Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

How would you raise the 4-6 Billion needed in 8 months

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭leitrim lad

one thingthat needs to be done away with is the tourist tax, we here in ireland have the finest in land waterways in the world, with the lakes ,canals ,rivers, and we need to exploit it in times like this, do away with the tourist tax and get the germans, french, uk,yankees,and ausiees.
    them people love our country side and they love to think that there great great great great great grand parents might have possibly come from here, and this tourist tax is stopping them coming in ,just like the visa is stopping people going to america.
    also the public sector must be reformed ,and i dont mean cutting out certain areas and joining up 2 services to make one all allrounder, get in and sack who ever is not pulling their weight ,on the spot no matter what title they hold,
    cut the government to 80 seats,
    drop vat rates, and offer special lifetime packages to big multinationals , on paye,corporation taxes, and so on.
    nationalise braodband to every pothole in the country, and open a sme fund in anglo irish bank, the state bank to support sme operations who really prop up the country
    as japan said if they had a national holiday like out st patricks day their economy would be the stringest in the world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,044 ✭✭✭Sqaull20

Cut wages of all goverment employees by 20% ( thats everyone, public sector, dole, other welfare payments, everything )

Drop diesel and petrol by 5c so companies and people can get to work.

Lower coperation tax.

Sort out every goverment department, the amount of managment/supervisors/sergeants and so on in every deparment doing nothing is beyond crazy, get them working for their money ie being doctors, guards on the street etc.

Sort out the ESB ( big problem ), deluded idiots gave themselves pay rises and companies are closing because they cant pay the feckin bill.Companies electricity bills are an absolute disgrace.

Raise Tax on all alcoholic drinks in supermarkets/off licenses, raise fags,

Leave tax rates and Vat alone.

Forget about the housing market for now, set new conditions on mortagages eg 20- 22% of mortgage payment upfront not 8% or whatever it is now, same with cars.

Bring back some kind of College fees for everyone.

Charge for Water, but not for businesses.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,568 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

one thingthat needs to be done away with is the tourist tax, we here in ireland have the finest in land waterways in the world, with the lakes ,canals ,rivers, and we need to exploit it in times like this, do away with the tourist tax and get the germans, french, uk,yankees,and ausiees.
    them people love our country side and they love to think that there great great great great great grand parents might have possibly come from here, and this tourist tax is stopping them coming in ,just like the visa is stopping people going to america.

What is this tourist tax that you speak of? AFAIK, non EU tourists get tax breaks in that they are exempt from VAT in certain places.
    cut the government to 80 seats,

Symbolically good, but wouldn't save a whole lot of money. For every politican, there is a host of civil servants, parliamentary aides, committes and quangoes who are costing the state a fortune. That's where you make the real deep cuts.

i agree they say houses have dropped and i quote 30%
    when infact i know where houses fully finished can be bought for 50k ,2 years ago they were 375k
    auctioneers,estate agents,and so on are liars and wonkors, bluffers
    the esb is a state owned company , and is board gais not also a state owned company who can sell the esbs power cheaper than the esb, yes i think that deserves a pay rise (sarcasm)
    1 in 5 public sector workers will tell you that they only go to work to kill time , so just simply kill their service ,that will give them more time to think about how they will waste tax payers money, and compare our social to the uks social ours is 4 times greater in the amount so that can be adjusted slightly,
    also i think revenue would generate the 8 billion alone if they focused on auditing every solicitor and barrister in the country ,because they mainly operate in undeclared cash, ar whatever rate per hour they feel like

im not sure of the exact cost to each tourist ,but every holidayer to the country has to pay a tax to enter the country, that is one of the reasons as to why ryanair are cutting jobs in dublin airport

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭Diarmuid

Dimitri wrote: »
    What about a person like me, if i was to pay an extra 10% in tax and saw an increase in fuel costs of any kind it simply would not be worth my while working, so i'd leave my job and cease to pay tax and instead decide to draw the dole,?
    You might change your mind if the dole was cut by 10+% though?

The typical Irish solution to an Irish problem is to simply allow more people into certain professions. The result of this is not that taxi fares go down (they haven't), just that there are more taxis about, struggling to get work. We need the government to press for lower taxi fares, not increase them.
    yea, open market deregulation to a closed cartel, that's a real Irish solution all right.

