Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Gaelforce West - Discussion & Afters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

Where is the best place for cheap light waterproofs in the Dublin area??

Will they be selling the items for mandatory kit at registration??

I also need the whistle and the first aid kit...any ideas?

What is the survival bag exactly?

Would 53 Degrees North (Or somewhere similar on the Northside or Westside of Dublin) be able to supply me with this stuff without any hassle??

So many questions, so few days left!!

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Peterx wrote: »
    Mandatory kit - it does what it says on the tin.

Once everyone brings it we're all competing on a level playing field and the organisers can hope we'll be bright enough to use it in the case of an incident.
    I hope anyone without the kit is caught and sent away to ponder the error of their ways. In fairness the list is not that big, just bring it.

Well said Peter, since you have been at the peak of GF and did it with the mandatory kit then the rest should follow.
    I think though we should put a few 9" solid concrete blocks in your bag this year to give the rest of us a chance :D Good luck this year again.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

belcarra wrote: »
    Where is the best place for cheap light waterproofs in the Dublin area??

Will they be selling the items for mandatory kit at registration??

I also need the whistle and the first aid kit...any ideas?

What is the survival bag exactly?

Would 53 Degrees North (Or somewhere similar on the Northside or Westside of Dublin) be able to supply me with this stuff without any hassle??

So many questions, so few days left!!

I would say anywhere really, even the ones in dunnes stores are light.
    The will be selling the kit yes on registration but you will pay for it, if you know what I mean.

Survival bag is like a plastic bag, it protects you if you are injured and keeps you warm.
    http://www.venturesport.co.uk/venturesport_products.asp?catid=11&maincat=1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 GForcer1

CKWPORT wrote: »
    Heard there will be stricter checks this year too, I got a light pair and they take up no room in the bag...

can i ask where you got these, i have a pair of wets bottoms but they are too thick, need a lighter pair, i'm in Dublin...tks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Mr Freeze

GForcer1 wrote: »
    can i ask where you got these, i have a pair of wets bottoms but they are too thick, need a lighter pair, i'm in Dublin...tks

I live in westport, so its probably no good to you, but I picked up a pair in Portwest last weekend, 18euro.

• Registered Users Posts: 230 ✭✭richiemack

I'd just like to point out that this day next week we'll all be packing our stuff for the trip to Westport, I'm so excited!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 33 Stary

Does anyone know a good weather forecasting website?
    I use some and the best IMO is metcheck.com. I have been checkin it over the last few days to have an idea of what is might be like on the day and it keeps changing!! I have just checked it there and it looks pretty bad for the 22nd..... :confused: (although southish wind is in our favour)

• Registered Users Posts: 189 ✭✭gizmo73

Stary wrote: »
    Does anyone know a good weather forecasting website?
    I use some and the best IMO is metcheck.com. I have been checkin it over the last few days to have an idea of what is might be like on the day and it keeps changing!! I have just checked it there and it looks pretty bad for the 22nd..... :confused: (although southish wind is in our favour)

whatever the weather is, i don`t think it can be as bad as last year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭mymojo

the fear is starting to set in..the fear of croagh patrick ahhhhhh!!!! never done it so im afraid of the unknown! haha :eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

So anybody want to call there times yet. i'm hopin for 7-8 hours:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

racso1975 wrote: »
    So anybody want to call there times yet. i'm hopin for 7-8 hours:(

August 22nd lol

I was hoping for 4 1/2 to 5 hrs, but with my dodgy leg could be lookin at up to 6

hoping for under 6hrs

I am a Gaelforce 1st timer, and am hoping to finish in around 6 hours.

My training times have been ok, cycled from Delphi to the reek in 87 mins, up the reek in 42, down in 19, 35 mins back into town. Those times will be a lot slower on the day i'm sure. I plan on doing the 2 runs at a slow pace, to conserve a bit of energy. 6 hours would be great, but I just want to finish.

Edit: Question for ye lads that have done this before or similar events, what will you be eating next week to prepare for this? Like Carb loading, what foods, etc, and what food do you bring with you on the day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭GoHardOrGoHome

Targets:

I find it's useful to have backup targets rather than throwing in the towel if you think you're going to miss your target.

