Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Professor Brendan Buckley - Ban kids who take supplements

• 29-04-2009 12:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,863 ✭✭✭

Anyone hear this headline?

This guy has called on schools and clubs to ban athletes who are found to be taking protein shakes.

Ireland needs to create a culture of "unnacceptability" for these shakes.

Apparently they contain banned substances, however when asked if schools should test their athletes to ascertain if they are taking them his response was that they couldn't.....because they don't contain any banned substances.

Also apparently these protein shakes add so much muscle so quickly, young people skeletons are in danger of being damaged.

In a swine flu-esque sensationalist interview this numpty was unchallenged by anyone in the sporting community, anyone with a nutritional background and of course had absolutely no study or shred of scientific proof to back up his claims. He seemed to be very wary of the fact that they were powders, and as we all know, powders can come to no good!

Where the hell did this guy get his doctorate?

I don't know if this will be brought up on liveline but if it does it should be interesting. Think I'll ring up and tell about my friend Hanley who has taken so many supplements his doctor advised him to stop because his muscles were crushing his heart!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

I heard about this guy who took "teh protein shakes" and then he won a world powerlifting competition. That sort of thing shouldn't be allowed!

Seriously though, as you pointed out there was little or no response from the sporting community, as per usual. This sort of thing will be dangerous if its not confronted soon. Its a bit much to suggest we need an organisation like 'athletes for supplements', but there does need to be some sort of voice in the media that will challenge this bull****. It has to come from somewhere, why not boards users (oops wrong phrase!) contributors? Any ideas?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Hard to know what to say tbh, would be nice to stop caring but I find it very hard to tolerate idiocy. :P

Is it just protein shakes he's out to get? Or are all supplements unacceptable to him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,863 ✭✭✭kevpants

amacachi wrote: »
    Hard to know what to say tbh, would be nice to stop caring but I find it very hard to tolerate idiocy. :P

Is it just protein shakes he's out to get? Or are all supplements unacceptable to him?

It's just the powdery stuff. That's the thing, Id like to point out to him that Fish Oil is a supplement as is Glucosamine and Chondroitin that half the pensioner community (and me) takes for their joints are supplements too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭podge57

I thought you said it was on liveline now, and i turned it on and heard them talking about atheism and blasphemy...

I would be more concerned by the fact that they are wasting their money (not sayintg supplements are a waste of money)
    Most teenagers i see drinking shakes have horrible diets, routines and lifestyles, and seem to think that protein shakes are all it takes.

Adding huge amounts of muscle isnt really a concern

kevpants wrote: »
    It's just the powdery stuff. That's the thing, Id like to point out to him that Fish Oil is a supplement as is Glucosamine and Chondroitin that half the pensioner community (and me) takes for their joints are supplements too.

Yeah fish oil was the main one I was thinking of.

I wonder why he thinks we should just target kids. Surely targetting top sports stars like our recent 6 Nations Grand Slam winners would be a good tactic, get them to set a good example by not taking protein shakes?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

The worst thing is that garbage like this is actually helping to sell more useless supplements to gullible kids who actually believe they'll become too muscular to wipe thier own arses.
    A far better study would be how much pocket money kids waste on supplements that they could be spending on drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭dioltas

What a shower of tools. Good luck to them. I couldn't really be arsed trying to convince people who want to believe protein is an evil drug otherwise anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,514 ✭✭✭BrianD3

I heard him on the radio at lunchtime. I love the way he started talking about supplements coming from "god knows where". How scientific :rolleyes:

Just more of the usual scaremongering about how protein supplements may be contaminated with banned substances. Where's the evidence for this? How many cases have there been in Ireland and worldwide where something like whey protein has been proven to be secretly spiked or accidentally contaminated with banned substances.

