Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would like to buy a rolex

• 10-04-2009 11:56am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭

I Would like to buy a rolex - between 3-5k, seen nice gold/rosegold - dont know much about watches and have tried to find pricelists on the net but not much success - any links or pointers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

Not sure dealers are allowed sell them online, apart from second hand ones obviously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cojomo2

john47832 wrote: »
    I Would like to buy a rolex - between 3-5k, seen nice gold/rosegold - dont know much about watches and have tried to find pricelists on the net but not much success - any links or pointers

and u wanna spend 5grand on 1! man u must have a lot of cash burning a serious hole in your pocket! U can get bloody excellent copies that are quality and last the test of time..i have one..have seen them online for between 100-400 euro..and as you stated you dont know much about watches, i guarantee you, you would struggle to know the difference between the real and the fake..

i got mine in bangkok, they range from 20-80euro there, 80 quids gets u a lovely one, or a breitling, which i think look way better....so i would suggest going on a lovely 2 week holiday to bangkok, living it up in some of the nicest hotels in the world and get a couple of good quality copies, and spend the remaining 4 grand on something worthwhile!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭mark renton

Dont know much about watches, but I do know I dont want a fake - defeats the purpose, which is to own a nice rolex - as a reward for my hard work if you like :)

Is there anywhere on the net where I can get a look at what I would get for that sort of money - has to be rolex

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,290 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Rolex have a pretty strong handle on their dealers. I would go to a dealer, maybe in Britain. Though Rolex insist the dealer prices are similar worldwide, so the usual Irish bit of hiking the price is not nearly as much an issue with them. Even if you could get one online, you may not get a warranty on it. Plus they are heavily faked as mentioned.

The only way to get one online that you could be sure of is by going vintage/secondhand. You'll save a fair bit that way and maybe get something beyond the ordinary. Here's a sit I've dealt with and would trust http://finertimes.com/asp/watches/query.asp?Title=New+Today&SubTitle=+-+Rolex&TypeCode=0&Where=(tblUsers.Active%3Dtrue)+AND+(tblInventory.Archive%3DFalse)+AND+(tblInventory.FTUse%3DTrue)+AND+(((tblTransactions.Status)+Is+Null+Or+(tblTransactions.Status)%3D%27Pending%27))+AND+(Man_Code%3D%27100%27)&Page=1

Do research. Thats the biggy. research research research. That way you'll get the watch you're looking for.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭anthony4335

Dubai, is all I can say. Saved a fortune on my Omega, when a friend was going out there last year, just gave him the details, and he headed for the Omega shop.

Sorry I'm not actually looking to purchase over the net - rather see whats on offer for that price range

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,599 ✭✭✭Slutmonkey57b

Is there anywhere on the net where I can get a look at what I would get for that sort of money - has to be rolex

I'm firmly of the opinion that unless you're a second hand car salesman, a time traveller from the 70's, a fat middle aged guy who organises swinger parties, a pimp or a drug dealer, there's no reason to voluntarily wear a Rolex.

Please have a look around before you spend €5,000 on a watch that's going to make you look bad. Really, they're awful.

I'm firmly of the opinion that unless you're a second hand car salesman, a time traveller from the 70's, a fat middle aged guy who organises swinger parties, a pimp or a drug dealer, there's no reason to voluntarily wear a Rolex.

Please have a look around before you spend €5,000 on a watch that's going to make you look bad. Really, they're awful.
    Is there something specific about the watches you don't like or is it just the people you see waring them that you don't like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

that's you're opinion, i think the OP has really got his heart set on a rolex. i find nothing wrong with rolex at all, they wouldn't be my style of watch but that doesn't mean they aren't someone elses :pac:

http://www.watchfinders.co.uk/ have rolex on their site, don't know if the prices are competitive though but they seem pretty legit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

I think the date bubble really spoils the look, it's just not needed

Sean_K wrote: »
    Is there something specific about the watches you don't like or is it just the people you see waring them that you don't like?

