Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General Thread

Options

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 nurseskeff

hi there just reading a few of the posts on here.im a nurse for 13 years but would love to apply for the guards.its been on my mind for a while now.just wondering about the new criteria expected to be brought in for the next recruitment drive ie:first aid course etc.im wondering would i be expected to do a first aid course or can they make exemptions

• Registered Users Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

nurseskeff wrote: »
    hi there just reading a few of the posts on here.im a nurse for 13 years but would love to apply for the guards.its been on my mind for a while now.just wondering about the new criteria expected to be brought in for the next recruitment drive ie:first aid course etc.im wondering would i be expected to do a first aid course or can they make exemptions

I would expect you have no PHECC accreditation. Most CPR courses in hospital are BLS healthcare provider......so on this I would try to have a PHECC accredited course done if possible.

• Registered Users Posts: 130 ✭✭clayton1

there is NO new criteria, as HRM confirmed to me themselves. And don't let people tell you otherwise

this sounds a bit over the top .i have my acls course done .i want to be a guard not to do more healthcare stuff.and i dont want to be a paramedic.i actually think im more than qualified to provide first aid or even prehospital care.thanks for the advice though.it will be interesting to see what they introduce.