Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Taking Drinks People Left Behind

• 25-02-2009 4:45am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

The thread on what you order at the bar had me thinking.

I was out at Christmas with a few friends and one of them has developed a habit of drinking the drinks that strangers have left behind. This guy is about 26, works full time and all that. Probably not exactly flush or anything but not broke either.

One of the other lads with us was disgusted at this, I didnt really pay any attention until our bathroom cycles almost synched and as I walked in he was just walking out and picked up a glass from the top of the urinal trough stand ... thing.

I was wondering if there were many out there who had this waste not want not attitude ? Does it seem like a normal practice to you, disgust you ? Have friends who do this ?

Note - I'm talking about taking the remnants of a persons drink after they leave (half full glass or something), not swiping their full drink while they're not looking.

EDIT - Just noticed i made the results hidden, Could a mod please change that to unhidden if they have a sec ?

Have you ever taken a strangers drink when they were done with it ? 211 votes

Yes I do This, Don't See a Problem With it
    0% 0 votes
    Yes I Have Friends Who This, Don't See a Problem With it
    5% 12 votes
    Have done this in the past when I was broke
    4% 9 votes
    Would never do this
    22% 47 votes
    Oh my god thats disgusting
    36% 78 votes
    Drinktari Take-uar
    30% 65 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

"Have done this in the past." Not necessarily broke, just drunk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭One Cold Hand

I certainly wouldn't do it. Do starters a bit of a pint that's sitting around will be warm and/or flat. Uugh.

It's like picking up a half eaten burger from Burger King.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

I certainly wouldn't do it. Do starters a bit of a pint that's sitting around will be warm and/or flat. Uugh.

It's like picking up a half eaten burger from Burger King.

I should have mentioned it was glasses of spirits/mixes he was going for specifically (if that makes any difference).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

1 each :D

c - 13 wrote: »
    I should have mentioned it was glasses of spirits/mixes he was going for specifically (if that makes any difference).

Oh. right. I still wouldn't do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭pipeliner

thats a very dangerous thing to do. Does he realise that there is a massive chance if could pick up a non-alcoholic beverage? God forbid, but dont say i didnt warn you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

pipeliner wrote: »
    thats a very dangerous thing to do. Does he realise that there is a massive chance if could pick up a non-alcoholic beverage? God forbid, but dont say i didnt warn you

I always take drinks left behind, who knows what kinda drugs ya might be lucky enough to get for free :)

amacachi wrote: »
    I always take drinks left behind, who knows what kinda drugs ya might be lucky enough to get for free :)

Rohypnol?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭pipeliner

amacachi wrote: »
    You might get a free shag as well. You may not know anything about it the next morning, or from the angle that u are used to, but they all count :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

I have done this when i was younger and a lot foolish, but I would stake out the drink before making a move! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭Mmmm_Lemony

Note - I'm talking about taking the remnants of a persons drink after they leave (half full glass or something), not swiping their full drink while they're not looking.

I have done this when i was younger and a lot foolish, but I would stake out the drink before making a move! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

leave a full untouched drink down for more then 30 seconds in most places and its gone. or spiked... or both... :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 991 ✭✭✭Big_Mac

Why are the poll results hidden?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

At a house party many moons ago when extremely drunk I may have finished a few glasses that may or may not have been mine.
    Hey, I was drunk :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Once upon a time, I left a bottle of drink on a table, and it was drank when I came back. Next bottle I got, drank two thirds of it, brought it into the bathroom, pee'd into it to bring it back up near the top, and left it in the same place as the last one. Walked around the nightclub, came back, and it was still there, abeilt only a quater full :eek:

Moral of the story: either my piss is nice, or someone was VERY thirsty :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

I know of at least two people who, when leaving some of their drink behind them on a night out, will do a great big nasty mucus based hogger right into the thing, for just such people.

Nice eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

I wont drink from a bottle after someone I know - never mind some random skally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Otherwise known as mine sweeping .It's different if somebody asks you to finish their drink for them before leaving but otherwise yes , it is disgusting .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭here.from.day.1

Nah seems fairly scummy tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

EDIT - Just noticed i made the results hidden, Could a mod please change that to unhidden if they have a sec ?
    Fixed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

And people wonder how they get spiked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭Princessa

I would never ever ever ever ever do it ever!!!! Mammy has beaten it into ne that you never ever drink your drink if you take your eyes off it, let alone drink a drink that belongs to god knows who. Yock, they could have a big cold sore on their lips! :eek:

Princessa wrote: »
    I would never ever ever ever ever do it ever!!!! Mammy has beaten it into ne that you never ever drink your drink if you take your eyes off it, let alone drink a drink that belongs to god knows who. Yock, they could have a big cold sore on their lips! :eek:

Or they could be using syphilis riddled chapstick :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 601 ✭✭✭Rory123

The old saying "You don't want to catch anything you can't throw back" springs to mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,960 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

I'd also like to add that if you do this, there will come a night when you get caught robbing the drink of someone who is far bigger and angrier than you, resulting in your teeth going all over the dancefloor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 313 ✭✭Big Wave

Only a peasant knacker would do this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 creme-egg

the_syco wrote: »
    Once upon a time, I left a bottle of drink on a table, and it was drank when I came back. Next bottle I got, drank two thirds of it, brought it into the bathroom, pee'd into it to bring it back up near the top, and left it in the same place as the last one. Walked around the nightclub, came back, and it was still there, abeilt only a quater full :eek:

Moral of the story: either my piss is nice, or someone was VERY thirsty :D
    ur some sick man!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

creme-egg wrote: »
    ur some sick man!!
    Probably the same guy who craps ,pukes and piss's on the toilet floor just to give the cleaner upper a hard life .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,787 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Unattended drinks = fair game imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

The remains are never good quality. For example, last week i saw some lad buy a pint of Carlsberg but then he left with some bird about a minute later and left most of it behind. Disgusting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

In winter, I always try and clear out the old catarrh before leaving the pub so I'm not wheezing in the taxi on the way home. Nobody can see it as I just spit it into my pint if I'm not going to drink it.

