with the Luas, that's why I feel sorry for them. They're exposed to drunks and junkies en mass.

I only watched this program because a good friend who I've known for eight years, from India, got very annoyed with it. He's been living here a long time, and has applied for residency. He lives with his Irish girlfriend and has worked in an IT company here for 8 years, having to renew his work permit yearly. His residency has been due now for 18 months. It's been delay after delay. Garda clearance took more than seven months to arrive (It took one week to get police clearance from India) and they lost his papers twice. There have been several incidents, overall immigrants are treated like crap. I just told him that they make these programs specifically to annoy people, and to judge the country by the friends he's made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

eightyfish wrote: »
    I only watched this program because a good friend who I've known for eight years, from India, got very annoyed with it. He's been living here a long time, and has applied for residency. He lives with his Irish girlfriend and has worked in an IT company here for 8 years, having to renew his work permit yearly. His residency has been due now for 18 months. It's been delay after delay. Garda clearance took more than seven months to arrive (It took one week to get police clearance from India) and they lost his papers twice. There have been several incidents, overall immigrants are treated like crap. I just told him that they make these programs specifically to annoy people, and to judge the country by the friends he's made.

I didn't see the show but a more true reflection would have been how are they treated in their own circle of friends.

Dept. of Justice are messing people around I hear since they are putting the price of Citizenship up another €200 in a few months hence the more recent delays. :rolleyes: I think an investigation into this would have been more appropriate or how are Immigrants coping with the recession?

Your friend should make a complaint to the BCC (Broadcasting Complaints Committee) due to this broadcast, actually we all should.

I will reserve judgment when I get to watch it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,572 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Thanks to RTÉ's nifty new Player, you can now watch it very easily.... I'll watch it tonight.

http://www.rte.ie/player/#v=1048194

Edit: Just noticed this link was already posted (sorry eightyfish!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

I think 'massive' is over-stating it more than somewhat, but indeed racism is alive and well and in times like these it goes hand in glove with joblessness and a sense by the ignorant that they should have first refusal of every job before someone of a different enticity, no matter if that person hapened to be obviously Irish-born and rasied.

I've also seen alot of 'benign' racism in the sense people don't abuse people of other enticities directly but regard them as, well, 'them', and foreign entities they don't quite grasp. That issue is also partly down to the factmost immgrants willfully prefer and are obviously more comfortable in their compatriots' company, and more needs to be done to better intergrate the people that come here - I remember at secondary school the divisions that few crossed and perhaps if the schools were more forceful in promoting understanding on both sides then that might not be as prevailant. Few of us harboured any real racist feelings but there is a social stigma attached to it on both sides that it takes someone braver than most of us to cross.

There is ignorance, but just as we are now able to face up to the horrors of the cases of industialised child abuse, we shoulde be equipped to continue to make real steps forward in this area as a society - we're there in terms of the law and rights, but not there fully in terms of personal interaction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭Resi12

As an Irish person I can honestly say Irish people tend to be racist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭veronica

I can't see nothing wrong in the primetime programme as this issue needs to be debated, as irish we are in a position of losing our identity

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

Why can't Mark Little be a little more like this:P

On the programme itself - biased and predictable. Agree they went out of they're way to find the nearest scumbags to interview.

veronica wrote: »
    I can't see nothing wrong in the primetime programme as this issue needs to be debated, as irish we are in a position of losing our identity
    How so?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭veronica

because of our welfare state which is more generous then any other in Europe non-nationals for the want of a better word are staying here having children and say 20 years or so the will be the majority and us the minority!

mikemac wrote: »
    I often wondered why the ticket checkers on the Luas were mostly black. And yes I do mean mostly. Is it such a terrible job that many Irish people won't apply or cannot get it.

Anyway OP, all ticket checkers get abuse, it doesn't matter where you are from

I don't think it's racism, more a small town mentality. Sure in rural Ireland you can be called a blow-in even if you lived in a parish for 20 years.
    You nearly have to have family back to the famine to be called a local!!

Oh yes, most of boards is in Dublin but maybe it applies in townlands too

I'm not from a small town, i live in Limerick City and it's very bad..
    You go into a shop or anywhere a foreign person is working and comments are said(Not everytime obviously but sometimes), then if they make a mistake it is because they are foreign like we are immune to mistakes, even if they are just passing down the street.. I'm not making Limerick out to be full of racits though I am sure it goes on everywhere I am just saying we have a racist mentality.

What annoy's me about us being bad about foreigners is that in our history we are HUGE emigrator's!

because of our welfare state which is more generous then any other in Europe non-nationals for the want of a better word are staying here having children and say 20 years or so the will be the majority and us the minority!
    So those damn foreigners are going to outbreed us?