When I see a rolex, 3 Things pop into my head: Arthur Daley in a mohair jacket, a Porsche Cayenne, and 70's porn music.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭TMoreno

When I see a rolex, 3 Things pop into my head: Arthur Daley in a mohair jacket, a Porsche Cayenne, and 70's porn music.
    Hey that's me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 766 ✭✭✭20/20

john47832 from Ballyfermot are you a debt collector? there are not to many people who want to show of hard work with a ROLEX right now. Iam amazed that you feel you realy need something that you know nothing about,as a rolex will last a lifetime maybe you should wait for a few months to see if you are still worth as much as you think.But on the other hand there is a good feeling about owning a quality watch to show you have made it and to hell with the jealous begrudgers(you have already read there posts).First i suggest buy from a shop because the fakes look very real and even have forged papers and can even come in genuine boxes that are bought on ebay for only a fiver.The best shop is WEIRS they are the only authorized rolex dealer for east coast of Ireland,they have a free colour brochure with prices listed.The downside of weirs is because they are the only authorized dealer for the whole east coast they can charge whatever they like,but it will give you an idea on pricing. Then you look up http://www.lunns.com/ and give them a ring they are the norths authorized dealer,you may never buy in Ireland again when you see the price difference,then all you do is take a train to Belfast and grinn from ear to ear all the way home. Good luck with the hunt.

20/20 wrote: »
    john47832 from Ballyfermot are you a debt collector? there are not to many people who want to show of hard work with a ROLEX right now. Iam amazed that you feel you realy need something that you know nothing about,as a rolex will last a lifetime maybe you should wait for a few months to see if you are still worth as much as you think.But on the other hand there is a good feeling about owning a quality watch to show you have made it and to hell with the jealous begrudgers(you have already read there posts).First i suggest buy from a shop because the fakes look very real and even have forged papers and can even come in genuine boxes that are bought on ebay for only a fiver.The best shop is WEIRS they are the only authorized rolex dealer for east coast of Ireland,they have a free colour brochure with prices listed.The downside of weirs is because they are the only authorized dealer for the whole east coast they can charge whatever they like,but it will give you an idea on pricing. Then you look up http://www.lunns.com/ and give them a ring they are the norths authorized dealer,you may never buy in Ireland again when you see the price difference,then all you do is take a train to Belfast and grinn from ear to ear all the way home. Good luck with the hunt.

i almost feel like i have to now defend my right to buy what i want or explain why i want it!!

i wont bother :) but i will add no im not any of the above stereotypes that are on this thread, i think it would be good read to create a thread to see what people would buy for themselves or what people would see as a token of satisfaction (within reality of course), mine at this moment just happens to be rolex watch

v useful link thanks

john47832 i also meant to say you can not buy any new rolex with gold or rosegold in Ireland for 3-5k. It will buy a new rolex but not with any gold,you must also remember if you have a very large wrist and you need extra links for the watch bracelet they can cost over 100euro per link.If you want gold you may have to look at the secondhand market,but be carefull of fakes. There are some shops in Dublin that sell secondhand but only WEIRS are allowed sell new.I think some jewelers on Dawson St deal in secondhand.But remember call http://www.lunns.com/ and iam sure you will start using the words rip-off Ireland a lot more.

A toyota glanza makes you look bad - not a rolex

Not that far off, they're about the same price! :)

If you've got your heart set on a Rolex, go for it. But I would definitely try a few other things on your wrist first - don't buy a watch just for the name alone, you're walking into a trap.

If you're interested in what people might buy, have a look in the Wishlist thread.

As far as Joe public goes there's not too many watches other than rolex that say I'm loaded

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,701 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

dont mind the begrudgers on here John,

my fiancee and her brother and sister bought their dad a bi metal datejust for his 60th from Dawson jewellers.

I would imagine bi metal pre owned is your best bet as the rrp on any gold or bimetal rolex is out of budget.

Try www.watchfinder.co.uk or blowers jewellers or even the sales forum on tz-uk.

what kind of style do you like?

Datejust - 36mm
    S12311.jpg

Submariner 40mm
    bimetalsub007.jpg

Yachtmaster 40mm
    692.jpg

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,290 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Always had a soft spot for the Submariner. I'd likely have the date bubble ground down though. I know, I know:eek::o:D

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭Gavin1

Get a No-date sub,14060M(is the modern variant), the original of the species

I have heard of people taking the cyclops eye off the Date Submariners(16610) also. But then that is a what-to-be Sea Dweller!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭phelixoflaherty

Is there not a clock on yer mobile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 780 ✭✭✭Blackpitts

this is the official price list of Rolex (year 2008), feel free to download it
    http://orologi.forumfree.net/?act=Attach&type=post&id=313717598

it's in italian but you can easily figure out the model and the price on the right.

