Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

IRISH HEROES

• 24-04-2009 6:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,015 ✭✭✭

ARE THERE ANY?
    Are there any Irish individuals alive that inspire you , that you would consider a hero?.
    Or have we become a nation of corrupt politicians,drugpushers,crooked businessmen and begrudgers where the only people that inspire our kids are from other countries and charcters on TV.
    Other countries are always rabbiting on about their heroes.Given the state of the country,the economy,the politicians, the doom and gloom etc,we need to be inspired.So which Irish people inspire you?.

Definition of hero:
    !. A person noted for feats of courage or nobility of purpose, especially one who has risked or sacrificed his or her life.
    2. A person noted for special achievement in a particular field.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Ass

Bono inspires me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Ass

Thats why im a twat all the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭leitrim lad

i would have said sean quinn

now i am open to opposition on this

but like myself he started with sweet dam all, and made how many billions, and created thousands of families with incomes, who could live a bit more comfortable

to turn around and loose nearly it all to a corrupt bank, and still keep his head above water, with minimal effect on his employees,

now people from outside cavan,fermanagh,leitrim, longford, cork,galway,dublin and probably a few other counties he is in, probably wont realise what he has done for the people of these counties,

and should take into account how he saved 300 jobs in cork 2 years ago, and how he created employment in places like cavan and leitrim

2 counties that never had employment,

in alot of peoples eyes he is their hero ,and then you will get the begrudgers who will tell you that he deserved to go bust with the anglo thing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 212 ✭✭Jackeenboy

Alix Ferguson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

Bob Geldof

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Where's me Ipods?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭Scrambled egg

Padrig Pearse, not just for the revolutionary stuff :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

My Irish Heroes?

De Valera Michael Collins

Michael Davitt

Roy Keane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,015 ✭✭✭Paddy Samurai

Padrig Pearse, not just for the revolutionary stuff :D
    If your talking about who I think you are.....eh.....there's no easy way ...to say this....but i'am sorry.....he...he's dead.

dont forget poor ould paisley
    (sarcasm to the highest degree)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭dirtyden

The guy who got shot in Limerick last week for standing up to the scumbags, RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭neil_hosey

Has to be Paul O'Connell for me and too a lesser extent Brian O'Driscoll.

Christy Moore, Ronnie Drew, Luke Kelly, the Pecker Dunne and Barney McKenna are all irish heroes..

Katie Taylor and Bernard Dunne.

Jim Larkin and James Connolly were heroes of the working class!

Johnney Morrisey (look him up.. :P ... check out "morrisey and the russian sailor by Chisty moore"

bertie..... eh...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭dirtyden

I mis-read the original post, Paul McGrath as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭Scrambled egg

If your talking about who I think you are.....eh.....there's no easy way ...to say this....but i'am sorry.....he...he's dead.

Im fairly sure he is dead, just apart from his revolutionary activities his teaching methods (he was a school teacher) were ahead of his time and he played a major role in keeping the Irish language alive. (sure its a bitch to learn lol )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

ARE THERE ANY?
    Are there any Irish individuals alive that inspire you , that you would consider a hero?.
    I've encountered some, but they're not well known ... call them unsung heroes, if you will. People who give a lot of their time and energy to their community or to the most marginalised in society without looking for payment or praise or even thanks ...

hector for what he has done for our native tongue ,and all the other sh2t aswell

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭Lobelia Overhill

Eddie Macken

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,071 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Mary Robinson =)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

dirtyden wrote: »
    I mis-read the original post, Paul McGrath as well.

this would put tears in your eyes, what a legend, what a warrior!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Brendan Kilkenny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,071 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

also Patrick Rocca.. he's an hero

...too soon?

this would put tears in your eyes, what a legend, what a warrior!<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/EQqVsD_eK-4&hl=en&fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/EQqVsD_eK-4&hl=en&fs=1&quot; type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

i mean bring a tear to your eye, if your the sensitive type.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EQqVsD_eK-4