For a nation once renouned for it's emmigration I don't think we've ever outbred the lcals and made them "lose thier identity"

Oh please are you for real? In Europe we are marked 10th for having the highest welfare.
    In France with the right credentials you can get up to 6,500 a month on welfare.

You can say the same about us in America where there are 36 million Irish Americans, Have they lost there identity? No they embrace it..
    And we are doing what they are now, It happens everywhere. There are no jobs here and people are emigrating like mad, Sure Australia has almost stopped letting Irish in. We have no right to act like emigrating or being a foreigner is above us, I hate they way that is our mentality.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

The do gooders have never let numerical facts get in the way of a good rant....most of the Dutch use to be like that too....that will be a majority Islamic state on current birth rates within 15 years. Thing is the tolerance they preach is exactly the tolerance that some immigrants, particularly of Islamic origion, fundamentally don't agree with.

Alot of posters on Boards had been attacked before for stating the bleedin obvious by these principled people who think they live on a moral high ground. They don't. They mostly live in middle class areas which are not effected by immigration yet like working class areas have been. Time and time again people have said that when a downturn comes in this country we are heading for disaster in race relations. It's only beginning. It would be easy say they told you so - but we all live in the same country and are all going to be effected by this breakdown in society here that is coming (it has already started in working class areas) because simple logical rules were not properly applied and it has never been properly debated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

How exactly would that result in you personally losing your identity? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,375 ✭✭✭Redsoxfan

Redsoxfan wrote: »

My thoughts exactly. Dey tuk r jerbs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

As far as I'm concerned, we took in far too many people. I blame Bertie Ahern for this. Bertie rammed the Nice Treaty down our throats, knowing that it would make it incumbent on us to take in EU migrants if it were passed. At the same time, the immigration office was being encouraged to fast track and rubber stamp non-EU migrants into the country. Being typical Ireland, there would be nobody checking the logistics of this. Warnings were issued by people like Aine Ni Chonaill but she was shouted down. Now look at the state of the place !

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Td3iKcfvbqY

• Closed Accounts Posts: 446 ✭✭phenomenon

Resi12 wrote: »
    I'm not from a small town, i live in Limerick City and it's very bad..
    You go into a shop or anywhere a foreign person is working and comments are said(Not everytime obviously but sometimes), then if they make a mistake it is because they are foreign like we are immune to mistakes, even if they are just passing down the street.. I'm not making Limerick out to be full of racits though I am sure it goes on everywhere I am just saying we have a racist mentality.

What annoy's me about us being bad about foreigners is that in our history we are HUGE emigrator's!

Sir, your punctuation and grammar offend my eyes.

Let the foreigners work in the shops. Irish people are superior and above such a menial job. Go on the dole and live off the tax that Mohammed who works in Centra pays the government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

All aboard the crazy train.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 538 ✭✭✭markopantelic

I've yet to see any racist abuse yet in Dublin in my own eyes but if I do I will absolutely **** that bigot up that they wished they never said anything, then I will grab them and force them to bend down and kiss the shoe of the person they abused.

I really really really hate Ireland now tbh, **** this irish 'culture', it doesnt exist, it was destroyed by the british long ago. Modern Ireland without immigrants is pure ****e, I would love if Ireland became the most multi-cultural place on the planet tbh.

:mad::mad::mad::mad:

Oh and by the way I speak fluent Irish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 446 ✭✭phenomenon

I've yet to see any racist abuse yet in Dublin in my own eyes but if I do I will absolutely **** that bigot up that they wished they never said anything, then I will grab them and force them to bend down and kiss the shoe of the person they abused.

I really really really hate Ireland now tbh, **** this irish 'culture', it doesnt exist, it was destroyed by the british long ago. Modern Ireland without immigrants is pure ****e, I would love if Ireland became the most multi-cultural place on the planet tbh.

The above post was made by a lying Nigerian taxi driver. Probably has his taxi parked outside someones house stealing their wi-fi to post this drivel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭97i9y3941

unfortantly it has gone to the race to the bottom,those who have been here years before the good times are getting dragged into it,personally i do think they should put a cap or something on pps numbers when there are simply not enough jobs to go around.

nah i actually will, and dont use the suburbs bull**** i live in an area in dublin city with a high % of immigrants.

oh and yeah they should halt non-eu economic migrant immigration now, its completely pointless at the moment allowing more non eu nationals into the country. theres no point coming in, sure even polish people who come over are coming and then ending up homeless when they run out of money.

And then you'll wake up.

