Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you be more likely to go to the Student Bar if...

• 30-01-2009 4:31pm

Would you be more likely to go to the Student Bar if it was open only on twice a week(say, tuesday and thursday) and had drinks promotions, nothin too extreme but something like all pints €3.50, shots €3 and Vodka + RedBull €4.

Personally, I would be more inclined to go there and it probably would be much more profitable for them...what do ye think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭Limerick Dude

Seems like a good idea!

They wouldnt have to waste money on paying peoples wages and stuff like that and they would probably make a killing if they did drink promotions on whatever days it was open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭AlkalineAcid

If shots were €3 I think pints ought to be €3 too. :pac:
    If the bar was open in the afternoon when I finish college I'd be more inclined to go. I've been to the bar only a few times this year and it's always been dead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 223 ✭✭Anarking

Id go if they got rid of those horrible thug bouncers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭cabla

Ye those bouncers are a nightmare. They really out to get rid of them. One of them didn't even let a guy leave. The guy tried but he pushed him against the wall...

I like how you can bypass the bouncers going into Old Bar... Just walk in through the smoking area. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Anything's better than what the old bar was like at the end of 2008 tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭public_enemy

They were selling pints there for 3.50 all of last semester. Granted, it was only Stella that was 3.50 most of the time, but it is a student bar. They've had different random drinks promotions on each week too I think.

Yes, more people would go if drinks were cheaper all the time, but there's more wrong with the bar than that.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

The bar is only going to be open on Tuesday nights from now on. Better then being closed altogether, but still not good news... Email just came in from DCU SU...

Hey Guys

Hope the exams went well for everyone, and you're all having a lovely week off. I know quite a few people are waiting for news on the bar and what's going on there, so I thought I'd fill everyone in before you all land back on Monday and find the bar closed. Yes the bar will be closed Monday, and every Monday from now on in fact.

The Union, Trispace and the University have been working hard to make sure that we stop losing money on the bar while not closing the place altogether. I can't for the life of me imagine a University Campus with no bar, and to be honest nobody wants to see that happen.

For Semester 2 the Bar will only be opening every Tuesday night. I know this doesn't sound like much, but fear not, we're going to make sure that we make Tuesday nights as big as possible.We're gonna have regular Tuesday night bar extensions and the best acts we can find to get the night going. Some people we've already been talking to are the Coronas and Aslan.

There'll be plenty of other acts coming in and if you have any suggestions on who you'd like to see playing here or any comments at all about this situation do feel free to let us know on this thread on life.dcu.ie: http://life.dcu.ie/discussion/viewthread/79/

So let's all get into our Super Tuesday groove and hopefully I'll see you
    there for a pint next week.

thanks,

Niall
    President, Dublin City University Students' Union

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭Cionád

University with an SU bar open 1 night a week! Hilarious.

Now that the Nitelinks don't run midweek I would have thought this an excellent opportunity for business to pick up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

bit of a joke tbh, may as well just drink in your house/apartment with your mates. probably definitely have more fun and way cheaper

Complete joke. I would've settled for 2 days a week, like Tuesdays and Thursdays, but just once a week is nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 silentdog

dcumon wrote: »
    Yet again dcu never fails to suprise me. Its student bar is probably one of the worst in this country, expensive drink, no atmosphere and well no students. I myself am not one bit disappointed that it will now only open one day a week, I went to the place once. But what annoys me is THE PLACE HAS GOT SO MUCH POTENTIAL but its seems the dcu student union and dcu in general has got no vision of what a real student bar is. Cheap drink, good music, and friendly staff inc bouncers that dont always look like the dont want you there. Does anybody feel the same way????

I think the problem is that the bar *isn't* run by the Students Union. Didn't they promise to take it over at Christmas? what happened to that plan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭gamblitis

its seems the dcu student union and dcu in general has got no vision of what a real student bar is.

Anyone who was in first year from last year onwards really has no idea what it could be like.
    And this is going to continue and if the bar doesn't attract first years, who have just broke free of a 6 year long leash then thats saying something tbh. Doesn't give much hope for their remaining years here if big changes don't happen seriously fast. First impressions mean alot.
    Cheap drink, good music, and friendly staff inc bouncers that don't always look like the don't want you there.

