Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is the worst feeling you've ever encountered?

• 12-03-2009 2:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭

Was thinking about this after remembering getting a blow to the nuts a few years ago. I was crumpled on the ground for about 5 minutes with my whole mind going f*cking crazy and trying not to vomit. It was bad but I doubt I've experienced the worst feeling in the world. So what is it? Is it a panic attack? Is it being let down by someone you love? Is it unrelenting guilt? Is it something physical like drug withdrawal or severe nerve problems? What's the worst feeling you've ever encountered?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Kold wrote: »
    Is it being let down by someone you love?

Or letting down someone you love. :(

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Your thing, but with a blender. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

I encountered Depression in the pub once.
    He wasn't much fun to be out drinking with tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭jim o doom

being told they were switching off my mam's life support I think defo tops the list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Zadkiel

Watching someone you love dying and in pain. You feel hopeless and helpless and despairing, theres nothing you can do. Words fail, its fukcin awful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Smart Bug

Walking down 5th Avenue in NYC when I was suddenly struck with a severe case of the squits. There seemed to be nowhere to go to relieve myself. Had to get a taxi back to the gaff (on 81st Street!) in rush hour traffic, pasty faced and sweating. Releasing pressure farts every two minutes, hoping that the structural integrity of my bowels would remain intact.

The pain and sheer wide-eyed panic will stay with me forever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Disappointment was a peaty disappointing feeling, I didn't like it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

Being told you can take over the head chef's job because we fired him last night in a 300+ cover's a day.....

felt good..

not....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭pierrot

Gerroff me ya big feeler!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,375 ✭✭✭Homer

OOh there's a few.. But I think seeing Goatse for the first time? Felt physically ill :eek:

/Warning DO NOT google it...you have been warned. Especially if you are in work/

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 3,072 Mod ✭✭✭✭OpenYourEyes

Brain freeze!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Gloom

Being the amazing superhero I was when I was 10~, my arch enemy Gravityna interrupted and I fell off a wall about 10 feet high.

Whichever way I landed, I was winded and in so much pain. I was struggling for breath. It felt weird.

And, more serious, recognition of losing a family member.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

I was playing a challenge game in Terryland Park in Galway years ago on a freezing cold night. I intercepted a shot on goal with my todger. I nearly passed out with the pain, when i got up off the ground i had to be pointed towards the line because i didnt know where i was. My poor extremeties were freezing cold which magnified the pain fcuking ten fold!

Me langer was black and blue after it. :eek:

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

Waking up during a medical procedure, sweet jesus the pain!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Ripping my banjo string!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

This could get touchy. For some, it's a bad attack of the squirts; for others, it's their child dying. Kold, maybe you should specify the type of worst feeling? Just putting it out there...
    Homer wrote: »
    OOh there's a few.. But I think seeing Goatse for the first time? Felt physically ill :eek:

/Warning DO NOT google it...you have been warned. Especially if you are in work/
    Can't... stop... self... googling. :(

Dudess wrote: »
    Can't... stop... self... googling. :(

Dont do it, dont do it!!!!

/clicks link

*aaaaaaaaagggghhhhhhhhhhhh*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

It was hearing Ireland was in a really bad recession, then I realised that I didn't give a sh!t and then the feeling of depression soon went. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭Scorpio Girl

thinking you were helping someone out by answering a question they asked you and the next day getting loads of phone calls telling you you're the biggest bitch in the world for being honest.

• Moderators Posts: 51,922 ✭✭✭✭Delirium

Getting a tube removed from my neck. It was there to drain blood from my neck and was stitched into place in my neck. Nearly passed out twice while the nurse was playing around in the wound.

If you can read this, you're too close!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

realising i had to return to recession ridden Ireland beause I had drank all my canadian dollars away... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭pierrot

koth wrote: »
    Getting a tube removed from my neck. It was there to drain blood from my neck and was stitched into place in my neck. Nearly passed out twice while the nurse was playing around in the wound.

Nearly passed out reading that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Smart Bug wrote: »
    Walking down 5th Avenue in NYC when I was suddenly struck with a severe case of the squits. There seemed to be nowhere to go to relieve myself. Had to get a taxi back to the gaff (on 81st Street!) in rush hour traffic, pasty faced and sweating. Releasing pressure farts every two minutes, hoping that the structural integrity of my bowels would remain intact.

The pain and sheer wide-eyed panic will stay with me forever.

Actually yeah, I've been there, just out drinking having a laugh when all of a sudden -DIARRHOEA- and there's nowhere good to go. It's pretty awful, stomach cramps, sweating profusely, the intense social instinct to NOT SH*T YOUR PANTS.

Kinda like this 1232942362174.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,032 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

One of the worst physical pains has to be after an operation when I was in Senior Infants. I had a cast around my groin area and 3 days after the Op I got one of the worst pains I've experienced. I was told it was because I needed to pee but couldn't, not quite sure if that adds up. Don't remember how it felt now but it was bloody awful.
    Panic attack? Yes it's pretty bad. Had one in New York 7 years ago, bad timing.
    Emotional pain - that first proper break up. That pain lasted an age, still stings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

When I see these type thread titles I have to either ( try) reply with a witty remark or pause and think , because I have expierenced so many ups and downs in my life, both physical and emotional , were the feelings become so confused ,your not really sure what your feeling ......except numbness .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭MoveOn

Having my heart broken, not just broken, SHATTERED, ripped out, my emotions scattered all over the ground for dogs to p1ss on and drunks to puke on, my heart feeling torn from my chest while still beating to be used as a football, kicking my feelings around for the cruel cruel laughter of whoever was dumping me.