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

but like myself he started with sweet dam all, and made how many billions, and created thousands of families with incomes, who could live a bit more comfortable

to turn around and loose nearly it all to a corrupt bank, and still keep his head above water, with minimal effect on his employees,

now people from outside cavan,fermanagh,leitrim, longford, cork,galway,dublin and probably a few other counties he is in, probably wont realise what he has done for the people of these counties,

and should take into account how he saved 300 jobs in cork 2 years ago, and how he created employment in places like cavan and leitrim

in alot of peoples eyes he is their hero ,and then you will get the begrudgers who will tell you that he deserved to go bust with the anglo thing

I would have admired him for the "self-made man" thing as well (in no way a hero, mind you).

Now i hear how he lost 4.5 billion in the past year or so.
    (Was thinking to myself- didn't know he had 4.5b to lose in the first place.
    Thought he was worth less than 3b).
    That huge loss makes him seem less shrewd somehow. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭bigeasyeah

The Duke of Wellington.He put Boney back in his box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭Adiboo

Don Conroy.

Nobody can draw an owl better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Parnell. Greatest ever Irishman, greatest ever stabbing in the back of an Irishman as well.

tech77 wrote: »
    I would have admired him for the "self-made man" thing as well (in no way a hero, mind you).

Now i hear how he lost 4.5 billion in the past year or so.
    (Was thinking to myself- didn't know he had 4.5b to lose in the first place.
    Thought he was worth less than 3b).
    That huge loss makes him seem less shrewd somehow. :)

you know the way these speculaters operate, cut it to one third ,that is every figure they mention, i heard not so long ago that he was worth 7.9bn at the height of the boom,

so he lost 1bn in anglo did he drink the other 6.9bn

again maybe not a hero in everyones eyes but ,every young lad around leitrim,cavan area wants to be him when they grow up, with the green lorries on every road in the country and all the quarries, and so on

how do you think i ended up in the trade im in, i put the day dreaming into action at a young age, and now i have my own green lorries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Onearmedbandit

Niall Melon

For setting up the charity building so many houses in Africa

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

I'm on a mobile so I can't google for him, but the guy who lost a daughter in the Eniskillen bomb and then dedicated his life to bridging the gap between the communities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 815 ✭✭✭todolist

I can't think of anyone from the British Isles that inspire me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭bigeasyeah

How did I forget-Steve Collins.
    I heard he used to box aswell

steve stuanton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,169 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

Roy Keane and Niall Quinn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭regob

michael collins definetly one of the greatest irish heroes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,015 ✭✭✭Paddy Samurai

Im fairly sure he is dead, just apart from his revolutionary activities his teaching methods (he was a school teacher) were ahead of his time and he played a major role in keeping the Irish language alive. (sure its a bitch to learn lol )
    Its also a bitch learning to read,the hero has to be alive.Read the post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭FernandoTorres

What a man! That's got me all nostalgic, now watching us play is like a chore. Hopefully we can see the likes of this again in the not too distant future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Barry McGuigan ....no one makes spuds like Finbar Patrick McGuigan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Greatest player ever to come out of the Ireland.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭irisheddie

Good choice my aul lad grew up with him and my family have had a good few functions in that slieve russell of his allways does a good deal created alot of work outta feck all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 classifiedband

There are no heroes alive today in this country. There have been a few martyrs named on this thread, and a few who did live up to the title of hero, but these are now deceased. One or two semi-famous people have been named, including sports stars; few of which ever displayed anything remotely resembling heroic-like qualities. When I say ‘qualities’, I don’t simply refer to the person’s skill, but also their ability to inspire others through their actions and outstanding character. I am talking about qualities also intrinsic of a true leader.

Look at our political system for example. Our Taoiseach is a man who rose in the ranks of a party dogged by decades of intrigue and corruption. He became Taoiseach after the leader of the party resigned-under shameful circumstances. He never led the party in an election and was therefore not the choice of the people. He is a solicitor. Our Taoiseach’s tend to be Ministers for Finance before assuming the role of leader. Thus, they tend to be solicitors and accountants.