This used to be the bar. Upto about 2 years ago the bar was busy 4 nights a week, great fun, music and cheap drink.The staf were also student which made it more personal or something. It nice to go in and see one of your mates behind the counter. Not because they would give you a free drink but just it really makes it look the part."STUDENT BAR" Tuesdays were great and you barely had room to breathe in there. Now you could swing an overgrown tiger in there never mind a cat!

If they are so worried about losing money then it won't make too much of a difference losing a little more in an effort to make the place look as attractive, as cheap as fun as possible. And once they start getting everyone back in and keep it that way, the recuperation process begins. Easier said than done i know but thats just my opinion.

Ah now... The SU had pretty good plans for the bar.

This Tuesday night thing might prove to be good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭cactus jack

there's one thing that has struck me about the old bar from when i started last semester that being that it looks like a beach cafe that only opens for 2 months in the summer. i know it's one thing saying they can't splash the money to have all the mod cons but there are some simple ideas that could get people going in there again. simple lick of paint & try get the art soc involved to do a few fancy bits around the place. the pool would do better if it was like the palace or the leisureplexes with renting the table by the hour as oppossed to E1.20 per game & if you pot the black on your second shot the game is screwed. plus one of the main problems seems to be the lack of music when bands aren't performing. pool & music may involve a larger investment but the paint wouldn't be too bad & i'm sure art soc & a few of the other socs could be talked into giving a hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,259 ✭✭✭Shiny

Will wrote: »
    bit of a joke tbh, may as well just drink in your house/apartment with your mates. probably definitely have more fun and way cheaper

That is one big reason why the bar is having problems.

Less students have part time jobs so there is less disposable cash
    going around to be wasting spending in the student bar.

I too have serious issue with the security. When they refused to let
    me into the bar a few years ago because I was a dcu student but
    wasn't a member of the bar, (despite a member offering to sign me in),
    that was the last straw and I refuse to go near the place since.

Shiny wrote: »
    I too have serious issue with the security. When they refused to let
    me into the bar a few years ago because I was a dcu student but
    wasn't a member of the bar, (despite a member offering to sign me in),
    that was the last straw and I refuse to go near the place since.

I had the same problem a couple of years back. "Bar" members we allowed sign people with no association into the bar but not DCU students!!Like WTF:confused: I don't get it. They really should change the door staff tbh, they aren't very inviting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,620 ✭✭✭Grudaire

If they didn't have 2 bouncers on the door, and three bar staff then maybe they could make a profit with cheap drink

2 bar staff and get campus security to keep an eye out without having to stand there all day doing nothing

Cliste wrote: »
    get campus security to keep an eye out without having to stand there all day doing nothing

I think you may be pushing the limits there.Don't you know they have far more important things to be doing....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭c0rk3r

Wow e-drama.

Im in my final year and ive only been to the campus bar maybe 4-5 times. Anytime i walk through the hub the place has been empty. People need to realise that the majority of students simply dont want a bar. Thats the reality and the current situation is proof of that. There will still be the minority clinging to the idea but gradually year after year the bar is slowly decaying. I wont miss it nor will the majority.

Just let it go.

Fair enough your in your final year.It makes no difference to you whatsoever, you won't be here next year. So you think its ok for a University not to have a campus bar?So no Freshers Ball, Halloween Ball, Summer Ball, Christmas Ball?
    What a joke!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭c0rk3r

I felt the same last year and the year before that. The bar is dead and people still try revive it. Its dead just dig a grave and say your goodbyes. Maybe in a few years there'll be a miracle and the bar will resurrect itself into a mutant zombie bar. Doubtful though

Hold the ball's in citiwest or some other venue. Its no big deal
    gamblitis wrote: »
    So you think its ok for a University not to have a campus bar?So no Freshers Ball, Halloween Ball, Summer Ball, Christmas Ball?

