Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pocketing the cashback....

• 01-02-2009 9:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭

Was out on friday night in a bar/club on Harcourt street. Was sober as arrived late from work and it was around 12:30. Went up for a couple of drinks at the bar - pint of beer and gin and tonic - bar man said sure, and price was 14.70 Euro (crazy price, but not my main point). He then asked me if i wanted cashback on my laser and I asked for 20.

I entered my pin, he gave me my receipt and then walked off to put the receipt in till. I watched him closely and did not say anything regarding the cashback. On leaving the till he kept his head down and walked down the other side of the bar...whilst I waited intently on my 20 euro cashback...still nothing. Finally I nabbed him and said "What about my cashback" he grumped and said "Aw yeah", and gave me the money and walked off....

Sorry, but this really wound me up. I'm pretty sure that the bar man had a fair idea what he was doing - wait for the drunk to ask for cash back then say nothing and pocket the 20? I'm sick of Dublin and it's rip off prices and rip off ways...Will not be back in that establishment again.
    Tagged:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭Valmont

Glad you got it in the end though! Sounds like a right feckin eejit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Maybe he actually just forgot about it. People in the service industry aren't perfect like you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

Maybe he actually just forgot about it. People in the service industry aren't perfect like you.

You didn't happen to be working in a bar on Harcourt Street Friday night, no? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭Louise77

Not looking for perfection. Just an apology - would that be fair, or do i ask too much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

I'd guess they honestly forgot about it, 12:30 is usually a pretty busy time for a barman, and on Harcourt St. at that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭Louise77

Fair point, just to add information though...it was a friday night and got served pretty much immediatly, it wasn't busy at the bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Louise77 wrote: »
    Not looking for perfection. Just an apology - would that be fair, or do i ask too much?

No, I don't think so.
    When you asked about the 20, was it on his person or did he have to go to the till for it?
    If he did have to go to the till , I'd say it was an honest mistake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

If you had complained that he was going to keep the money - he probably would deny it.

Did you buy any more drinks after and pay by laser?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭deleriumtremens

/cracks keyboard warrior fingers

I would have decked hem if he didnt give me my cashback. C'unt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

This has happened to me behind the bar a few times, someone asks for cashback and i forget to give it to them. I think its because 95% of the time they dont ask for cashback and so i'm just used to walking back to the till, putting the receipt in and going to the next customer. My not trying to steal for anyone, but cant talk for the op's barman.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

I have heard this sort of story a dozen times in Dublin bars and people say "Oh he was busy,he made amistake".
    Yeah?
    Why do you never hear of the barman making a mistake and giving the customer too much money instead of too little?
    Thieving,dirty bastards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭newmills

Was out on friday night in a bar/club on Harcourt street. Was sober as arrived late from work and it was around 12:30. Went up for a couple of drinks at the bar - pint of beer and gin and tonic - bar man said sure, and price was 14.70 Euro (crazy price, but not my main point). He then asked me if i wanted cashback on my laser and I asked for 20.

I entered my pin, he gave me my receipt and then walked off to put the receipt in till. I watched him closely and did not say anything regarding the cashback. On leaving the till he kept his head down and walked down the other side of the bar...whilst I waited intently on my 20 euro cashback...still nothing. Finally I nabbed him and said "What about my cashback" he grumped and said "Aw yeah", and gave me the money and walked off....

Sorry, but this really wound me up. I'm pretty sure that the bar man had a fair idea what he was doing - wait for the drunk to ask for cash back then say nothing and pocket the 20? I'm sick of Dublin and it's rip off prices and rip off ways...Will not be back in that establishment again.

You should have glassed him - teach him not to forget or rob!!;)

newmills wrote: »
    You should have glassed him - teach him not to forget or rob!!;)
    You're joking ,right?:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭newmills

You're joking ,right?:pac:

Of course i'm not joking;);););););););););)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭Ian C

Degsy wrote: »
    Why do you never hear of the barman making a mistake and giving the customer too much money instead of too little?

Was given change from a 50 instead of a 20 at a friend's 21st in the Montclare a couple of years back. It happens.

