Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ecstasy is just horse play

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭c0rk3r

Professor Nutt

Unforunate Name

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭PurpleBerry

Yeehaw!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Not surprised. A lot of drugs are actually a lot less worse than the spook stories make them out to be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

Unfortunately, people tend to go along with common perceptions listen to propaganda more than scientific research.

I've said it before on here, I think MDMA/Ecstasy is a safer drug than even weed, and the studies would appear to support me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

They're giving extasy to horses now...? Neigh, neigh and thrice neigh!

The RSPCA will be quick out of the stalls with this one...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

The professor said equasy - short for equine addiction syndrome - caused more than 100 deaths a year.

wtf?

Ecstasy + Equestrian = equeasy. The guy's a natural comedian.

Although I'm pretty sure I've never seen horse riders chewing the face off themselves or talking **** to strangers for hours on end :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Most if not all Ecstasy related deaths are water related IE dehydration or intoxication.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

Ecstasy is harmless, you never here of anyone dying on them, if there mixed with other drugs its not really good or if you take about 25-30.
    I take them most weekends and the most it does to me is srivell up my willy and make me feel like dirt, a days rest will sort that out.

You haven't lived till you tryed it, the best thing iv'e done illegally.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

So, 30 deaths a year from E.

How many deaths from horse-riding?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭yoshytoshy

is it not the agents they put in with the tab ,that causes the problems ?

So, 30 deaths a year from E.

How many deaths from horse-riding?

30 deaths a year not caused directly by the drug itself but by the stupidity and naievety of the people who take it without understanding the "rules".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

yoshytoshy wrote: »
    is it not the agents they put in with the tab ,that causes the problems ?
    You mean, like ninjas?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭yoshytoshy

You mean, like ninjas?
    Yeah and smiths.

Plug wrote: »
    Ecstasy is harmless, you never here of anyone dying on them, if there mixed with other drugs its not really good or if you take about 25-30.
    I take them most weekends and the most it does to me is srivell up my willy and make me feel like dirt, a days rest will sort that out.

You haven't lived till you tryed it, the best thing iv'e done illegally.

Agreed 100% on that point. Its an experience of absolute euphoria, happiness and love for those around you that you will never ever experience with anything else.

DarkJager wrote: »
    Agreed 100% on that point. Its an experience of absolute euphoria, happiness and love for those around you that you will never ever experience with anything else.
    With the exception of diamonds:D
    Pure dirt!

The first time is the best by a long shot, I ended up taking 6 my first time and never regretted a thing.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,210 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Pure dirt!

Oh jesus don't remind us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I'd just love to demolish the straw man arguments of the home office with my years of extensive research in ecstasy in multiple, controlled environments.

If only I could remember the conclusion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

the common misconception about the dangers of drugs is down to people being fed horror stories.anyone get a drug talk in school? we got one and you'd swear people were handling the most dangerous substances known to man.

also the usual "i heard theres rat poison in pills" people dont help either.misinformation is far more dangerous than the facts.

df1985 wrote: »
    the common misconception about the dangers of drugs is down to people being fed horror stories.anyone get a drug talk in school? we got one and you'd swear people were handling the most dangerous substances known to man.

also the usual "i heard theres rat poison in pills" people dont help either.misinformation is far more dangerous than the facts.

Yes exactly. If schools spent more time actually advising on the risks of drugs and also the safe practices of taking them, instead of bull****ting about rat poison and other nonsense, you'd have a lot less drug related accidents. But of course, if it isn't legal we'll make up any old story to make it seem like the devils own snuff box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Loada bollix.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

Pure dirt!

/shudders

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Why not go the whole hog and try heroin?

Any mind altering drug should be treated with care and caution; some people can handle ecstasy and others cannot. It's the very same as alcohol(which I believe is worse for you even though I drink).

Whilst the drugs themselves might not be addictive the "buzz" you get from them can be.

I know a few people that are absolutely miserable if the don't have ecstasy for a night out.

These same people would have been happy out had they never tried the drug in the first place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Smellyirishman

Not surprising. Like others have said; without abuse it's pretty safe.
    Zohan wrote:
    These same people would have been happy out had they never tried the drug in the first place.

