Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Placebo - Battle for the Sun

• 02-04-2009 11:14pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,665 ✭✭✭

New album out in June, looking forward to it.

New drummer to add to the mix after Steves departure.

new song Battle for the sun is poor lyrically imo, although everything else is brilliant, really love the song. Brians voice sounds as good as ever in it.

Heres a link for those who havent heard it...it takes a few listens to get into.

http://placeboworld.co.uk/freedownload/index.php

Tracklisting is:
    Battle For The Sun:

'Kitty Litter'
    'Ashtray Heart'
    'Battle For The Sun'
    'For What It’s Worth'
    'Devil In The Details'
    'Bright Lights'
    'Speak In Tongues'
    'The Never-Ending Why'
    'Julien'
    'Happy You're Gone'
    'Breathe Underwater'
    'Come Undone'
    ‘Kings Of Medicine’

Really cant wait for this :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 ArmitageShanks

Cheers for that. Didnt know they had a new album coming out at all.

Giving that tune a listen there and sound pretty good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,665 ✭✭✭gary the great

Ye its good, just gets better with every listen. Love when brians heavily distored guitar comes in in the background after about 4.27, im sure that will sound awesome live.

I think they lack of tourning in Ireland has really dented their popularity over here, except for a brief appearnece in 2006, they havent played a gig here since 2000 (which was ther best gig i was ever at to this day).Dont know why, but they didnt play ireland on the Sleeping with Ghosts tour or on the Meds tour.

Weird, hopefully we'll see them this summer....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭Limerick Dude

I really hope they play their own gig in Ireland, dont want to see them at a festival or anything.

Dont understand why they keep avoiding us!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,070 ✭✭✭Placebo

only heard battle for the sun, its so so.

Havent heard the rest of the album yet, only battle for the sun.

Seriously give that song a good few listens,, a real grower, its already one of my favoruite Placebo songs ever, the end of it is just epic...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Not a bad song, but nothing amazing either. The ending is good though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,383 ✭✭✭S.M.B.

Ye its good, just gets better with every listen. Love when brians heavily distored guitar comes in in the background after about 4.27, im sure that will sound awesome live.

I think they lack of tourning in Ireland has really dented their popularity over here, except for a brief appearnece in 2006, they havent played a gig here since 2000 (which was ther best gig i was ever at to this day).Dont know why, but they didnt play ireland on the Sleeping with Ghosts tour or on the Meds tour.

Weird, hopefully we'll see them this summer....
    i remember doing an exam in galway the day that gig was on, i was tempted to hand in my papers after an hour and jump on a bus to dublin

had i known that they wouldn't be playing a non-festival gig for over 8 years here i probably would have

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

Loved the first 3 albums. Saw them twice, in 99 and 00 , both times while I was in Italy, really good shows. I'm pretty *meh* about their later stuff...
    Is their live dvd any good?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭Limerick Dude

seachto7 wrote: »
    Loved the first 3 albums. Saw them twice, in 99 and 00 , both times while I was in Italy, really good shows. I'm pretty *meh* about their later stuff...

The live DVD is pretty epic.

I absolutely love it, great atmosphere and the band are really giving it everything for that gig!

Well what an entrance!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sc_K0SRTV1k

Ye BMM was for me the best of the lot. Sleeping with ghosts had some classics like bitter end, Speical needs and centrefolds. Meds was really good to.

Think im the only Placebo fan that doesnt like WYIM that much, its my least favourite. i have high hopes for the new album...

JAYSUS

every you every me
    WYIN !!!!!!!!!!!
    you dont care about us ?
    pure morning

SCARED OF GIRLS !???

unreal songs.
    Although have to say BMM is my all time fav.

Placebo wrote: »
    JAYSUS

every you every me
    WYIN !!!!!!!!!!!
    you dont care about us ?
    pure morning

SCARED OF GIRLS !???

unreal songs.
    Although have to say BMM is my all time fav.