Yes i think its ok. No one goes to it so why have it there ?We have 2 bars that no ones uses. Get rid of them and put something else in place

Well thats your opinion. And unless you've spoke to the majority of people around the college and asked them personally if they wanted a bar or not I don't think you can speak on behalf of the masses.

Music, Prices and Staff do have a big impact on who is going to come to the bar. When it was run by the students the atmosphere was alot better, it was lively, fun and busy.

And as i said before if an impact isn't made on Freshers when they come to the college they are pretty much lost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭ridonkulous

Ah it wasn't always this way. Bring back Johnny Mac i say. Now he knew how to run a student bar and most of the staff were students or student age. The days of missing lectures waiting for a pool table to open up and all day drinking sessions when the place was jammers.....good times. Those were the days. Once they got rid of Johnny and the staff the place went severely downhill very quickly....shame cause as had been said the place does have great potential.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 159 ✭✭LaMer

The bar is a load of ****, granted Amstel is 3.50, but they should be serving it for less. It's ridiculous how much that bar is mismanaged, much like everything else in DCU.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭simonw

Do other colleges make students pay membership for the student bar? That and the prices are what lost me anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭Landa2

the bars situation is complicated, its been on thin ice for a number of years now. and its unfortunate to have come to this... personally i blame DCU i'd love to be more specific about that but these people know who they are. Tri-Space, was not the best move in the world... Canteen staff behind the bar earning overtime... Who thought that'd be a good idea??? Outside of that DCU has hampered the bar from day one....

Not allowing the previous lease holder to spend his money (6 figure sum) to do up the old bar was a joke.. Not allowing minor changes to decor. Coming in and running a competeing bar, and then restricting the hours the old bar can open was underhanded.. Finally, not allowing the previous leaseholder to renew their lease... enough said...

The resulting situation we now have, has nothing to do with anyone except for DCU managment,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭adamski8

so wait this acadmeic year we had to mandatorally pay to be "bar" or "citiclub" (or whatever they call) members and im not sure but i think thats around €15 per student and i think around 10,000 students = ~€150,000 that the college has taken (seems more like scamed) out of us and what do we get? a bar that opens one day a week, that is ridiculus! REFUND PLEASE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭robby^5

I don't thinks that's the case, I think it's just free now can anyone clarify?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭cocoa

There was a bar membership fee last year. It was done away with this year so ye can stop whining about something that doesn't exist anymore... Sheesh, complaining about having to pay for something you didn't pay for, goodness knows how you keep track of your money...

And complaining about the Union is just bull... Unless you have a better idea just be quiet... Also, for anyone who suggests it would be great if blahblahblah, there is no money left to do that. The union has had to work hard enough to get this one night gig, and have basically no money at their disposal to invest and improve the situation.

cocoa wrote: »
    There was a bar membership fee last year. It was done away with this year so ye can stop whining about something that doesn't exist anymore... Sheesh, complaining about having to pay for something you didn't pay for, goodness knows how you keep track of your money...

And complaining about the Union is just bull... Unless you have a better idea just be quiet... Also, for anyone who suggests it would be great if blahblahblah, there is no money left to do that. The union has had to work hard enough to get this one night gig, and have basically no money at their disposal to invest and improve the situation.

So you're saying the Union and the company that run the bar shouldn't have at least the considered ways of bringing IN students, rather than just forcing them out 6 days a week?

c0rk3r wrote: »
    Anytime i walk through the hub the place has been empty. People need to realise that the majority of students simply dont want a bar. Thats the reality and the current situation is proof of that.

You're making up a false cause and effect link.

If you actual read the positions being giving here (and on life.dcu.ie) you would see that people don't want the bar back as it was. The general idea looks to be that people want an improved bar which they and others would more likely go to more often. As you can see from more than a few posts, there's a lot of grievances with the way that the bar was being run.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭adamski8

cocoa wrote: »

well if i had known it didnt exist i wouldnt have mentioned it!!!!!!!
    on how i keep track of my money, well i gave the university near 6 grand at the start of the year in fees, apologies if i didnt check for the bar membership this year!!!!
    and i wouldnt mind paying if it was good/open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭Cid-Highwind

deise59 wrote: »
    So you're saying the Union and the company that run the bar shouldn't have at least the considered ways of bringing IN students, rather than just forcing them out 6 days a week?