I'm happy out not being a millionaire, but if I got the chance to become a millionaire whenever I wanted I'd probably do it. Just because you are happy doesn't mean that there is nothing else in life that will make you happier.
    Zohan wrote:
    Whilst the drugs themselves might not be addictive the "buzz" you get from them can be.

I know a few people that are absolutely miserable if the don't have ecstasy for a night out.

Couldn't ever say that for drink, oh no.
    Zohan wrote:
    Why not go the whole hog and try heroin?

Lol.

TheZohan wrote: »

Yup, if I know my mates are on pills for the night I generally avoid them. The sh!te they talk and the state they are in the next day is pathetic. Add that to the utter scum that are usually peddling these yokes and I'm happier meeting up with a different crowd for the night.

bigkev49 wrote: »
    Loada bollix.

Have you tried them? If not,then you can't really comment on the effect. As for your mates, everyone seems to be odd when they are on them and your not. However, its the same as sitting in a room full of drunk people when your sober - annoying as ****, but you're probably safer with the pillheads than a load of drunks.

A very small amount of people can't handle pills, I was at planet love last year and a few people OD'd. I have a very good video on my youtube account of some girl in an extreme mess going into overdrive. No sign of her freinds anywere.

If your with friends who are taking pills your better off not there or just take them aswel. You'll fit in that way. I hate when everyone are off there rcoker and Im sitting there drunk.

Have you tried them? If not,then you can't really comment on the effect. As for your mates, everyone seems to be odd when they are on them and your not. However, its the same as sitting in a room full of drunk people when your sober - annoying as ****, but you're probably safer with the pillheads than a load of drunks.

Tried them once. As you said, great buzz but tinged with the realisation that the whole thing was "fake". I've tried most "recreational" drugs and I honestly do not see the point of them. Do you go out weekends without taking them?

As to recreating the same effect outside of a chemically induced buzz; it can definitely be done. Can't say here though. ;)

A very small amount of people can't handle pills, I was at planet love last year and a few people OD'd. I have a very good video on my youtube account of some girl in an extreme mess going into overdrive. No sign of her freinds anywere.

If your with friends who are taking pills your better off not there or just take them aswel. You'll fit in that way. I hate when everyone are off there rcoker and Im sitting there drunk.

Shouldn't ever be about that in fairness. You shouldn't need to be sitting there chewing the jaw off yourself like some kind of hyperactive goldfish just to fit in with people who you consider your mates. Obviously the same goes for downing shots of some god-awful red colouring. (I hate Aftershock).

Tried them once. As you said, great buzz but tinged with the realisation that the whole thing was "fake". I've tried most "recreational" drugs and I honestly do not see the point of them. Do you go out weekends without taking them?

As to recreating the same effect outside of a chemically induced buzz; it can definitely be done. Can't say here though. ;)

Its possible that they weren't that strong, but its good to hear you have some experience of them instead of just spouting anti-drug rhetoric. I don't take them any weekend man, haven't touched them in about 2 years now but did a year long phase of taking them, during which I will happily admit I had some of the best nights of my life.

Shouldn't ever be about that in fairness. You shouldn't need to be sitting there chewing the jaw off yourself like some kind of hyperactive goldfish just to fit in with people who you consider your mates. Obviously the same goes for downing shots of some god-awful red colouring. (I hate Aftershock).
    I don't mean as to fit in and be like' one of the bouys':rolleyes:
    Its just you'd look like a right tit sitting there while everyones having a good buzz. Even if theres another friend just driking with ya it would be grand, that way you can have a good drunk chat and not be waffeled to death about someone who died 20 years ago etc.

I don't mean as to fit in and be like' one of the bouys':rolleyes:
    Its just you'd look like a right tit sitting there while everyones having a good buzz. Even if theres another friend just driking with ya it would be grand, that way you can have a good drunk chat and not be waffeled to death about someone who died 20 years ago etc.

Throw me a chewing gum there bud and I'll be your best friend for the next 6 hours :D

Its possible that they weren't that strong, but its good to hear you have some experience of them instead of just spouting anti-drug rhetoric. I don't take them any weekend man, haven't touched them in about 2 years now but did a year long phase of taking them, during which I will happily admit I had some of the best nights of my life.

Well that's cool that you can pick and choose when you take them.