Ye Scared of girls, EYEM, You dont care and Sweet Prince are all amazing, just dont like the rest and the general tone of the album. Could lsiten to them all seperatly in a live set, but altogether on an album i just cant do!! And i feckin hate Pure Morning, my least favoruite Placebo song...Pure Boring as brian calls it :)

Think im the only Placebo fan that doesnt like WYIM that much, its my least favourite. i have high hopes for the new album...

I think it's by far their best album. I don't think i'll ever be as fanatical about a band as i was with placebo around the WYIN era.

Seen them 4 times between the release of that album and BMM and haven't seen them since.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

While I really shouldn't have to, I'm giving a reminder to just THINK before you post stuff about gigs.

S.M.B. wrote: »

I think it's by far their best album. I don't think i'll ever be as fanatical about a band as i was with placebo around the WYIN era.

Seen them 4 times between the release of that album and BMM and haven't seen them since.

Placebo were one of them bands that people got totally obsessed with. I was totally obsessed with them when i was younger, still like them but not as much.

They were epic live pre 2001, just watched My Sweet Prince at Hurricane Festival 2001, its unreal. Brian obviously off his face on some drugs, but he delievers the song amazingly.

The first single from the new album "for what its worth" is on youtube, with a video.

Hated it at first but its grown on me, very poppy so will probably get a good bit of play on the radio. Not mad about the video, Brians long hair doesnt suit him!

Listened to all their albums today, they have some amazing tunes it has to be said.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,722 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

For What It's Worth is definitely a grower. Didn't like too much when I first heard it but am liking it now. Brian's hair looks swell in the video!

Going to see them in Bournemouth!

Twee. wrote: »
    For What It's Worth is definitely a grower. Didn't like too much when I first heard it but am liking it now. Brian's hair looks swell in the video!

Going to see them in Bournemouth!

Im going to see them at Rockness in june!

Wish the album would hurry up and leak, am impressed with what ive heard so far :)

only listened to the single once and didn't really like it

not a big fan of the new drummer either

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,722 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

Just back from Bournemouth this morning and the gig was absolutely amazing! They were on top form, new drummer is tight as ****, accompanied by keyboard, violin and additional bass. Stefan played guitar for most songs.
    Played very little from the early albums and a good bit from Meds. About seven new songs and they were great. Real stormers. Can't wait for the album. June 8th!

Was looking at this the other day and the memories started flooding back.

If I remember correctly it was 1 of the only 3 times Spite & Malice was ever played live and is one of the clear highlights of my early gig-going days.

Smb thats a classic, thats when they were at the top of their game.

Twee i must say im jealous, when Placebo put on a good gig, they reallly put on a good gig!

Have to say the more I hear Battle for the Sun the more I love it...starts of ok but the song just gets better and better!! Just gotta love the end of this!

And i like the new drummer, adds loads o energy to this performance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭0ubliette

New album out in June, looking forward to it.

New drummer to add to the mix after Steves departure.

new song Battle for the sun is poor lyrically imo, although everything else is brilliant, really love the song. Brians voice sounds as good as ever in it.

Heres a link for those who havent heard it...it takes a few listens to get into.

http://placeboworld.co.uk/freedownload/index.php

Everything theyve ever done has been poor lyrically. I always thought theyd be a good band if he stopped singing and writing lyrics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

dunno why they always had the bass player standing in the shadows at live gigs...

0ubliette wrote: »
    Everything theyve ever done has been poor lyrically. I always thought theyd be a good band if he stopped singing and writing lyrics.
    the lyrics have always been quite basic in terms of content but molko has a great ability for writing very melodic lyrics

dunno why they always had the bass player standing in the shadows at live gigs...

Stef was the bassist originally...but as their songs got more complex he started to play guitar. So Bill LLoyd plays bass no, hes not actually a member of Placebo, just a backup, thats why hes always standing in the shadows.

Brian is very capable of writing good lyrics, without you im nothing is an awesome album lyrically...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 469 ✭✭loveissucide

Lyrically he gets the point across.Placebo would have been the best of the post-Suede neo-glam bunch without ever quite reaching those heights of Bernard Butler period Suede,although Mansun arn't far behind.
    Weirdly,I'd rank their albums in the order they came out
    Placebo>WYIM>BMM>SWG>Meds.
    Battle For The Sun the song I'm not convinced about.

