Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your Dream job... What is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 493 ✭✭thealltimelow

done that so what now ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,001 ✭✭✭p1akuw47h5r3it

JC 2K3 wrote: »
    Lol, if only such a thing existed (getting paid to essentially browse boards).

Boards wouldn't be a bad company to work for though, I reckon. Working for a company wouldn't be many people's dream job though, I expect.

I suppose one ambition of mine is to release something of unique, innovative and original artistic or technical value into the world - be it a book, album, film, computer program etc.

If a job enabled me to do that and get paid for it, then I guess that'd be my dream job.

How big is boards? Is it just a small Irish company or is there a boards.uk etc?

callaway92 wrote: »
    Porn Star
    /thread
    Personally I think this would be a **** job. Havin people watchin you and stuff...nah

• Registered Users Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

How big is boards? Is it just a small Irish company or is there a boards.uk etc?

There are several boards, like boards.ie, boards.jp and boards.us. There may very well even be a boards.uk.

It employs a few full-time employees in Dublin. It's big enough to be part-owned by daft.ie

• Registered Users Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭eVeNtInE

eVeNtInE wrote: »
    www.boards.org.uk is the boards site for the UK!

Jeez it's tiny compared to .ie!!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,196 ✭✭✭Crumble Froo

oh yeah, .ie is wehre it's at. technically there's a nz one too, but you can't actually sign up to it, last i checked.

my dream job... pro surfer :P lol, not in any way likely.

my dream job is something that i don't have to put too many hours into, enjoy, get something out of, and that leaves me plenty of time to surf and get inked and pierced to my heart's content.

so i kinda have all that right now. all i gotta do is un-injure myself and life is officially sweet.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭norwegianwood

A journo for the Irish Times..... ah how I'd love it!

Herald till I die!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 553 ✭✭✭Futurism

Scientist of some description. A theoretical physicist would be fantastic.

But to be honest,I've no idea what I want to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Shacklebolt

Jeez u never know:cool::confused:... but surrendering ur passport, not bein able to marry and the crazy mental training techniques...

Would love to get a green card and join the marines but wishful thinking me thinks.

My uncle served in the Marines... Never saw combat thankfully.

I think I want to be a criminal mastermind-Im thinking of starting my career now so anyone care to be the hero?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,231 ✭✭✭Fad

Go to an attractive blonde woman's house on the pretence of fixing her cable and/or plumbing.

Dont forget delivering pizza with a suspiciously placed hole in the middle.

There are sites seemingly(somehow!) dedicated to only that...........

• Registered Users Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭giggsy664

Games developer of tester

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,864 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Fad wrote: »
    Dont forget delivering pizza with a suspiciously placed hole in the middle.

There are sites seemingly(somehow!) dedicated to only that...........

If this is the smut you're going to be posting, I'd be happier if you stayed banned! :P

Welcome back really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

Preferably one of those high up PHD style lecturers that get paid a bomb for giving 4 classes or so a week, and have tutors to correct the majority of their work, after slaving away in crappy tutor/underpaid lecturer jobs with lazy students for about 10 years while struggling to get all my qualifications.

Either that or social work.

French foreign Legion

• Registered Users Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭congo_90

Airline pilot. Started private lessons till the money ran a bit tight and the costs went up and all these airlines going bust. :( I can still dream.
    No Uni for me though. Working as an engineer in training at the moment. Fresh from school. (should play the lotto)

• Registered Users Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

French foreign Legion

Btw have you seen Bear Grylls Escape to the Legion programme where he and others recreated the French Foreign Legion's basic desert training in the Sahara?

Here's some documentary on youtube about the legion, it;s in subtitles though so beware

Stev_o wrote: »
    Btw have you seen Bear Grylls Escape to the Legion programme where he and others recreated the French Foreign Legion's basic desert training in the Sahara?

No is it good?

That Bear fella is a hero!

I'd say the training is rock hard

No is it good?

Twas alot of shouting :p Take a look at that documentary.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭Delta Kilo

No is it good?

Bear Grylls a hero? I used to think so but...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3UpSlpvb1is

Stev_o wrote: »
    Twas alot of shouting :p Take a look at that documentary.

Nice one for that. I've watched a few of the documentaries on theffl on you tube but not that one.

Thought it was mad when the voiceover was luke "he captured most of the animals here himself" then there is a cut scene to a crocadile and a snake!

Wouldn't really want to be stationed there, would rather Marseille or even Djibitou

Delta Kilo wrote: »

Ray Mears though........ is just pure man.

Delta Kilo wrote: »

Ye but he was still in the SAS (as far as I know) so he's still pretty tough.

Don't understand why he did a survival thing in the ARA Islands tho. That was pretty sad.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭regob

i want to be a lecturer

• Registered Users Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

God

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Shacklebolt

Ye but he was still in the SAS (as far as I know) so he's still pretty tough.

Don't understand why he did a survival thing in the ARA Islands tho. That was pretty sad.

I seen that.... Like I know its pretty wild by irish standards but for feck sake there are a few hundred people on them islands and schools and churches its hardly the same as being in the sahara or somewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

God

Are you sure that's what you want? It's a pretty tough job.
    I saw this documentary once about a guy (Bruce something) who was God for a while. It didn't turn out too well for him if I recall.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Are you sure that's what you want? It's a pretty tough job.
    I saw this documentary once about a guy (Bruce something) who was God for a while. It didn't turn out too well for him if I recall.
    Yeah but he tried to answer prayers.Mistake 1. Id just watch the human race destroy itself.........and play poker with the devil on weekends..............for souls...........on a train............with some lad dying..............and giving chris de burgh his only decent song ever in the process

• Registered Users Posts: 3,532 ✭✭✭Ginja Ninja

I seen that.... Like I know its pretty wild by irish standards but for feck sake there are a few hundred people on them islands and schools and churches its hardly the same as being in the sahara or somewhere.
    yes,but he has a reason IMO to not go the full length he fell ~ 400m when is parachute collapsed,he can sit in hospital eating through a tube and it's what we'd expect

oh,and from what I know Ray Mears[he is a legend] but his wife left him as he was travelling and being ALL man for a bit too long

[not whining am a big fan of both these guys .But put them into context]

oh and a Farmer who codes computer games.We all know one of those now don't we?