Buy a GMT II, they are fantastic! ;-)

on all the modern ones they are just stuck on so they can be popped off by someone who knows how :)

im with you on the anti cyclops wibbs, cant get on with them

id love a gmt 2 ceramic with the cyclops removed :cool:

Ceramic makes me think of the tiles in the bathroom,so i had to look up ceramic watch. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HrGmhg4Dgpg&feature=related

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭StealthRolex

Hi John,

Have you picked up a Rolex yet? If not there are loads of pointers out there. For pricing on the second had market one of the best places to start is watches.co.uk

Have you any ideas on the styling you want? The reason I ask is that rose gold and steel and gold scream Rolex! which is great if that's what you. Otherwise there are plenty of "bargains" in the the plain steel sports and dress range.

One word of advice is avoid buying in Dublin or Ireland. The second hand prices for a 10-20yr old here are the same as the new UK prices. If you have the readies it's worth the extra for the flight and hotel to go shopping in London, or if you can stretch to it New York.

By the way - one of the pros of buying a second had Rolex, especially an all steel sports model, is that if an some stage in the future you need to sell it you can can almost all your money back. For some models you might even make a small profit but you'll need to buy the right one in the first place.

Finally - feck the begrudgers! Yes they are expensive but bear in mind that Rolex is not a shareholder corporation. They do charge what they like because they can but a lot of the money winds up being reinvested in watchmakers and horological education. If you get you you will have a piece of mechanical technology that will last many lifetimes and can be passed on through generations.
    And when compared to watches from Harry Winston, Patek Phillippe or Breguet they are comparatively inexpensive for what they are - an extremely well made, go anywhere time keeping tool that looks good.

Cyrus wrote: »
    on all the modern ones they are just stuck on so they can be popped off by someone who knows how :)

im with you on the anti cyclops wibbs, cant get on with them

id love a gmt 2 ceramic with the cyclops removed :cool:

I saw one in London about a year ago. Didn't look that great. Bear in mind that the new ones have anti-reflection underneath to make the cyclops more usable compared to the older one. If you really want the Sea Dweller "cool" look you're better off finding a friendly Rolex technician who will replace the crystal.

Or better yet - buy both - a GMT and a Sea Dweller

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 bermuda

20/20 wrote: »

Actually Weir's prices are in line with MRP as defined by Rolex, so they dont essentially charge over and above as you may find in some shops in the UK. Even for in demand pieces like the Daytona for which almost inevitably you have to pay a premium in the UK.

Lets us know how it goes........

I am seriously considering going to UK to buy a second hand one, I really didnt want to buy second hand one because of the amount of fakes out there... but watches.co.uk seems to be fairly reputable, correct me if i'm wrong

are there any reputable second hand shops in Ireland?

I am seriously considering going to UK to buy a second hand one, I really didnt want to buy second hand one because of the amount of fakes out there... but watches.co.uk seems to be fairly reputable, correct me if i'm wrong

are there any reputable second hand shops in Ireland?

watches.co.uk are very reputable, dawson jewellers on dawson street will have them aswell, altho they tend to be a little more helter skelter re having papers etc,

id goto the uk if was you and go with either watches.co.uk or blowers jewellers.

which model interests you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭bogmanfan

There are 2 jewellers upstairs in the Powerscourt centre that have a good selection of used Rolex. No idea on prices though...

The issue with used Rolex from a dealer is that they are generally highly polished. This polishing can and does remove the sharpness of the case and some of the cases have defined and sharp edges.
    Unless the polishing is done well or by Rolex they can look brutal!!

I would look to purchase from an individual and either unpolished or Rolex serviced.

watches.co.uk are very reputable, dawson jewellers on dawson street will have them aswell, altho they tend to be a little more helter skelter re having papers etc,

id goto the uk if was you and go with either watches.co.uk or blowers jewellers.

These guys are highly recommended - I've met John, the owner, and dealt with him a number of times. Whether you want to buy or convert your collection to cash you won't go wrong.