Bronze - just finish (might get punctures etc.)
    Silver - sub 5
    Gold - sub 4:30.

My training times have been ok, cycled from Delphi to the reek in 87 mins, up the reek in 42, down in 19, 35 mins back into town. Those times will be a lot slower on the day i'm sure. I plan on doing the 2 runs at a slow pace, to conserve a bit of energy.

I think it's a good idea not to kill yourself on the first run. The second run is only 3.5k or so to the bikes.

You never know what you're capable of in a race situation though. You could well replicate those times in the race (granted you'll be somewhat tired from the first run).

Edit: Question for ye lads that have done this before or similar events, what will you be eating next week to prepare for this? Like Carb loading, what foods, etc, and what food do you bring with you on the day?

I wouldn't change my diet for the week coming up to Gaelforce. Maybe avoid shellfish and don't go for a McD's at 3 in the morning. I wouldn't over eat by having four servings of spaghetti bolognese in the hope of carb loading. Just make sure you have a good breakfast, regular lunch, regular dinner and don't eat anything you're not used to eating. You don't know if it'll affect your digestion. (so if you normally eat 1-2 pieces of fruit a day, don't start eating 10 pieces of fruit and drinking 2 litres of juice a day).

Question for ye lads that have done this before or similar events, what will you be eating next week to prepare for this? Like Carb loading, what foods, etc, and what food do you bring with you on the day?

lots of people take gels, I can't they make me sick. Just load up on nutri grain bars, or oat bars. If you go into your health food shop just grab a load of high carb oat bars, taste good and full of energy, all you need in them. Usually jellys are good when u need energy injection

• Registered Users Posts: 33 Stary

I think it's a good idea not to kill yourself on the first run. The second run is only 3.5k or so to the bikes.

You never know what you're capable of in a race situation though. You could well replicate those times in the race (granted you'll be somewhat tired from the first run).

I wouldn't change my diet for the week coming up to Gaelforce. Maybe avoid shellfish and don't go for a McD's at 3 in the morning. I wouldn't over eat by having four servings of spaghetti bolognese in the hope of carb loading. Just make sure you have a good breakfast, regular lunch, regular dinner and don't eat anything you're not used to eating. You don't know if it'll affect your digestion. (so if you normally eat 1-2 pieces of fruit a day, don't start eating 10 pieces of fruit and drinking 2 litres of juice a day).

What about the morning of? as the start times are early what do you suggest for a good breakfast? i am going out on the 6am bus so am half thinking of eating a carb dinner the previous evening and just taking some energy drink and a banana in the morn for brekkie. Then just rely on power bars throughout the day! what worked last year for people?

richiemack wrote: »
    lots of people take gels, I can't they make me sick. Just load up on nutri grain bars, or oat bars. If you go into your health food shop just grab a load of high carb oat bars, taste good and full of energy, all you need in them. Usually jellys are good when u need energy injection

What about the old Jaffa cakes :) Usually are good when playing matches but not sure if this is the same.

Back in May I would have hoped for sub 6 hours but after a crash and a few injuries I want to just finish. But I am still aiming for a 6 hour finish.

A lot of this is new to me but I know I can do each event separate, its tying it all together and add in wind and rain and thats a whole new kettle of fish.

Are you all going to the after party?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭c montgomery

yop wrote: »
    What about the old Jaffa cakes :) Usually are good when playing matches but not sure if this is the same.

Back in May I would have hoped for sub 6 hours but after a crash and a few injuries I want to just finish. But I am still aiming for a 6 hour finish.

A lot of this is new to me but I know I can do each event separate, its tying it all together and add in wind and rain and thats a whole new kettle of fish.

Are you all going to the after party?

Not sure yet.
    Whats the ratio of male to female doing gf???Not going to go to the after party if its gonna be a complete sausauge fest.

Not sure yet.
    Whats the ratio of male to female doing gf???Not going to go to the after party if its gonna be a complete sausauge fest.

LOL, One makes any odds me to , I already have a sausage muncher :D

Not a clue to be honest, will be a bit of crack anyway.

