Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Respect mah authoritay

• 15-03-2009 9:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭

I have always been attracted to men in authority, men who have power. I assumed that this was completely normal until I mentioned it to some people (women) who were appalled about how I was perpetuating stereotypes and blah blah.

Now, I can be very strong minded and I don't take much crap but I like men who are 'in charge' and particularly if they have some kind of (direct or indirect) power over me.

That kinda includes uniforms, but not the look of the uniform itself, just what it represents. Yes, I even flirt with guards.

So.. am I alone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

If that is what you are into or attracted to then what the harm, it's good that you know
    what you like and why you like it and if you choose to persue those types of men then cool. Anyone who spouts tripe about it being a bad thing then they are restricting your
    choices which is imho wrong.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Firemen and army men ftw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

I doubt your alone

I think most of these things stem from childhood for various different reasons

like if one's da was a bit of a fag and your best buddy's da was a mans man etc etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭Lolabugs

mmmm...... builders :D

Lolabugs wrote: »
    mmmm...... builders :D

eh?

what authority do they have?

they don't have the power to pull up their jeans ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭Lolabugs

ntlbell wrote: »
    eh?

still would though :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Peared

I doubt your alone

I think most of these things stem from childhood for various different reasons

like if one's da was a bit of a fag and your best buddy's da was a mans man etc etc...

Aw poor ntlbell. All those years of frustration.

You're legal now, just tell him how you feel!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

eh?

:D LOL

Peared wrote: »
    Aw poor ntlbell. All those years of frustration.

You're legal now, just tell him how you feel!

I enjoyed it :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Lola123

I think most women like the idea of being with a guy who's "powerful" cos u want to be with a guy who can potentially protect u. I'm perfectly capable of looking after myself, but still, there's something about knowing a guy can look after you that's appealing!
    Does anyone like women in authorative jobs though? Or do men get intimidated by it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,945 ✭✭✭cuckoo

That kinda includes uniforms, but not the look of the uniform itself, just what it represents. Yes, I even flirt with guards.

So.. am I alone?

Guilty.

Maybe i should hand myself in to the local garda station....:P

I was recounting once to the then boyfriend (who was an authoritive wearer of a uniform) about how a random guy had been given me a lot of grief on the bus that day. Boyfriend went all quiet, and with a determined set to his jaw announced "i wish i had been there".

After my 'why?' he continued - "i'd ask him to pick a window".

Mega confusion from me, so he clarified "that would be the window i'd be throwing him through".

I was a confused cuckoo - part of my brain was thinking 'violence doesn't solve anything, boyf could have got hurt/arrested...anyway...those windows don't break easily' but another part of my brain was 'swoooooon, i feel protected'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 TomMorgan

Lola123 wrote: »
    ...Does anyone like women in authorative jobs though? Or do men get intimidated by it?

It obviously depends on the woman, but IME women in authoritative jobs can be a bit bintish. I dunno if the jobs make tham that way or it's the other way around or what. take women Gards for example- most of them act like they're on complete power trips all the time. i think maybe its that most women feel inferior deep down so they over-compensate by trying to act superior

cuckoo wrote: »
    Guilty.

I was recounting once to the then boyfriend (who was an authoritive wearer of a uniform) about how a random guy had been given me a lot of grief on the bus that day. Boyfriend went all quiet, and with a determined set to his jaw announced "i wish i had been there".

Mega confusion from me, so he clarified "that would be the window i'd be throwing him through".

I was a confused cuckoo - part of my brain was thinking 'violence doesn't solve anything, boyf could have got hurt/arrested...anyway...those windows don't break easily' but another part of my brain was 'swoooooon, i feel protected'.

Ooh, I likes.
    TomMorgan wrote: »
    It obviously depends on the woman, but IME women in authoritative jobs can be a bit bintish. I dunno if the jobs make tham that way or it's the other way around or what. take women Gards for example- most of them act like they're on complete power trips all the time. i think maybe its that most women feel inferior deep down so they over-compensate by trying to act superior

Yes, that must be it! Mystery solved :rolleyes:

In general though, I dunno if it is the protected thing cos I am talking about pure attraction and a short term ahem.. 'encounter'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

Guilty.

Lets say for example that he started mouthing off at any guy looking at you or god forbid hitting someone for a very stupid "macho" reason in front of you more than once, would the idea of "protector" still appeal to you ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

As someone who has a pathological disregard for any kid of authority, reading this thread has made me very glad I'm not a woman! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Having some kind of "power" is normally seen as an indicator of ability....it's not always hand in hand. I know Gardai who can't tie their laces without being told to, i know a few high end managerial types on a Director level that i wouldn't trust with a sticklebrick.