No, he's saying that the union don't run a bar, and there's no need to shoot the messenger

deise59 wrote: »

As has been mentioned, for the past few years Tri-space has been running the bar, not the union, and while the union has the power to advise, it has little more than that. I'm unsure exactly who's handling management of the bar currently, it wasn't entirely clear from the e-mail monument posted earlier in the thread. It may be the union, but I hardly think it's fair to get annoyed at them when they've only just started and the reason why it's only open for one night is because they have no money available to invest in it, not cos they hate fun or don't know how to manage anything properly as some people seem to think.

If it is the union managing the bar now, then they've only just begun, maybe give them a chance? I'd agree that trispace have been appalling though....

DCU student union is pretty poor in my opinion, although I prefer DCU to UCD, UCD had a far better union, and the officers seemed much more approachable. I don't even know what some of the DCU SU officers look like??? Or even who is who. In addition, all the events I've gone to organised by the SU were over sold, rip off, etc. etc. All I know is they produce a crappy campus magazine. I've also heard the DCU SU is a freeloader and doesn't subscribe to the Student unions of Ireland? Not sure how true that is but I heard it from a lecturer, so I'll take it as truth.

LaMer wrote: »
    although I prefer DCU to UCD, UCD had a far better union, and the officers seemed much more approachable.

Have you ever tried to approach any of the SU officers in DCU?
    I don't even know what some of the DCU SU officers look like???

Photos of the SU officers are on the SU website, and many of them appear in Campus every week.
    I've also heard the DCU SU is a freeloader and doesn't subscribe to the Student unions of Ireland? Not sure how true that is but I heard it from a lecturer, so I'll take it as truth.

There's no group operating by the name "Student unions of Ireland"... do you mean Union of Students in Ireland (the USI)? If so do you know anything about the USI and why should DCU SU pay them for anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭gizmo

Right, I've cleaned up the spam and flaming in this thread. Anarking has been banned for numerous breaches of the charter. Any replies which directly referenced his posts were cleaned up too. This is clearly an important issue so the thread is staying open but please think before you post folks.

As for the situation itself, well it is pretty sad what's happened but I'd hardly call it a surprise. Business in the bar has been going downhill for the last 4 years with the only busy nights being the promotion nights. It is, unfortunately, a rather vicious circle - the bar won't improve without students going to it and people won't go unless the bar is improved, surely you can all see the problem with that.

That said, what landa mentioned before is also true, there have been many mistakes made which had nothing to do with the students or the SU and which, it appears, could have not been stopped by the latter.

That being said, it is once more an example of what something said to me awhile back, students won't miss the bar until it's gone. This, unfortunately, is becoming a reality but I really do wonder what will happen when it's gone. Whether there is enough outcry to bring it back is beside the point however, as it is the numbers that return which would determine whether it could stay.

There have been calls on the Life thread to explain exactly what has been going on behind the scenes that has led to this situation so I'll refrain from expressing my opinions till then but in the meantime, ask yourselves the question that was put forward at the start of the thread, what would it take to bring you (and other people) back to the bar, and I mean specifically and within reason. :)

First off well done Gizmo. Here's a new suggestion.

What if the bar was only open during the day (not after let's say 6) and the Tuesday night like the SU have gone with? Maybe 2 to 6 everyday? That would bring some atmosphere into DCU during the day. What do the rest of you think?

monument wrote: »
    Have you ever tried to approach any of the SU officers in DCU?

There's no group operating by the name "Student unions of Ireland"... do you mean Union of Students in Ireland (the USI)? If so do you know anything about the USI and why should DCU SU pay them for anything?
    Yes I did, and I found them to be hard to get to, unresponsive, and had a pretty bad experience all round.

