Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland is F**ked, what would you change

• 03-04-2009 3:58am
    Registered Users Posts: 932 ✭✭✭

No jobs, rising debt and a government that has as much potential as an 85 year old that's forgotten to renew his viagra prescription hmmmmmmmmmm

I know, if we have a nation wide 3rd class essay contest, should definitely improve upon what we have at the moment anyway

What would you change?
    Tagged:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭hellboy99

An essay wouldn't be large enough to list all the changes needed.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,522 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

The government in particular Cowen and yourself?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭kwestfan08

Donkathon wrote: »
    No jobs, rising debt and a government that has as much potential as an 85 year old that’s forgotten to renew his viagra prescription hmmmmmmmmmm

I know, if we have a nation wide 3rd class essay contest, should definitely improve upon what we have at the moment anyway

What would you change?

Not a damn thing. Name me an other country that offers the quality of life Ireland does.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,861 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

No jobs, rising debt and a government that has as much potential as an 85 year old that’s forgotten to renew his viagra prescription hmmmmmmmmmm

What would you change?

That font.

Default ftw.

• Registered Users Posts: 932 ✭✭✭Donkathon

I think the place is dooomed lets all f*ck off to down under, the whole country

• Registered Users Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭hellboy99

I think the place is dooomed lets all f*ck off to down under
    There's not much work there these days.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Xavi6 wrote: »
    That font.

Default ftw.

Would that I could grant Hande Hoche's wish so easily. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 7,522 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Cheers bud sadly not going to happen.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭Duiske

Plenty* of jobs if ye would get off your lazy holes and look !!!!

*may not be quite true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 218 ✭✭book smarts

You can't change a country. Those in power don't know what to do. They're insulated personally from any hardship, so they don't care. They also have no vision. They won't take on the unions, they're hoping that Europe will help sort everything, eventually, if they can just hold on till the next election. Even now they're thinking short term- 5 years, there's no long term plan.

Just leave. You know damn well nothing will be done to improve things. Lots of talk, that's all that'll happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 507 ✭✭✭portomar

kwestfan08 wrote: »
    Not a damn thing. Name me an other country that offers the quality of life Ireland does.

he's not talking about quality of life. he's talking about the economy

• Registered Users Posts: 6,240 ✭✭✭hussey

I think Ireland needs more cowbell

• Registered Users Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭magick

mysterion

lower prices

more sunshine

no skanger culture

then it would be perfect

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭dimejinky99

I'd change a Taoiseach we didn't elect(who was Minister for Finance during the whole Celtic tiger waffle and who got us to this point) and a chronic government we dont want, who work via the dynasty system and who do NOT belong there on any level at all..

scary thing is, those seats are filled by poxy little 200 people constituencies in the ****ing bog, while people in Dublin hafta deal with Paddy cousin X of Padraig cousin Y running the country.

Proportional representation my ****ing hole.

Kill them ALL now.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Norway. Switzerland. Andorra. I could go on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

The same, or better? Because I can think of quite a few that have better quality of life (no offense to Ireland, I do love it, just saying.)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

You might want to ask that question again on Tuesday once the new budget is announced,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭Highsider

Outer Mongolia?
    Opps forgot they actually have better roads

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

You've never actually left Ireland have you?

• Registered Users Posts: 784 ✭✭✭zootroid

Is this a wind-up?

Australia has a far higher quality of life. I would imagine there are plenty of other countries, but I haven't lived anywhere else other than Ireland and Oz, so can't comment. Have heard good things about Canada though, as well as Norway and Denmark.

Ireland has been shown up for what it always was - a banana republic. Nothing ever gets done and the same shower are re-elected over and over again, despite their failings.

In response to the OP, I would get rid of the Seanad and reduce the number of TDs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭PurpleBerry

I vote we start again with a lick of paint and a new name. We could call ourselves "Moanerland" or "Whinesville" or maybe "We're All Getting Screwed Over - ia"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

The wastage in the health system is unreal. The only way to fix it would be to start from scratch. But of course that would mean standing up to the unions and trying to explain to the electorate that having a small hospital with one or two services in each and every town is NOT a good idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭3qsmavrod5twfe

Paint Leinseter house Lime Green

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭and2

Sun, sun and more sun....

And proper snow in Winter!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,199 ✭✭✭muppetkiller

I think we need a dictator..

I vote me !!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭Captain-America

Bill O' Herlihy for Prez.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭the_dark_side

Canada, New Zealand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭the_dark_side

I vote we start again with a lick of paint and a new name. We could call ourselves "Moanerland" or "Whinesville" or maybe "We're All Getting Screwed Over - ia"

We should all stay indoors for the next 10 years and just veg... and re-name the country 'Hibernia', like the Romans did, all those years ago

I'd change a Taoiseach we didn't elect(who was Minister for Finance during the whole Celtic tiger waffle and who got us to this point) and a chronic government we dont want, who work via the dynasty system and who do NOT belong there on any level at all..

scary thing is, those seats are filled by poxy little 200 people constituencies in the ****ing bog, while people in Dublin hafta deal with Paddy cousin X of Padraig cousin Y running the country.

Proportional representation my ****ing hole.

Kill them ALL now.

Sure Dublin is full of skangers who wouldn't vote anyway. Us people outside Dublin couldnt give a s**t about the city especially with wankerish opinions like yours.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

Here's a bit of a cold shower for you, pal.

Quality of Life Index 2008