It's basically just another indicator of what you like, then you sift through the actualities of the person and decide if you really like them, moving past the "power" thing.

As for "power" itself, the comes in all different shapes and sizes. I know one or two people who will never be in the public eye and you would pass in the street that have the power to change more lives around the world than the vast majority of poeple who will ever exist. The particular type of power they wield would not float your boat though.

Think "bling" power and actual power, the two are very different.

At the end of the day,you don't need to apologise for liking what you like, you just need to like it and act as you feel is right for you.

tallaght01 wrote: »
    As someone who has a pathological disregard for any kid of authority, reading this thread has made me very glad I'm not a woman! :P

Not all women find that attractive there are some who also have a pathological disregard for any kind of authority and there are men who are attracted to a woman 'in power'

TomMorgan wrote: »

Ever stop to think that they have to be that way or have gotten that way
    cos people think they are bintish and do not automatically show them the respect for their position that they would get if they were doing the same job and male ?
    Dragan wrote: »
    Think "bling" power and actual power, the two are very different.

Very much so it is the perception of power and the fantasy rather then
    the reality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I don't know about power/authority, but I do like a man who's confident, assertive, doesn't take sh1t and rather alpha male-ish I suppose.

The protector thing does appeal to me all right - to a point. I'm obviously not into jealous/possessive types.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 634 ✭✭✭nomorebadtown

Guilty.

...recounting once to the then boyfriend (who was an authoritive wearer of a uniform) about how a random guy had been given me a lot of grief on the bus that day. Boyfriend went all quiet, and with a determined set to his jaw announced "i wish i had been there".

LOL, thats tragic. he would have done nothing of the sort. an idiotic juvenile comment by him.
    Would you have felt protected when he went to prison for throwing someone through a window?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭Elle Victorine

I don't like passive men in general...what's the point like? That said I can't imagine a uniform doing it for me unless my fella was in one...then...defo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭allabouteve

So.. am I alone?

I've been pulled over for speeding, and talked to sternly by a uniformed cop. I was hair-fluffingly, giggling, lip-lickingly daft. Totally girly time.

I love a uniform.

I was in a friends house in Ireland when the chimney went on fire. I practically left skid marks on the floor on the way to the phone to call the fire brigade.

Sailors...ohgodohgodohgod.

Barristers in wigs...for some reason, yes.

Traffic wardens...maybe not. Postmen might be in with a chance.

Peared: I've a martial arts uniform, if you're interested like.

allabouteve take yer filth out of the forum and bring it to my page where I can fantasize mull it over.

That sounds like an order...

/faints

Pyr0 wrote: »
    Lets say for example that he started mouthing off at any guy looking at you or god forbid hitting someone for a very stupid "macho" reason in front of you more than once, would the idea of "protector" still appeal to you ?

Ah, no - there was never any chance of him acting like that kind of an eejit. If i wanted that kind of guy i'd be checking out the tracksuits and aggro brigade that hang around the local tesco here...

The whole uniform thing feeds into the fantasy as it creates an aura of control and discipline. That ex of mine didn't go around starting fights, or feeling he needed to prove his macho credentials. It's about knowing the capability is there. For instance, a guy randomly kicking down doors is odd and violent behavoiur....but...a fireman kicking down the door of a burning house is hot (in all senses of the word).

Sometimes i do just want a little sprinkle of macho male around me - there is a part of me that instinctively responds to "me caveman protect my woman" sentiments. Sure, i could have come home and after i'd finished telling the boyfriend about how upset i felt at being threatened on the bus he could have pulled out a flipchart and markers, we could have workshopped through my feelings and maybe finished up with some breathing exercises.....but....for me it was more satisfying to hear him express the desire to physically protect me, and to feel safe in a lovely hug from him.

To swing a little away from all the psycho babbling - what do you think are the best films/tv for some Men In Uniform eye candy? I have a fondness for 'a few good men', and happy memories of watching firemen on 'london's burning' in my formative teenage years. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭Polleta

I've never been directly attracted to power but I love a guy to have ambition... Is that the same thing? I havent worked directly with the last few guys at all so it hasn't been a case of I've seen them in action and gone Phwaor.

I am a manager though and I have noticed that some guys are intimidated by that... My ex thought it was a turn on though. He always fancied working for me.

Uniforms do nothing at all for me.. I'm more like to fancy a beautiful boy in jeans and t-shirt.. down to earth and at ease... maybe I'm weird!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭LivingDeadGirl

I wouldn't say authority, but I find success very attractive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

So, Bonnie Tyler was right, after all. Who'd have thought it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 Abstar

Dudess wrote: »
    I don't know about power/authority, but I do like a man who's confident, assertive, doesn't take sh1t and rather alpha male-ish I suppose.