Wagon wrote: »
    The remains are never good quality. For example, last week i saw some lad buy a pint of Carlsberg but then he left with some bird about a minute later and left most of it behind. Disgusting.

What?

Maybe they were going home.
    If the pint had only a mouthful gone how could you call it disgusting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭Mhmm...weetabix

What?

Maybe they were going home.
    If the pint had only a mouthful gone how could you call it disgusting.

It's like war
    No pints shall be left behind!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

just a quick question to those who think thats disgusting? do you flush the toilet in pubs? - put your hand instead of your jumper on the doors to open/close?

Thats disgusting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

DarkJager wrote: »
    And people wonder how they get spiked.
    People don't get spiked - they get too drunk, do something they regret the next day, then blame it on Rohypnol.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭midlandsmissus

There should be a differnt poll called did you ever rob drinks, which I must stick my hand up for.

When I was in college, me and my stone broke friends would go out every weekend with all we had, about a tenner, pay into the club, have one bottle of bulmers to do us the whole night, and then also........rob drinks whenever we could. We'd never get caught. We just used to keep an eye on a drink, and then when the owners went to the dancefloor, just take it. I'd say I did this for about one whole year when I was 18. I got a better paying job the next three years of college.

Of course I'm full of guilt and shame about it now!! But at the time I cleared it with myself by taking drinks off people who I considered were severely drunk already and didnt need another one!!!:cool: Half the time they never even noticed it was gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Think it's particularly scummy behavior myself.

Stay at home if you can't afford to go out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Zangetsu

I've done it myself, when last orders are finished and everyone is being kicked out leavin pints behind I've grabbed them in a drunken stuper. Its funny thinking back on it...

Insurgent wrote: »
    Think it's particularly scummy behavior myself.

Stay at home if you can't afford to go out.

Make me:pac:

Pace2008 wrote: »
    People don't get spiked - they get too drunk, do something they regret the next day, then blame it on Rohypnol.

Yes they do. I'm not talking about people who get so pissed they blame their behaviour on being spiked, I'm specifically referring to those who are unwillingly spiked. I have seen and have known people in the past who deliberately slip something into the remnants of their drink when they finished with it and then leave it down. These substances range from anything such as half an E, to the more bizzare such as dishwasher tablets, and all for some sick sort of amusement.

If you purposely pick up someone elses drink or the end of a drink, you only have yourself to blame if it has negative effects on you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

DarkJager wrote: »
    Yes they do. I'm not talking about people who get so pissed they blame their behaviour on being spiked, I'm specifically referring to those who are unwillingly spiked. I have seen and have known people in the past who deliberately slip something into the remnants of their drink when they finished with it and then leave it down. These substances range from anything such as half an E, to the more bizzare such as dishwasher tablets, and all for some sick sort of amusement.

If you purposely pick up someone elses drink or the end of a drink, you only have yourself to blame if it has negative effects on you.
    I'll actually have to concede that point. I thought you were referring to drink spiking with the intention of sexually assaulting someone, which is almost non-existant in Ireland. But for amusement... I was on the receiving end of this as a result of my 'friend's' actions. It's a good think I like pills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,974 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Mate does it, wouldn't do it myself tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

People do this?! Thats fúcking disgusting as well as down right knackery.

When you take a drink you naturally back-wash a little. Not even accounting for mouth sores or where the ex owners mouth was the last time the hit the jax.

I wish I had a díck big time. Anytime I felt like not finishing a drink, Id take it to the jax and jack off into it before leave it back on a table.

That'd learn yiz

Abigayle wrote: »

I wish I had a díck big time. Anytime I felt like not finishing a drink, Id take it to the jax and jack off into it before leave it back on a table.
    It's not all it's cracked up to be. The novelty would fade quite quickly.

People do this?! Thats fúcking disgusting as well as down right knackery.

When you take a drink you naturally back-wash a little. Not even accounting for mouth sores or where the ex owners mouth was the last time the hit the jax.

That'd learn yiz

You can take me to the jacks with you and we can do it together if you want...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭generalmiaow

Occasionally you see someone buy a pint, then suddenly have a flash-forward of lots of car accidents and families mourning dead children to the tune of "Just one look" by the Hollies.

Is it fair game then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

Occasionally you see someone buy a pint, then suddenly have a flash-forward of lots of car accidents and families mourning dead children to the tune of "Just one look" by the Hollies.

Is it fair game then?

Hmm, I dont know, depends if the girl he was looking comes flying forward at high speed and re-enacts a car crash off the table in front of you before he puts the drink down. You wouldnt know what could have landed in the glass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

keane2097 wrote: »
    You can take me to the jacks with you and we can do it together if you want...

*filthy eyes and smile*

I like you.

*filthy eyes and smile*

I like you.

I like stealing drinks - it'd never work...