Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

wanted .22 rifle for target shooting

• 19-05-2009 7:29am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6

I am looking to take up target shooting and am interested in purchasing a cheap .22 rifle to begin with. Not sure of the prices, so if anyone can help out with dealer names in Dublin/Kildare or any private sales.
    Ronan

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,696 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Hey ronan c,

Tallaght Rod & Gun - Tallaght, D24,
    Griffin & Hawe - Athy, Kildare,
    Ballykeeran Sports - Athlone, Westmeath,
    Scully's Gun & Tackle - Athlone, Westmeath,
    East Coast Dog & Gun - Wexford (I think)
    Lakelands - Mullingar, Westmeath,
    Stakleums - Thurles, Tipperary.

Try any of the above. CZ bruno starts at €400 and with the different makes (Savage, Remington, Winchester, Anschutz, Ruger, etc) they can go up to €3000 and way more if you want to get a custom made one (which i presume you are not interested in YET). Scopes start at around €150 up to €600. Again you can go as high as 2 -3 grand but these are generally used on full bore rifles. Overkill on .22s.

I can put you in contact with a chap in Laois selling a CZ bruno with ammo, moderator, scope mounts etc. The gun was bought by him on impulse nearly 2 years ago and he is selling it because he never uses it and wants to put the money towards a new shotgun. The gun is sound but the scope may or may not be up to scratch for target work. He wants €450 for the lot. Again not pushing it on you. Look around.

Anschutz 64 is a dedicated benchrest .22lr and runs at about €1100 - €1200. I have one myself. Anschutz 54 is a better model again. Not 100% on price but a better .22lr will be hard to find bar custom rifle.

Anyway best of luck and hope this helps somewhat.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭IDon'tKnow!

You can get a list of dealer from here http://wiki.boards.ie/wiki/Gun_Dealers

Before you put your money down on a rifle it is a good idea to make contact with the Firearms Officer in your Local Garda station.

He can tell you what security club membership ect the local Super will want.

Good advice by it wasn't me. Had a young lad from the area put a deposit on a .22 hornett. Applied for his licence but while waiting had the rifle sent of to get the barrel threaded, stock adjusted, etc. Was refused licence on grounds that security was not sufficent and had no need for moderator. Got deposit back but lost all money spent on customising gun not to mention i don't think it will look good on another application to have been refused already.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

You'll get decent quality Anschutz match 54 action rifles from Germany for 4-500 quid. Precious little reason to buy a new one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 ronan_c

Thanks for the replies lads, I have been in touch with my local garda and he has informed me of what I need to do before applying for my licence (gun serial, make and model, security, membership. I am not looking to spend mad money on my first gun, E400 or less.
    ezridax - if you could put me in touch with your friend that would be great, pm me if you can.
    it wasn't me - would it be a gun shop that I could have a look at an Anschutz or do know a private seller.

Thanks again,
    Ronan

ronan c, just pm'd you the details. any problems contact me back. :D

just e-mailed you with the details you wanted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭bazza888

is the CZ 452 - 2E ZKM SILHOUETTE agood rifle for a starter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭elius

ezridax wrote: »
    Good advice by it wasn't me. Had a young lad from the area put a deposit on a .22 hornett. Applied for his licence but while waiting had the rifle sent of to get the barrel threaded, stock adjusted, etc. Was refused licence on grounds that security was not sufficent and had no need for moderator. Got deposit back but lost all money spent on customising gun not to mention i don't think it will look good on another application to have been refused already.

Im abit nervous about this issue i've after moving into a new distirct. And will be applying for a .22 tomorrow i have a gun case and also hold two other shotguns the house is alarmed and theres also a rothweiler. On what ground can they fail you on!!!???

Hey Elius,

Don't get too uptight about what i posted before. The young lad actually told the Garda that he was going to keep it under his bed. No Alarm, No safe, NO BRAINS. Besides a .22 Hornett is larger than a .22lr. Its a centrefire for starts. You have an alarm, guard dog (and if they ask it is a guard dog) all that you may need is a gun safe. No need to go mad noney. They can be picked up from as little as €100. Less if second hand. If you already have one you're gravy. Last criteria may be membership of a club but with a .22 permission from 2 land owners usually suffices. Depends on your firearms officer.

Sorry i put the s****s up you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭elius

Not so bad have a gun safe already.. 2 land owners have given me written permission and I can get more if needs be. I'm also a market gardener so land isn't really an issue i partly need a rifle to control bunnies as they do desperate harm to crops.,.,

You're sorted so. I've yet to hear of a case where a Garda insisted on membership of a club for a .22lr. I got mine with permission from land owners. Best of luck you'll have no problems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭IDon'tKnow!

ezridax wrote: »
    You're sorted so. I've yet to hear of a case where a Garda insisted on membership of a club for a .22lr. I got mine with permission from land owners. Best of luck you'll have no problems.

I had permission for shooting on land and was asked to get a club membership for a .22.

But the FO did kind off hint that it was a whole lot less work for him if he had a club membership then to check up on permissions to shoot over land. I was also told that to shoot over land that I should have a shotgun not a rifle.

Didn't say it doesn't happen just said i never heard of it till now from you. 3 of the 35 lads i shoot with in my game shooting club have 243's and 5 have .220 swifts that they got with just permission from land owners. All of us have .22's and shotguns. I started the same way its just my membership of the M.N.S.C.I. makes it easier for me to justify the calibre of firearm i shoot and my reason for having it. How the other lads will get on come renewal of licence in july with these proposed stricter guidelines is anyone's guess.