Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Want to be mentored through DCM 09 Training?

• 21-04-2009 4:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭

This is an idea that I've been kicking around in my head for a while and ties in to the whole marathon training weekends / training logs / running community thing.

One of the things that got me through my first marathon training cycle was the support of an online forum. And I thought it might be interesting as we head into the summer to pick an individual or two and kind of follow thier progress in a bit more depth than normal.

So what am I talking about?

Well I'd like to offer to mentor a runner (or two) through thier training for this years DCM. Basically help them pick a training program and modify it to suit thier time and abilities. Then in a dedicated thread in the Training Logs forum myself (and hopefully the other experienced runners) would discuss the weeks upcoming sessions, explain what they are designed to do, speeds they should be run at and answer any questions. I would hope that the guinea pig volunteer would also keep a detailed log of thier own. As we go through we'd work together to pick warm up races, advise on nutrition and then plan teh race day pace and strategy.

Now this isn't coaching - I don't have the badges for that (yet). But I've read teh books and run a few races and between myslef and teh rest of the folks on here we've probably seen most things before (my own running history is known on here but if you have any questions just yell!). What it is - I hope - is an opportunity to have a bit of extra help as you work through your next cycle. And your experiences will also probably help others going through the process as well.

Because of teh nature of this sort of thing there are people I wouldn't feel comfortable advising. If you run 6 or 7 days a week already or more than 40ish miles per week then I can't really advise you. If you are already a sub 40 min 10k runner or a sub 3:30 marathoner then you won't learn anything from me! Likewise if you've done more than 4 or 5 marathons.

But if you are new (or newish) to the distance, maybe running or planning a 3:45 - 4:30 race, are serious about putting effort into the training and are willing to have us all watching you then let me know in here :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭HardyEustace

Great idea A.

One suggestion that I would have is to have one where you can train off the back of a summer of triathlons. Maybe a program where you could integrate one long bike at weekends and a swim or two?

Since there's a good few people that integrate the two, the plan could really work for them.

I found that the cross training really helped me prevent injury.. well, some injury, well, my injuries would've been worse without training!... you know what I mean.

Personally I'd love one particularly one that will get me from a plodder to runner (or jogger to runner :D). I'd be very interested in how to get my speed up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

Great idea Amadeus and I have no doubt you'll be taking up on such a great offer, I can think of quite a few (me included :D) who would benefit from your wisdom.

So if you're on the selection committee, does that mean that you'll be morphing into the Simon Cowell of

Does boards have (running) talent?

Who are going to be your other committee members?

And on a more serious note. My goal would be a sub four marathon for DCM. I've actually got a lump in my throat admitting it but I'm willing to work hard for it and just praying I won't get injured.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

(I'm not talking to you after that wise-crack you made in the MdS thread. As soon as I have a witty reply I'm going to put you in your place!)

That's HMs area of expertise but yeah, I think that's an excellent idea. I see Woddle has been in here too - I know he's got plans for group training as well but it would be good if we could link the 2 and do this under the BAC umbrella as well.

Multiple cross posts - that was written afetr HE's 1st post. I'm not sure I have much wisdom to offer but glad to offer it. And yes I am Simon Cowell but better looking, poorer and with a lower waistband!

(I'm not talking to you after that wise-crack you made in the MdS thread. As soon as I have a witty reply I'm going to put you in your place!)

Eh, which will come first ...your witty reply or my sub four?

Could be a bit of a wait either way.... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 MusRo

Hi Amadeus,
    I am a beginner and am "in training" for my first marathon in Reykjavik (August 22nd). I'm finding it tough trying to keep motivated and I am not training half as much as I should be. I'm trying to run 5 miles, 3 times a week but I am finding it hard sticking to it and end up skipping sessions. I think I would benefit hugely by your support and motivation and I am willing to update with progress regularly. I am not, however, going to be running the Dublin city marathon... Does it matter what marathon I run?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭misty floyd

Ameadeus,
    Sounds great. I have some goals I want to hit over the next year and keeping a training log is going to be part of the plan. I'm going for a sub 40 minute 10km by this time next year (completed Great Ireland with a time of 44mins). 4 mins is a big difference but I'm willing to do my best.

Doing my first marathon in Belfast in two weeks and aiming for 3.45. I'm aiming for 3.30 or better for Dublin. Done a half marathon in Wexford on Sunday in 1hr 44. So thats where I'm at right now. Perhaps my goals are streched. See what you think.

I'm strongly considering joining a club after Belfast to have access to a track and to work on speed work.

This kind of feels like applying for a job. I'll do my best and I won't disappoint :D

Daniel son (not real name :D)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭kennyb3

amadeus,

i like your idea and i would like to be one of the first to put my name forward.