I also think its funny how there is so much talk about whey and other supplements and then when questioned about *actual* positive drugs tests in recent years he starts talking about Paul Galvin and his asthma medication that was presumably prescribed by a doctor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Apparently they contain banned substances, however when asked if schools should test their athletes to ascertain if they are taking them his response was that they couldn't.....because they don't contain any banned substances.
    Brilliant!
    Where the hell did this guy get his doctorate?

http://www.ucc.ie/en/DepartmentsCentresandUnits/PharmacologyandTherapeutics/Staff/
    Prof. Brendan Buckley
    Honorary Clinical Professor in Pharmacology (PT)
    That explains things, thats the type of worthless jacks-roll they hand out to rockstars! Probably is a Dr along with it though.

Wonder what other dairy products he wants banned, I have low fat cheese with 35% protein. Dried skimmed milk is high in protein, and look at those baby formulas the rate of growth they cause is shocking, somebody think of the skeletons!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,863 ✭✭✭kevpants

The problem I has is that banned substances cost money. Why would a supplement manufacturer chuck them into whey or creatine without including it in their cost structure? That's like buying a car and the garage throwing in a free dog that you only find when you open the boot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭johnny_knoxvile

Protein is the work of the devil... You're going to hell!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,514 ✭✭✭BrianD3

rubadub wrote: »
    Brilliant!
    Wonder what other dairy products he wants banned, I have low fat cheese with 35% protein. Dried skimmed milk is high in protein, and look at those baby formulas the rate of growth they cause is shocking, somebody think of the skeletons!
    Yep, you'd want to be careful with those dairy products. The manufacturer probably has a steroid producing operation running alongside their cheese and milk production. They probably don't clean the equipment after churning out a batch of steroids so watch out - you could find steroids in your cheese! If you start turning into the Incredible Hulk and find your skeleton breaking under the strain of your giant muscles, you'll know that that's what has happened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,252 ✭✭✭✭Madame Razz

Guys, I'm in no way getting involved in this discussion, I have no interest or comment to make; or indeed basis for comment.

However, I think it might be useful to point out that Professor Brendan M. Buckley is a Consultant in Endocrinology and Metabolism and is in fact one of the leading Endocrinologists in Ireland and very well thought of here and abroad. He is based in the Bon Secours and Mercy hospitals in Cork and his special research interests include Clinical Pharmacology, Lipid modifying drugs, and Atherosclerosis. He is particularly well thought of in terms of Diabetes care.

As I said, I'm not getting involved in any of this, but I just thought it was worth pointing out that the man actually is a Medical Consultant and probably is quite far from a 'numpty' tbh.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 949 ✭✭✭maxxie

Guys, I'm in no way getting involved in this discussion, I have no interest or comment to make; or indeed basis for comment.

However, I think it might be useful to point out that Professor Brendan M. Buckley is a Consultant in Endocrinology and Metabolism and is in fact one of the leading Endocrinologists in Ireland and very well thought of here and abroad. He is based in the Bon Secours and Mercy hospitals in Cork and his special research interests include Clinical Pharmacology, Lipid modifying drugs, and Atherosclerosis. He is particularly well thought of in terms of Diabetes care.

As I said, I'm not getting involved in any of this, but I just thought it was worth pointing out that the man actually is a Medical Consultant and probably is quite far from a 'numpty' tbh.

why dont ya marry him :p

maxxie wrote: »
    why dont ya marry him :p

LOL:D

Don't think so!!

Know of him due to my previous job and rechecked his medical directory listing. Just thought twas worth pointing out who he actually was, that's all.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭joepenguin

He is particularly well thought of in terms of Diabetes care.

I wouldnt go to a specialist in diabetes care for my sports nutrition just as I wouldnt consult a sports nutritionist for my diabetes.

EDIT: not that i have diabetes but the point still stands.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 949 ✭✭✭maxxie

LOL:D

Don't think so!!

Know of him due to my previous job and rechecked his medical directory listing. Just thought twas worth pointing out who he actually was, that's all.:)

:D I was only playin..

joepenguin wrote: »
    I wouldnt go to a specialist in diabetes care for my sports nutrition just as I wouldnt consult a sports nutritionist for my diabetes.

Well tbh, he is an Endocrinologist, so whilst Diabetes would be an area of his, it wouldn't be his sole area.

