Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

And the winner of dreamer of the year is...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 365 ✭✭YBTurbo

Hal1 wrote: »
    3229681-1.jpg

Check out the asking price :rolleyes:.

If I had the money, I wouldn't think twice.

Some people would spend a lot more on Ferraris and stuff, which draw unwanted attention if you just want to go shopping and not spend the day telling people about it.

The Fiesta offers, lots more ****s and giggles, and just looks like a Fiesta to everyone.

Mmmmm needs a TDi badge and then we can go boy racer hunting :D

VTEC yooooooooooooooooooooo....... Holy ****... She must be chipped layyyyyyyyyyyd, or else a TDi

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭Tragedy

Hmm, modified 550bhp 2.0l Fiesta or a 2008 Aston Martin DB9

I could go on, but why bother. It's a mad price for a track day Fiesta, no matter how powerful/well tuned. An Ultima GTR or Ariel Atom 300 would come in well under that price, and eat the Fiesta alive on a track - if that's what floats your boat.

Tragedy wrote: »
    Hmm, modified 550bhp 2.0l Fiesta or a 2008 Aston Martin DB9

I could go on, but why bother. It's a mad price for a track day Fiesta, no matter how powerful/well tuned. An Ultima GTR or Ariel Atom 300 would come in well under that price, and eat the Fiesta alive on a track - if that's what floats your boat.

Yes but you'd expect the Atom or Ultima to be fast, but would you expect the Fiesta to be quick?

Its more a Q car really.

I'm guessing you don't know what a Q-Car is.

Daycent examples of a q-car:
    Saab Aero's(or turbos in general)
    Volvo T5's
    Jag S-Type R
    Audi S8
    C32 AMG
    BMW 550i

A tarted up Fiesta with an FMIC, RS paint, rollcage and a bodywork is neither a Q-Car, nor a car for driving to the shops anonymously in - the first speed bump or pothole you encounter will destroy your back with the trackday suspension.

I'm guessing you don't know what a Q-Car is.

Daycent examples of a q-car:
    Saab Aero's(or turbos in general)
    Volvo T5's
    Jag S-Type R
    Audi S8
    C32 AMG
    BMW 550i

A tarted up Fiesta with an FMIC, RS paint, rollcage and a bodywork is neither a Q-Car, nor a car for driving to the shops anonymously in - the first speed bump or pothole you encounter will destroy your back with the trackday suspension.

A Q car is something that looks standard/ slow but it isn't.....

An AMG is not a Q car, people expect them to be quick *General Public I mean. Oh look a big German Merc, must be quick.

The Fiesta looks like a tarted up trolley to the General Public, slow/boring but it would literally knock their socks off.

YBTurbo wrote: »
    A Q car is something that looks standard/ slow but it isn't.....

An AMG is not a Q car, people expect them to be quick *General Public I mean. Oh look a big German Merc, must be quick.

The Fiesta looks like a tarted up trolley to the General Public, slow/boring but it would literally knock their socks off.

One of these goes from 0-60 in just under ten seconds, and one goes from 0-60 in 4.6s, and there's only a handful of people in Ireland who could tell which was which with a cursory glance.

That's what makes it a q-car, it looks like a normal standard boring saloon car and instead goes like the clappers....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

One of these goes from 0-60 in just under ten seconds, and one goes from 0-60 in 4.6s, and there's only a handful of people in Ireland who could tell which was which with a cursory glance.

That's what makes it a q-car, it looks like a normal standard boring saloon car and instead goes like the clappers....

but the point is most of the general public think that all Mercs are fast, even those that barely get to 60 in 10 seconds.

I'd gladly pay that for the fiesta btw. Animal of a car :)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

• Registered Users Posts: 4,528 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

1. the twin cam, while not my cup of tea, is one of the best handling rwd cars for its age. I do think that irish owners are retarded with their prices, when the same car could be brought in from japan even now for cheaper. owners still think 2008 prices are fair.

2. the fiesta for 55k sterling could be built for a fraction of the cost, wouldnt need to be registered as it would never see the road, couldnt be nct'd due to a number of factors. dreamer is an understatement.

oh wait, maybe ken block will buy it seeing as though it looks kinda like his gymkhana one...

• Registered Users Posts: 14,555 ✭✭✭✭Marlow

Hal1 wrote: »
    How about this? Koenigsegg Granada :pac:. 2100bhp.

That one is an absolute Q-car. I've seen it in the flesh. Definatly one of the best sleepers around.