DCM will be my first marathon, i hope to go sub 3:45, check out my log for my background. i am finishing football now and concentrating on running now.

let me know what you think

This is a bit like people applying for a job, bit more formal than I had expected! :o

MusRo - Reykjavik, wow I'm jealous! I think that Dublin is the preferred option as a lot of people will be doing the same race so will be at the same stage in thier training. We have 4 or 5 lurkers for every poster and I'm hoping that this will draw some of them into interacting. Something like Amsterdam (which is only a week before hand) would probably be fine but I would like to focus oin DCM if I can.

Thanks for the other hands in the air, any other takers? :)

I see myself running a 3:30 in five years time.

I'm very motivated, an excellent team player and a natural leader. My interests include advanced ninja embroidery and mud-wrestling.

I feel I would an excellent candidate for the team.

Kind regards,
    Hardy Eustace.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

You can mentor me if you promise me a sub 3:45 :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

This is a bit like people applying for a job, bit more formal than I had expected! :o
    You'll end up with the Amadeus Dublin marathon pacing groups soon..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭ladytri

Great idea A.

One suggestion that I would have is to have one where you can train off the back of a summer of triathlons. Maybe a program where you could integrate one long bike at weekends and a swim or two?

Since there's a good few people that integrate the two, the plan could really work for them.

I found that the cross training really helped me prevent injury.. well, some injury, well, my injuries would've been worse without training!... you know what I mean.

Personally I'd love one particularly one that will get me from a plodder to runner (or jogger to runner :D). I'd be very interested in how to get my speed up.

Brilliant idea! Or perhaps get a triathlon specific mentoring thread that would run in conjunction with this one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,131 ✭✭✭Bambaata

+1 on the triathlon one ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭Peckham

Great idea.

Depending on the level of uptake (i.e. if Amadeus gets overwhelmed), maybe a few of the "experienced" runners could help out Amadeus here. There's a lot of activity on the Training Logs, particularly amongst those in the process of getting bitten by the bug, and I wonder whether they are getting the support that they may want - it's very difficult to keep on top of every log, and I just find myself visiting the logs of those I know, or run at the same level as, or are better runners than myself.

So, maybe both people wishing to be mentored, and those willing to act as mentors could put their names forward. (Woddle would make a great Cheryl Cole!)

I'm also willing to be a mentor, and would add the same disclaimers as Amadeus above!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

I want to be Louis :D
    Have a look here for an alternative away from the marathon training or see it as a stepping stone for next years marathon.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055544597

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Peckham wrote: »
    (Woddle would make a great Cheryl Cole!)
    Not sure if he looks quite as good in the dresses though - unless there's something he's not telling us :pac:

Maybe, like Bill Cullen, he's got great "girly legs" from all the running :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 506 ✭✭✭McConkey

Hey --amadeus--,

I really like this idea if you have any room for one more. I was hoping to run a sub 4.30 DCM and since I'm fairly new to this whole thing would definately be in need of some advice :)

I've been pretty good at sticking to the training so far-aside from a couple of niggles so count me in if you can-it would be a wonderful motivator :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭lecheile

We have 4 or 5 lurkers for every poster and I'm hoping that this will draw some of them into interacting.

Amadeus - you do realise that the next logical step towhat you are proposing is for the Boards community to provide pacers in the DCM for the major time milestones. Which one are you going offer to do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

McConkey wrote: »
    Hey --amadeus--,

I really like this idea if you have any room for one more. I was hoping to run a sub 4.30 DCM and since I'm fairly new to this whole thing would definately be in need of some advice :)

I've been pretty good at sticking to the training so far-aside from a couple of niggles so count me in if you can-it would be a wonderful motivator :)

same as that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭christeb

Super idea and I'd love to volunteer myself. Will be gunning for something around the 3.30 mark all going well

I'm also willing to be a mentor, and would add the same disclaimers as Amadeus above!

Excellent! TBH you were one of the people I was hoping would offer to help. There are a few more I'm hoping will come out of the woodwork as well; I can think of at least ten of us who run sub 3:15 and have done 5 or more marathons. If we each take two people then thats a mentored group of twenty people, which would be great going!

So any more mentors willing to step up?
    lecheile wrote: »
    Amadeus - you do realise that the next logical step towhat you are proposing is for the Boards community to provide pacers in the DCM for the major time milestones. Which one are you going offer to do?

I think we'll def do pacing groups. Proper pacers is a big step though and it did crop up in conversation before.

We could def cover 3:15 - 4:30 with runners from here. But it's a big challenge. I'd want people who had run 15 - 30 mins faster than the target as pacers (so a 3:15 runner for the 3:45 group, a 3 hour runner for the 3:15's and so on) and getting someone to put in all that training, pay for race entry and an overnight hotel just to run so much slower than they can is a big ask. That said there is a precedent - I think the Rotterdam pacers are recruited through the dutch runnersworld website. I might start a thread, see what interest there is and get in touch with the Race Director and see about free entry and other perks to entice people in.