LOL, One makes any odds me to , I already have a sausage muncher :D

Not a clue to be honest, will be a bit of crack anyway.

I really hope she sees this post!!!

lol, don't worry she will ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

Targets:

I find it's useful to have backup targets rather than throwing in the towel if you think you're going to miss your target.

Bronze - just finish (might get punctures etc.)
    Silver - sub 5
    Gold - sub 4:30.

Same as my own targets.
    What wave are you in GoHard?
    I'm in the second wave...

• Registered Users Posts: 25 gaelforce09

Few months back i had hoped to do under 4 and half but now i think i can do it under 5hours hopefully.
    Run 1 - 80mins
    Kayak - 10mins
    Run 2 - 20mins
    Cycle - 80mins
    Up Reek - 43mins
    Down Reek - 17mins
    Cycle - 40mins

Total = 4hours 50mins

Time will tell!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭ronanmac

Really difficult to predict a time, not used to any of the disciplines bar the running. Based on the fact that I am a midpack runner (and a slow midpack runner at that!), I would be happy with anything under six hours, delighted with sub 5.30...

By the way, does anyone know if you leave your helmet with the bike, or do you have to carry it? I see on the Gaelforce website that full body cover is now on the mandatory kit list (can be windproof rather than waterproof).

• Registered Users Posts: 59 ✭✭clopd

ronanmac wrote: »

By the way, does anyone know if you leave your helmet with the bike, or do you have to carry it? I see on the Gaelforce website that full body cover is now on the mandatory kit list (can be windproof rather than waterproof).

you can leave your helmet with your bike in transition.

What is the cycle route like from CP back into Westport and how long is it?

Also what happens at the finish - looking at pictures from previous years it seems to be a running finish - so do you have to leave your bike in a transition area at Westport house and then do a short run to finish line?

• Registered Users Posts: 224 ✭✭Gerry1995

I going to attempt this for the first time, though it seems from the posts I'll struggle big time. Not too serious about it. I started training in June but had an accident on the bike (taxi wanted my space and took it!!). Missed next 5 weeks so just started again in beginning of July. I have previously completed about 7 Dublin City marathons ovet the last 30 years, last one in 2007. So far the longest run I have is 10KM and 33KM cycle plus walk/run up and down Howth head from Howth side. I will be using a mountain bike and the runners are standard issue Asics Gel 1140. I'm just giving this basic information in case there is anyone else in my category. Oh yeah I have only ever seen a picture of a Kayak and my daughter is giving me grief because I cannot swim, I keep telling her I don't expect to have to... hope I'm right. I will post also to say how I got on. Cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 Maverick74

Another 1st timer here. I have been putting in a good bit of training combining 10k runs with 30k cycles. Managed to do 6k run/ 15k cycle to the reek, up and down and 15k cycle back to Westport 3 times over last 8 weeks. Its tough going :(. I'm feeling tired these days and was wondering what the more seasoned athletes will be doing during the week. I was planning to do a hard session tomorrow and a light run on Wednesday (6k) just to keep limber and rest Thurs and Fri. What do ye think??

Also I know some people who did it last year and they gave me the impression that there was a timeout between each transition. Is this the case or does the clock keep ticking?? I'm in the jogger category and in the black wave at 7.30.

Good luck to all ;)

Mav

It's always good to rest up the week leading up to a race. If you've not done the training by now your not going to benefit much this week. Best idea is to wind down this week and rest thurs friday. Ill be tipping about on the bike tomorrow night, short run on Tues, and in the pool Wednesday. Your best to be rested for the big day rather than wearing yourself out during the week, nothing will be acheived from here on in!!!
    Good luck

*It is now mandatory that you have FULL BODY COVER (min: windproof).

noticed above from the GF website, does this mean you have to wear the jacket and bottoms for doing the race, or just have them in your bag incase of injury etc? Can you still do the race in shorts?

sorry, just noticed this when re-read it again..

6. Clothing; worn or carried: Gloves, Hat, Top, Outer layers: Top & Bottoms*

They must be expecting really bad weather for the day. Lucky us.

• Registered Users Posts: 224 ✭✭Gerry1995

How do you know which wave you are in. I am Jogger but can't see how to know which wave I'm in.