Firstly ask yourself, “Do I trust solicitors or accountants?”

Then ask “do solicitors or accountants – paper pushers – tend possess even the slightest hint of charisma so vital in leadership?”

Now ask yourself “why do we put up with this system?”

The words of a leader in Modern Ireland: “As long as I am running this Government I will run the Government as I see fit...as I believe in, based on my philosophy! … I will run the country on the basis of how I see it.”

The other parties fail to offer difference, change or hope. They fail to offer a strong alternative.

Truth: in a country that has no real political leaders there can be no inspiration for the ordinary classes. Without that inspiration, no grassroots campaign to create real leaders can occur.

We will be devoid of heroes until we can amend our situation unless there arises a hero to fix the problems we now face. Or am I just daydreaming?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

todolist wrote: »
    I can't think of anyone from the British Isles that inspire me.
    Really? Nobody asked for that.

U2 are heroes whether you like them or not.
    They have done more for tourism in this country over the past 30 years than anyone or anything else.
    It's not cool to acknowledge it, so I don't expect anyone to do so publicly. You all know I'm right though.

Blah blah blah taxes holland bone blah blah ****ing blah. Heard it all before . Move along.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭Highsider

Bob Geldof

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭Birdie086

Yer man that tripped ove his foot and landed in the fountain!!

No seriously, I have great faith in the Irish nation - even though I'm form Limerick, and personally our elders have an awful lot of wisdom to bestow on us. Plenty of men/women in their 70/80/90's are completely ignored. No harm to take a few seconds to listen, living heroes. Not all of em but some are quality, just like every other aspect of life but they are ALL compeletely ignored
    Just my little opinion

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,539 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Jonathan Swift is not dead. He's a parody!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Birdie086 wrote: »
    Yer man that tripped ove his foot and landed in the fountain!!

No seriously, I have great faith in the Irish nation - even though I'm form Limerick, and personally our elders have an awful lot of wisdom to bestow on us. Plenty of men/women in their 70/80/90's are completely ignored. No harm to take a few seconds to listen, living heroes. Not all of em but some are quality, just like every other aspect of life but they are ALL compeletely ignored
    Just my little opinion
    Actually, you make a great point about our soldiers.
    They risk their lives in war torn regions of the world for the sake of peace and are mostly ignored.
    Many have died in the name of peace and they they should be recognised as the heroes that they are.
    They don't go in to conquer a country. They are there just trying to help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭RATM

Laugh you may but I'm saying Johhny Logan purely because the night Johnny brought it home for Ireland was the night I lost my virginity. We both got plastered drunk and staggered into bed singing 'Hold Me Now, don't cry, don't say a word...' And so began a quick five minutes of fumbling passion :D

On a more serious note I'd say John Hume. Absolute legend, he did way more for the peace process than many others take credit for. Anyone who has ever met him cannot fail to be stricken by his statesmanlike presence, understanding and humility.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Terry wrote: »
    Actually, you make a great point about our soldiers.
    They risk their lives in war torn regions of the world for the sake of peace and are mostly ignored.
    Many have died in the name of peace and they they should be recognised as the heroes that they are.
    They don't go in to conquer a country. They are there just trying to help.

Thanks Terry.

Here's the lads in Chad (Africa)..

And our lads in Kosovo..

East Timor..

And Liberia..

And those who went before todays young lads CLICK HERE (I think this one is pretty moving since I served with some of these lads when they were killed)

These clips are worth watching guys.

But sadly I feel these clips and their significance will be ignored by the majority here who have no idea, 'nor will they ever have an idea, what it means to serve oversea's in the service of peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Ray McSharry. Without him, there'd have been no Celtic tiger.

The rest we messed up ourselves.

Connolly and Parnell, but we are going back 100/130 years.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

also Patrick Rocca.. he's an hero

...too soon?

thats not even funny.