Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is this plain wrong?

• 23-03-2009 1:41am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭

Was parked outside a bar today when I saw this middle aged woman walking out of the pub with the staff following her to have a few words. Didnt think much of it but the head of the pub then came out went straight up to her and punched her into the face and she fell to the ground. She was walking around the street for a while a few mins after but she didnt look to be too bad.

Can she press charges against this man? I mean this cant be right a man punching a woman and she wasnt attacking him or whatever. I didnt know what she did in the pub to get thrown out. I was with a mate and he couldnt believe what just had happened. There was several witnesses there to back up her story

• Closed Accounts Posts: 861 ✭✭✭KeyLimePie

Whether it was a man or a woman is irregardless, that's pretty scummy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 458 ✭✭ohanloj3

Nobody has the right to hit anyone of course she can press charges. did nobody come to her aid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭Ardscoil Ris

Any man who puts his hand on a woman like that is a coward. I recently stepped into a situation similar. I saw a women in trouble being aggressively pushed to the floor and I went over and stopped it.

These men are sick people. Must feel real hard hitting a women.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭Tech3

ohanloj3 wrote: »
    Nobody has the right to hit anyone of course she can press charges. did nobody come to her aid?

No everyone just watched, she got up within a few seconds but I thought myself it really was a horrible thing to do regardless of whatever she did in the pub. She had a shopping bag in her hand dont know what she was up to be honest. She was hanging around the place then for another 10 mins outside the pub didnt look like she was drunk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

Granted there's no excuse for it but unless the owner is a sumbag she must have done something pretty awful inside to get that treatment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Report it to the nearest Garda station, and leave your details in case she wants to press charges.

Abigayle wrote: »
    Report it to the nearest Garda station, and leave your details in case she wants to press charges.

and say what? That an attack outside a pub belong to .... hit this woman. She mightnt be a local for all I know

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

tech2 wrote: »
    and say what? That an attack outside a pub belong to .... hit this woman. She mightnt be a local for all I know

Well, we dont know that.

Im not telling you what you should do. Im merely saying I would report what I saw, and advise that it was all I saw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Of course it's plain wrong. And a man hitting a woman is no worse than a woman hitting a man.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,555 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

did feminism accomplish nothing? maybe she did something to deserve it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭road_2_damascus

you have wittnessed an assault, its a crime. You could have made a citizen's arrest

did feminism accomplish nothing? maybe she did something to deserve it.

nobody deserves to be hit, if the owner had a problem with her he should have called the garda

you have wittnessed an assault, its a crime. You could have made a citizen's arrest

He was twice my size and my mate is smaller than me. The staff were surely not too happy either as they were there also when it happened

nobody deserves to be hit, if the owner had a problem with her he should have called the garda

thats a very valid point. It could have been a lot worse the man probably lost his temper but than is totally inexcusable behaviour.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,555 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

nobody deserves to be hit for no reason, but there are plenty of situations where it is justified to hit someone or where you shouldn't complain if someone hits you.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,811 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Can she press charges against this man?
    Yes and should, regardless of the circumstances.

nobody deserves to be hit for no reason, but there are plenty of situations where it is justified to hit someone or where you shouldn't complain if someone hits you.

Justified to hit someone???Never!its just makes everything worse, it doesn't solve anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭ferrigan101

Did you not ask her if she was ok!? What time of day was it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

She might have insulted Jade Goody or something..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭Duiske

Did you not ask her if she was ok!? What time of day was it?

Thats a lot of the problem in this country. People basically don't give a crap. They will act all shocked, but then make up excuses about why they did not intervene, or why they can't report it to the Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭Donkathon

Was parked outside a bar today when I saw this middle aged woman walking out of the pub with the staff following her to have a few words. Didnt think much of it but the head of the pub then came out went straight up to her and punched her into the face and she fell to the ground. She was walking around the street for a while a few mins after but she didnt look to be too bad.

Can she press charges against this man? I mean this cant be right a man punching a woman and she wasnt attacking him or whatever. I didnt know what she did in the pub to get thrown out. I was with a mate and he couldnt believe what just had happened. There was several witnesses there to back up her story
    honestly i cant stand any man that raises a hand to a woman i class them as the scum of scum

I'm not a big guy i'm only 5'5" but i am 15st and pretty fit and i have slapped a guy for this before

walkin by a pub and this guy just belted this woman a headbutt and looked to me like he smashed her nose in bits well i was about 4ft away at the time and slapped him to the ground without sayin a word and then she started slappen ME turns out the guy is her husband and there both piss heads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 696 ✭✭✭gogglebok

Donkathon wrote: »
    walkin by a pub and this guy just belted this woman a headbutt and looked to me like he smashed her nose in bits well i was about 4ft away at the time and slapped him to the ground without sayin a word and then she started slappen ME turns out the guy is her husband and there both piss heads

He shouldn't have hit her. You shouldn't have hit him. She shouldn't have hit you. You were all trying to solve a problem or express your opinions using violence, and you were all wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

You can't just walk around the country making citizen's arrests. Basically, in order to make one, the offense has to be serious enough that it would carry a 5 year or more prison sentence. You can also only make one you believe that the offender will avoid arrest by the Gardai.