Most Endos would have an excellent understanding of nutrition aswell really, they have to have, sort of goes with the territory;).

As I said I'm not defending the man, or getting into the discussion at all really, I just felt it should be pointed out who he is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 859 ✭✭✭BobbyOLeary

To be honest, being a doctor has nothing to do with enhancing the lives of already healthy individuals. Doctoring is about making sick people better. If doctors knew everything about training sports people there would be no need for S&C coaches or nutritionists.

Madame Razz, it doesn't make a lick of difference that Prof. Buckley is a highly qualified doctor, he's wrong about the dangers of protein powders. He could be Albert Einstein and he would still be wrong. His credentials surely give his opinion more credence but what he said is still wrong.

To be honest, being a doctor has nothing to do with enhancing the lives of already healthy individuals. Doctoring is about making sick people better. If doctors knew everything about training sports people there would be no need for S&C coaches or nutritionists.

Madame Razz, it doesn't make a lick of difference that Prof. Buckley is a highly qualified doctor, he's wrong about the dangers of protein powders. He could be Albert Einstein and he would still be wrong. His credentials surely give his opinion more credence but what he said is still wrong.

That's fair enough.

As I said, I was merely commenting on who the man was as opposed to the topic at hand.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Kev M

Infuriating. The way things are going I'll have to move to Mexico sooner rather than later :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

The smartest* ones are quite often the most ignorant.

*used in the loosed sense of the term possible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,454 ✭✭✭slicus ricus

What I want to know is: Why do these doctors keep coming out of the woodwork with ridiculous anti- sports supplement rants? I remember there was a doctor on the Gerry Ryan show and another guy on liveline. Is it a case that the health industry is taking revenue away from doctors or pharmaceutical (sp?) companies?

I also remember reading here that a guy who works in the supplement industry in Ireland rang up Gerry Ryans show to put his side of the argument forward and they wouldn't let him on!

What I want to know is: Why do these doctors keep coming out of the woodwork with ridiculous anti- sports supplement rants? I remember there was a doctor on the Gerry Ryan show and another guy on liveline. Is it a case that the health industry is taking revenue away from doctors or pharmaceutical (sp?) companies?

There was a classic quote on RTE yesterday - with the advent of 24/7 media coverage of events, they need to make big deals out of stuff to fill time slots. Nothing more, and nothing less. It's a scary topic that gets concerned mothers on the phone, and "knowledgeable" doctors stoking the flames.
    I also remember reading here that a guy who works in the supplement industry in Ireland rang up Gerry Ryans show to put his side of the argument forward and they wouldn't let him on!

SRSLY???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,454 ✭✭✭slicus ricus

Hanley wrote: »
    SRSLY???

Check out post #13 on this thread from 06 where Dragan mentions an "industry insider" friend of his who tried to call! You can probably figure out who he's talking about.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055001190&highlight=gerry+ryan+supplements

Check out post #13 on this thread from 06 where Dragan mentions an "industry insider" friend of his who tried to call! You can probably figure out who he's talking about.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055001190&highlight=gerry+ryan+supplements

Cheers for that!! I can put 2 and 2 together!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

I suppose Jerry Flannery should be banned... because he endorses USN. I suppose someone should tell Munster Rugby that one of their official sponsors, Nutrition X, is selling products that contain banned substances. :rolleyes:

Once again.. the bogey men prevail!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,532 ✭✭✭WolfForager

Hmm. This was just on the RTE 1 news. And of course my mother saw it and is now ranting and raving about how protein shakes are the devil and that i should listen to the "smart" doctors and give up the stuff. Her points were "You'll get a heartattack" and "it'll stunt you growth" (apparently both of these were said on the news), either of which are just pointless arguements. The only way i can see you getting a heartattack from them is taking ridiculous amounts of creatine and other stuff and putting on too much muscle(or fat) for your heart to sustain, stunted growth is a direct effect from weight lifting itself, not the supplements, added to that i'm 18, if there's any growth left i'd be lucky if i get a 1/4 of an inch.