Fred83 wrote: »
    unfortantly it has gone to the race to the bottom,those who have been here years before the good times are getting dragged into it,personally i do think they should put a cap or something on pps numbers when there are simply not enough jobs to go around.
    Do you think all Irish people working in other countries should be sent back home too?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭sickpuppy

I lived in Holland for three years in late 90s and much of it is ghettoised.
    Large tracts of cities and big towns are made up of large Turkish or moroccan enclaves.
    These really are a no go area for whitey me and you or any Dutch people that dont speak turkish or bloody arabic.

Personally id hate ireland to become like this we are to small a nation to be taking in large numbers of immigrants from far flung corners or the world.

Irish people did emmigrate in massive numbers paddy didnt get the dole in America or Australia either we helped build these places and in general we as a nation are well liked.

This whole multiculturaism is al oad of bollix if it means a scatter of nigerians taking over Moore street woohoo what a great benefit that is to us all
    i dont want the next generation of irish people to be a minority in our own country a halt should be put on emmigration right now we cant afford it
    and we really dont need it so jetison those not needed and keep ireland irish.

sickpuppy wrote: »
    Irish people did emmigrate in massive numbers paddy didnt get the dole in America or Australia either we helped build these places
    Eh, the reason why we had such a large amount of immigration into Ireland recently was because of the Construction Boom so those immigrant could claim the same thing.

and in general we as a nation are well liked.
    Is that we in England they had signs saying No Dogs, No Blacks, No Irish?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭Soldier

its not just irish people that are racist. What about some foreigners in this country who dont treat us with respect. I had a nigerian taxi driver call my bf mother a stupid f*in paddy when he tried to charge her 28 euro from Eyre Square to Renmore. when the guards were called and the file went to the DPP nothing was done about the racism.

This whole multiculturaism is al oad of bollix if it means a scatter of nigerians taking over Moore street woohoo what a great benefit that is to us all i dont want the next generation of irish people to be a minority in our own country a halt should be put on emmigration right now we cant afford it and we really dont need it so jetison those not needed and keep ireland irish.

While I agree with you about ghettoisation, in regards to the above I have to say what????

I think multiculturalism is of huge benefit to our country. If only on sports, culinary, musical and cultural grounds. Some of the best people I've ever met and some of my best friends are immigrants. My taste in food, music, and a new interest in cricket have all been influenced by being friends with immigrants. I have been to India to visit the family of a friend, I'd never have thought of going there otherwise. All this has in turn enriched my life, my family's life and my Irish friends' lives.

And I agree with putting a stop to emigration. That way Irish emigrants won't be a problem for other countries by moving there and taking their jobs!

Irish people did emmigrate in massive numbers paddy didnt get the dole in America or Australia either we helped build these places and in general we as a nation are well liked.

Not in many Eastern European/Asian countries after the treatment meted out to some guys/girls from these areas on building sites, factory floors, in the hospitality industry etc. etc. The lack of respect and common decency that some employers showed to their workers in the last 8-10 years was nothing short of disgraceful.

I lived in Holland for three years in late 90s and much of it is ghettoised.
    Large tracts of cities and big towns are made up of large Turkish or moroccan enclaves.
    These really are a no go area for whitey me and you or any Dutch people that dont speak turkish or bloody arabic.

Personally id hate ireland to become like this we are to small a nation to be taking in large numbers of immigrants from far flung corners or the world.

This whole multiculturaism is al oad of bollix if it means a scatter of nigerians taking over Moore street woohoo what a great benefit that is to us all
    i dont want the next generation of irish people to be a minority in our own country a halt should be put on emmigration right now we cant afford it
    and we really dont need it so jetison those not needed and keep ireland irish.

WTF are you talking about? Have you ever heard of what happened when the Irish first went to the USA? They undercut the black people who were working in New York and then established unions and didn't allow black people in. Thats how they came to partially help build these countries and Irish abused the welfare in the UK throughout the 80's.

And the last thing:rolleyes:

Not in many Eastern European/Asian countries after the treatment meted out to some guys/girls from these areas on building sites, factory floors, in the hospitality industry etc. etc. The lack of respect and common decency that some employers showed to their workers in the last 8-10 years was nothing short of disgraceful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

Immigants! I knew it was them! Even when it was the bears, I knew it was them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭sickpuppy

The irish undercut black people in new york when we first went there?
    irish were in America before the vast majority of black people.

The no dogs no irish signs were horrible things all right but thankfully that is in the past.

I never saw a building site here no Polish?

