Advertisement
Private Profiles - an update on how they will be changing here
We've partnered up with Nixers.com to offer a space where you can talk directly to Peter from Nixers.com and get an exclusive Boards.ie discount code for a free job listing. If you are recruiting or know anyone else who is please check out the forum here.

Garmin Map update

1101113151618

Comments

  • Registered Users Posts: 20,646 ✭✭✭✭ Alun


    Map update 2013.30 now available
    Oh good, now I can really try out my new 150Mbit/s internet connection :D


  • Closed Accounts Posts: 177 ✭✭ eddiem10


    2013.40 now available. You need to use Garmin Express to update.


  • Registered Users Posts: 20,646 ✭✭✭✭ Alun


    eddiem10 wrote: »
    2013.40 now available. You need to use Garmin Express to update.
    Why do they insist on messing with the update software? I can see no way of downloading the complete map set, as it only offers me the chance to update UK & Ireland, as there's not enough room on the basic device's memory. With the old Map Updater I usually downloaded, and locally installed (for use in Basecamp) the whole map set, and then separately installed UK & Ireland to the main memory and the rest to the SD card using MapInstall, but I can't see any option to do that there. Grrrr.

    EDIT: Uninstalled that pile of junk and currently downloading using good old Map Updater 3.2.2


  • Registered Users Posts: 963 ✭✭✭ eirman


    Alun wrote: »
    ..... currently downloading using good old Map Updater 3.2.2

    Did that work for you Alun?
    Do you have a link to Map Updater 3.22 ?

    Thanks


  • Registered Users Posts: 20,646 ✭✭✭✭ Alun


    Yes, worked fine

    http://download.garmin.com/lmu/GarminMapUpdater.exe

    Strangely, reading various forums, there seem to be some people who do get the options to install different regions, and the option to install to PC as well when using Garmin Express


  • Advertisement
  • Registered Users Posts: 45 WDR


    I have "Full coverage of Europe (2013.30)" downloaded, but now its telling me the download available is "Western Europe (2013.40)" I'd prefer to download the full coverage map as that's the subscription I've got, not just Western Europe.

    Is this the same for everyone?


  • Registered Users Posts: 963 ✭✭✭ eirman


    WDR wrote: »
    the download available is "Western Europe (2013.40)" I'd prefer to download the full coverage map as that's the subscription I've got, not just Western Europe. Is this the same for everyone?

    Downloading 2013.40 at the moment using MapUpdater 3.12
    This overcame problems with DotNet4 Client.
    I got the option of all or various European regions


  • Registered Users Posts: 45 WDR


    Aha. I was going through the Lifetime Updater, not Map Updater 3.2.2. Now installing all maps of Europe to PC, and Western Europe to my nulink 1695 with Map Updater.


  • Registered Users Posts: 6,353 ✭✭✭ CrowdedHouse


    And they still haven't the new junctions(removed roundabouts) on the N6 in Galway

    Seven Worlds will Collide



  • Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 24,719 Mod ✭✭✭✭ KoolKid


    And they still haven't the new junctions(removed roundabouts) on the N6 in Galway

    https://my.garmin.com/mapErrors/report.faces ;)


  • Advertisement
  • Registered Users Posts: 6,353 ✭✭✭ CrowdedHouse


    Waste of time tbh

    Seven Worlds will Collide



  • Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 24,719 Mod ✭✭✭✭ KoolKid


    Sometimes the persistence pays off. Even with TomTom I have to keep pusing the same errors over & over. But they get done...;)


  • Registered Users Posts: 6,353 ✭✭✭ CrowdedHouse


    Well there's just a screenshot of three I reported last in August 2010 - no action on any.

    No 3 that you can see there is the worst. I've been reporting since 2006/7, a third of the island is missing. You think you're driving across the sea.

    Every map in the world except Navteq/Garmin seems to have it right .

    https://maps.google.ie/maps?q=Roundstone,+Galway&hl=en&ll=53.392224,-9.880051&spn=0.068688,0.209255&sll=53.385469,-9.866978&sspn=0.137399,0.41851&oq=roundstone&t=v&hnear=Roundstone,+County+Galway&z=13

    Seven Worlds will Collide



  • Registered Users Posts: 289 ✭✭ GiftGrub100


    They gave finally corrected the speed limit by the Rhu Glenn Country Club on the Waterford - New Ross road with this release, has been showing 80kmh for ages when it has been 100 kmh for a long time.