Placebo to play the Olympia in Dublin on the 15th December! Nearly exactly 9 years since they played a club gig here.

My favoruite venue, my favourite band....to say i cannot wait is an understatement.
    Its been far to long since they played Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 869 ✭✭✭The Hustler

That's AGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGES away :(

But still :)

I remember the 2 gigs in the aforementioned venue 9 years ago - Idlewild supported and were equally amazing

Cant wait!

Im going to see them in 3 weeks in Rockness to :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,761 ✭✭✭GothPunk

If you've signed up to Placeboworld.co.uk you can listen to the new album in full this weekend.

Quite simply, it's amazing. Songs like Bright Lights and The Never-Ending Why make For What It's Worth sound like sh!te, and I like For What It's Worth :pac: This album will definately get good reviews.

I have my ticket for November 15th, can't wait. Last time I saw Placebo here was in 2000, and then I saw them at in London in 2003 just before Sleeping With Ghosts came out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭Lamps

Just had a listen, that sounds a super album on first impressions.

None of this electronic crap they were doing, every song sounds good. i think this is going to be an awesome album.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

Going to see Placebo twice this year. When it's not a famine it's a feast :)

Got the album

First listen right now, so far my favourite is Ashtray Heart

Just gave it a first listen and I'm very impressed. Sounds like a real return to form.

I wasn't a huge fan of 'Meds' and this has me excited in the same way 'Sleeping With Ghosts' did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭54kroc

Just having a listen now and it's great.

'Kings of Medicine' is an absolutely cracking song.

Manics & Placebo - 2 of my favourite bands releasing 2 cracking albums in the space of a month :)

New Muse album 'The Resistance' out in November hopefully :D

Listened on placeboworld.com....not convinced.

listen again then. :D

Your the first person ive come across thats not impressed with it, its a cracker.

Seeing them in 2 weeks at rockness and then in December (i cannot wait for that gig)....they've been away for to long.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭Lamps

Seen them at pinkpop last night....holy crap they were awesome and the new drummer is really energetic. They are in top form, roll on December.

Lamps wrote: »
    Seen them at pinkpop last night....holy crap they were awesome and the new drummer is really energetic. They are in top form, roll on December.

That was ****ing DEADLY :D

I think we've just found our Album of the Year

I cannot praise this release highly enough - definitely the best thing they've ever done....... IT'S F*CKING BRILLIANT!!! :D

I think we've just found our Album of the Year

I cannot praise this release highly enough - definitely the best thing they've ever done....... IT'S F*CKING BRILLIANT!!! :D

i agree, its amazing, where the feck did they pull that from!
    I seriously thought they were on the way down and out, Meds and Sleeping with Ghosts wernt great, but this is a fantastic album. Speak in Tounges and Battle for the Sun are probably my favourite 2 placebos songs ever, cant stop listening to them!

Is Happy your gone about Steve Hewitt i wonder....

There's actually not a bad tune on it!

Ashtray Heart and Kings of Medicine are my faves :D

There's actually not a bad tune on it!

Ashtray Heart and Kings of Medicine are my faves :D

Those two and 'The Never Ending Why' make up my top 3.

5/10
    maybe 6 after a few listens,
    not bad, NOT amazing either.

refer to older albums for an argument. Nothing appeals like 'sleeping with ghosts' or 'special needs' or 'meds' etc [using new ones for a fair argument]

Downloaded it,will listen and see if it hits the peaks of the first 2 albums.

Report back after listening to it a few times- first impressions can be deceiving. Trust me, it's a cracker

Just a heads up to those who didnt get a ticket for the first night in the olympia....they've added a second date the night after.

Im going to both, ive waited 9 years for them to play the Olympia again and it may be another 9 before they do it again!

Also listening to some of thier recent live sets, i love the way they mix their own songs...this version of Meds is amazing...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FtqVZP5RwWY

Cant wait to hear the album in high quality.