Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Utility belt... whats in yours?

• 12-04-2009 12:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭

There's a saying in police circles that the longer your a cop, the bigger your belt gets, but you carry less gear!!

A student asked me to do a list of what to carry, here's what I gave him... what about the rest of ye?

Big pouch
    Note book
    2 pens
    business cards
    post its
    free tourist maps
    Tissues

Cuff pouch
    Cuffs
    3 pairs of gloves

First aid pouch
    Face shield (for cpr)
    Anadin
    plasters
    wipes
    paper stitches
    seat belt cutter
    small uv light
    small magnifying glass
    Lighter

Small knife pouch
    Small knife(obviously!)

Torch holder

Contains lenser torch after dark

Extra cuff holder
    Spare cuffs

Non issue Sidebreak asp holder
    containing asp

I also carry (in pockets)
    more gloves (ass pocket)

Phone with large memory card for communications and taking photos of crashes etc.
    Money

Mini torch, badge+ money in vest pocket

More wipes and phone earphones inside vest(yep that zip is great for hiding stuff away)
    and cuff key on chain from trouser loop

• Closed Accounts Posts: 627 ✭✭✭mcguiver

Jebus!
    Someone who carrys more stuff than me!
    I go through phases of not wearing utility belt, just 2 sets of cuffs and asp with gloves in a pocket.

I know one ex army medic who carries a field dressing, I suppose it makes sense.

I always find it's handy to have about 20feet of crime scene tape rolled tightly (it's about the siize of a large marker). It makes life easier when you need to shut a road/doorway etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭Satan Polaroid

Bloody hell! Talk about coming prepared :D

I only have an asp and handcuffs on my belt, and gloves in my pocket.

At night, I cary my torch in my hand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 627 ✭✭✭mcguiver

I know a taskie that carries a climbing rope in the car!!

and have any of ye seen the screw on asp torch accessory!!!

(you know who you are... I'm just jealous cos I dont have one!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

mcguiver wrote: »
    Jebus!
    Someone who carrys more stuff than me!
    I go through phases of not wearing utility belt, just 2 sets of cuffs and asp with gloves in a pocket.

I know one ex army medic who carries a field dressing, I suppose it makes sense.

Ya as an EMT i always carry an ambulance dressing with me.
    mcguiver wrote: »
    I know a taskie that carries a climbing rope in the car!!

and have any of ye seen the screw on asp torch accessory!!!

(you know who you are... I'm just jealous cos I dont have one!)

Ya have seen them....but much prefer the leaverage cap for that extra wallop!!!:D

As for the rope, I have 70ft of certified rope in my booth, plus a throwbag, plus flares, plus a large trauma bag!!!

As for the list above I think most newer members come out with full belts, but most only last a few weeks and they dont re fill them:D.

I can only add a leatherman to that list. Very handy tool!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,322 ✭✭✭source

Led lenser torch,
    radio pouch
    gerber multi-tool (one of the most used items on my belt)
    first aid pouch, with gloves and mouth to mouth mask
    notebook pouch, with notebook and gra diary
    handcuff pouch with asp hinged handcuffs
    large handcuff key on a retracting reel
    baton in asp sidebreak scabbard

pens and small blacklight for checking money and driving licences in pocket of stab vest.

It seems to be working so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

Holy crap I thought I was bad with all my gear

Led Torch
    Mini Maglite for car searches
    Asp
    Notebook
    Cuffs
    Radio - only good within 2 miles of the station

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 gdamedic

Big pouch
    Note book
    interpreting Guide that i was handed one day
    business cards
    post its
    pen
    EMS Shears (Very handy for cutting things)
    cards to say FCPS has been issued
    a few small evidence bags (also for first aid purposes)

open top Cuff pouch x 2
    Cuffs x2

First aid pouch
    Face shield (for cpr)
    plasters
    wipes

Small torch normally on the belt
    Official issue torch comes out at night
    the orange cone occasionally

Asp Holder
    Asp

Official Cuff pouch
    Lots of Gloves

Clip for Tetra radio
    (Will contain tetra radio as of wednesday)

2 x handcuff keys

Clip on Light, one click for uv, two clicks for light

Earpiece for radio

Phone for when the old radio didn't work

chewing gum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭cpstears

VEST POCKET
    Note book & Diary
    business cards in back of notebook
    pen blue & black