When you say they might not have been that strong it highlights one of the problems with pills for me. You take one (a dud) nothing happens. Take 2 more duds, still nothing. Think to yourself "fcuk this" and neck 7 or 8 of them that happen to be good stuff and kablammo, you're off in a world of your own. There is no consistency in the product.

At least if I drink copious amounts of Jack Daniels I know that I am just going to end up horny and pennyless.:D:D

Well that's cool that you can pick and choose when you take them.

When you say they might not have been that strong it highlights one of the problems with pills for me. You take one (a dud) nothing happens. Take 2 more duds, still nothing. Think to yourself "fcuk this" and neck 7 or 8 of them that happen to be good stuff and kablammo, you're off in a world of your own. There is no consistency in the product.

At least if I drink copious amounts of Jack Daniels I know that I am just going to end up horny and pennyless.:D:D

You're right about the quality, it will always be hit and miss due to the new **** the manufacturers are cutting in to the pills now a days. Part of the reason I'd limit myself to only MDMA if I had to these days.

There's a guy in the UK who took 40000 pills(25 a day) over the space of 9 nine years. Thats stupidity and insanity rolled into one. He's so ****ed now, he even dances to music in the supermarket.

Throw me a chewing gum there bud and I'll be your best friend for the next 6 hours :D

:d

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

Tried them once. As you said, great buzz but tinged with the realisation that the whole thing was "fake". I've tried most "recreational" drugs and I honestly do not see the point of them.
    The point is that they feel good or are interesting or are some of the most intense and profound experiences possible. Also, why have you tried them if you don't see the point? If you try anything with a negative mindset or hangups towards them, you won't enjoy them. I've seen anti-drugs friends try drugs just so they'll know what it's like, and they fight the high every step of the way, valuing their pride in being able to say that drugs are crap and stupid more than just relaxing, letting the high run its course and acknowledging the drug as a pleasant experience.

As for them being "fake", why do you think this? If you can feel something, then it's real. Saying that the high you get from drugs is fake is no different to saying the high you get from being in love, or a rollercoaster, or sex is fake. You see, it's not that it's fake, it's just that you have a negative attitude to drugs in the first place.
    What buzz isn't chemically induced? And If you're talking about sex, that's a COMPLETELY different high to E.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 shock_value

David Raynes, of the National Drug Prevention Alliance, said: "He is entitled to his personal opinion, but if his personal view conflicts so very strongly with his public duties, it would be honourable to consider his position. If he does not, the Home Secretary should do it for him.

I love this line. The uk government pay this guy to look at various drugs. After much study he comes to the conclusion that all drugs aren't nessesarily bad and that maybe the government aren't going about it the right way. So they suggest him retiring because his years of study didn't produce the results they were looking for.

liking the logic in that one, David Raynes.

I haven't tried mdma yet, but it's definately on my to do list ;). However I don't see myself becoming a regular user. The fact that after a few years people apparently no longer get any euphoria from mdma would suggest that it does indeed change the brain.

To people who are shocked by this story i hope it gets them thinking rationally about drugs. Some safe drugs do exist ( i don't think mdma is one of them) and addiction could be drastically reduced if you got people to take their drugs orally. Maybe this is the route we should be going down instead of telling people to "say no to drugs, but it's ok to drink alcohol, one of the most toxic recreational drugs around".

I haven't tried mdma yet, but it's definately on my to do list ;). However I don't see myself becoming a regular user. The fact that after a few years people apparently no longer get any euphoria from mdma would suggest that it does indeed change the brain (note how i said change, and not damage).

It all works by flooding your brain with serotonen. Obviously, the more you do it the more of the drug it will take to produce the desired effect. Its not a few years either, by your 3rd or 4th time taking it the effect will already be on the decline.

I meant that after a few years certain aspects of the buzz will be completely gone, and that long periods of abstainance won't bring them properly back. This seems to me to be somewhat different from normal tolereance that usually appears with drugs.

If we had safe oxytoxin agonists we could probably create a cocktail of chemicals creating an mdma-like buzz that would never lose it's zing (although slightly higher doses will be needed as your body becomes more tolerant). I think that is the future.

I meant that after a few years certain aspects of the buzz will be completely gone, and that long periods of abstainance won't bring them properly back. This seems to me to be somewhat different from normal tolereance that usually appears with drugs.