  • Registered Users Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭ Storm 10


    Do you have to pay to update your maps or can someone give me a link to the latest updates. Thanks


  • Registered Users Posts: 963 ✭✭✭ eirman


    Storm 10 wrote: »
    Do you have to pay to update your maps or can someone give me a link to the latest updates. Thanks

    You get a free update if your garmin has been active for less than 60 days.
    If not, you can buy a single update for about €50 or unlimited updates for about €85. Just search amazon for "Garmin Lifetime Update"


  • Registered Users Posts: 466 ✭✭ jspuds


    eirman wrote: »
    You get a free update if your garmin has been active for less than 60 days.
    If not, you can buy a single update for about €50 or unlimited updates for about €85. Just search amazon for "Garmin Lifetime Update"

    Also available from MemoryC for €80
    http://www.memoryc.com/gpsnavigation/maps/garminnumapslifetimeeurope.html


  • Registered Users Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭ Kalyke


    2013.41 Now available. Think it is mostly a fix for the Netherlands problem.


  • Closed Accounts Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭ Mark Tapley


    Is it safe to buy updates from sites other than the Garmin site , eg MemoryC Amazon etc?


  • Registered Users Posts: 8,541 ✭✭✭ Snake Plisken


    Is it safe to buy updates from sites other than the Garmin site , eg MemoryC Amazon etc?

    yes certainly from Memoryc and Amazon.co.uk, Memoryc are over in Celbridge have bought various products from them over the years without issue and same with amazon.co.uk, just make sure its actually amazon.co.uk your buying from as they have marketplace sellers also.


  • Advertisement
  • Registered Users Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭ M three


    Kalyke wrote: »
    2013.41 Now available. Think it is mostly a fix for the Netherlands problem.

    Where can you check whats new with that map before you buy it?


  • Registered Users Posts: 20,646 ✭✭✭✭ Alun


    M three wrote: »
    Where can you check whats new with that map before you buy it?
    Like the previous poster said, it was to correct a problem that was detected in 2013.40 where some of the one-way streets in the Netherlands had accidentally been turned the other way around. Nothing else has changed as far as I'm aware.


  • Registered Users Posts: 16,023 ✭✭✭✭ CiniO


    Hi Everyone.
    I purchased Garmin Nuvi 50 last month, and looked up map updating now.
    My device says it has CN Europe NTU 2013.10 maps installed.
    When I went to garmin website, and installed Garmin Express, it updated firmware to version 3.50, but it keeps saying that my maps are up to date.
    When I enter serial number on the website it says the same.

    Why it doesn't want to install 2013.41 version?

    Any info appriciated.
    Thanks.


  • Registered Users Posts: 793 ✭✭✭ eirlink


    yes they have ....just downloaded and checked Tuam Rd junction

    2014.10 has removed the roundabouts and replaced with routable junctions.


    And they still haven't the new junctions(removed roundabouts) on the N6 in Galway


  • Registered Users Posts: 6,353 ✭✭✭ CrowdedHouse


    That was in March - previous version

    Seven Worlds will Collide



  • Registered Users Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭ Kalyke


    eirlink wrote: »
    yes they have ....just downloaded and checked Tuam Rd junction

    2014.10 has removed the roundabouts and replaced with routable junctions.

    Are you sure it is 2014? Not 2013?


  • Registered Users Posts: 793 ✭✭✭ eirlink


    2014.10


  • Registered Users Posts: 203 ✭✭ corcadorcha


    That update doesn't seem to be available through Garmin Express.
    Did others find it?
    Thanks


  • Registered Users Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭ Kalyke


    That update doesn't seem to be available through Garmin Express.
    Did others find it?
    Thanks

    Not me.


  • Advertisement
  • Registered Users Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭ Kalyke


    That update doesn't seem to be available through Garmin Express.
    Did others find it?
    Thanks
    From what I can gather 2014.10 is a USA map. Certainly not available on Garmin Express or My Dashboard. (Yet!!)


Advertisement