Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do Dubs call the guards "police"?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,090 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Being from Dublin, I say cops.
    Um... EAST YANK!!! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

I call them "The five-oh" or "The pork".

I was crappy at Irish when I was in school.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 726 ✭✭✭Mr. Frost

jmbkay wrote: »
    Please. This is is not the US of A

Neither is Canada or Australia or any number of countries. Maybe you should mail them to remind them. :rolleyes:

The heat!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

A passer-by witnessed the cold blooded gangland murder:

"I woz di-aune dere when it happened, roi'? I heard de screamin' n' shoutin', roi', n' called de poliss, roi'?

Am I goin' to be on the telly, wha'?"

• Registered Users Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

A passer-by witnessed the cold blooded gangland murder:

"I woz di-aune dere when it happened, roi'? I heard de screamin' n' shoutin', roi', n' called de poliss, roi'?

Am I goin' to be on the telly, wha'?"

Oh and is this character's name wouldnt happen to be Anto or Deco would it? What a dissarmingly original fictional account there. Ireland has just found its answer to Stephen Fry.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Oh and is this character's name wouldnt happen to be Anto or Deco would it? What a dissarmingly original fictional account there. Ireland has just found its answer to Stephen Fry.

Ah, how quaintly sarcastic! Yes, and with such sterling wit from our dear Alan Davis, we move onto the infernal leviathon that is General Ignorance, fingers on the buzzers, please.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭JCDUB

Feds.

That's how we roll in Santry anyways :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭tony 2 tone

I thought it was just people on boards calling them police.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

[Jackass] wrote: »
    Dublin is part of Britain. The police ensure that the paddy cu*nts don't get into our country....By the way, why do country folk refer to their cousins as "My wife"? :confused:
    Theres a lot more inbreeding goes on in housing estates in Dublin than youd care to realise.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

[Jackass] wrote: »
    Dublin is part of Britain. The police ensure that the paddy cu*nts don't get into our country....By the way, why do country folk refer to their cousins as "My wife"? :confused:
    Shup up.
    darkdubh wrote: »
    Theres a lot more inbreeding goes on in housing estates in Dublin than youd care to realise.

You too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭freire

^^ proper order.

• Registered Users Posts: 82,167 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

dibble
    rozzers
    cozzers
    filth
    pigs
    bluebottles
    5'o
    feds
    peelers
    Black and Whites
    Worlds Largest Gang
    Wife Beaters
    Officer Friendly
    Long arm of The Law
    Private Dicks
    assholes

• Registered Users Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

From the inside of a holding cell: "Osser*, giz a light".

*Officer.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

but it's not "guards" as in security guards... it's "gards" as in gardai...
    creggy wrote: »
    the gards.
    Gordon wrote: »
    At least spell it Gards if you can't type Gardaí - spelling it with a u is a tad hypocritical.

No such thing as Gards. You can't add an S to pluralise an Irish word. That's what í is for (or aí or anna)

Singular: Garda (An Garda Siochana)

Plural: Gardaí

English: Guards/ Police/ Guardians of the Peace

Nonsense: Gards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭freire

Lil Kitten wrote: »
    No such thing as Gards.

Who are those polite dudes in uniform with the nice attitude you see about the place?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭emzolita

robby^5 wrote: »
    pfft I call them the 5-0 homeboy, or the po-lice knowwhaimsayin?

makes me sick..

• Registered Users Posts: 10,513 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

emzolita wrote: »
    makes me sick..

Harsh on the Guards!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

Only REAL G's call them Jakes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 ToeRag881

Word up dun.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

Hagar wrote: »
    Woolybacks are sheep.
    Sometimes country folk are referred to as woolybacks due to neanderthal-like hairy torsos.
    It is also common in the males. :P
    Mr. Frost wrote: »
    ...''comin' straight from da undaground..." :pac:

Woolybacks= culchies! :pac: Was only joking before anyone gets offended!

Haha , okay, never heard that phrase before. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Overheal wrote: »
    dibble
    rozzers
    cozzers
    filth
    pigs
    bluebottles
    5'o
    feds
    peelers
    Black and Whites
    Worlds Largest Gang
    Wife Beaters
    Officer Friendly
    Long arm of The Law
    Private Dicks
    assholes

Tsk, forgot shades.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

When i was a young chap i used to call the Gardai, "Police Cops".

For some reason it made sense when said quickly and when you are young.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Hazys wrote: »
    When i was a young chap i used to call the Gardai, "Police Cops".

"And that's the end of that chapter." ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

freire wrote: »
    Who are those polite dudes in uniform with the nice attitude you see about the place?

Postmen?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭ArphaRima

The Gardai are a police force. Perfectly legit to call them police.

For those who love sources and quotes..
    www.dictionary.com
    Police
    any body of people officially maintained or employed to keep order, enforce regulations, etc.
    an organized civil force for maintaining order, preventing and detecting crime, and enforcing the laws.

www.garda.ie
    An Garda Siochana
    Irelands National Police Service.

Police.
    Garda Siochana.

I call them a lot worse.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭Dubliner28

I lived in Dublin for 21 years and never heard anyone call them police.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

who the hell are all these aliens saying they have never heard anyone called the guards 'the police'?

They are a police force, ergo its perfectly acceptable to call them the police as well as the guards.

I hear both all the time. I use both all the time.

Stop being silly.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

Dustaz wrote: »
    who the hell are all these aliens saying they have never heard anyone called the guards 'the police'?

They are a police force, ergo its perfectly acceptable to call them the police as well as the guards.

I hear both all the time. I use both all the time.

Stop being silly.

Exactamundo maybe if this mysterious bunch of "Dubs" were going round calling the police/garda the army or maybe calling them firemen, then i could understand the problem but they are the national police force therefore they happen to be eh now what word might describe a person or people from a police force hmmmmmmmmm eh maybe the police :confused::confused: