Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Darina Allen thinks the 20 - 30 somethings are a shower of wasters.

• 24-04-2009 9:22pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭Irjudge1

Just watching the late late and Darina Allen the condecending old witch believes that we're kanckered if we dont have our credit cards.

Among the things that we should be taught.

How to cook.

How to plant a radish.

How to fix a puncture on a bike.

Is she right are we a shower of useless fools who are lost without the microwave, car and eh the internet?

Is that what she was on about? All I heard in the background was harping on about grandkids for a while

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I can do those things better than her, burn her!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Irjudge1 wrote: »
    Just watching the late late and Darina Allen the condecending old witch believes that we're kanckered if we dont have our credit cards.

How to cook.

How to plant a radish.

Is she right are we a shower of useless fools who are lost without the microwave, car and eh the internet?

The internet can teach all those things.. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

bluewolf wrote: »
    Is that what she was on about? All I heard in the background was harping on about grandkids for a while
    I just hope nobody else's husband has their eyes on her grandkids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 627 ✭✭✭preilly79

probably, but most of us don't marry somebody who likes photos of little kids, so we've at least got one up on her

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭Irjudge1

bluewolf wrote: »

Yeah she is trying to get a national "pass on your skills or something day" going.

She said it could be a two way thing. Your grandfather teaches you how tofix a puncture and you can teach him how to "play a playstation":rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭regob

How to cook.

How to plant a radish.

shes right, this is curtains mum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Did she mention her husband and kids in the same sentence.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Prove us wrong so 20-30 year olds if ye think ye're so great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭c0rk3r

How to cook.

Funnily enough doesnt she run her own cooking school. May have abit of an agenda there...

Whatever happened to Tim Allen anyway? Wikipedia doesnt reveal much. Are they still together etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

How to cook.

How to plant a radish.

Exactly WTF can she do without electricity and a supermarket ?

c0rk3r wrote: »
    Funnily enough doesnt she run her own cooking school. May have abit of an agenda there...

Oh yeah. There was a book invloved there as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Here's one I made earlier:
    Jeremiah 16:1 is brill and knows lots of really cool stuff about great things

20 - 30 somethings so if your 39 your one of the waster generation.

Well I can cook, plant a radish, fix a puncture

and

work a record player, tape recorder, CD player and iPOD.

build a patio, tile a wall, sew a button on......... ah lots of stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Whatever happened to Tim Allen anyway? Wikipedia doesnt reveal much. Are they still together etc
    There was something about cocaine. Then he drove over his neighbour, Wilson, on a tractor mower.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

the last time I watched the late late she was on it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭994

Her husband's right, 0 - 10 year olds are where it's at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,182 ✭✭✭DenMan

How to cook.

How to plant a radish.

The internet can certainly help us with that.

Just go to www.videojug.com

Has helped me out a lot, especially in the cooking department and some DIY. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

How to cook.

She's right about that much at least. We really should be thought that shit in school.

Hey, I thought you were being nice to people this week. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭CCCP^

Wasn't her husband some kind of pervert?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Shush, I could tell you what is generally belived to have happened but I wont cos boards.ie would get sued.

Tim Allen

Tim Allen set up the Ballymaloe Cookery School with Darina and worked in the school as a teacher taking a particular interest in Bread Baking. This lead to him have a TV program of his own and releasing the Ballymaloe Bread Book

In January 2003, Darina Allen's husband Tim Allen pleaded guilty to possessing 977 pornographic images of children. He was caught as part of the Gardaí's Operation Amethyst which tracked internet users who paid for child pornography with credit cards. Tim Allen was sentenced to community service, placed on the sex offenders register and ordered to pay €40,000 to a children's charity. The perceived leniency of this sentence provoked a good deal of public discussion.[citation needed]

Although there was considerable sympathy at this time for Darina Allen, there was also a sense of dismay at her seemingly inadequate public responses to her husband's activities. In the aftermath of the arrest, family representatives sought to make distinctions between different 'grades' of pornography.[citation needed]

Following Tim Allen's conviction, the Ballymaloe cookery school announced that he would no longer be involved in the business.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Darina_Allen

mike65 wrote: »
    Shush, I could tell you what is generally belived to have happened but I wont cos boards.ie would get sued.
    Let wikipedo worry about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭allabouteve

Cooking is worth learning, but I hate radishes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭GirlInterrupted

Cooking is an important life skill and should be taught to everyone in school.

Terry, thats the official version, I'm talking about what actually happened.

Mokey and Gobo like Radishes.

Mike; no comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭c0rk3r

PM me what is believed to have happened / or link.

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭population

I know what youre talking about as well

In fact I think all of Cork knows?????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭scarymoon1

i knew someone would have to bring up Darinas husband in this thread. Its so old news. get over it. it had nothing to do with her or her cookery college in cork. makes me mad! sorry don't know why!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Theyre not wasters when their producing fap material for her husband.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,650 ✭✭✭cooperguy

population wrote: »
    I know what youre talking about as well

In fact I think all of Cork knows?????
    More than cork, I was under the impression that it was common knowledge all over Ireland!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭gerrycollins

ah we are just too old for the poor fella

PM me what is believed to have happened / or link.

Cheers

Same here, just curious, but probably won't be surprised.

scarymoon1 wrote: »
    i knew someone would have to bring up Darinas husband in this thread. Its so old news. get over it. it had nothing to do with her or her cookery college in cork. makes me mad! sorry don't know why!

What really pi%%ed me off was that immediat;ey after the story broke, Pat had her on the Late Late talking about and I quote "the terrible tragedy that happened". Sorry it is not a tragedy, it is reprehensible behaviour and she stood by the perpetrator.

This woman needs to be a pariah, but coz its lil old Ireland and RTE who need to have a controlled Gene pool of the same old "celebs" she fluorishes like NOTHING HAPPENED. This is what this great little country was built on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭gerrycollins

sry to go off thread

the little f***er download stuff that had to be made by some person doin stuff to kids, kids man

and then pays a few bob and gets off with it.

I'm not PM-ing anyone, nor should anyone else, its still a libel.

cooperguy wrote: »
    More than cork, I was under the impression that it was common knowledge all over Ireland!

With all the PM's being requested it will be by tommorow:P

mike65 wrote: »
    I'm not PM-ing anyone, nor should anyone else, its still a libel.

Agreed

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

Darina Allen thinks the 20 - 30 somethings are a shower of wasters.

We are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,455 ✭✭✭weemcd

lazy 20 year old > child porn possessing registered sex offender.

glass houses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 Ghostrider1

Who cares about darina or hubby. daughter in law is still hot;)

what actually happened with her husband?

Wikipedia knows.
    Or you could just read the thread.

which do you recommend?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭Highsider

Who?

i knew someone would have to bring up Darinas husband

Kiddie Porn does that for him.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Hand in hand till after the trial, then everything in the business transferred to her name and his expunged from the records, as it were.

Then a year later they took him back......
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/allens-herald-return-of-child-porn-case-chef-486951.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

population wrote: »

This woman needs to be a pariah, but coz its lil old Ireland and RTE who need to have a controlled Gene pool of the same old "celebs" she fluorishes like NOTHING HAPPENED. This is what this great little country was built on.

In fairness, she's not the one who likes the medium rare porn.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭Tom65

This thread is great:

OP: "Darina Allen says 20-30 year old people don't possess many life skills, is this true?"
    Everyone else: "Yeah? Well, her husband has a conviction for possessing child porn".