Anyone who bought the older model GMT 2 is up a grand (stg) this year since the new ceramic bezel hit the grey market.

Gavin1 wrote: »
    The issue with used Rolex from a dealer is that they are generally highly polished. This polishing can and does remove the sharpness of the case and some of the cases have defined and sharp edges.
    Unless the polishing is done well or by Rolex they can look brutal!!

I would look to purchase from an individual and either unpolished or Rolex serviced.

watches.co.uk get Rolex to certify all they watches that arrive in without an original certificate. It's only a receipt but it's good to know that Rolex London have had a look and are happy.

For servicing he uses an independent Rolex technician. If that's a problem you can always take it to Wiers later.

John will not arrange for any polishing or repair work to be carried out without the buyers approval and will only arrange a standard service. If the watch has a ding he'll tell you and show you - with a loupe if required.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭bobcar61

Rolex are good watches and some nice looking ones as well but how can you justify spending €3,000 - €5,000 on a watch.Buy one for €60 or so,they all do exactly the same thing.
    We are in a recession here.

P.S Did you win the lotto or something?

bobcar61 wrote: »
    Rolex are good watches and some nice looking ones as well but how can you justify spending €3,000 - €5,000 on a watch.Buy one for €60 or so,they all do exactly the same thing.

Wrong place for comments like that mate:p

Just on the Dawson jewellers - my own experience is that they are not the friendliest unless they think you are actually going to buy, but more seriously their prices are way can be way off the mark and not in the buyers favour either.

The friendly thing could have been a bad day or too many browsers but I would suggest doing the research on prices first.

Just on the Dawson jewellers - my own experience is that they are not the friendliest unless they think you are actually going to buy, but more seriously their prices are way can be way off the mark and not in the buyers favour either.

The friendly thing could have been a bad day or too many browsers but I would suggest doing the research on prices first.

my missus and her bro got a s/h bimetal datejust from them for their dad for his 60th and it was priced well and they were very nice, but thats my only experience of them

Do some research on Rolex and you'll see. They may be "over-priced" and this is mainly because Rolex want exclusivity but if you compare their manufacturing, development and after market care with other makers you can see the difference. if you buy an Omega and send it for service they only take care of the innards. Send your 10, 20, 30 , 40, 50 year old to Rolex for a service and it will come back looking like it just left the factory.

As for the recession. 18 months to 2 years ago the old GMT2 was selling on the second hand market for £1900 stg. Today it is selling for £2900.

A €60 high street watch is worth nothing after you leave the shop.

In a recession if people are going to buy they buy quality. Or they don't buy. On a Rolex, as long as it's not new, you will get most of your money back if you have to sell it. if you buy a Seiko, Casio, Lorus, Seconda or any other inexpensive watch you will get back less than 50% if it's the right Seiko and nothing if it's one of the others.

There are exceptions - if you buy a Rolex Cosmograph in steel brand new it is already worth up to 30% more due to the long wait times and even in a recession there is always someone with money to spend and in need of a little "product therapy".

That said if all you want is a cheap timekeeper and have no appreciation or interest in fine workmanship or attention to detail you can't go wrong with Casio.

And yes, this is the wrong forum for that comment however it does prompt some thinking. Have you noticed how the price of gold does up during a recession?
    That tells us a number of things.
    - There are people or organizations with money to spend
    - high value commodities still have value in a recession
    - in a recession if people spend they spend wisely

It also provides an opportunity to discuss one of the main differences between Rolex and other providers of luxury goods. There are no Rolex shareholders, they are not stock market quoted and hence are beholden to no-one but themselves. The entire company is based on a trust, backed by serious funding from profit re-investment which means that while craftsmen in Waterford can watch their skilled jobs go to a lower cost country the craftsmen working for Rolex have no such fears.

This company can ride out the recession out where others will collapse.

That said if all you want is a cheap timekeeper and have no appreciation or interest in fine workmanship or attention to detail you can't go wrong with Casio.

That said if all you want is a massively overpriced status symbol and have no interest in new technology you can't go wrong with a Rolex.

Or have no taste or place any value on the concept of progression in design.
    Incidentally, the name Rolex was a marketing invention to give the illusion of the familial swiss watchmaking tradition of houses like Breguet, where the company is named after the founder. Cynical marketing trumps all in the house of Rolex.