And you say the only impact is just that there is more taxis. That was the whole point, before the deregulation it would take 1-2hrs looking for a taxi to get home on a night out. Not any more. The fares are not especially high in Ireland in comparison to other European countries, but are regulated so maybe that's keeping them artificially high to what they could be in the current depressed market.

i am led to belive that we have more taxis than new york,which has 10 times our population, so that trade is a non runner,stop giving out licences,i know men who are taxiists the last 25 years and they are sick of going out for €3.50 a night and thats a good night,
    if the dole was cut by 10% it would drrive people either way,
    1. they could say f it and get their self esteem back and find a job thats better paying than the dole.
    or
    2.a cut in the dole could depress people even more with all the pressure theyc would be under, ie ,bills ,morgage,kids etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,007 ✭✭✭✭thebman

i am led to belive that we have more taxis than new york,which has 10 times our population, so that trade is a non runner,stop giving out licences,i know men who are taxiists the last 25 years and they are sick of going out for €3.50 a night and thats a good night,
    if the dole was cut by 10% it would drrive people either way,
    1. they could say f it and get their self esteem back and find a job thats better paying than the dole.
    or
    2.a cut in the dole could depress people even more with all the pressure theyc would be under, ie ,bills ,morgage,kids etc

I can't believe we have more than NY.

I have seen them queued past the length of the rank in Liffey Vally but I don't believe it is that many.

If they aren't making money then they'll get out of it. Why would you keep doing a job if you weren't making money from it?

That is the whole point of not limiting the number of plates. Supply and demand dictates it. I think an education program for the public that they can choose which taxi at the rank they get into would be the best policy so we could actually get people using the newer, cleaner taxis and the ones with Satnavs that might have a hope of reaching the persons destination (not a problem for me since I don't use taxis but if I did, I live in an easy to find place).

Comparing to the NY taxi situation is a bad idea. It's a very heavily regulated market and not something to model yourself on. NY has 13k taxis and 40k other cars for hire (53k total) in comparison to Dublin, which has 13244 total.

I feel sorry for someone who is struggling to make a living, but you have to understand that it's an extremely low skilled industry with minimal capital costs. Why would you expect it to be well paid? I don't see limits on the numbers of carpenters, brick layers, engineers, etc to prop up their income, why are taxi drivers different?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,609 ✭✭✭Flamed Diving

thebman wrote: »
    I can't believe we have more than NY.

I have seen them queued past the length of the rank in Liffey Vally but I don't believe it is that many.

If they aren't making money then they'll get out of it. Why would you keep doing a job if you weren't making money from it?

That is the whole point of not limiting the number of plates. Supply and demand dictates it. I think an education program for the public that they can choose which taxi at the rank they get into would be the best policy so we could actually get people using the newer, cleaner taxis and the ones with Satnavs that might have a hope of reaching the persons destination (not a problem for me since I don't use taxis but if I did, I live in an easy to find place).

http://www.metroeireann.com/article/rank-rumours-as-transport-minister,1684

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Transportation_in_New_York_City#Taxis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

I think an education program for the public that they can choose which taxi at the rank they get into would be the best policy so we could actually get people using the newer, cleaner taxis and the ones with Satnavs that might have a hope of reaching the persons destination (not a problem for me since I don't use taxis but if I did, I live in an easy to find place).

In Cork anyway it's the taxi drivers who enforce the queueing system rather than the public. You don't have a choice but to take the first car in the queue.

nesf wrote: »
    In Cork anyway it's the taxi drivers who enforce the queueing system rather than the public. You don't have a choice but to take the first car in the queue.

In Cork? You sure?

Yup, at most of the ranks, especially at the bus and train station. They'll tell you to go to the cab at the front of the rank if you get into a different one normally.

Ah yeah. But on Patricks Street, there appears to be no such system.

That doesn't make it seem like they are in trouble financially if they are asking people not to take fares with them.

Ah, come on.

It's a civilised (and fair) means of distributing the fares. What do you want them to be doing, fighting to the death?

Ah, come on.