You can't just walk up to someone who's just smacked another person and make a citizen's arrest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,063 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Dudess wrote: »
    Of course it's plain wrong. And a man hitting a woman is no worse than a woman hitting a man.

Granted no-one should hit another person but come on, a man hitting a woman is worse as generally speaking it can hurt alot more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Sleipnir wrote: »
    You can't just walk around the country making citizen's arrests. Basically, in order to make one, the offense has to be serious enough that it would carry a 5 year or more prison sentence. You can also only make one you believe that the offender will avoid arrest by the Gardai.

You can't just walk up to someone who's just smacked another person and make a citizen's arrest.

Unless you're (puts on booming voice) "The Citizen" /booming voice

Right???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,459 ✭✭✭twinytwo

Mate those days are long gone... Very few people would help some one out anymore they all just stand there gawking like idiots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,121 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

What pub was it? Name & Shame!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 677 ✭✭✭RaverRo808

If a man hits a woman,he is the lowest form of life and should be put down like a stray dog,but saying that any times have seen men hit women its usually and domestic situation and the women is as giving as much as the man,if thats the case dont get involved as can turn nasty on the good smaritan trying to help

Exactly what i was thinking!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

OP what was the pub. I don't think people would want to go into a pub where that kind of **** goes on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Need to know exactly what transpired before he hit her, to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

RaverRo808 wrote: »
    If a man hits a woman,he is the lowest form of life and should be put down like a stray dog,but saying that any times have seen men hit women its usually and domestic situation and the women is as giving as much as the man,if thats the case dont get involved as can turn nasty on the good smaritan trying to help

Lol, so you feel the appropriate punishment for assault and battery is execution? Let me remind you, the law does not differentiate between genders for the purposes of offences against the person.

In general, the problem with this story is that we don't know what happened inside the pub to result in the woman being hit. The benefit of this explanation might be that while you still not condone the woman getting hit a thump, you could go a long way to understanding why it happened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭Donny5

Sleipnir wrote: »

Assaut is an arrestable offence. You could call the Gardaí, inform the offender, and if he or she attempts to leave, place him under arrest yourself.

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1997/en/act/pub/0014/sec0004.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Jigsaw wrote: »
    Lol, so you feel the appropriate punishment for assault and battery is execution? Let me remind you, the law does not differentiate between genders for the purposes of offences against the person.

In general, the problem with this story is that we don't know what happened inside the pub to result in the woman being hit. The benefit of this explanation might be that while you still not condone the woman getting hit a thump, you could go a long way to understanding why it happened.

From the report though, the woman had left the pub and was no longer causing trouble. Surely the staff should only use force if this was not the case, regardless of what happened inside.

So yes it was plain wrong

stovelid wrote: »
    Need to know exactly what transpired before he hit her, to be honest.

Think i agree here tbh. Have managed pubs and restaurants for a few years and have never felt the need to hit anyone for anything they may have done. If the staff were involved she may have been trying to steal thier tips. He still shouldnt have hit her mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

Donny5 wrote: »
    Assaut is an arrestable offence. You could call the Gardaí, inform the offender, and if he or she attempts to leave, place him under arrest yourself.

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1997/en/act/pub/0014/sec0004.html
    "An arrest other than by a member of the Garda Síochána may only be effected by a person under subsection (1) or (2) where he or she, with reasonable cause, suspects that the person to be arrested by him or her would otherwise attempt to avoid, or is avoiding, arrest by a member of the Garda Síochána."

Proving "resonable cause" in the case of the OP's post (i.e. a punch) would be extremely difficult. Also, you simply calling the Gardai doesn't mean that the person who is to be arrested is attempting to avoid arrest by a Garda. That is too say, there's probably not a huge risk of the person going straight to the airport to avoid arrest by the Gardai.

If you don't do a citizen's arrest correctly, you run the risk of commiting a crime yourself in the process.

To arrest someone is to deprive that person of his liberty. Normally the term is used in the sense of law enforcement; to deprive someone of his liberty as part of a crime is more commonly called kidnapping. To arrest someone requires force or, at least, compulsion. If you're not very careful you could find yourself accused of false imprisonment, kidnapping and/or assault.