(And yes I did give it back)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭nevaeh-2die-4

ha ha thats what ya get for buying a gin and tonic its not 1950 anymore get with the times.

More accurately thats what they get for paying 17 quid for two drinks.
    Should have called the thieving barman every name under the sun,spilt the drinks and then walked out without paying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Is it not a better idea to take cash with you to a bar?
    For speed in a busy environment and most of all, if they will steal your cash in front of your eyes, I wouldnt trust them with my card while im slightly drunk.
    A friend of mine used her card in a club (once) and instead of 16.50, they had put through 165,00. Still dont know if she sorted it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

Ian C wrote: »

Did you receive a few pints in exchange? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭YDMHSSB

not totally on topic but still related, but rather than start another thread i paid €6.60 for a pint of heineken in one pub in town. the dearest ive ever paid in this country. needless to say, left the place as soon as. what a rip off. there should be a pub avoidance day in lreland where people just go to offies and boycot pubs. i never really care about the price of drink but this really really bugged me.

YDMHSSB wrote: »
    not totally on topic but still related, but rather than start another thread i paid €6.60 for a pint of heineken in one pub in town. the dearest ive ever paid in this country. needless to say, left the place as soon as. what a rip off. there should be a pub avoidance day in lreland where people just go to offies and boycot pubs. i never really care about the price of drink but this really really bugged me.

They're putting themselves out of business but they dont realise it.
    I was in newry today and i filled the car with drink for 70 quid.

You know, they run better with petrol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

I was over in Liverpool for a match a couple of weeks ago and the pubs there had sales on, a fuc/kin sale in a pub unbeleivable, well unbelievable to a wan,ker like me that puts up with the extortionate prices over here! You'd think the pub/club owners would get their act together and start doing that over here, as said already they're putting themselves out of business and they're too thick and ignorant to realise it.

Oh and to the OP, you should've spat in his fukin hair! The fact that he put the receipt in the till is enough to know he was up to no good.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

Should have called the thieving barman every name under the sun,spilt the drinks and then walked out without paying.

deleriumtremens has already covered the whole keyboard warrior thing.

sorry babes :(

The fact that he put the receipt in the till is enough to know he was up to no good.

AFAIK, when you pay with a laser card, two receipts are printed. One for the customer and another for the seller. The latter is usually then placed into the till for safe-keeping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

AFAIK, when you pay with a laser card, two receipts are printed. One for the customer and another for the seller. The latter is usually then placed into the till for safe-keeping.

Fair enough i just got the impression, he put her receipt in the till. The thing is when you get cashback the barman is kind of spending more time on you therefore should be more concsious of you as opposed to somebody just paying with cash.

The other thing is, when she asked the barman about it, he all of a sudden remembered and gave it to her straight away, convenient.

Fair enough i just got the impression, he put her receipt in the till. The thing is when you get cashback the barman is kind of spending more time on you therefore should be more concsious of you as opposed to somebody just paying with cash.

The other thing is, when she asked the barman about it, he all of a sudden remembered and gave it to her straight away, convenient.

That's why I asked earlier on , if he just handed over the money , or went to the till for it.
    Maybe, when the OP gets back she will let us know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

No, I don't think so.
    When you asked about the 20, was it on his person or did he have to go to the till for it?

If he's the kind of person to premeditate ripping someone off, he is also going to have a plan so he's able to cover his tracks if the person calls him on it. No way is he going to take the 20 out of his pocket in front of the person. He's going to act dumb, go over to the till and take a 20 from it, and later on put the 20 from his pocket back in the till.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,093 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

No, I don't think so.
    Are you soft? The bent barman will always wait until later to retrieve the €20 from the till!

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭FruitLover

What you should do is: piss and moan on the internet about your experience.

Under no circumstance should you inform the manager or owner of the bar of this issue, nor follow any other sensible courses of action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

Where does it say they spent €17 on two drinks? And plenty of barstaff give the customer too much change. It's a hell of alot more common than shortchanging. You don't hear about it because people don't whinge on the internet about getting one over on barstaff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭gamblitis

I have heard this sort of story a dozen times in Dublin bars and people say "Oh he was busy,he made amistake".
    Yeah?
    Thieving,dirty bastards.