It's a civilised (and fair) means of distributing the fares. What do you want them to be doing, fighting to the death?

How about letting the customer decide? You know, LIKE EVERY OTHER BUSINESS!

Ah, come on.

So the customer doesn't have the right to chose the best taxi at the rank if they wish?

That is fair on the customer isn't it? What if the car isn't in good condition and there is a better newer car at the rank?

What if there is an accident and they were ordered by the people in the rank not to get in the car with air bags and are seriously injured?

It would be just as civilised to let the customer get in the taxi they want to get into. There doesn't have to be any fight to the death, just the best taxi's get the fairs.

It's one of those systems that works so long as every taxi driver opts into it. Doesn't really bother me tbh.

i think i muddled up ,i was ment to say we have more taxis per head of population than new york,
    i also think a scrappage scheme would raise alot of capital for the government, but they would need to force the banks to give finance packages, on tradeins

Of all the proposals I have heard, I think the scrappage is by far and away the worst.

We use Irish tax payers money to encourage Irish people to either send their savings to German car manufacturers or even worse encourage people to borrow more money from German savers to send back to Germany to buy the cars. It's absolutely crazy, a total lose/lose scenario. The only thing the Irish economy gets is a small tax off the top (to be squandered like the rest of the tax take for the past 10 years), the rest is completely sent off shore

The CIF proposals to prop up the housing market are bad enough but at least the majority of the money would stay in the country (the houses are built here) unlike the scrappage scheme

Crazy

Yeah we need to invest in real economic industries. Taxi's business will go up with the economy as will most services.

We need to encourage industries such as IT and Pharamceuticals to locate here. Not just high tech stuff either which is why we have to make ourselves competitive again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,884 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

Its hard for anyone here to put down on a forum an economic solution that our leaders take months to attempt.

I have ideas myself but I dont know their costings or impacts, merely being a Joe citizen.

Above all else I believe that its down to the magement culture of our government. From the very top to the very bottom, that has to change for real value to be extracted from public finances.

I honestly dont believe its in them to make the tough decisions necessary.

I don't either and obviously people in this country aren't the only ones doubting them.

We don't just need to rework our finances now, we should really introduce a policy that if we have a budget surplus, a certain percentage is put aside for when we don't have budget surpluses and show that we actually have a plan for when things go south next time.

This thing of all or nothing is just bad policy IMO>

We need to encourage industries such as IT and Pharamceuticals to locate here. Not just high tech stuff either which is why we have to make ourselves competitive again.

How?

How?

Reducing wages and cost of living in the economy to make it attractive to invest here again.

We also need to give incentives to bring companies here and go hunting for them with the IDA.

Many IT companies haven't cut jobs or outsourced outside of the manufacturing ones. Hell the only jobs still being created are programming jobs.

The reason for this is it is abstract and can the product can be exported without extra costs down a broadband line so our location in Europe is not a disadvantage. Coupled with our fluent English and multi-cultural work force, we can attract businesses here to develop software here for Europe and do the localisation work here too.

Multi-language tech support too. Never has it been so important to get our act together getting our kids to learn another foreign language that is used in the EU such as German/French/Spanish.

Reducing wages and cost of living in the economy to make it attractive to invest here again.

We also need to give incentives to bring companies here and go hunting for them with the IDA.

Many IT companies haven't cut jobs or outsourced outside of the manufacturing ones. Hell the only jobs still being created are programming jobs.

The reason for this is it is abstract and can the product can be exported without extra costs down a broadband line so our location in Europe is not a disadvantage. Coupled with our fluent English and multi-cultural work force, we can attract businesses here to develop software here for Europe and do the localisation work here too.

Multi-language tech support too. Never has it been so important to get our act together getting our kids to learn another foreign language that is used in the EU such as German/French/Spanish.

Right. So we create a ton of low-paid IT jobs. Cool.

Then what?

Right. So we create a ton of low-paid IT jobs. Cool.

Then what?
    Well at least it's a step in the right direction. Makes a change from hearing about scrappage schemes, taxing texts and buying more houses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

We need high-paying IT jobs, not low-paying IT jobs.

Switching to low-paying "competitive" jobs is essentially a recession in itself, not a way out of it.