If someone gives someone else a punch, you don't try to make a Citizen's arrest, you call the Gardai!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 467 ✭✭Tupins

I really feel I have to respond to this.

In terms of showing disrespect, setting example for others and legally speaking then yes, a woman hitting a man is just as bad but in terms of physical implications then I could not disagree more.

I am female by the way and of course this will not be considered politically correct for me to say but in general there is the capacity for a HUGE difference between the physical strength of men and women. I don't always think that people realise just how big this difference normally is. Yes, there are some women who are big and strong, and good for them but generally speaking men outweigh women in size and physical strength. This is a fact no matter how much we would like it not to be and I will speak in terms of this generalisation here as I feel it is the norm rather than the exception.

A woman hitting a man with all her strength will in no way have as much impact as a man hitting a woman with the full force of his strength. Also, a man could much more easily stop the blows by physically restraining the woman and therefore defend himself. A woman would not have the equal physical strength to overpower or restrain a man or have as much capacity to stop a blow/s.

I'm sure we've all had innocent situations of horse play with partners of the opposite sex (or possibly less innocent situations) so we're all aware of this difference in strength. Perhaps my husband is unusually strong, or maybe I am unusually weak but personally speaking I know I wouldn't have a hope against him physically. (Luckily I know he would never hit me so I don't even worry about that.)

Having said all this, I do not agree for one moment with a woman hitting a man - or anyone hitting anyone else for that matter (unless in self defence). It is assault in either case and both cases are wrong but to say that a woman hitting a man is no worse than a man hitting a woman, I disagree. The possible implications of the latter are just blatantly greater.

PS. sorry for going a bit off topic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭consultech

OP may have been too young for battle to do this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭Alcatel

"Citizens Arrest". Probably mentioned more by keyboard warriors than any other race. Yet, there doesn't seem to be an epidemic of citizens arrests actually happening. If you just watched someone (man or woman) thump someone else (man or woman), would you wander over and say "I am placing you under citizens arrest!"

That aside, to the OP, anyone hitting anyone is plain wrong, unless it's in self defence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭consultech

Alcatel wrote: »
    "Citizens Arrest". Probably mentioned more by keyboard warriors than any other race.

I've always lulled at the concept myself tbh. I can only imagine what my reaction would be if someone ever took me by the arm and uttered the magical words! Lulle at "race" also.

The vigilante in me has always favoured a swift karmaic 1-2 in situations where I feel a weaker party is being unfairly wailed on. Fortunately for said party I have no such hangups about assault.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Lovely, just lovely!!

Here we have a supposed educated person witnessing an serious assault,and instead of reporting what they saw to the Guards,starts a thread on AH.

Is it any wonder we are in the state we are in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Dampsquid

Pictures or it didn't happen

Lovely, just lovely!!

Here we have a supposed educated person witnessing an serious assault,and instead of reporting what they saw to the Guards,starts a thread on AH.

Is it any wonder we are in the state we are in?

She was outside the pub standing around for about 10 minutes after the incident. If she wanted to press charges and asked me to be a witness of a crime then gladly I would have helped. Where in my post did I mention what to do if it happened. I was simply asking was it wrong nothing else.

I dont think it would be a good idea to post the name of the pub in a public forum.

Dampsquid wrote: »
    Pictures or it didn't happen

Yes and I would have a camera in my back pocket ready to take a photo. He was literally out and back in again in a few seconds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭dollybird09

I know a woman shouldn't hit a man either, but there is something worse about a man hitting a woman, it's very unlikely that a woman will be able to match the strength of a man and defend herself...

I don't condone violence of any kind, but there is a perception out there that it is less acceptable for a man to raise his hand to a lady....IMO anyway..

She was outside the pub standing around for about 10 minutes after the incident. If she wanted to press charges and asked me to be a witness of a crime then gladly I would have helped. Where in my post did I mention what to do if it happened. I was simply asking was it wrong nothing else.

I dont think it would be a good idea to post the name of the pub in a public forum.

Ahh go on, at least what street its on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,739 ✭✭✭Naos

Yes and I would have a camera in my back pocket ready to take a photo. He was literally out and back in again in a few seconds.

What mobile phone do you have?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭Fat_Fingers

Well, at least then send us a picture of yourself ( in underwear)

Naos wrote: »
    What mobile phone do you have?

sagem my411x with a very poor lens on it. Wouldnt have caught the the punch too far away from it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Smart Bug

sagem my411x with a very poor lens on it. Wouldnt have caught the the punch too far away from it

Should have asked him to hit her again so ye could take a close-up.