I agree that many workers were taken advantage of by unscrubulous bosses its a fact of life and its going to be much more prevelent now

We have no history with Nigeria besides prob sending out some missionarys so that bs excuse irish people emmigrated etc does not wash did we claim asylum in Lagos or some other corrupt kip

Personally i have worked with many mostly eastern europeans and most are good people hard working etc but it does not mean i would like my country overran by them.
    The wholesale complaints about the weather irish women etc grow tiresome so i have on occaission asked if it so bad fcuk off back home easy solution to a problem.
    Europe whould really end at the gates of Vienna.

irish were in America before the vast majority of black people.
    You sure about that?

The first record of African slavery in Colonial America occurred in 1619. Whereas, the Irish Famine was between 1845 and 1852.

Now do I have to do the maths for you?

The no dogs no irish signs were horrible things all right but thankfully that is in the past.

I never saw a building site here no Polish?
    You're missing the point of my post about those signs. It was in response to the assertion that the Irish were well liked wherever the emigrated to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭Nelson Muntz

Aussies, Kiwis, Saffers & Americans seem to be very welcome in Ireland.

Africans, Asians & people from the middle east seem to be not so welcome.

Is it because the first lot are from places that the Irish would want to emmigrate to and the second lot is not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

Is it because the first lot are from places that the Irish would want to emmigrate to and the second lot is not?

No, the common denominator there is skin colour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭Asmodean

To me it's not even a case of race. Scumbag / ignorant irish people are in no way tolerant to any sort of change. This applies to race issues/ gay/ bi sexual/ goth/ punk/ emo, whatever type of class you want to segregate people into. Sadly it is something that just happens but its all too easy to pull the racist card because it generally garners more public sympathy, media coverage etc.
    In regrds to the Indian friend and the government stalling and losing his paperwork etc. They display that kind of bumbling ineptitude with everyone in the country regardless of colour/creed etc

Asmodean wrote: »
    To me it's not even a case of race. Scumbag / ignorant irish people are in no way tolerant to any sort of change. This applies to race issues/ gay/ bi sexual/ goth/ punk/ emo, whatever type of class you want to segregate people into. Sadly it is something that just happens but its all too easy to pull the racist card because it generally garners more public sympathy, media coverage etc.

Agreed, but it's not just "pulling the race card". If X has an issue with an immigrant (because, I dunno, they didn't pay for a Luas ticket or the alcohol they took from Centra) to immediately resort to screaming something like "go back to your country" is racist. And ignorant, and a bunch of other things, but mostly it's racist and deserves public sympathy.

As for gay/bi... current research indicates that gay people are born gay, just as Nigerians are born black. Ergo, there is no difference between homophobia and racism. (tell this to the pope)

PS- as for punks; old punks need to realise it's not 1975 any more, and young punks need to listen to more stuff from 1975.

Where's sickpuppy's post gone? I was just about to reply to it.

BaZmO* wrote: »
    Where's sickpuppy's post gone? I was just about to reply to it.
    It was deleted for a good reason!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Mena wrote: »
    No, the common denominator there is skin colour.

Unfortunately that's what it comes down to. My cousin was born to a Zambian father and lived over there til the age of 13 (17 years ago) and moved here. She was half cast and more on the whiter side of the line. She did encounter racism down through the years though she was as odd as it sounds a novelty because of her skin colour.

Her father who is very dark was abused a number of times.

Having worked in Ireland with people from Africa, India, Middle East and Far East, Oz, USA/Canda, South America there is a subtle hostility in most Irish people of different skin colour. An example.. My gfs friends sister is going out with a guy of Indian descent, his parents are Indian (both doctors) moved here 25 odd years ago, he was born here has an Irish accent but is obviously Indian, he has been abused several times.

The same with a greek friend of mine, he just looks like he enjoys the sunbeds too much but has been on the end of racist abuse.

However friends from Oz, NZ, USA and even the auld enemy are all fine.. aslong as there white.

A sad state of affairs.

i was told to 'go back to my 'own country' when i was working in spar, by two bumbling ****ing knackers wearing celtic jerseys. the indian chap i was working with looked on in amazement. i'm white and born in ireland.

bumbling ****ing knackers wearing celtic jerseys

Surely you were mistaken;)

i was told to 'go back to my 'own country' when i was working in spar, by two bumbling ****ing knackers wearing celtic jerseys. the indian chap i was working with looked on in amazement.

Was is this guy?

No+to+Foreign+Games+RSF+style.jpg

I think we all need to start heeding the advice of someone with a sign-post for a head! :pac:

I'll bet the only intelligent thing that he has ever done is cover his mug with that sign.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 267 ✭✭esharknz

I'm a kiwi (4 of 8 great grandparents were Irish), but I also have darker skin as my grandfather was rather dark. I've been subjected to this "go home" rubbish too. Ah well. I wonder when people will get over seeing a skin colour or race before they see the person.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭paddyboy23

fair play to u your talking sence