Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do Dubs call the guards "police"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭Four-Percent

but it's not "guards" as in security guards... it's "gards" as in gardai...

http://www.focal.ie/Search.aspx?term=guard

guard=garda
    therefore guards= gardaí

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

but it's not "guards" as in security guards... it's "gards" as in gardai...

It's An Garda or Gardaí.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

The uncivilised/ unwashed say 'guards'.

Context: "Get de fúck off me lennd boy, or I'll get de gyarrds fer ye / shoot ye'

Context: "Gerraway frum dah bleedin washin line ye pervo, or I'll ge d fookin Gards far ye"

Police / Gardaí ftw. Regardless of what you call them, they're a farce.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 180 ✭✭reggiethefirst

I've always referred to them as "Cops."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

"Your Guardaship" usually gets me off with a warning!..

Mmmm, I think I usually refer to the Guards and 'Guards' but I do know alot of people who refer to them as 'police'.

Why do boggers refer to Garda stations as 'the barracks'?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭Pen1987

Abigayle wrote: »

Police / Gardaí ftw. Regardless of what you call them, they're a farce.

The Pi-lease Farce to some people.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Jayperz lads! I'm after gettin egg all over me bleedin' face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Shacklebolt

Mairt wrote: »
    Why do boggers refer to Guarda stations as 'the barracks'?.

Because thats what RIC stations were known as and the name has stuck even though Garda stations are nothing like the militarised RIC stations.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

I call them Gardaí, and I'm from Dublin.

In fact every single Dub I know calls them Gardaí.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

You north or south Holston?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,483 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

It's actually "the ****in' gards".

• Registered Users Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

What about their cars?
    I always call them Police cars , am I wrong?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,560 ✭✭✭Woden

Yeah you're wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I call them the Rozzers

• Registered Users Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭neil_hosey

darkdubh wrote: »
    I always notice on the news whenever theres a shooting or murder In Dublin and they interview bystanders they always refer to the "police" rather than the guards.They havent been offically called that since 1922 so i wonder why this is.You dont get it anywhere else in the country.

why do you refer to the Gardaí as the guards?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

K-Jet wrote: »
    Being a 'Dub' myself I don't think I've ever heard people call the Guards 'The Police'. Sure what has Sting and the rest of them got to do with An Garda Siochana anyway?

LOL.
    Great stuff.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 11,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭icdg

darkdubh wrote: »
    I always notice on the news whenever theres a shooting or murder In Dublin and they interview bystanders they always refer to the "police" rather than the guards.They havent been offically called that since 1922 so i wonder why this is.You dont get it anywhere else in the country.

Actually, they kept the name "police" in Dublin for a few more years. The RIC was abolished in 1922 but the DMP in Dublin continued on until both were amalgated in 1926. And even now, we still have the Airport Police and Harbour Police both of which exist indepently of An Garda Siochana.

In relation to calling An Garda Siochana "the guards", that stems from the force's original name of the Civic Guard (renamed after only one year in 1923), and the fact that the entry grade was referred to as "Guard" until the 1980s when it became officially "Garda"

I challenge you to find anyone who refers to them as "An Garda Siochana" in casual conversation though, to most people its "the guards" or "the Gardaí" (even though using "Garda" as plural is allowed).

• Registered Users Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

Is this how petty its getting.. We already had a 'who hates Dublin' thread where enough idiots where exposed for their ignorant views towards Dublin and Dubs. And now there's this, 'oh you call the gardai 'police' wow you dubs are the anti-irish'!

We get it, a lot of folks here from all over the country dont like us, but really threads like this are just sad and embarrasing to those on here who've no problem with Dubs.

They even call themselves a police service www.garda.ie :pac:
    An Garda Síochána. Ireland's National Police Service

• Registered Users Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

Real dubs call them the Peelers...
    peelers or [bobbies] was the system was introduced in the uk in 1829 [robert peels government] i used to think gardai was a irish name untill i first went to spain when it was still under franco and found out the army [marching the goose step] around the streets also are called the gardai

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭brosps

police is a noun.

"the regulation and control of a community, esp. for the maintenance of public order, safety, health, morals, etc."

Anyone who claims that this is not a correct word in irish culture clearly has their di,ck so far up their sisters arse they cant think beyond blind nationalism.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,089 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

They even call themselves a police service www.garda.ie :pac:

Was surprised it took that long for someone to point out what they actually call themselves.

robinph wrote: »
    Was surprised it took that long for someone to point out what they actually call themselves.

So was I... Just found this thread ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Spoody

I'm from Wicklow and I call them the police. Am I having an identity crisis?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

i just call them useless :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

What about their cars?
    I always call them Police cars , am I wrong?
    You've been wrong ever since you lost the "H".

They're called squad cars.

• Registered Users Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Kiera wrote: »
    You've been wrong ever since you lost the "H".

They're called squad cars.

Ah, yeah Kiera , I know that .
    But I thought the " Proper Name " was a Police Car.:pac:

Why are people so caught up on the "H"?:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Ah, yeah Kiera , I know that .
    But I thought the " Proper Name " was a Police Car.:pac:

Why are people so caught up on the "H"?:eek:
    Its just...... You've changed, SS :o

• Registered Users Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Imperialist enforcement unit.
    Oppressive cog of the machine.
    The Constabulary.
    Bipedal Porcines.

It doesn't matter what you call them as long as there's a suitable level of contempt :rolleyes:.

Don't know anyone who doesn't use Gardai or G(u)ards.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

I have heard Dubs call them Pigs and Scummers but never the police.