The protector thing does appeal to me all right - to a point. I'm obviously not into jealous/possessive types.

Yup - that sums it up for me too.

That said though, I'd also be in awe of any woman who's confident, assertive and doesn't take sh1t.

Confidence and authoritiveness (note to grammar police - this might not be a real word) is just attractive.

I don't think I got my point across very well.

Let's just say I'd want to be in the gansters moll category rather than the, I dunno, Richard Gere in a uniform category.

Power and authority..but with an edge, bitta danger too.

Maybe he could look like Chabal too.

Yeah.

/gets carried away

Let's just say I'd want to be in the gansters moll category rather than the, I dunno, Richard Gere in a uniform category.

Yeah.

/gets carried away

Somehow once the trigger word 'uniform' appeared a lot of us found this thread leading us to our fireman/sailor/soldier happy place of fantasy.... :P

*looks suspiciously at peared* Are you stalking round after Paul McWilliams, badgering him to set you up with a Dublin crimelord?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭GirlInterrupted

Yeah.

/gets carried away

Not so much an authority thing, as a domination thing, I think there.
    I've no problem telling people what to do you know.;)

Personally, the only thing I'm really afraid of is thunder/lightening/stormy/very windy weather, and no uniform can offer protection from that.

Looking like Chabal is always a bonus though.

God no cuckoo, Dublin gangsters don't have the glamour quotient I'd be after!

Girl Interrupted, I can bring you to places where you'd be unaware of electric storms right over your head, just say the word (and don't tell eve)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭GirlInterrupted

God no cuckoo, Dublin gangsters don't have the glamour quotient I'd be after!

Girl Interrupted, I can bring you to places where you'd be unaware of electric storms right over your head, just say the word (and don't tell eve)

You're on.

I'll see if I can pick up a couple of gangsters on the way, hairy ones.

I'm on to you.:(
    You're on.

I'll see if I can pick up a couple of gangsters on the way, hairy ones.

And you too.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Yeah.

/gets carried away

Oh you haven't seen my hair/beard lately have you? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

Barristers in wigs...for some reason, yes.

I was well aware of the love many people have of uniforms but never knew anyone was into barristers.

I was well aware of the love
    many people have of uniforms but never knew anyone was into barristers.

''Allabouteve, were you, on the night of the tenth, in the company of the deceased?''

''No, I'm innocent''

''I suggest you aren't as innocent as you look, and deserve whatever punishment I can convince the jury to give you..''

Its unlikely, but lets face it, so's Richard Gere in a sailor outfit.
    Also, tool belts. Oh yes, tool belts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

I assumed that this was completely normal until I mentioned it to some people (women) who were appalled about how I was perpetuating stereotypes and blah blah.

Oh, the ironing!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

I just saw. You've a ways to go yet, sunnyjim.

Mine eyes! Mine eeeyes! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

I just saw. You've a ways to go yet, sunnyjim.

Its true. But I'm way ahead of most guys my age. Especially considering the amount of guys I know 5-10 years my senior who can't grow a beard like this....
    Moonbaby wrote: »
    Mine eyes! Mine eeeyes! ;)

Harsh. :'(

K-9 wrote: »
    Oh, the ironing!

lolsers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

lolsers

LOL, Think it is quiet common for a woman to have Police/Garda uniform fantasies! Mam/Miss!, Fireman, doctor etc.

Is it something to be ashamed of: Definitely not?

It amazes me what some women will openly admit to doing, but fantasies like this are taboo!

Suppose it would be boring if women were that easy to understand!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,883 ✭✭✭shellyboo

Hot Garda in the shop this morning. Drool. He looked a bit overheated in his fleece and vesty yoke, though. Was considering offering to strip him... then remembered I have a bf.

Boo.

So, yeah, authority figures. Yes please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

The one thing i have learned from being in a variety of positions of authority over the years is you steer well clear of the girls of are interested in you because of it.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭LouOB

Personally I think confidence in a man is way more sexy than their 'position'.

Garda and men in positions of power kinda annoy me - just because they hold that position is no reason for them to excert their dominance or intimadate you.
    Uniforms = power trips

But men in suits do it for me
    A well cut suit and crisp shirt and tie - namesh Bond, Jamesh Bond

The one thing i have learned from being in a variety of positions of authority over the years is you steer well clear of the girls of are interested in you because of it.:)

But...but...if wanting you because you're a boards.ie mod is wrong i don't want to be right...:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

This thread makes me happy :p

I agree though, it's really a turn off if a girl is literally only taking an interest because of your job.

Is it any worse than taking an interest in a girl just because of her body though?

Like, for a one nighter?

Attraction is because of something and it's rarely personality, at least initially or if it's just a fling.

I think both genders can be shallow when it comes to such things.