Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Drogheda - Porn capital of Ireland?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭MikeC101

o great another pr2ck lover

go join him then if you love him that much, because the rest of us are out to get him, not join him.

and anyway this is about good looking women in drogheda, not some yupee who thinks he can waffle on about who runs the country,

Exactly!! You were the one who started ranting about it, :D , plus the thread is about Drogheda being the porn capital of Ireland, not good looking women in drogheda!

*googles "hawt pr2ck pr0n"*

• Registered Users Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Terry wrote: »
    Bonus points to the person who can find the thread which gave life to this article.
    What's the prize, a pack of tissues?:D

Had a look at the Sunday World article - it seems that the basis for this claim is the amount of times people from Drogheda entered the word "porn" in Google.

Which in fairness really just shows that they're probably not that used to surfing for porn, it's all about the niche searches folks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

Special K wrote: »
    So according to the Sunday World [yes that fabulous newspaper] people in Drogheda look up porn more than anyone else in Ireland! Being from Drawda myself, find it difficult to believe that their women and men are hornier than any other town! Maybe they just get it less than any other town and are forced to go online for "cheap thrills"!!

Surely, if it was the porn capital of ireland, it's be irelands leading producer of porn, not it's highest consumer of porn.

Actually, on second thought, i prefer it this way, nobody in their right mind would want to see a drogheda woman naked.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭leitrim lad

MikeC101 wrote: »
    Had a look at the Sunday World article - it seems that the basis for this claim is the amount of times people from Drogheda entered the word "porn" in Google.

Which in fairness really just shows that they're probably not that used to surfing for porn, it's all about the niche searches folks!

what will they do next sunday,

what county googles knife/gun the most and oh wait guess what they will come up with limerick

media, tha definition of wasters

Surely, if it was the porn capital of ireland, it's be irelands leading producer of porn, not it's highest consumer of porn.

Actually, on second thought, i prefer it this way, nobody in their right mind would want to see a drogheda woman naked.....

Wouldn't want to get facts or common sense get in the way of a good headline though. At least it will give those who are so inclined something to be morally outraged at.

Does anyone else ever get the feeling that the Sunday World (especially the "exposés") are designed to titillate more than anything else? Especially with the one about men on golf holidays going to hookers. It listed prices you'd be expected to pay, areas where it was most prevalent, and lots of nice pictures of the girls in revealing clothing. While the tone tried to convey moral outrage, it really felt more like they were selling it.

There's a real double standard with papers like that.

i would say they were getting paid for the advertisement of it, and then they decided to screw the punters by doing a story on it ,to fill empty space ,

they have alot of that lately, papers getting way smaller

• Registered Users Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭upmeath

MikeC101 wrote: »
    ...it seems that the basis for this claim is the amount of times people from Drogheda entered the word "porn" in Google

Could be a particularly bold batch of second class students in the boys national school over there at the minute. :D Who googles "porn"?

upmeath wrote: »
    Could be a particularly bold batch of second class students in the boys national school over there at the minute. :D Who googles "porn"?

Me, just now! *cough* For research of course.

Surprised to see the Wikipedia article on it so far down the first page!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Was that not Dundalk too?
    Dundalk, to the north...the kid on Sweet 16,

Oh hell no, we're not taking ownership of that wee fruit either. He's from Blackrock, which is a whole 7 miles away from us. We will admit liability for Staunton though...and Jim Corr too I suppose.

Having read this thread, it would appear the Sunday World has a large circulation amongst AHers. Go and read a real newspaper, not this tarted up crap and celeb goss dressed up as news, you bunch of heathens...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Sunday World newspaper has about as much relevance in the real world as last weeks used tea bags .Although used tea bags are supposed to make good compost

• Registered Users Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

What else could one do in Drogheda!

wash your diesel

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,091 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

mike65 wrote: »
    I thought it was Sligo as the population whack off to local hero Aine Chambers

We don't have to look her up, you can just look out the window and start your whacking day.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭upmeath

Wertz wrote: »
    Oh hell no, we're not taking ownership of that wee fruit either. He's from Blackrock, which is a whole 7 miles away from us.