I can't believe that these idiots believe that protein shakes contain banned substances, they're all made to EU regulation ffs. And the worst part is that 99.99997% of the population are stupid enough to believe them because they are "smart doctors".

[/rant]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

How about everybody goes to their GP to be tested.. fork out the 60-70 yoyo's. Sure don't they just have our best interests at heart? ...trying to protect us from those money grabbing sports nutrition companies...

Hmm. This was just on the RTE 1 news. And of course my mother saw it and is now ranting and raving about how protein shakes are the devil and that i should listen to the "smart" doctors and give up the stuff. Her points were "You'll get a heartattack" and "it'll stunt you growth" (apparently both of these were said on the news), either of which are just pointless arguements. The only way i can see you getting a heartattack from them is taking ridiculous amounts of creatine and other stuff and putting on too much muscle(or fat) for your heart to sustain, stunted growth is a direct effect from weight lifting itself, not the supplements, added to that i'm 18, if there's any growth left i'd be lucky if i get a 1/4 of an inch.

I can't believe that these idiots believe that protein shakes contain banned substances, they're all made to EU regulation ffs. And the worst part is that 99.99997% of the population are stupid enough to believe them because they are "smart doctors".

[/rant]

UUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHH I fcuking HATE hearing sh1t like that.

I'm 22 and I STILL get it.

Hanley wrote: »
    UUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHH I fcuking HATE hearing sh1t like that.

I'm 22 and I STILL get it.

Good, ya junkie scumbag. :P

Another trouble with the older generation is that while a lot of them will have been fit when they were young without supplements, they weren't training for size and a lot of their strength came from doing a ****load of manual work over a long period of time. They also won't accept the levels of fitness that professional athletes have and need these days. When my dad sees american footballers taking oxygen after being on the pitch for a couple of minutes he gives out, not realising that the guy has just drained almost everything from himself which is a skill in itself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

steroid munchers the lot a ye she be locked up;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

weight lifting increases growth hormone, it does not stunt growth.

"so your back on that cretinine powder stuff again, didnt the doctors tell u not to be taking that?"

trying to explain that creatine is a natural product found in meat and fish to my mother is like telling an old woman that daniel o donnell is a spa, they just dont listen. if its in a pill or powder form its automatically bad for you. but if its in a glass bottle and made from grapes its fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭narwog81

waterboy3.jpg

PROTEIN IS THE DEVIL!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

i think this is the same guy i had a debate with on matt coopers show with regards to creatine.

Again protein supplements are helpful but are no excuse for a poor diet and there are more people taking them with a crap diet and junk programs than those using them properly (from what i can see in the gyms).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭slemons

This guy is a consultant endocrinologist, a professor and seemingly well known and respected.

Maybe, just maybe he has a point?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

slemons wrote: »
    This guy is a consultant endocrinologist, a professor and seemingly well known and respected.

That whey powder produced from dairy has somehow magically gotten banned substances in it but if you test for this there are no banned substances in it. Riiiiiiiiigggghhhhttttt

Does being an endocrinologist mean that the spurious, unfounded claims he is making are more valid than if I were to make the same unfounded claims?
    Transform wrote: »
    Again protein supplements are helpful but are no excuse for a poor diet and there are more people taking them with a crap diet and junk programs than those using them properly (from what i can see in the gyms).

True, however he's talking about banning "kids" (no specific upper or lower parameters) from taking part in sport. I've said before than I think supplements are often overused, but he's just talking crap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭Saabdub

If he was a scientist he would carry out research and then publish the results in a peer reviewed Journal in the normal manner. What he is doing is expressing his personal opinion in the media. Without the benefit of research to support his claims his views are meaningless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

He has a point in that young people shouldn't over rely on supplements. The rest of his 'points', however, seems to be ludicrously scaremongerish in nature and designed solely to avail of airtime.

Whey protein shakes are adding muscle so fast it's distorting young people's skeletons? Um, wha? Besides which, as such a high profile academic he's EXACTLY the caliber of 'expert' who should be able to back up his points with suitable literature and not pluck random soundbites to keep the radio listeners happy.

