Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Laws passed never enforced!!

• 16-05-2009 10:44pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,647 ✭✭✭

I was in the city center today(Dublin). i was standing on the corner of moore street. I was gobsmacked to see a man with a pit-bull dog standing in front of me and to his left the Garda. The dog had no muzzle on its mouth. The guard was looking at the dog like he was admiring it. i am sure this dog should be muzzled in a public place!!!!! this is just one law made but obviously not enforced. how many more are there? Lights on yer bike? litter laws. What do you think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭ciano1

Statutory Rape Ftw !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Why should "this dog" in particular be muzzled? Would you say the same if it was a little jack russell?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Speeding!

I was on the M4 today and I saw loads of cars driving under the limit. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

hey leaves the lights on bikes alone. You probably have a car with the mad indicators that are same colour when on and off. Ya hussy ya lol. Dogs rule. Maybe the cop was staring the dog out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

Motorbike using bus lanes. Thankfull this is rarely enforced in fact I had cops advise me to use it as it can be safer than filtering through traffic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,647 ✭✭✭brian ireland

SV wrote: »
    Why should "this dog" in particular be muzzled? Would you say the same if it was a little jack russell?

A simple point could be its Law!!

http://www.irishdogs.ie/information/Control%20of%20Dogs.htm

seanybiker wrote: »
    hey leaves the lights on bikes alone. You probably have a car with the mad indicators that are same colour when on and off. Ya hussy ya lol. Dogs rule. Maybe the cop was staring the dog out.

i understand you 100% and there was me thinking saturday smelt like friday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭Borneo Fnctn

Well... which one would you rather fight?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 311 ✭✭Corb

Provisional drivers not allowed drive on their own. Yeah the odd person has gotten in trouble over it but in general there's still thousands doing it and getting away with it.

Half the laws in this country that are passed aren't enforced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

I was in the city center today(Dublin). i was standing on the corner of moore street. I was gobsmacked to see a man with a pit-bull dog standing in front of me and to his left the Garda. The dog had no muzzle on its mouth. The guard was looking at the dog like he was admiring it. i am sure this dog should be muzzled in a public place!!

Maybe the Garda also owned a pit-bull and that was his reason for admiring the dog.

When are people going to learn that a dog is only as good as it's master trains it.

Pit-Bull's get a bad rep because of isolated cases making the news.

All dogs will bite if they are hurt by someone or teased unmercifully as children sometimes have a habit of doing,not realising the consequences.

Good owners know if their dog is trustworthy or not.

Maybe the Garda also owned a pit-bull and that was his reason for admiring the dog.

When are people going to learn that a dog is only as good as it's master trains it.

All dogs will bite if they are hurt by someone or teased unmercifully as children sometimes have a habit of doing,not realising the consequences.

Good owners know if their dog is trustworthy or not.

???? And?? http://www.liveleak.com/view?i=b79_1231386454
    will we wait until this happens?
    Anyway my point is not about dogs its about laws that are LAW and not enforced. So. Its law and you can't argue with that fact. why are they not enforced?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Certain breeds legally have to be muzzled. Its an either or situation, easily done for the owner and easily enforced for the guards (fairly clear if a muzzle is being used or not). If guards won't enforce small things like this then what about the bigger ones? People wonder why there's been a loss of respect for the guards, well its things like this that cause it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Let me see, considering the kind of "men" who would walk pit-bulls would you still have a face after you told one that they were breaking the law? I think that'd be a case of "avoid eye contact and keep walking".

But, mmyep I can see how it's annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭rejkin

theres a reason certain dogs are meant to have muzzles,because they're the dogs that have enough strength in their jaws to bite clean through your leg or neck unlike small dogs which could harm you but wont severely harm you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

rejkin wrote: »
    theres a reason certain dogs are meant to have muzzles,because they're the dogs that have enough strength in their jaws to bite clean through your leg or neck unlike small dogs which could harm you but wont severely harm you

Or the fact that they're a status symbol amongst skangers to make em look 'ard when they in fact look British (and also 'ard). Eejits. The skangers, not the British.

Certain breeds legally have to be muzzled. Its an either or situation, easily done for the owner and easily enforced for the guards (fairly clear if a muzzle is being used or not). If guards won't enforce small things like this then what about the bigger ones? People wonder why there's been a loss of respect for the guards, well its things like this that cause it.

Yes I can see your point and the OPs.
    I was just giving my take on his OP.

But cross bred dogs also can be dangerous depending on which breed is crossed with another.

I agree that Pit Bulls can cause terrible damage I am just saying that they are not all like that and it is usually down to who owns the dog as to how it turns out.

agree that Pit Bulls can cause terrible damage I am just saying that they are not all like that and it is usually down to who owns the dog as to how it turns out.