Don't paint us all with the one brush.We all make mistakes, although i can't speak for the barman in question but we aren't all like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,763 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

You mean it's more than 20€...?! Sh1t...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,763 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

YDMHSSB wrote: »

I paid that same price at the Olympic Stadium on Saturday.
    (Mind you, I did get a litre....)

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Odeon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭AlkalineAcid

What part of having already paid with a laser card didn't you get?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

Ian C wrote: »
    Was given change from a 50 instead of a 20 at a friend's 21st in the Montclare a couple of years back. It happens.

Thanks for that

Kharn
    (the current Night Manager in the Mont Clare :p)

On-topic - these things do happen. Any idea how long the guy had been working? Mighta been in since 2pm in the day and was just frazzled tired and forgot. I'm glad you got your €20 though.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Well at least you put an angry anonymous post on the internet. That'll learn him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Ass

The worst is when you've got no change and you have to give them a €50 note for about €15 worth of drinks and they give you change of a €5 back in change. You'll never see the rest of the change because no how much you argue with them they can't take the risk of paying out money on your word alone.

I'm sure if you get the manager in most places, they can at least check the cameras to see the transaction. But that isn't going to happen if you're in a club or a busy bar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

if your nice, their nice back....

dont lower your standards for any man...

unless its baz from rte...

" he's a beaut " :rolleyes:

Adyx wrote: »
    And plenty of barstaff give the customer too much change. It's a hell of alot more common than shortchanging. You don't hear about it because people don't whinge on the internet about getting one over on barstaff.

It is in its bollocks more common than shortchanging.
    A lot of barmen are on the take and the OP refered to one of them.
    If they hadnt called him on it he wasnt going to suddenly remember an hour later and go looking for them with the money.
    The amount of times i've had clown barmen trying to shortchange me because they thought i'd let it go.
    Its a tradition with some of them..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

Yeah?
    Thieving,dirty bastards.

Funnily enough was in a bar many moons ago with the brother, late 80s, we were broke and unemployed much like everyone else, anyway it was my round, I went up to the bar and ordered two pints, gave the guy a fiver (yes back then you could get two pints for a fiver :eek:), he goes to the till and proceeds to give me change of a tenner.

Myself and the brother are thinking score! So in case he noticed his mistake we took our pints and went into another part of the bar. Half an hour later it's my round again, I go up to the bar and yer man is in that part now, thinking I'm busted I ask for two pints hand over a tenner this time (the one he gave me) and he proceeds to give me change of a twenty :p I think he was helping himself to the shorts!

Edit: I have no qualms with keeping the money (sorry Kharn) as I said we were broke and this particular pub was somewhere that could well afford it and the barmen were dicks to a man!

esel wrote: »
    Are you soft? The bent barman will always wait until later to retrieve the €20 from the till!
    Being the type who wouldn't dream of fleecing someone of their hard earned cash, I wouldn't have a clue how it's done.
    I am now a bit wiser.

Am I soft?
    /silky soft,so Im told.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Am I soft?
    /silky soft,so Im told.:)
    Its true:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 DonkeyPunch

Thieving,dirty bastards.

I was in a boozer on the quays on Saturday night, When my mate got his change of €20 from 2 drinks (vodka & coke and JD & Coke) he made a comment to the barman that it must have been wrong. The barman then said "Sorry mater it was a fifty you gave me, wasn't it", he turned back to the till and took out another €30 and handed it over to my mate.
    Get In!

Its true:pac:
    Shush...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,082 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

I'm sick of Dublin and it's rip off prices and rip off ways...Will not be back in that establishment again.

What has one bad experience in one bar on Harcourt Street got to do with the rest of Dublin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Shush...
    You never let me tell anyone:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭kf1920

This shortchanging also happens in Fast Food joints after nightclubs. I know of one spot with one Nightclub and one irish Fast Food franchise joint. And the Staff used to not only shortchange people they had a competition to see who cud amass the largest amount of money by shortchanging drunk clubbers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭gamblitis

Cheeky bastrds