Calling for a ban on whey supplements means calling for a ban on baby formula, ricotta cheese and numerous pet foods, ALL of which use whey in their production. This kind of media whoring of mistruths is what causes us all to have to put up with "OMG yore on teh STEROIDZ" rubbish every time we drink a protein shake and demonises the industry in general. It's pants.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 223 ✭✭telemachus

An awful lot of it comes from tests that have been run on supplements for professional athletes who run the risk of being banned if their supplements are contaminated. I think the IOC lab in Cologne tested 600 odd of them and found 15 percent contained banned substances that shouldn't be there. However the confusion is that the vast majority of the contaminated supps were hormone boosters and test boosters etc, and nothing at all to do with garden variety whey/casein/creatine etc but as a result everything gets tarred with the same brush and studies are reffered to that just don't apply in the case of protein and the like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 215 ✭✭Pro-Nutrition

Vegeta wrote: »
    That whey powder produced from dairy has somehow magically gotten banned substances in it but if you test for this there are no banned substances in it. Riiiiiiiiigggghhhhttttt

Just seen this thread now and I have to say that I think this Doctor fella is talking pure crap. Before anyone says "well you would say this because you own a supplement store" Firstly I would not sell any products to a person under the age of 18 thats just me unless like the other day this young fella came in with his mother and she bought him his protein and a couple of other bites and pieces. Like the time that the medical board banned No-Explode for too much vit B6. Do you not think that these so called Doctor should be more concerned about young kids taking far worse like cocaine or heroine???? which they could get their hands on far easier then supplements. Whey dont they try to deal with that??? They say that proteins have banned ingredients???? Unless they have just gone and drawn up a new banned list I really think that they are been so stupid. Take my own nephew for example, living in Tallaght goes to the gym 4 days per week, which he enjoys, he takes his supplements in conjunction with a good diet. Can this doctor tell me where is the harm in that?? or should my nephew like many other kids like be walking around the streets of Dublin looking for there next hit of heroine???

This is just my opinion on the matter, I think that there are by far better things that these guys should be dealing with. Millions of euros worth of heroine comes into this country each and every day, and they are on about supplements been bad for you. Correct me if I am wrong but I really am so pissed at this Doctor fella who in my opinion should get a bloody grip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

Like the time that the medical board banned No-Explode for too much vit B6.

im not a fan of no-explode but coco pops have b6 added to them and when i was a kid whenever i got a box id almost eat the whole box in 1 sitting. somehow i cant see there being a limit on how many boxes of cocopops u can buy at tescos

Seriously dont go putting ideas in their heads:D sure they are putting VAT on all supplements as of June (next month)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭Saabdub

I don't see how he can be certain of anything in relation to protein supplement consumption in healthy young adults. Most of his available research appears to be on the elderly. Here are some of the conclusions of studies he's participated in.

http://circ.ahajournals.org/cgi/reprint/115/8/981.pdf
    Conclusions—Elevated CRP minimally enhances cardiovascular disease prediction beyond established vascular risk
    factors and does not predict response to statin therapy in elderly subjects at risk. These data suggest that CRP has limited
    clinical value in cardiovascular disease risk stratification or predicting response to statin therapy in elderly people.
    (Circulation. 2007;115:981-989.)

http://linkinghub.elsevier.com/retrieve/pii/S0140673608606029
    Interpretation
    Metabolic syndrome and its components are associated with type 2 diabetes but have weak or no association with vascular risk in elderly populations, suggesting that attempts to define criteria that simultaneously predict risk for both cardiovascular disease and diabetes are unhelpful. Clinical focus should remain on establishing optimum risk algorithms for each disease.

http://circ.ahajournals.org/cgi/content/abstract/112/20/3058
    Conclusions— In people >70 years old, HDLc appears to be a key predictor of risk and of treatment benefit. Findings in PROSPER suggest that statin therapy could usefully be targeted to those with HDLc <1.15 mmol/L or an LDLc/HDLc ratio >3.3.