Carry these in back pocket on station duties

DUTY BELT FROM RIGHT TO LEFT

ASP Open Top Cuff Holder
    ASP Hinge Cuffs

Radio Pouch

Control Set
    (to be removed on TETRA)

LARGE TORCH HOLDER
    Official issue torch at night time

FIRST AID POUCH
    Face shield (for cpr)
    plasters
    wipes
    two small drugs collection bag folded tight

MULTI-TOOL POUCH

Victorinox Multi tool

SMALL TORCH HOLDER
    Small Led Lenser Torch

ASP Sidebreak Holder
    ASP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

happyhappy wrote: »
    god i'm the poor district, i lost my utility belt years and didn't get a new one. actually come to think of it i'm using a rope to hold my trousers up too.:D:D

That's all part of the cutbacks ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭djtechnics1210

I used never wear equipment belt, cause there useless.
    They wreck your head when your driving, running, going over walls etc etc.

Best thing i ever bought was a good pair of magnum boots.

Used to keep all that other "gucci" gear that everyone puts on their equipment belts into a bag in boot of patrol car.

I used never wear equipment belt, cause there useless.
    They wreck your head when your driving, running, going over walls etc etc.

Best thing i ever bought was a good pair of magnum boots.

Used to keep all that other "gucci" gear that everyone puts on their equipment belts into a bag in boot of patrol car.

Thats cause your a bbbbrrrrrrrranch man!!! (spit spit spit:D)

This bag in the boot is better than any equipment belt...
    save all ye lads from getting a bad back carrying around all that stuff on yer belts :D

http://www.niton999.co.uk/products.expanded.asp?product=3608&productname=Hatch-D1-Patrol-Duty-Bag-(HAD1-BAG)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,450 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

Great website, just spent the last hour looking at it!!!

Same here!! Good call dj. Bag is a good idea man!

Charlie you never entered the online chat to talk to us dude!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭cushtac

Niton seem to have a problem taking credit card payments from Ireland, anyone I know who's tried to buy from them has had to do so by bank transfer.

cushtac wrote: »
    Niton seem to have a problem taking credit card payments from Ireland, anyone I know who's tried to buy from them has had to do so by bank transfer.

Thats a pain...and i was thinking of buying one or two things!!!

I used pay pal, worked fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭cushtac

I used pay pal, worked fine.

They've been refusing pay pal too as recently as last month.

didn't know that cushtac..
    Their gonna lose a lot of business cause of it though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭D22

wrote:
    Big pouch
    Note book
    2 pens
    business cards
    post its
    free tourist maps
    Tissues

Cuff pouch
    Cuffs
    3 pairs of gloves

First aid pouch
    Face shield (for cpr)
    Anadin
    plasters
    wipes
    paper stitches
    seat belt cutter
    small uv light
    small magnifying glass
    Lighter

Small knife pouch
    Small knife(obviously!)

Torch holder

Contains lenser torch after dark

Extra cuff holder
    Spare cuffs

Non issue Sidebreak asp holder
    containing asp

I also carry (in pockets)
    more gloves (ass pocket)

Phone with large memory card for communications and taking photos of crashes etc.
    Money

Mini torch, badge+ money in vest pocket

More wipes and phone earphones inside vest(yep that zip is great for hiding stuff away)
    and cuff key on chain from trouser loop

Just wondering, based on a list like the above what would a Garda have to put his hand in his own pocket for? OR is all that stuff issued to you?

I've never been in a job that I got all my relevant tools handed to me and for some reason, i imagine AGS will be the same.

D22 wrote: »
    Just wondering, based on a list like the above what would a Garda have to put his hand in his own pocket for? OR is all that stuff issued to you?

I've never been in a job that I got all my relevant tools handed to me and for some reason, i imagine AGS will be the same.

You'll be issued with a n offical utility belt wit andcuff pouch, radio holder, first aid pouch, back support, notebook holder (or ticket holder as i knew it), light holder and an asp holder

In turn to fill this you will be issued cuffs, asp, offical notebook, first aid stuff and a light.

You'll end up buying some stuff but thats personal choice like magnum boots, leatherman multi tool, a proper flashlight!!, a back up flash light, spare cuffs, proper side break asp scabard etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

91364-utility-belt_400.jpg

New Garda utility belt.

donvito99 wrote: »
    91364-utility-belt_400.jpg

New Garda utility belt.