Or have no taste or place any value on the concept of progression in design.
    Incidentally, the name Rolex was a marketing invention to give the illusion of the familial swiss watchmaking tradition of houses like Breguet, where the company is named after the founder. Cynical marketing trumps all in the house of Rolex.

Your are correct in saying it was a marketing invention, but the intention was to create a name that was pronounceable in almost every country.

You could throw a similar cynical accusation at Patek for moving to Switzerland because Polish watches don't sell well, but it would be preferable to do the research and get the facts right first.

MooseJam wrote: »
    That said if all you want is a massively overpriced status symbol and have no interest in new technology you can't go wrong with a Rolex.

I think the recent improvements show how Rolex do move with technology. Check out you-tube for the videos on the new GMT II - the one with the scratchproof ceramic bezel, improved bracelet and hairspring.

What's nice about Rolex is that they don't follow fashion trends. It seems their attitude is "if it works, it works". This makes the vast majority of their collection timeless.

maybe it's just me - I like 90's Mercs better than the more recent Chrysler MBs for the same reason - over engineered and they work - limited styling changes.

I'm also a wannabe Luddite http://static.boards.ie/vbulletin/images/icons/icon12.gif

MooseJam wrote: »

I think the Omega Planet Ocean Co-Axial fits the bill better for an overpriced status symbol. Get the orange if you want to show off or the black if you think you're Daniel Craig.

He wears a vintage Rolex in Layer Cake and does a better Bond impression with the Luger.

I think the recent improvements show how Rolex do move with technology. Check out you-tube for the videos on the new GMT II - the one with the scratchproof ceramic bezel, improved bracelet and hairspring.

What's nice about Rolex is that they don't follow fashion trends. It seems their attitude is "if it works, it works". This makes the vast majority of their collection timeless.

http://static.boards.ie/vbulletin/images/icons/icon12.gif[/url]

Bang on StealthRolex.

There are not too many watch companies that have a metal foundry on site!

However there recently there have been some concessions to fashion, check out the Leopard Daytona. A bit of a niche!

bedlam wrote: »
    Except that accusation would be unfounded. The reason Patek ended up making watches in Switzerland was due to the fact that the French forced Polish insurgents of the November Uprising (of which he was one) out of France, where he was living at the time, to Switzerland. His foray into watch making only happened after his move to Switzerland, having been introduced to Haute Horologie by friends in Paris.

Now we're suckin' diesel - good research mate. Do you have a reference for this?

Don't forget that Czapek was already a watchmaker who employed a number of Poles and Czechs so essentially PP+ watches are mostly Polish with French influence that are not made in Warsaw.

Gavin1 wrote: »
    Bang on StealthRolex.

There are not too many watch companies that have a metal foundry on site!

However there recently there have been some concessions to fashion, check out the Leopard Daytona. A bit of a niche!

Don't forget the pink, yellow, blue and green ones they had a few years ago.

There have always been concessions to "fashion" in the Rolex house. The use of diamonds, rubies, emeralds, mother of pearl and other precious jems comes to mind.

Rolex appears to server three markets -
    those who want a fine , durable, reliable, accurate tool - sports or dress;
    those who want the same but in platinum so only they and their insurance company know how expensive it really is;
    and those who want to embarass themselves. They pay the bills after all.

personally, if I ever find myself looking for a fashion watch I think I'll go for the Urwerk 202

bedlam wrote: »

I'm a bit lost at what point you are trying to make regarding the hiring of certain nationalities, I think you'd be hard pressed to find a Swiss watch manufacturer that didn't have non swiss nationals on staff, so as far as I can tell we are both agreeing that PP are Swiss made and it wasn't because Polish watches wouldn't sell :)

no point, just few boiling chips - it became an extension of the point to slutmonkey regarding Breguet - watchmaker - Wilsdorf - cynical ad man.

Sometimes my obtuse efforts to ameliorate watch snobbery or ignorance don't always tick

Ok so it looks like Yachtmaster (Mid Size) 3.3k

http://www.watches.co.uk/watches/search/?meth=norm&mk=Rolex&g=1&sr=70

1 last question - am I expected to pay any sort of duty/tax buying from UK?

as the below note is on the site

"Please note we only buy and sell watches from UK & Northern Ireland postal addresses"