He's also looked at Lipids and Strokes http://dvd.sagepub.com/cgi/content/abstract/3/3/170

For more type his name into Google Scholar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

What is the point? Why would you ban atheletes who happen to eat a dairy product which he has heard/presumed to have banned substances in, but then says it will be free of banned substances! It would be like saying there was some batch of contaminated milk once, so ban all atheletes from drinking it.

I don't know the correct expression to use, something like putting the cart before the horse. Shouldn't he be campaigning or suggesting more strict controls on all foods? As telemachus was saying it seems to stem from other "true" supplements being contaminated, probably made in factories alongside substances on banned lists for pro atheletes.
    g'em wrote: »
    Calling for a ban on whey supplements means calling for a ban on baby formula, ricotta cheese and numerous pet foods, ALL of which use whey in their production.
    I have seen it in a few ice creams, I think the effect of obesity from icecream is more a risk to the poor skeletons ;)
    Firstly I would not sell any products to a person under the age of 18 thats just me unless like the other day this young fella came in with his mother and she bought him his protein and a couple of other bites and pieces.
    I was in holland & barret before and a group of young lads about 16 came in looking at supps, the woman told them she would not sell them creatine, then they were looking at protein and she said "you can buy that, its only food". They sort of looked confused, one of them got some protein bar, would have been better off getting a chicken fillet burger with his pocket money!

If I was running a shop I probably would not even sell them the protein (on their own) for fear of mothers ringing Joe Duffy and telling him my shop injected their son with steroids.

rubadub wrote: »
    What is the point? Why would you ban atheletes who happen to eat a dairy product which he has heard/presumed to have banned substances in, but then says it will be free of banned substances! It would be like saying there was some batch of contaminated milk once, so ban all atheletes from drinking it.

I don't know the correct expression to use, something like putting the cart before the horse. Shouldn't he be campaigning or suggesting more strict controls on all foods? As telemachus was saying it seems to stem from other "true" supplements being contaminated, probably made in factories alongside substances on banned lists for pro atheletes.

I have seen it in a few ice creams, I think the effect of obesity from icecream is more a risk to the poor skeletons ;)

I was in holland & barret before and a group of young lads about 16 came in looking at supps, the woman told them she would not sell them creatine, then they were looking at protein and she said "you can buy that, its only food". They sort of looked confused, one of them got some protein bar, would have been better off getting a chicken fillet burger with his pocket money!

If I was running a shop I probably would not even sell them the protein (on their own) for fear of mothers ringing Joe Duffy and telling him my shop injected their son with steroids.

Ah good ole Joe. Like I mentioned in my post there, the lady came in with the son who is 18 and she bought him his products. Which I think is really cool. You see some parents dont know about supplements when I think supplements they think steroids, my own parents included.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭bigstar

Ah good ole Joe. Like I mentioned in my post there, the lady came in with the son who is 18 and she bought him his products. Which I think is really cool. You see some parents dont know about supplements when I think supplements they think steroids, my own parents included.

maybe this is why, its in todays times http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2009/0430/1224245683631.html

reads to me like drugs=supps, and this guy is on the anti doping committee of the ISC.
    i think its fair enough to encourage kids not to use supps, but do it with the facts not tripe like this. if your diets in good shape then you probably dont need supps at 16 y/o. if its not in good shape, why is that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

bigstar wrote: »
    maybe this is why, its in todays times http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2009/0430/1224245683631.html

reads to me like drugs=supps, and this guy is on the anti doping committee of the ISC.
    i think its fair enough to encourage kids not to use supps, but do it with the facts not tripe like this. if your diets in good shape then you probably dont need supps at 16 y/o. if its not in good shape, why is that?

I would agree with them in saying that anyone under the age of 18 should not be sold sups. But after its up to the individual themselves, they should have a choose and not just be told thats it. They always do make sups out to be drugs. Regarding what you said about sups and diet, sups are only a helping hand alone the way, you could take all the sups in the world but you need to take them in a controlled manner and of course in conjunction with a clean (NEAR ENOUGH) diet

In that articale they are on about Salbutamol which is for asthma and they are on about cannabis. When did cannabis every become an ingredient in supplements??????????????????