As for me - I'm probably racing Dublin so I'll need a pacer rather than being one! If I end up doing Amsterdam instead I think there is a week between them so I might be able to pace a 3:45 or sub 4 group...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,549 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

I have already volunteered to pace some friends for a 4 hour DCM marathon (my current PB is 3:20), so would gladly take on that time-slice for the Boards AC. Will be racing Berlin 4.5 weeks earlier, so just planning on enjoying the vibe for Dublin. I recently paced a buddy to a 3:38, so can provide references. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭kennyb3

Great idea.

Depending on the level of uptake (i.e. if Amadeus gets overwhelmed), maybe a few of the "experienced" runners could help out Amadeus here. There's a lot of activity on the Training Logs, particularly amongst those in the process of getting bitten by the bug, and I wonder whether they are getting the support that they may want - it's very difficult to keep on top of every log, and I just find myself visiting the logs of those I know, or run at the same level as, or are better runners than myself.

So, maybe both people wishing to be mentored, and those willing to act as mentors could put their names forward. (Woddle would make a great Cheryl Cole!)

peckham,

i note that you have mentioned running around ardgillan, where are you living?

i live in balbriggan and would love an experienced mentor.

I have already volunteered to pace some friends for a 4 hour DCM marathon (my current PB is 3:20), so would gladly take on that time-slice for the Boards AC. Will be racing Berlin 4.5 weeks earlier, so just planning on enjoying the vibe for Dublin. I recently paced a buddy to a 3:38, so can provide references. :p

Does that mean that large red noses and curly green hair wigs will be necessary accoutrements for a 4 hour DCM marathon? erm, I mean 3:59:59 (for that magical sub-4)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,549 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Does that mean that large red noses and curly green hair wigs will be necessary accoutrements for a 4 hour DCM marathon? erm, I mean 3:59:59 (for that magical sub-4)
    As per the other thread, I could stretch to balloons and some motivational songs. I may even record a photographic log of your painful struggle epic journey, if payment in beer is pre-committed for after the race. ;)

Sign me up. KC, if I make a sub 4 (aka erm 3:59:59) marathon then I promise I'll be first at the bar to order you a pint and a packet of King crisps. :D

Sure fe*k the expense, two pints and a packet of King crisps ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

On current racing form (my Ballycotton time) I am predicted around a 4.15 marathon but would love to go under 4hrs. Certainly would be on for joining the sub 4 boards group.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭ManFromAtlantis

good idea.
    maybe it could be like operation transformation where u could follow some close to your own goals. if a bit of info on each 'successful applicant' times/training/age bracket/etc are on the first post.
    good luck with it.

Hi folks, this hasn't been forgotten about! I'm going to go through the thread over the weekend and pick out a couple of people, hopefully hook up with Peckham as well and see if we can get 4 or 6 people under our thumbs :)

Not to late to register an interest as a mentor or mentored btw...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭Bally8

Eeek- I tentatively put myself forward to be mentored. I am aiming to run the DM and Im already on week 4 of HH spring training. However Im still at the run/walk stage and see myself finishing around 5 hours.

I like the idea of the operation transformation type thing- if i wasnt picked I would def lurk on someone similar to me and follow their progress.

Feck it. I'll probably end up regretting it if I don't.

/puts self forward to be mentored

Running CV: Have been running for 9 months-ish, am at about 18-20 miles a week at the moment. Currently following a slightly bastardised Hal Higdon intermediate half-marathon program, hoping to run a half at the end of June.

McMillan translates my 10k race time to a 4.32 marathon, but I'll take that with a pinch of salt. While 4.30 would be nice, just crossing the finish line would be awesome.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Have you been overwhelmed yet? Either way, RK is right, I'd regret it if I didn't 'apply' and saw the results everyone else got. Up to now I've adamently wanted to do everything on my own and have refused to accept help and advice. It's in my nature to do things for myself and do what I set my mind to etc..

Running history: Started running 22 months ago have run 2 marathons and one Ultra, marathon PB 4 hrs 14. Ultra training means I've lost a lot of my speed which actually has me really down at the moment but I'll get over it after tomorrows long run. :pac: Running calculators reckon I should be running a 3:48 marathon :eek: there must be untapped potential in there somewhere :D Running Edinburgh in 5 weeks(5 weeks oh bo****ks :eek: ).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 Quality Feet

i would be up for that, i was going to do Dingle but this sounds like a far better idea. i would like to run a 3 40 marathon and with a bit of guidence i think imight just do that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭Mr Marenghi

this is a cool idea. I'm putting myself forward !
    My background - started running around May last yr. Did adidas 10mile and the half Marathon half marathon time was 1hr 50mins. I stopped over Xmas and back the last few months. Did Great Ireland 10k in 50mins. My average time is about 9mins per mile. I know very little about proper training for a marathon so I'm a naive runner that will benefit from coaching. At the moment I go running about 4/5 times a week in Phoenix Pk, I do on average about 4 miles each run, sometimes 5 and at weekend about 7.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭hot to trot

