Ties. Why?

• 19-05-2009 06:47PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭

A suit and shirt is perfectly presentable imo. Can't stand wearing ties. Let's just stop wearing them. They're ****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

Yeah but a tie adds that extra bit of formality. I like ties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Any reason to wear a tie is a good reason. Especially to a scumbag's court appearance when they wear adidas hoodies :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭Borneo Fnctn

I agree with you but I'm not sure if you have the charisma to lead the revolution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Ties are like testicles - they always hang down from a prick.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    Ties are like testicles - they always hang down from a prick.

Some of us have to wear ties for work.

Personally I don't mind them at all, they're not a big deal when you wear them all the time.

You do however see a lot of travellers wearing suits and open shirts without ties.

I suppose it depends on what look you're going for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭KingLoser

If you all quit wearing ties, I'm gonna buy one and take all your jobs.

Becuase the tie is the only thing keeping you there, obviously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

€20 says OP can't tie a tie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭poisonated

but what about wacky tie day?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

€40 and your on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭Captain-America

Can I get in on that?

I hate the whole formal dress full stop. The usual bloke in his shirt and tie and the girl who comes in some casual trousers and a more casual top.

Grr!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,598 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

I wear one for work every day, no problems with that. A decent silk tie rounds off the formal look perfectly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Its like tieing a decorative noose around your neck every day :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭Captain-America

K4t wrote: »
    A suit and shirt is perfectly presentable imo. Can't stand wearing ties. Let's just stop wearing them. They're ****e.

They're a fashion statement. Like every other piece of clothing you wear. Maybe it's not as necessary, but the world would be a sad place if everybody wore the same clothes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Bite your tongue! How dare you slate all ties! :mad:

I'd do filthy things here. Tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Abigayle wrote: »

Jesus christ, does he get dressed in the dark? A TIE SHOULD NEVER BE DANGLING DOWN OVER THE CROTCH!!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,351 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Abigayle wrote: »

Way too long. Looks more like a leash. I don't mint ties. I absolutely hate clip ons though as you can't loosen the top button on a warm day.

DarkJager wrote: »
    Jesus christ, does he get dressed in the dark? A TIE SHOULD NEVER BE DANGLING DOWN OVER THE CROTCH!!

Thats not just ANY tie.. its a sign post :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

That's the point A.C. They make great leads! :D

bronte wrote: »
    That's the point A.C. They make great leads! :D

I like your style!

they also help you keep your balance :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,240 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Ties are grand, its the fecking buttoned up shirt collars that are a nightmare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭upmeath

I only wear a tie when the occasion demands. At work or on nights out, not a hope, it'd want to be a big family occasion (eg wedding or graduation) for me to don a tie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭FruitLover

TheZohan wrote: »
    Some of us have to wear ties for work.

Then it's not a tie, it's a yoke of oppression.

I find I automatically distrust anyone wearing a suit and/or tie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭DARKIZE

Good for tying down the GF to the bed. Not with the expensive silk ones obviously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

FruitLover wrote: »
    Then it's not a tie, it's a yoke of oppression.

I find I automatically distrust anyone wearing a suit and/or tie.
    • Nurses have to hear a uniform
    • Dentists have to wear a gown/scrubs
    • Supermarket workers wear name tags
    • Undertakers wear dark suits
    • Fast food workers wear a uniform
    None of these things are 100% necessary but that's the way life is sometimes.

I'd be more worried about people who have trouble trusting others because they wear one! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Off with ties, anything that restricts exposure to my hairy chest and bling is a no no

• Closed Accounts Posts: 231 ✭✭PeterLT

C'mon lads anyone knows how to tie a tie. If not, you can learn it here:

http://www.weblogcartoons.com/2006/04/26/how-to-tie-a-tie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

But they make good presents when you can't think of anything more imaginative to buy.