How come i didnt get a shiny buckle like that!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭D22

You'll be issued with a n offical utility belt wit andcuff pouch, radio holder, first aid pouch, back support, notebook holder (or ticket holder as i knew it), light holder and an asp holder

In turn to fill this you will be issued cuffs, asp, offical notebook, first aid stuff and a light.

You'll end up buying some stuff but thats personal choice like magnum boots, leatherman multi tool, a proper flashlight!!, a back up flash light, spare cuffs, proper side break asp scabard etc etc

Cool, tbh thats what I figured. For things like spare cuffs n lights, would you ever get pulled up on having non-issued stuff. Obviously I dont know whats what yet but say you bought and carried a "better" set of ASP / S&W cuffs that were never standard issue?

Would members normally buy spare ASP batons also?

D22 wrote: »
    Cool, tbh thats what I figured. For things like spare cuffs n lights, would you ever get pulled up on having non-issued stuff. Obviously I dont know whats what yet but say you bought and carried a "better" set of ASP / S&W cuffs that were never standard issue?

Would members normally buy spare ASP batons also?

I would strongly advise not buying a similar item to what is issued. If you are issued Asp cuffs i would recommend staying with them, you cannot ever get into trouble as Asp will stand over them and your training.

As for an Asp baton, all AGS batons are numbered and have a crest on the tail cap. You wont need a spare Asp. Spare cuffs come into effect when you lift someone and they are taken to the station in the van and you are still on the beat. You have an extra set as yours are gone to the station. Also handy when arresting more than one person like at a nightclub with doorstaff help.

S&W are the best chain type handcuffs available. Hiatts are another AGS issued, and they are now issuing Asp simi rigid cuffs.

You'll find your feet on phase 2 +4 and decide for yourself

Charlie you never entered the online chat to talk to us dude!!!

Did i miss something?? quite possible I wasn't paying attention or asleep!!:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭Jack O'Neill

Had difficulty with Notion999 myself, not the greatest!

I would recommend ecop on ebay for gear.

Although they are in America, I have dealt with them a good bit for gear and always found them brilliant.

http://stores.ebay.ie/Ecop-Police-Supply

try Chocopaw - great value for torches. (have you converted your maglite to LED?)

or http://stores.ebay.ie/Chocopaw_W0QQcolZ4QQdirZ1QQfsubZQ2d33QQftidZ2QQtZkm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭Jack O'Neill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭yayamark

I have a bag that i leave in the car and use a utility belt aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

yayamark wrote: »
    I have a bag that i leave in the car . . . .
    Now, now.

They fulfil a vital role in a modern police force (it's the 20th century man, get with it) and get paid almost as much as male members.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Jerico

This site wasnt too bad for ASP gear...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭coach23

my belt doubles up as my public order belt cause they wouldn't spring for another belt but give you stuff to put on one (another genius idea from AGS)
    right to left worn by user

ASP, Leatherman multi tool, Public order baton holder (doubles as torch holder), Large Pouch first aid...heat blanket (tinfoil type thing) for those muppets we pull out of the liffey, paper stitches gloves lots and lts of gloves steri wipes tons of em an anadin for the heart attacks and hand gel, public order bottle holder excellent kit use it as bottle on the bike, small pouchmore gloves and steri wipes, two pairs of cuffs rarely have i been to a call where just one pair of cuffs is needed gotta love templebar

on my vest is the radio pouch or tetra if they give it to us i reckon the training was just a tease, opposite side is a small led lenser torch anyone who buys it in a shop is a mug got it on ebay for nearly nothing

coach23 wrote: »
    my belt doubles up as my public order belt cause they wouldn't spring for another belt but give you stuff to put on one (another genius idea from AGS)
    right to left worn by user

ASP, Leatherman multi tool, Public order baton holder (doubles as torch holder), Large Pouch first aid...heat blanket (tinfoil type thing) for those muppets we pull out of the liffey, paper stitches gloves lots and lts of gloves steri wipes tons of em an anadin for the heart attacks and hand gel, public order bottle holder excellent kit use it as bottle on the bike, small pouchmore gloves and steri wipes, two pairs of cuffs rarely have i been to a call where just one pair of cuffs is needed gotta love templebar

on my vest is the radio pouch or tetra if they give it to us i reckon the training was just a tease, opposite side is a small led lenser torch anyone who buys it in a shop is a mug got it on ebay for nearly nothing

Ever heard of a full stop?! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,276 ✭✭✭sdanseo

I'm not a guard, but from having a few things on my belt at once (torches, two-way radios etc) in the past I speculate I'd find those mad awkward. Anything above waist level just gets in the way, you can't move your arms etc. Looking at the asp for example, you'd have to pull it out as if you were going to stab someone with it, and then alter your grip completely...not my place to say but apparently lay-opinions are encouraged :P

Maybe it's different when wrestling drunken twats to the ground at 4am? :rolleyes:

donvito99 wrote: »
    Ever heard of a full stop?! :D

I have a few spare ones if he needs them. Here you go. .............................