*Sorry got that now* Wave 6 white.

They must be expecting really bad weather for the day. Lucky us.

i think it's gonna be really really windy..would prefer anything but wind...hate the wind, especially on the bike..going up hill....

ya, not a fan of the wind on the bike, but the route is sheltered enough with the exception of the hill climbs.

But I would be more worried about the waves on Killary. A few of us, had a (much needed) kayaking lesson on Saturday there, and it was a calm day, and that crossing was fairly choppy.

Stary wrote: »
    What about the morning of? as the start times are early what do you suggest for a good breakfast? i am going out on the 6am bus so am half thinking of eating a carb dinner the previous evening and just taking some energy drink and a banana in the morn for brekkie. Then just rely on power bars throughout the day! what worked last year for people?

Breakfast for me will probably be cornflakes and some Lucozade sport. I'll have a banana and finish the Lucozade on the bus. Not ideal but getting up at 3:30 for porridge sounds worse to me.

Nutrition during the race: sip water during run. Banana at kayak transition. Energy bar, water and around 400ml Lucozade sport in first half hour of cycle. Sip water on Croagh Patrick. Nothing on cycle back to Westport.

Jaffa cakes are the business. Perfect energy food.
    belcarra wrote: »
    Same as my own targets.
    What wave are you in GoHard?
    I'm in the second wave...

I'm in the first wave 5:30! Aaargh.
    clopd wrote: »
    you can leave your helmet with your bike in transition.

Yes, definitely leave your helmet at transition. You don't want to have to run, kayak and run with a helmet.
    clopd wrote: »
    Also what happens at the finish - looking at pictures from previous years it seems to be a running finish - so do you have to leave your bike in a transition area at Westport house and then do a short run to finish line?

It's a 200m run from the last bike transition to the finish line in the courtyard of Westport house.
    Gerry1995 wrote: »
    Oh yeah I have only ever seen a picture of a Kayak and my daughter is giving me grief because I cannot swim, I keep telling her I don't expect to have to... hope I'm right. I will post also to say how I got on. Cheers

Kayaking won't be a problem at all. It's very short: 6-10 minutes. You have a buoyancy aid and worst case scenario if you fall out you just climb back in!
    Maverick74 wrote: »
    Another 1st timer here. I have been putting in a good bit of training combining 10k runs with 30k cycles. Managed to do 6k run/ 15k cycle to the reek, up and down and 15k cycle back to Westport 3 times over last 8 weeks. Its tough going :(. I'm feeling tired these days and was wondering what the more seasoned athletes will be doing during the week. I was planning to do a hard session tomorrow and a light run on Wednesday (6k) just to keep limber and rest Thurs and Fri. What do ye think??

No hard session! Keep it handy. Definitely go for an easy jog or an easy cycle. Don't have your legs aching. You won't get the benefit of a hard session now.
    Maverick74 wrote: »
    Also I know some people who did it last year and they gave me the impression that there was a timeout between each transition. Is this the case or does the clock keep ticking?? I'm in the jogger category and in the black wave at 7.30.

Good luck to all ;)

Mav

The only time-out transition is at the kayak transition.

• Registered Users Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Poncherello

anyone using clip on aero bars on the bike considering putting their backpack on the opposite way around ? Would obviously help with aero position but not sure how comfortable and safe it would be - gonna try it out tonight anyway

that sounds like an extreme step, dont think itll make much difference apart from being uncomfortable to carry, remember over a long course like this practicality and simplicity will get you to the end quicker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭Peterx

a big enough bumbag could be the answer if you wanted to make the most of your aero bars?
    The mandatory kit should all fit into a small enough space, especially if you wear a cycling jersey and put some stuff in the pockets - maybe the raingear as that won't move about too much?

The question for me is whether or not to change shoes at all.

3 footwear transitions, carrying runners on the bike sections and then possibly doing a short run at the offroad section and westport house in your bike shoes or losing some pedalling efficency by wearing runners on the bike. In saying that I lost heaps of time at my one and only triathlon by having no tri-bars and wearing the runners so as I say, undecided!

The cyclocross bike is definitely staying in the shed, road bike all the way and please grud no nasty things happen to it on that 2.5km offroad section..