SO if the owner is an asshole and beats his dog every day. He problelly y won't put a muzzle on him or her. Then he takes it to Moore street and?? what next?

Anyways as i said this is not about dogs, Its about laws passed and not enforced

SO if the owner is an asshole and beats his dog every day. He problelly y won't put a muzzle on him or her. Then he takes it to Moore street and?? what next?

Anyways as i said this is not about dogs, Its about laws passed and not enforced

You so did not get what I was saying.
    You yourself brought up the subject in your OP.
    But yes I know where you are coming from RE Laws.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

Well... which one would you rather fight?

I'd rather fight a pitbull.....if you are gonna have a fight there may as well be a fight in it.

I'd batter a pitbull in a fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

is it also law for a dog owner to have a licence for the dog too ?or is this another law never enforced?

I'd rather fight a pitbull.....if you are gonna have a fight there may as well be a fight in it.

WTF?

pebbles21 wrote: »
    is it also law for a dog owner to have a licence for the dog too ?or is this another law never enforced?

Have to admit I think we bought a license for our dog when he was born and, seriously we never thought of it again,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭RATM

Use the forks, the forks!

The reason the law isn't enforced re: dog muzzles is because it's a bloody ridiculous law.
    Same with all the laws that aren't enforced.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

pebbles21 wrote: »

Shhhhh....lets pretend dog licences don't exist. :pac:

They must seriously be the silliest law? Money making racket is all they really are, and you're meant to get a new one every year? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,610 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

The reason the law isn't enforced re: dog muzzles is because it's a bloody ridiculous law.

Ahh.....so we only have to obey the laws we like? Nice one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

So what's the point in draughting half this bullsh*t into the statute books then? The legislative arm of the governement has spent who-knows how much on all this legislation in the past decade, banning this, taxing that, prohibiting the other, but yet when it comes down to enforcement, garda resources either aren't there or the force themselves don' see fit to enforcing that particular statute.
    Dangerous dogs are neither here nor there and there's far too many people in this thread focusing on that issue. There was a perceived problem about certain breeds of dog followed by public outcry...legislation is passed, the governemnt look good and look like they're protecting the public....but yet a couple of years on the enforcement is lax or non-existent.
    Whatr sort of message does that send about all our laws...what's the point in having them, if no-one bothers to do somehting about it when they're broken?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Um maybe because a jack russell cant put its whole mouth around a childs head, or yours for that matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

I have a webcam, some cash, and some interested Japanese businessmen who would be interested in developing this idea further. PM pls k thx.

Ahh.....so we only have to obey the laws we like? Nice one!

Where did I say that?
    Hmm

Wertz wrote: »
    So what's the point in draughting half this bullsh*t into the statute books then? The legislative arm of the governement has spent who-knows how much on all this legislation in the past decade, banning this, taxing that, prohibiting the other, but yet when it comes down to enforcement, garda resources either aren't there or the force themselves don' see fit to enforcing that particular statute.
    Dangerous dogs are neither here nor there and there's far too many people in this thread focusing on that issue. There was a perceived problem about certain breeds of dog followed by public outcry...legislation is passed, the governemnt look good and look like they're protecting the public....but yet a couple of years on the enforcement is lax or non-existent.
    Whatr sort of message does that send about all our laws...what's the point in having them, if no-one bothers to do somehting about it when they're broken?

Yeah, they'll pass the law alright..
    As far as I can see ( and it has always been like this ) the laws are only there to prosecute in the worst of cases. Yes, perhaps most cases might have been prevented if the dogs had been muzzled in the first places but that's the way Ireland is with these kind of laws.

For example it was like the provo license law, not a word was said..until you did something stupid on the road and then they'd go through you. Maybe the stupidity and/or accident would have been prevented if the person wasn't on the road in the first place but..

FearDark wrote: »
    Um maybe because a jack russell cant put its whole mouth around a childs head, or yours for that matter.

I have a pitbull, it can barely fit it's mouth around my arm.

However, if the whole argument is that only dogs who can fit their mouths around your head are the ones that need muzzling then I guess there's a lot of dogs that need muzzles that are never even mentioned.

None of these dogs are inherently evil or prone to attack. They're just bred like that, it's thanks to the media that they have a bad reputation for themselves.
    Also, ANY dog will attack if it's provoked and will do just as much damage too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Jaywalking is not often enforced. My mates brother was done for it on the N11. I have seen a garda actively assisting children to jaywalk in the exact same place where he was done for it, bitch should have been done for aiding and abetting! There was a pedestrian flyover right over where she was doing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭[-0-]

People driving without seat belts.
    Bus drivers driving while on their phones.
    Learner drivers driving without a full license driver, with no nct. So much for that Law on the first of May.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

No NCT, been law for ages only change is the penalty went up.