And not just once but twice, by two different women. But I'm over it now. Now I'm just an icicle, an island, emotionally unavailable, refusing to allow myself to be sucked into any kind of intimate interaction, trapped like that again, bleakly remaining alone until the end of my days so nobody can ever hurt me again!!! Ha haaaa, no more suffering for ME!

*Hums to self while rocking on seat*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

First time I saw my ex with another fella.Not exactly massive now but fcuk it nearly killed me at the time.And I also think it played a part in my current downward spiral into insanity cause I was a bit more normal before that. NOW IM THE HAIRY PINEAPPLE!!!!!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,375 ✭✭✭Homer

MoveOn wrote: »
    Having my heart broken, not just broken, SHATTERED, ripped out, my emotions scattered all over the ground for dogs to p1ss on and drunks to puke on, my heart feeling torn from my chest while still beating to be used as a football, kicking my feelings around for the cruel cruel laughter of whoever was dumping me.

Man thats some tough luck there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Zangetsu

I sat on lefty last night :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Time to move on perhaps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭starflake

Having an infected lower mandible with bits of it falling out of my gum into my mouth... I wanted to die!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 654 ✭✭✭sillyputty

I hate the pit of your stomach you know something is wrong feeling but you can't put your finger on it - last happened at christmas when the boss called me in handed my notice - longest walk of my life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Sherifu wrote: »
    Ah bugger ,now that's what you called being **** on :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭LouOB

Emotional pain is meant to be in the same area of the brain as physcial pain - hence emotional pain 'hurts'

I have a pretty good threshold for pain - got traintracks twice (waking up during my wisdom teeth being extracted in Dental Hospital. Not messing but literally seen the doctor putting his leg on the operating table and 'wriggling' the plyers about. Because the plyers were in my mouth)

But worst was back pain.
    I have had some big accidents (i.e. people crashing their cars into mine) and the last one was the worst. I couldnt even dry my hair as I was crying with the pain. Its the type of pain that doesnt ebb, just stays there with every breath you take. The only way for it to go away was to take major drugs (pescribed that is). This really didnt make the pain go away, just more bareable but brought vomiting, nausea, lack of cordination (ie felt like i was drunk) etc. So there I was vomiting with lack of cordination and still in pain, with wet hair
    *very sexy...
    (sorry forgot to mention - this was day before exams)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

And not just once but twice, by two different women. But I'm over it now. Now I'm just an icicle, an island, emotionally unavailable, refusing to allow myself to be sucked into any kind of intimate interaction, trapped like that again, bleakly remaining alone until the end of my days so nobody can ever hurt me again!!! Ha haaaa, no more suffering for ME!

Chin up, old chap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭Wurly

I was playing a challenge game in Terryland Park in Galway years ago on a freezing cold night. I intercepted a shot on goal with my todger. I nearly passed out with the pain, when i got up off the ground i had to be pointed towards the line because i didnt know where i was. My poor extremeties were freezing cold which magnified the pain fcuking ten fold!

Me langer was black and blue after it. :eek:

That story makes me sad.. Look > :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

starflake wrote: »
    Having an infected lower mandible with bits of it falling out of my gum into my mouth... I wanted to die!!

:eek::eek:Jesus that sounds like the nightmare i always have of all my teeth crumbling in my mouth!

/queasy now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Loss/grief for a friend that died.

Trí wrote: »
    That story makes me sad.. Look > :(

Dont worry, it made a full recovery and is living a happy, fulfilling life.

You could say that story had a 'happy ending.':D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

Unexpected anal sex.

Worst. Pain. Ever.

Trust me.

(Seriously lads, none of us girls actually buy the "wrong hole" story, and if you try to just slip it in nonchalantly, we WILL notice because we will be in an absolute world of pain, so ask first for the love of god!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Earthhorse wrote: »
    Or letting down someone you love. :(

Ah sure you can always pump her back up again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

liah wrote: »
    Unexpected anal sex.

Worst. Pain. Ever.

Trust me.

(Seriously lads, none of us girls actually buy the "wrong hole" story, and if you try to just slip it in nonchalantly, we WILL notice because we will be in an absolute world of pain, so ask first for the love of god!)

Giggidy Giggidy !

Heh..Oh riiiight.

Unexpected anal sex.

Worst. Pain. Ever.

Trust me.

We dont all do it on purpose :(.Alcohol can cause very bad aim

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

We dont all do it on purpose :(.Alcohol can cause very bad aim

Excuses...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭Blue-Eyed

I suppose being in love with someone you know you can't have must be pretty bad *Nod*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Unexpected anal sex.

Worst. Pain. Ever.

Trust me.

Am I the only one who thinks it's a bit disturbing that some guys would do that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,021 ✭✭✭LadyE

Am I the only one who thinks it's a bit disturbing that some guys would do that?

No - me too. But plenty of guys do. Or Ive heard, try to get the girl drunk enough so that they wouldnt protest. Sick fookers.

Excuses...
    Fine. With you it wont be an accident:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

Worst physical pain has happened during sports..

When I was in 6th class we took our school yard soccer very serious. I was on the goal line valently defending the opposition and I proded the ball away for the striker as he was lining up a belter from 3 yards out...of course his foot followed through and hit me square on the top of the big toe...I hit the ground like a sack of potatoes and curled up in agony for 10 mins...the toe nail rotted and fell off and was never the same again. that was 18 years ago and I have had 3 operations on the same toe to try and fix it (some procedures have included...stitches and acid..) nearly passed out during one because of the pain..

The nerves in the toe are so damaged the injections to numb the toe dont work fully and I can actually feel the slicing and cutting buring...:(:(..I lie there bitting on my arm...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Zadkiel

Gotta agree there