7 miles? Really? Even today? Isn't Blackrock home to the world's biggest bunk bed too? I believe it's on the beach there. For such a small county Louth is seriously fcuked up. Only county in the lower 26 affected by foot and mouth, geomagnetic anomalies, crazy doctors, crazy accents, giant bunk beds, and a knack for googling pr0n?

The town boundaries may well be blurred since bungalow blight and the craze for dormitory towns took off, but it's still about that distance from the centre of one to the other. People from the 'rock would be horrified to think that their address would show Dundalk anywhere in the title...so I'll be damned if we take the blame for the halfwit and his MTV antics
    Don't know anything about a bunkbed.
    The foot and mouth was those northern feckers and their compo culture trying to make a few quid.
    Can't argue with the rest of it...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

...For such a small county Louth is seriously fcuked up. Only county in the lower 26 affected by foot and mouth, geomagnetic anomalies, crazy doctors, crazy accents, giant bunk beds, and a knack for googling pr0n?

Don't forget, for a single county, per head, Louth has the highest rates of leukaemia and cancer in the whole of Ireland (and reportedly, Western Europe).
    All coincidence of course to the fact that directly across 90 miles away is Sellafield ("Windscale" before they tried a clean-up publicity stunt). :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 91,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

mike65 wrote: »
    I thought it was Sligo as the population whack off to local hero Aine Chambers
    They don't need to go on the internet for that. All just meet up at the leisure centre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 350 ✭✭b28

You all sound like bitter small minded people! :S

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

Special K wrote: »
    So according to the Sunday World [yes that fabulous newspaper] people in Drogheda look up porn more than anyone else in Ireland! Being from Drawda myself, find it difficult to believe that their women and men are hornier than any other town! Maybe they just get it less than any other town and are forced to go online for "cheap thrills"!!

what else is their to do ??

its a f*cking Dive !

b28 wrote: »
    You all sound like bitter small minded people! :S

You sound like a barrel of fun yourself.

i am, but i cost money

your on the dole...

No sale. :(

No dole here.
    Plus that jibe was aimed at b28...I had to ninja edit the quote in when you replied before me.

No dole here.
    Plus that jibe was aimed at b28...I had to ninja edit the quote in when you replied before me.

yeah, theres 3 ninjas here somewhere anyways ... try find them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 350 ✭✭b28

i am actually! if ya knew me in person you may agree:D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Was this not "reported" in a slightly more "reputable" rag about a year ago. Can't for the life of me think where i saw it before, but i know i did.
    Anyway, i'd be inclined to think theres more truth to it, cos they're not exactly the most imaginative bunch, so googling porn sounds about right.
    Does Ireland have a porn producing outlet? I remember seeing some Lepreporn before, involved 3 Engerlish lads, and 2 knacker dub young wans, complete with caesarian scars, fake tan, and 20 John Players Blue.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,308 ✭✭✭positron

Also means Drogheda has higher internet penetration (no pun intended).

I think the real reason could be this though - there are more married/cohabiting couple around Drogheda than elsewhere...

Top Ten Towns for cohabiting couples

10 Oranmore, Galway
    9 Kinnegad, Westmeath
    8 Tullyallen, Louth
    7 Stamullen, Meath

6 Enfield, Meath
    5 Carrigtwohill, Cork
    4 Lusk, Fingal
    3 Clonee Village, Meath
    2 Kinsealy-Drinan, Fingal
    1. Rathcormac, Cork

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 91,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

positron wrote: »
    Also means Drogheda has higher internet penetration (no pun intended).

I think the real reason could be this though - there are more married/cohabiting couple around Drogheda than elsewhere...
    A lot of this will be because they have chosen to spend their money on getting a house rather than a wedding day, new estates and disadvantaged areas will be skewed to those demographics

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

I'd imagine Drogheda people look at porn the most because the alternative is looking at Drogheda people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭starn

Geomagnetic anomalies really. Can some you elaborate a bit more on his please