I was planning on leaving cycling shoes on my bike, and changing and squeezing the runners into the bag and changing again at the reek...

But I am using runners all the way now, what put me off, was in training, I didn't change back to cycling shoes for the last cycle leg after climbing the reek, as I would have to get off on the off road downhill part (no way am i ruining my bike on that), anyways, the runners on those pedals was not safe, kept slipping.

So runners all the way now, I think its for the best as I cant even walk in my cycling shoes.

will we be using the same bike transition the whole time, we pick bikes up, leave m at bottom of reek, and then on the last bike leg do we return to the same bike transition as the first time we picked em up? Also can we ditch our bags there for the last bit of running?

richiemack wrote: »
    will we be using the same bike transition the whole time, we pick bikes up, leave m at bottom of reek, and then on the last bike leg do we return to the same bike transition as the first time we picked em up? Also can we ditch our bags there for the last bit of running?

Don't get you there Richie, we pick the bikes at Delphi, cycle to reek, leave the bike, climb the reek, back down the same place and get on bike and cycle to Westport. Then the bikes are left there where we either finish or have to do some run.

Thats what I was confused about we start out on bikes from Delphi, but will not return there? and what about leaving bags at last bike transition?

No return to Delphi. Bus from Westport to the beach out near Delphi. You can't leave your bag at your bike before your climb of the reek. Your bag will be attached to you for the full thing, except maybe at the kayak where you can leave it in the kayak.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 263 ✭✭seanie500

how long will it take to go by bus to delphi

am out in 5.30 wave so trying to work out what time the run will start at?

also just to confirm is the off road cycle piece after climbing croagh patrick and is it really 2.5k?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭WithCheesePlease

Just wondering do I need to lock my bike overnight and at the transitions? Would rather not have to cycle around with a lock hanging off my bike if I can avoid it, but at the same time don't want to be worried about my bike being stolen... What's the general consensus?

Also, what are people going to do about cycling shorts? Would rather not wear them running (can't imagine a big padded arse would be too comfortable running) but maybe they'd be necessary for the cycle? How are people going to juggle this?

Just wondering do I need to lock my bike overnight and at the transitions? Would rather not have to cycle around with a lock hanging off my bike if I can avoid it, but at the same time don't want to be worried about my bike being stolen... What's the general consensus?

Also, what are people going to do about cycling shorts? Would rather not wear them running (can't imagine a big padded arse would be too comfortable running) but maybe they'd be necessary for the cycle? How are people going to juggle this?

Transition will be secured - they have been doing it for a few years now - so I wouldn't worry about that.

I'm using my tri shorts - they are designed to be comfortable running too - as they have less padding and better flexibility than normal cycling shorts.

• Registered Users Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Poncherello

anyone got elevation profiles for the different sections please
    thanks

just saw the following useful info on the pulse tri club web forum: http://www.forum.pulsetri.com/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=495&p=1407&hilit=westport#p1407

"1. Once you get on bus at Westport House - it will be 1.5 / 2 hrs before start of race so bring extra water / food for bus journey.
    2. Run starts off with hill but it’s not too bad. Second hill is bad enough (off road). If you look up you can count 2 electricity poles and then it ends so you can use that as motivation! After the downhill (on this aspect) turn right (some folks got it wrong last year). The scenery is beautiful so it will be a lovely run.
    3. When you get to kayak area you can check out your time chip and have a rest :) - remember to check back in. :lol:
    4. Going across Killary Harbour - with the way the currents go, and if it’s a strong current, veer towards left going across.
    5. About a 3k run after that - there are 2 bungalows stay to the high side of the bungalows.
    6. Loads of people apparently miss the turn off for Croagh Patrick - its 2nd left once you turn left on to Westport road. Watch out for a sign post for some dog kennels - that your marker and take that left.
    7. Make sure to hit the time chip thingy at the top of Croagh Patrick.
    8. Footwear for Croagh Patrick - trail runners are preferable as regular runners would not have sufficient grip. Recommended smart wool socks too.
    9. They also recommended having a bit of duct tape on your bike in case you get a blow out it might be good enough to get you through."