Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ties. Why?

• 19-05-2009 5:47pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭

A suit and shirt is perfectly presentable imo. Can't stand wearing ties. Let's just stop wearing them. They're ****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

Yeah but a tie adds that extra bit of formality. I like ties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Any reason to wear a tie is a good reason. Especially to a scumbag's court appearance when they wear adidas hoodies :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭Borneo Fnctn

I agree with you but I'm not sure if you have the charisma to lead the revolution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Ties are like testicles - they always hang down from a prick.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »

Some of us have to wear ties for work.

Personally I don't mind them at all, they're not a big deal when you wear them all the time.

You do however see a lot of travellers wearing suits and open shirts without ties.

I suppose it depends on what look you're going for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭KingLoser

If you all quit wearing ties, I'm gonna buy one and take all your jobs.

Becuase the tie is the only thing keeping you there, obviously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

€20 says OP can't tie a tie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

but what about wacky tie day?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

€40 and your on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭Captain-America

Can I get in on that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

I hate the whole formal dress full stop. The usual bloke in his shirt and tie and the girl who comes in some casual trousers and a more casual top.

Grr!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

I wear one for work every day, no problems with that. A decent silk tie rounds off the formal look perfectly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Its like tieing a decorative noose around your neck every day :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭Captain-America

K4t wrote: »
    A suit and shirt is perfectly presentable imo. Can't stand wearing ties. Let's just stop wearing them. They're ****e.

They're a fashion statement. Like every other piece of clothing you wear. Maybe it's not as necessary, but the world would be a sad place if everybody wore the same clothes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Bite your tongue! How dare you slate all ties! :mad:

I'd do filthy things here. Tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Abigayle wrote: »

Jesus christ, does he get dressed in the dark? A TIE SHOULD NEVER BE DANGLING DOWN OVER THE CROTCH!!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Abigayle wrote: »

Way too long. Looks more like a leash. I don't mint ties. I absolutely hate clip ons though as you can't loosen the top button on a warm day.

DarkJager wrote: »
    Jesus christ, does he get dressed in the dark? A TIE SHOULD NEVER BE DANGLING DOWN OVER THE CROTCH!!

Thats not just ANY tie.. its a sign post :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

That's the point A.C. They make great leads! :D

bronte wrote: »
    That's the point A.C. They make great leads! :D

I like your style!

they also help you keep your balance :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Ties are grand, its the fecking buttoned up shirt collars that are a nightmare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭upmeath

I only wear a tie when the occasion demands. At work or on nights out, not a hope, it'd want to be a big family occasion (eg wedding or graduation) for me to don a tie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭FruitLover

TheZohan wrote: »
    Some of us have to wear ties for work.

Then it's not a tie, it's a yoke of oppression.

I find I automatically distrust anyone wearing a suit and/or tie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭DARKIZE

Good for tying down the GF to the bed. Not with the expensive silk ones obviously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

FruitLover wrote: »
    Then it's not a tie, it's a yoke of oppression.

I find I automatically distrust anyone wearing a suit and/or tie.
    • Nurses have to hear a uniform
    • Dentists have to wear a gown/scrubs
    • Supermarket workers wear name tags
    • Undertakers wear dark suits
    • Fast food workers wear a uniform
    None of these things are 100% necessary but that's the way life is sometimes.

I'd be more worried about people who have trouble trusting others because they wear one! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Off with ties, anything that restricts exposure to my hairy chest and bling is a no no

• Closed Accounts Posts: 231 ✭✭PeterLT

C'mon lads anyone knows how to tie a tie. If not, you can learn it here:

http://www.weblogcartoons.com/2006/04/26/how-to-tie-a-tie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

But they make good presents when you can't think of anything more imaginative to buy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Acacia wrote: »
    But they make good presents when you can't think of anything more imaginative to buy.

Socks :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭C.D.

Trying to justify the fact that your balls haven't dropped then?! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

Ties are like testicles. If you don't have them, you're not a man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭C.D.

Sean_K wrote: »
    Ties are like testicles. If you don't have them, you're not a man.

Lol ^^ great minds and all that..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Think of the fortune you'll make for the communion though.

That'll show your crypto-fascist parents.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Rebelheart

I couldn't agree more. A more ridiculous and puritanical fashion accessory is hard to imagine in 2009. Totally pointless, stuffy, victorian, and repressed. Suffocating. Seriously dark ages fashion promoted by neurotics and insecure people!

If more people had the independence of mind to follow Chuck Feeney (who wears a $15 watch, slacks, runners and a top but is worth billions) or Richard Branson, fashion might advance from the 19th century.

Thankfully in many if not most state jobs, you are allowed wear smart casual. A big plus as far as I was concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭misty76

I think a suit and tie look lovely on a man, it just adds that extra touch..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I love ties and suits. They make me look like a grown-up.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

What would I hold on to to stop Avril escaping.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Rebelheart

Is this tie nonsense in essence being pushed by wimmin? My bird is always trying to hang one around me telling me how 'nice' it would look. Mar dhea!

I'd have to wonder if I heard a guy talking about how 'nice' a tie would look.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 804 ✭✭✭yerayeah

Rebelheart wrote: »
    Is this tie nonsense in essence being pushed by wimmin? My bird is always trying to hang one around me telling me how 'nice' it would look. Mar dhea!

I'd have to wonder if I heard a guy talking about how 'nice' a tie would look.
    God ya, that would be ssoooooo gheeeeeeyyyyyy...

I'd say tis more to do with tradition and what not than the wimmins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

Nothing like having a suit on with a big PHAT Windsor knot....

and if you cant tie a Windsor you shouldn't be wearing a tie....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 804 ✭✭✭yerayeah

Nothing like having a suit on with a big PHAT Windsor knot....

and if you cant tie a Windsor you shouldn't be wearing a tie....
    What if Mammy ties it for you at the start of the year and then you just loosen it and hang it up every night and tighten it around your neck each morning?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

yerayeah wrote: »
    What if Mammy ties it for you at the start of the year and then you just loosen it and hang it up every night and tighten it around your neck each morning?

does mammy wipe your arse to ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 924 ✭✭✭Elliemental

NO! Men in full suit, with ties are the sexiest creatures ever! Don`t ever stop wearing ties. I fall in love with men as I pass them in the street and thier Tie matches thier suit.:eek::eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,638 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

A suit and shirt is perfectly presentable imo.
    /Shudders
    Some shirts can be worn without ties, collarless shirts or polonecks so if you want to wear a suit then try those. However I imagine that your reluctance to wear a tie is that you've never had a shirt that fits properly resulting in 'strangling' restricted feelings. The majority of suits are cut to be worn with a tie, it is part of the suit. Not wearing a tie is the sartorial equivelent of rowing a boat with only one oar, it can be done but it's difficult.
    Can't stand wearing ties. Let's just stop wearing them. They're ****e.
    You can stop wearing them if you like, I want my ties. They're pretty. ;)

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Ties may look the shit but they also feel like shit. I don't like any restriction around the neck area thank you. I say no.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

I like ties, so go away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I f***in hate ties, but if sitting in on meetings has thought me anything its that most business suits think like the pointy haired manager from dilbert: If you aren't wearing a tie then they're less inclined to award you a deal or take you seriously. Especially when your competition gave them a fuzzy feeling of corporate kinship by showing up avec ties.

Doesnt matter how much sense you're making, they're just sitting there thinking "but he isnt wearing a tie"

It's completely retarded but it's true.