Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are you self-actualized?

• 01-05-2009 7:41pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭

Just reading the depression thread and someone mentioned Maslow's hierarchy of needs.
    Are you self-actualized?
    If not how far from self-actualization are you?

Are you self-actualized? 42 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    38% 16 votes
    Self-actualization is for losers
    38% 16 votes
    I beg your pardon!
    23% 10 votes

• Registered Users Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

I don't actually know.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,962 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

What?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Increasing moments of cosmic consciousness throughout my daily activity.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

If I understand self-actualisation correctly then the answer is no. Otherwise ther answer is derp.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

As long as he doesn't get out that dog again and the bell to teach rote learning, I'm happy.

Poor mutt. :(

...O' wait, thats Pavlov ain't it! I forget. Its been a while since I had to study that mental theory stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Poppycock!

What?

He just asked if your getting laid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

He just asked if your getting laid.

No no. He's asking if you enjoy Palmela and her five friends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭dade

now for teh science bit

Five Levels of the Hierarchy of Needs info can be found here http://www.abraham-maslow.com/m_motivation/Hierarchy_of_Needs.asp

you must fulfill the lower needs before you can achieve teh higher ones etc kinda like playing tetris

Self-actualizing Needs

This is the highest level of Maslow’s hierarchy of needs. Self-actualizing people are self-aware, concerned with personal growth, less concerned with the opinions of others, and interested fulfilling their potential.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

no i am not :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

What the dickens are you talking about man?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

Self-Actualization Self-actualization is the summit of Maslow's motivation theory. It is about the quest of reaching one's full potential as a person. Unlike lower level needs, this need is never fully satisfied; as one grows psychologically there are always new opportunities to continue to grow.
    Self-actualized people tend to have motivators such as:
    • Truth
    • Justice
    • Wisdom
    • Meaning
    Self-actualized persons have frequent occurrences of peak experiences, which are energized moments of profound happiness and harmony. According to Maslow, only a small percentage of the population reaches the level of self-actualization.

I'd say I am, overall. I'm not concerned with what others think. I value truth and justice above all things. I don't take bs. I'm confident and aware of myself.

Close enough for me anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,245 ✭✭✭old gregg

one of the interesting things about Maslow's hierarchy is that if you find that the level you are on is under threat then it's possible that you will feel the level below you is also under threat .... for example, folks working in an environment where they feel that they are not appreciated will often start to complain about their wages even though they previously had no issue with their rate of pay .....

now there's one for a Friday night on AH :)

• Registered Users Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

old gregg wrote: »
    now there's one for a Friday night on AH :)

Er, yeah, because the ramifications of complex systems from social theorists is right there on the AH level of sophistication.

*fart sounds*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

tech77 wrote: »
    Just reading the depression thread and someone mentioned Maslow's hierarchy of needs.
    Are you self-actualized?
    If not how far from self-actualization are you?

I think I am. But seeing as you are bringing the depression thread into it;
    depression demotivates and in turn changes your needs. The sole need for someone that is depressed is to feel happy again.

Zillah wrote: »
    Poppycock!
    heeeyyyy that was moyin! :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I'll ask my wife.;)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

Scien wrote: »
    I'm happy, and have been for quite some time.

Life is actually fairly easy, people just overreact.

Ahh the Corkians. rough as bears árses.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I'm ****ing awesome and I know it.

Meh, its true to an extent. People freak out these days over f**k all.
    Have a can. relax.
    I'm on my 7th. That's how I know that I'm so ****ing awesome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

:eek::eek:

Logs out!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭hurdehur

...tracker motgages?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

My wife said i can be for 2 minutes a night.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Yes. No. Maybe. What was the question again? Oh right, put me down as a definite possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Deep man deep , like cosmic velvet with overtones of smaltz ,yeah deep .

Meh, its true to an extent. People freak out these days over f**k all.
    Have a can. relax.

I'm taking them into consideration.. :(

Dubs are pussies eh? are ye startin'? I claim you! [/90's knacker]

• Registered Users Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

I'm grand. I was concerned for Terry but knowing he's alright put my mind at ease.

Now I'm just 1 little Fonzie.

6th with 2 Bav left in the fridge... Harcourt St. might get rattled yet!
    I had better not mention my mode of transport in AH.
    As long as it's not a bicycle you're fine.
    Cyclists are the point of rage today.
    Just remember to wear a seatbelt if you're driving.

As for what's left, I sold half of the crate of Bud to my lodger, but I just bought another, so I have 28 cans left.