If we had safe oxytoxin agonists we could probably create a cocktail of chemicals creating an mdma-like buzz that would never lose it's zing (although slightly higher doses will be needed as your body becomes more tolerant). I think that is the future.

Your brain can only use so much serotonen though. Thats what causes the blue mondays - the serotonen has dried up and you feel depressed for a few hours. Things like chocolate can shrug that off though, there's some compound in chocolate replensihes serotonen.

So to create an endless buzz, you would probably need someway of getting additonal serotonen to the brain and keeping it constantly there which would be quite difficult. Great idea though :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,694 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

nothing beats a good rave.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dCuumWDncco&feature=channel_page

just my 2 cent...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

The council is expected next week to recommend that ecstasy is downgraded from class A to the less dangerous class B classification. Ministers have outlined their opposition to such a move.

People are missing the point. When will horse riding be upgraded to a Class B drug? :confused:

JC 2K3 wrote: »
    Also, why have you tried them if you don't see the point?

Tried them first, after that I couldn't see the point of them.
    As for them being "fake", why do you think this? If you can feel something, then it's real. Saying that the high you get from drugs is fake is no different to saying the high you get from being in love, or a rollercoaster, or sex is fake. You see, it's not that it's fake, it's just that you have a negative attitude to drugs in the first place.

You're right I do have a negative attitude to drugs. In my experience they turn people into asshats. As to my comment about the high being "fake" I meant that I knew that the only reason I felt as good as I did was that I took a tablet. I much prefer to seek out my highs by other means.

While I have a negative attitude, I don't preach to my mates if they are off on yokes for the night, I just avoid them.

What buzz isn't chemically induced? And If you're talking about sex, that's a COMPLETELY different high to E.

You know what I mean kid, there's a difference between naturally induced highs and shovelling a load of pills down your throat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

You know what I mean kid, there's a difference between naturally induced highs and shovelling a load of pills down your throat.

The difference is only a psychological one due to the pejorative attitude towards drugs which we are all brought up with.

To the body there isn't really any difference.

Why don't people speak out against spicy food? After all chillies cause serotonin and endorphins to be produced. Why is this different? The same with chocolate, masturbation and medititation.

Sean_K wrote: »
    The difference is only a psychological one due to the pejorative attitude towards drugs which we are all brought up with.

Why don't people speak out against spicy food? After all chillies cause serotonin and endorphins to be produced. Why is this different? The same with chocolate, masturbation and medititation.

Yes the end result might be the same (or similar), the sense of euphoria and happy feelings, but the process to get there is what I'm talking about.

Sean_K wrote: »

A chilli, chocolate, masturbation & meditation night?! Maybe an idea for the next boards event :D

Is that not what goes on at them anyway?

Your brain can only use so much serotonen though. Thats what causes the blue mondays - the serotonen has dried up and you feel depressed for a few hours. Things like chocolate can shrug that off though, there's some compound in chocolate replensihes serotonen.

So to create an endless buzz, you would probably need someway of getting additonal serotonen to the brain and keeping it constantly there which would be quite difficult. Great idea though :D

I doubt it's to do with serotonin depletion. If you abstain for 6 months that's plenty of time for your serotonin to replenish itself. But yet people claim they still can't get much of a buzz off mdma.

If you want to replenish serotonin, you're wasting your time with chocolate. I suggest you look into l-tryptophan or 5-htp.

I never said endless, i meant that if you take it socially it will still have an effect. This is how most drugs work. Even if you're just working with serotonin you could use a serotonin agonist (a chemical that binds directly to your serotonin receptors without causing the release of serotonin).

I have no doubt that with more research safe mdma-like drugs (or more likely a mixture of a few drugs) will be available. In fact safe counterparts for all illicitly used drugs will be available (some already exist now) and their addiction will be greatly reduced as people won't have to snort/inhale/inject them to save money. It's all dependant on how the governments chose to act.

Stories like this give me hope that people are starting to think rationally about drugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

profound experiences possible.
    This is me when I read that:

:|
    :|
    :s
    D:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭generalmiaow

I reckon MD[M|E]?A\b/ is pretty safe although I no longer go near the stuff because it results in pictures like this:

http://twentymajor.net/images/gurners.jpg

Having said that, I find it highly disturbing that you can be addicted to horses. Surely riding them isn't enough at some stage and you might start mainlining them. Then you are in serious trouble,