Please dont leave me out. Am desperate for this service. Just finished Paris in 4.36. (First marathon)Didnt go great on the day and I believe that I can do better. Struggling to get back into running form. I have been out twice since,but in spite of eveyone saying that you will run faster than ever I find the opposite is happening.
    Not sure how to structure my running between now and then. Would do as Im told.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Munster_Gal

Hey A
    Maybe if you run this for next years DCM you can be my mentor then :D:D:D
    I'm gonna do Dublin this year but I'd say I'll be lucky to finish in 5 hours!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭rovers_runner

I'll be one of the lurkers who compares myself to someone else similar I think.
    Time I took my time seriously this year from the half upwards as my 5m and 10k times have much more potential than I've shown in the full distance so far.

Will ye be keeping the recommendations on diet/training public ?

Because there have been a few more people step up to be mentored (and fewer than expected as mentors) we're having a bit of a rethink about how to do this and make it inclusive to as many as possible, but yes everything will be public for review, coment and argument :)

When do we audition?....

Pick me amadeus, pick meeeee....
    ...I dreamed a dream in time gone by
    When hope was high
    And life worth living....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭osnola ibax

I'll be sticking to shorter stuff for a couple of year because I have too many commitments at present. I would love to do the full sometime though and this is a fanastic idea. My mcmillan says 4:02 marathon, that's too close to sub 4. I lve the idea of a sub 4 pace setter, fair play to ya krusty for doing that this year, maybe in a couple of years time I could find someone on the board to mentor pace set for my good self

Hey A
    Maybe if you run this for next years DCM you can be my mentor then :D:D:D
    I'm gonna do Dublin this year but I'd say I'll be lucky to finish in 5 hours!

Speed doesn't matter, the more the merrier this year!
    When do we audition?....

Pick me amadeus, pick meeeee....

And Boards very own Susan Boyle arrives - 1st tip, trim the eyebrows for aerodynamic efficiency!

~~~

Right, myself and the ever dependable Peckham have had a chat and it would be impossible (and unfair) to just pick a couple of people. So we are suggesting that we work in teams.

Essentially it will still be the same deal - you get a training program with weekly advice on the sessions and speeds you should be trying to do them at. There is still a central thread where you can come and ask us questions and we'll still be all over your logs making sure and keeping beady eyes on things. But you also get to share teh experience with a few other people, more of a team ethic thing.

So the initial suggestion is that we have two teams - a Sub 3:45 group and a sub 4:30 / Novices group. These aren't set in stone though, if you'd prefer a sub 4 group rather than a sub 3:45 we can do that but everything should be paced and tailored to fit your own pace anyway.

My first rough cut at the groups:

Sub 3:45 - Peckhams Pacers

HardyEustace (Triathlons and eyebrows permitting)
    misty floyd (maybe, aiming for sub 3:30)
    kennyb3
    RacoonQueen
    christeb (maybe, aiming for a sub 3:30)
    Quality Feet

Sub 4:30 / Novice - Amadeus' Athletes

McConkey
    buck65 (maybe, aiming at sub 4)
    Bally8
    rainbow kirby
    Mr Marenghi
    hot to trot
    Munster_Gal

So that leaves us with 6 each. If you think you are in the wrong group then shout or if you are a runner who's done a couple of marathons and knows the ropes and feels like mentoring please (please!) let us know and share the load!

And if you can think of better team names let me know :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Munster_Gal

Sub 4:30 / Novice - Amadeus' Athletes

Munster_Gal
    :eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭Peckham

Have PM'd my "team", so could you each get back to me with the details in the PM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭osnola ibax

have i missed the boat on this, reading all this talk of mentoring and pacing has really got the imagination going, I think I'm capable of a sub 4 but was gonna put the full marathon off for couple of years but actually I think this maybe the best year for me to give it a go because I'll be studying part time next year and have other commitments, anyway with six months to go to the day I've come over all motivated, I would love to be involved in a sub 4 mentoree group (sub 4:30 woulod be great aswell)

Not missed the boat at all - I thought from your last post that you were skipping this year but drop either myself or Peckham a PM (depending which group you want to join) and you're in :)

Right then, recruits, eyes right and quick march HERE!!

Sign yourselves in and make yourselves at home :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 506 ✭✭✭McConkey

Brilliant, this is great guys :) I'm really looking forward to this as I'm sure all of us are. Fair play to ye for putting such time and effort into this. Wil be a great motivator and lovely to have a group to work with....happy days :)

Right then, recruits, eyes right and quick march HERE!!

Sign yourselves in and make yourselves at home :)

Sir yes sir!

(Done!)