And wtf, Students union of Ireland, Union of Students in Ireland, same ****ing diff, did you read my post, I said I was told it by a lecturer, so I haven't exactly read up on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭public_enemy

What if the bar was only open during the day (not after let's say 6) and the Tuesday night like the SU have gone with? Maybe 2 to 6 everyday? That would bring some atmosphere into DCU during the day. What do the rest of you think?

I don't think it would be very successful. Most people don't drink during the day, especially when they still have lectures at that time. However, I suppose if they started serving decent/affordable food again then it could potentially be a viable alternative to the canteen during those hours.

Having no bar at all open after 6 every day but Tuesday would still kinda suck, even if it's a little better than what's currently being proposed.

off topic
    And wtf, Students union of Ireland, Union of Students in Ireland, same ****ing diff, did you read my post, I said I was told it by a lecturer, so I haven't exactly read up on it.

Sorry i probably should go on the previous quote, but heh, The USI are the irish body that cover students unions yes, but they do sweet feck all when it comes to students, you may hear about them now because of the fees debacle but other than that... When i was in dit there was actually talk of voting out of it... The main reason for not being in USI is that a fee is required to be associated...

However, if you do feel strongly about this, and you feel that it is a DCU Students right to be a member of USI, you can have them call a referendum on it...
    Article 5 Section 1 of the DCUSU Constitution States,

5.1 A referendum on any issue may be called at the request of any of the
     following:

Executive

The Council

2% or more of Union membership by way of petition submitted to the
     President or the Chairperson of the Council.

Thats a 200 student petition, less actually,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 aintnosunshine

I agree with public enemy just look at any other university bar they all serve food.. People go in about 1ish eat maybe a pint and a game of pool!! (In WIT everyone goes to the bar at lunch time to watch home and away it's like a religion down there).

there is also nowhere to eat after 6pm so why not get people to go to the bar it will keep people around the campus and gives people somwhere to unwind!! it is a disgrace that a university can's sustain a bar!! I tihnk the key is to serve decent food.

Ucd can do it for €5.50 a meal (€6 for the roast) i know they have economies of scale but people will pay up to €8-9 even do an offer of dinner and a pint it will defo bring life back to the student bar!

I agree with public enemy just look at any other university bar they all serve food.. People go in about 1ish eat maybe a pint and a game of pool!! (In WIT everyone goes to the bar at lunch time to watch home and away it's like a religion down there).

there is also nowhere to eat after 6pm so why not get people to go to the bar it will keep people around the campus and gives people somwhere to unwind!! it is a disgrace that a university can's sustain a bar!! I tihnk the key is to serve decent food.

Ucd can do it for €5.50 a meal (€6 for the roast) i know they have economies of scale but people will pay up to €8-9 even do an offer of dinner and a pint it will defo bring life back to the student bar!

They used to serve food in the nubar, and it was reasonably priced, but it didn't make more people come and it ran at a loss. Also, I don't think they have the money necessary to invest in that kind of plan.

Personally, I think it's a big challenge and I don't envy the union having the challenge of bringing the bar back to strength, without having very much money to invest in it. I think the only hope really is if people realise the bar won't improve unless they use it. If it was full all the time it was open this semester, then they would probably be able to fix a lot of things next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭KenHy

There was aways people in the new bar when they served food! If they didn't make a profit than it wasn't due to people not going.

Personally I would go more often if i could play a game of pool or sit down with a pint (in a glass!) to talk. All that would require would be to manage the pool tables properly as well as put in a few tables. They could play music at levels that allow people to talk as well. Food would be good too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭Paddy-Megans-Lo

It was obvious from the state of the place and the complete emptiness of it the past few months that nothing good was coming out of the bar to be honest. Its hypocritcal, yes, to be only now trying to save the bar, but thats because when we had the bar, we didn't need to save it. But now it's everyones problem. It's a part of college life, so people should have some pride in their bar. Going to the slipper down the road or into town just isn't the same.
    As has been mentioned in the discussion before, a bit of pride in the bar and focusing on it's potential is the simple start that it needs!

Some of my suggestions, most of which probably won't work, but i'll add to the brainstorm:

-Two bouncers is definitely not a necessity. It's intimidating and a waste of money. One is enough.