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

Heavy belt = Having a crap on duty is hard work:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,322 ✭✭✭source

Zambia232 wrote: »
    Heavy belt = Having a crap on duty is hard work:o

hang it on the back of the toilet door, Sheesh do i have to think of everything???? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭ScubaDave

Isnt that what those hooks are for!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭FGR

...You guys have hooks on your doors?

You lot and yer fancy stations! :D

Just for the sake of it...
    Utility belt... whats ''in'' yours?

Don't things generally go on a utility belt.

foinse wrote: »
    hang it on the back of the toilet door, Sheesh do i have to think of everything???? :D

I heard of someone a cash in transit guard doing just that, they drove of felt a little light, realised returned and found the belt + 38 special in the toilet with the owner and two Policemen.

She got in a bit of trouble and lost her firearms licence and subsequently her employment.

Funny this thread is here I just bought a new belt today, could not buy a Bianchi one so settled for an Uncle Mikes one instead.

A lot of contries cit guards are armed. America, canada, spain, portugal,south africa to name a few

happyhappy wrote: »
    where are the cash in transit lads armed?

My apologies here in Melbourne Brinks,Armaguard, chubb and others are all armed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 junior80

The only things needed are;
    (1) Baton
    (2) Handcuffs (one set you heroes)
    (3) Notebook/Pen
    (4) Torch (at night only!)
    (5) Gloves

The ordinary beatman is not a paramedic, surgeon, mountain climber or one man public order unit.

Horrified to see members carrying all sorts of gear, what did we do before utility belts?

The belt is a nightmare to run in anyway so the lighter the better. Management considered extra pockets/loops on stab vest cover but felt it looked to aggressive, god forbid we'd be provided with practical equipment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 unidentified

hey, dunno if this was already asked or not
    but do any of yous wear the back support thing
    on the belt?

i always have but many people dont seem to use it.
    have any of yous tried wearin it for a roster, then
    takin it off for another roster

find any difference or advantage in usin it?

would you believe, I got sick of my kidney belt yesterday and took it off. Actually felt a bit better without it. You only really need it if there;s a bit of weight on the belt

The back support on the belt is of limited use, a preferable option would be to have the choice to carry some equipment on the upper body supported by the shoulders i.e on the stab vest.
    Carrying most equipment around the waist simply is not practical and saps energy on a tour of duty.
    Running with the utility belt is a nightmare, have seen embarrassing scenes of (relativley fit and light footed) members chasing youths to no avail while the youths turn and jog backwards taunting said panting members!:mad: Looks bad on the members and organisation in general.
    It's a debate that will rage on until members are canvassed as to what their operational needs actually are.

junior80 wrote: »
    The back support on the belt is of limited use, a preferable option would be to have the choice to carry some equipment on the upper body supported by the shoulders i.e on the stab vest.
    Carrying most equipment around the waist simply is not practical and saps energy on a tour of duty.
    Running with the utility belt is a nightmare, have seen embarrassing scenes of (relativley fit and light footed) members chasing youths to no avail while the youths turn and jog backwards taunting said panting members!:mad: Looks bad on the members and organisation in general.
    It's a debate that will rage on until members are canvassed as to what their operational needs actually are.

Solution = Stay out of McDonalds!!:p

Although they are heavy I never found a problem running with it. Now the stb vest on the other hand is a pain when jumping walls with it on

would you believe, I got sick of my kidney belt yesterday and took it off. Actually felt a bit better without it. You only really need it if there;s a bit of weight on the belt

Now now charlie....the bigger members of the force wouldnt like that comment:D

Yeah avoiding "the breakfast" never hurts!

In truth the "perfect" uniform doesn't exist but members have to limit the stuff they carry ,some of the stuff listed is crazy! I don't recall ever having to cross a river or perform open heart surgery during my days on the beat:D