Unaccompanied Learner Drivers, been the law since before before a lot of you were born , only seems to be enforced if there are other charges pressed as well

Learners on Motorways

Bankrupting Bervely

Taxi drivers using Hazard warning lights and not using hand signals when their indicators aren't functional.

Laws on Fraud esp. by bankers
    All the wrong doing exposed by the tribunals

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Jay walking.

Drunks Jay walking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

msg11 wrote: »
    Jay walking.

Jay has the right to march down the Queen's highway if he so wishes. Do you seek to deny him that right?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

The new blasphemy law, one hopes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

chin_grin wrote: »
    Let me see, considering the kind of "men" who would walk pit-bulls would you still have a face after you told one that they were breaking the law? I think that'd be a case of "avoid eye contact and keep walking".

But, mmyep I can see how it's annoying.

Hiya cup cakes :p

Law's not enforced - well I've never had a TV licence man call to my door despite the TV add's with say they check over 1800 households a month.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭wudangclan

Law's not enforced - well I've never had a TV licence man call to my door despite the TV add's with say they check over 1800 households a month.

your IP has been logged.

wudangclan wrote: »
    your IP has been logged.

I no speakie da Engrish, sworry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,594 ✭✭✭Maddison

Ive been bitten a few times by my Jack Russell & my snake. My two Rotties are as gentle as lambs & have never even growled in my direction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭towel401

most laws make no sense to enforce anyway, they are just passed for political correctness reasons and to shut up some bunch of whingers who can't stand up for themselves. other laws have solved a problematic situation before but make no sense to strictly enforce anymore

Maddison wrote: »
    Ive been bitten a few times by my Jack Russell & my snake. My two Rotties are as gentle as lambs & have never even growled in my direction.

I've been bit by a JRT too!.. So has my older dog.

Just reading through this, most people wouldn't know a Pitbull from anyother Bull breed - sometimes even Bully owner's would be hard pressed to say for sure whats a Pitbull.

My older lad, 99% of people would say he's a Pitbull - but his licence says "mixed breed'', so in law he's a mongrel so laws pertaining to muzzles don't apply to him!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭Tea-a-Maria

Yes,Jack Russells can be nasty little f*ckers too.:pac:

Seriously though,it can happen with any breed of dog.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭jcatony

Political corruption, bribery, misappropriation of state funds, cronyism......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

driving whilst using your mobile phone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bitemybanger

jaywalking??

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,646 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Jaywalking?

Crossing the road at an unapproved location. Generally only applicable in cities, but I'd like to read the law on that, actually.

As for the OP, I can think of two very obvious reasons why the Gard didn't do anything except admire the dog.

Firstly, I have absolutely no clue what kind of dog is what. Just because you can identify an American Pit Bull crossbreed doesn't mean that I can, or any other individual, be they Garda or not. I have enough trouble telling an Alsatian from a Chihuaha. They're short, have four legs, bark, and smell bad when wet. That's about as far as I can go. Now, I can wax poetic about sub-variants of tanks and firearms, but that's what I have spent my time learning. Seemed more practical to me.

Secondly, you are also assuming that the Garda even knows that the law exists. I didn't. Now, granted, I'm not a Garda, but I'm sure that if you took every law on the books that anyone could possibly violate, and put them into a single, easily transported volume, it would probably be about half the size of the Holy Bible. There's no way on God's green earth that one can remember all of them, and I'm fairly sure the Gardai would concern themselves a bit more with knowing traffic, offensive weapons or robbery laws than spending time studying dog breed identification and knowing that certain breeds need to be muzzled.

By way of example, here's a picture of the California Penal Code. http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/41NpBNablpL._SS500_.jpg It's about a thousand pages, and contains only criminal offenses which I could run afoul of the police were I to break. Plus, it's only those deemed offenses by the State of California, it doesn't count federal, county or city laws. (Section 599 refers to dangerous dogs. You don't get to firearms until section 12,000 gives you an idea of how many laws are out there). Do you really expect a cop to know everything?

Instead, I recommend you direct your vitriol to politicians who keep passing laws, particularly 'feel-good' ones, for the PR benefit and without much thought to how either it will be enforced, or how it will actually affect anyone.

NTM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

hey my friend moo is a american pitbull and shes the frinedlest dog in the world :D

heres a pic

http://tinypic.com/r/rk6gk3/3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

hey my friend moo is a american pitbull and shes the frinedlest dog in the world :D

heres a pic

http://tinypic.com/r/rk6gk3/3

Thats because Moo has no front legs! Duh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

I would, they are the worst.
    They should be made extinct, I haven't encoutered one that didn't bite me/try to bite me.