-I second the idea of students or postgrads running the bar as staff. It would give a better atmosphere and would bring in friends of the staff and in turn, custom.

-In regards to the big bands that the SU book and the performances which I suppose the pay horrendous amounts for. I mean... yeah it's nice and creates a bit of buzz about the place and about the events but like, is it really necessary? It's a bit of a novelty to be honest.

Take the christmas ball... Mickey Joe Harte and Slade? Ok but both of which are hardly even relevant these days?? Slade were good and it was fun but big acts and names are not gonna make the bar a success, especially when the big acts were 'big' five, ten, twenty years ago?
    We are college students?? We do everything on the cheap. Come on - an i-pod speaker on shuffle would amuse us for HOURS!! Even a CD on in the background or a tv playing Bubblehits or TMF or something would create an atmosphere on it's own!
    I'm sure there are even a handful of students who DJ who would offer relevant, new and good music as a service for much much less money.

- Drinks promotions are KEY. Talk to ANY college student. We will drink the most vile tasting muck to get drunk, if it's cheap alcohol.
    We will go to the most dingiest, run-down smelly place, if it's cheap alcohol! And at that, most college students are accustomed to drinking the cheaper beers and ciders so.. serve them? And after one or two, everything starts tasting mildly similar anyway..
    Fair enough bulmers or guinness might not be put on special promotion... well put hackenbug or cashels on special. More often than not, people will drink the cheaper brand name to save money. Offer shot packages. 5 shots for 10/12 euro.

Let's focus on the point of the bar here - alcohol, lots and lots of cheap alcohol. You have to be focused and clever about this. This bar has to rival getting drunk with your friends in an apartment. We have to figure out ways to make it much more enticing!

- Entertainment can be so easily created. Open mic nights. Get the clubs and socs involved - dance soc, music soc etc. put in a jukebox. Think tacky package holiday entertainment, think gaeltacht activites. With enough drink people will create their own entertainment. Sometimes the tackiest and cheesiest things can be so much fun, especially after a few drinks. sort out the pool table situation.
    It just takes a bit of being innovation really.

What we need is a group of strong, quick-thinking, pro-active people who are not messing about this to really get it off the ground again. People who know what needs to be done and IS going to get it done.
    The SU seem to be making an effort in my eyes anyway. We don't know what they do behind the scenes but I would definitely argue that they are doing more then doing less about the situation behind closed doors.

big +1 on the bouncers. I realise there's trouble with the license and such and that's why they need to have this system of bar members and having bouncers, but surely one (friendlier, if at all possible) would be enough.

I have to agree that the best method now would be to aim for cheap drink and any kind of innovative cheap form of entertainment.

Paddy-Megans-Lo, has pretty much described the bar in its heyday when Mark Power held the lease and Johnny Mac managed it, or near enough to it. Trispace killed the bar, :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

Anyone go last night? feed back?

Heard it was ok but pints were full price :-/ and in plastic cups

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Nothingcompares

I was there. Finished classes at 4ish headed over to the bar then but it wasn't open (as usual) until 5. Went to the slipper for a few. Came back around 6ish go asked for a STudent ID. About 50/60 people there. Good athmosphere. More and more people came along as the night progressed. Music started soon after, very loud. BAnd did a sound check, very annoying. Band played about an hour later, were pretty good. Hard to talk to people, very loud.

Pints of Amstel were 3.50, paulaner was 4.50 (which ran out). Cocktails were 5 euro (sex on the beach plus 2 others). OTher pints were normal price. Didn't have to queue long at the bar. Some nice people came in and gave out pizzas.

All in all a good night, i went home at 11 due to bus issue and no more money issue.

So very positive in my opinion.

However - if you wanted to go for one or two pints with your classmates I'm not sure I'd go to the student bar. As I've said a few times, the music was very loud and there wasn't much seating.

If i wanted to go on a good session and drink loads I'm not sure I'd go to the student bar either. Have a few cans in the apartment etc. head into the student bar for an hour or two and at 11 you'd have to make a move townwards.

What time does it stop serving?