/M

Marlow wrote: »
    That one is an absolute Q-car. I've seen it in the flesh. Definatly one of the best sleepers around.

/M

Point proven, That Granada is a Q car... AMG is not.

SV wrote: »
    but the point is most of the general public think that all Mercs are fast, even those that barely get to 60 in 10 seconds.

They do? Since when? E classes are associated with taxi drivers and retired men, c classes driven by business women, A class driven by mums and no-one ever bought a B class so no-one thinks they're fast either. The only merc that people I know associate with being a fast car is the CLS, and that's because it looks fast :)

If a c-class overtook me effortlessly and powered off into the distance, I'd be as surprised as the first time I encountered an s60 t5 on the old n7 and it overtaking cars with such ridiculous ease.

BMW m-cars used to be qcars too, quite a few people lamented how with every generation they became increasingly visibly different from the standard cars.

Regardless, off topic and I think most people agree the fiesta belongs here :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Regardless, off topic and I think most people agree the fiesta belongs here :D

I don't think you know a lot of people aren't petrol heads but I don't think I've met anyone(who wasn't a petrol head) who doesn't think that all Mercs/BMWs are fast.
    for gods sake I had someone tell me before their 316ti compact was definitely quicker than my old Clio. jesus.

I don't think that the fiesta deserves to be here seeing as you'd easily find people who'd pay that if they had it..hence yer man isn't dreaming :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭Damokc

Talk about off-topic! You can start a new thread in Classic Cars if you wish...

AFAIK they cant!! vintage/classic discussions are banned as it's stickied.

• Registered Users Posts: 576 ✭✭✭MrFoxman360

I thought this person was chancing their arm when this ad went up over a month ago,

But its renewed again at the same price? Mint or not, older cars as common as the starlet are not necessarily worth a lot of money, even if they are getting more popular now.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/2301341

• Registered Users Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Re: That starlet:
    The car is like the day it rolled of the production line.
    this car is better than the day it left the toyota production line

• Registered Users Posts: 4,528 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

i love boxy starlets (kp60/61 more so) but that lad is away with the fairies.

seems the cars value has actually gone up since rolling off the production line :D

SV wrote: »
    I don't think you know a lot of people aren't petrol heads but I don't think I've met anyone(who wasn't a petrol head) who doesn't think that all Mercs/BMWs are fast.
    for gods sake I had someone tell me before their 316ti compact was definitely quicker than my old Clio. jesus.

Of all my friends, there's only two who drive(well, one drives a moped but that hardly counts :p) and no-one in my family has any interest in cars whatsoever, hence driving fords, kias and hyundais :(

12K! for a borderline "felt" A4
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2577646
    Full?id=8137681

• Registered Users Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Top Dog

Damokc wrote: »
    12K! for a borderline "felt" A4
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2577646
    Tis a rare one! No RS4 badge and has left the TDi in-situ! :eek:

Full?id=8137680

• Registered Users Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭si_guru

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

2.0 V6 150PH BMW engine

You'd nearly feel like e-mailing him.

looks spotless n all but a 02 with 140000 miles? €5,999?
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2581745
    Full?id=8154790

on a side note...how do I post a picture with the link embedded in it so that I dont have to post the link and the picture separate

• Registered Users Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

Select the picture and click the url icon, then paste url.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 239 ✭✭Woofstuff

looks spotless n all but a 02 with 140000 miles?

That wouldnt be alot of miles really... about 15500 a year

similiar one for a grand more... alot less miles though http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2554905

similiar one from a dealer,.. 30k less miles http://www.carzone.ie/search/Audi/A4/TDI-SPOR/201138204525970/advert?channel=CARS

Howabout a 2003 passanger landcruiser with 170k for €10950

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Toyota/Landcruiser/LWB/201113201783906/advert?channel=CARS

Rare..yes very..so rare it doesn't even exist.
    this dope also blocked off the plates....but yep...took pictures of the tax and nct disc with the number on it!
    http://mywheels.ie/VehiclePreview.aspx
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2320539
    Full?id=7090243

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,635 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Rare..yes very..so rare it doesn't even exist.
    this dope also blocked off the plates....but yep...took pictures of the tax and nct disc with the number on it!
    http://mywheels.ie/VehiclePreview.aspx
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2320539

But it's got neon headlights!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

Ireland full of Audi idiots.

Saw a RS4 estate today in my area, savage yoke. tail pipes size of dinner plates.

was genuine too.. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭si_guru

• Registered Users Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

si_guru wrote: »

More like €700, and at that.