Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things that are a total waste of money

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

IvaBigWun wrote: »
    So the recession is here eh? And isnt it just all a focking shambles?

Anyway, is these crunching times what do you think is a total waste of money?

For me:

Sky +. No explanation needed.

So wrong.
    The "No explanation needed" explains a lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 kerryman87

CFL Bulbs.
    Cocaine
    Cinema
    Kerry Spring :rolleyes:
    TV License
    Max Sky/NTL Subscriptions

Shares in Anglo Irish Bank :D

• Registered Users Posts: 11,262 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Ruu wrote: »
    Wedding rings, 3 times your monthly salary me bollix. Not just in recession times.

Women are mad if they expected that... even at the going rate of €600 it would be mad!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,691 ✭✭✭ciaran76

1 cent coins are a waste of money!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 837 ✭✭✭CutzEr

RAM from Maplins (It's €100 in Maplins, €20 on play.com WTF??)

Novelty USB gadgets. I mean when the hell are you going to use a usb pencil sharpener..

Also, W.O.W./RuneScape. Oh great, Pay €20/€7 a month to play with some horny fat teenagers :P

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,046 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

CutzEr wrote: »
    Novelty USB gadgets. I mean when the hell are you going to use a usb pencil sharpener..
    That reminds me, must get one of those usb fondu kits.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭dSTAR

Rent.

Interest rates go down but rent STILL goes up.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,651 ✭✭✭Captain Slow IRL

Moonbaby wrote: »
    Just wait a couple of decades, to see what you make of the effects of using sandpaper grade bog roll on your most delicate aera.
    Then you'll be in a postion to comment on the value of fancy toilet paper.

Sandpaper is for pussies (pun intended), brillo pads ftw.

• Registered Users Posts: 370 ✭✭MaxFlower

anniehoo wrote: »
    Try spendin a fiver on tampax now thats painful! Even worse is askin the latvian garage attendant for them behind the counter when 3 blokes are in the queue behind ya ad you've only 4.90 in your purse!:o:o

You think its bad for you - What a dilema for the poor Latvian dude. Do I let her off the 10cent or not. Will she go stratospheric if I don't give her the plugs. All the while the three boyos in the queue are praying there won't be a 'medical emergency'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭togster

Cigarettes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭ebmma

Just wait a couple of decades, to see what you make of the effects of using sandpaper grade bog roll on your most delicate aera.

Seriously??? If something doesn't feel like you are wiping your ass with flannel doesn't make it sandpaper.

My ass can testify for that. Affordable recycled toilet paper FTW!

Ruu wrote: »
    Wedding rings, 3 times your monthly salary me bollix. Not just in recession times.

emmm...You can just get cheaper rings.

"Cheaper" as in nice and affordable as opposed to "cheap and crap"

(do I even need to say this??)

• Registered Users Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

anniehoo wrote: »
    Worth every euro and then some ;)

+1 i feel sick everytime i see the stupid form

Try spendin a fiver on tampax now thats painful! Even worse is askin the latvian garage attendant for them behind the counter when 3 blokes are in the queue behind ya ad you've only 4.90 in your purse!:o:o
    musta really sucked that you couldnt offer sexual favours for the extra 10 cent:p

........wait maybe it did suck:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭WithCheesePlease

Bin bags.

You literally buy them and put them straight into the bin to throw away.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 20,862 Mod ✭✭✭✭inforfun

ebmma wrote: »
    Seriously??? If something doesn't feel like you are wiping your ass with flannel doesn't make it sandpaper.

My ass can testify for that. Affordable recycled toilet paper FTW!

Recycled ... and toilet paper in 1 sentence.

I dont know but it just doesnt sound right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭consultech

Paying immigrants to go home for 5 years.
    Paying social welfare to said Immigrants who fly in once a month to collect, then go home and collect domestically.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 168 ✭✭corkhero

Bottles while in a club.

More expensive than a pint and has less in it.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

corkhero wrote: »
    Bottles while in a club.

More expensive than a pint and has less in it.
    True but its much easier to keep how much youre drinkin in check

inforfun wrote: »
    Recycled ... and toilet paper in 1 sentence.

I dont know but it just doesnt sound right.

Try it :-)
    Tesco Eco-soft unbleached is good.

Actually, I was reading an article about people being uncomfortable with recycled toilet paper.
    One of the main reasons for it is the quality is assumed to be horrible, which is just not the case anymore.

oh, and it doesn't block toilets in houses with old plumbing :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

Then you'll be in a postion to comment on the value of fancy toilet paper.

Besides your man....do ye even buy toilet paper?

My blood simmered today to hear an for the latest bull****e diet product celebrity slim.
    Why do even do that to yourself?

Real men use a bidet, or a rag on a stick. Failing that, a free hand:eek:
    And the whole slimfast thing is great. Taking money from stupid people:pac:
    Weight loss is a long sustained process, not a fooking shake in a can.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

"Ring Ring Ring Ring Ring Ring Ring, Banana Phone"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭towel401

Naikon wrote: »
    Real men use a bidet, or a rag on a stick. Failing that, a free hand:eek:
    And the whole slimfast thing is great. Taking money from stupid people:pac:
    Weight loss is a long sustained process, not a fooking shake in a can.

whatever happened to using a fist o' grass?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭useful_contacts

OTT weddings. Go to the Registry Office .

you obviously dont have an overbearing mother in law who would disown her son if he didnt have a big church wedding:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭Reganio 2

Bottled water

• Closed Accounts Posts: 467 ✭✭Tupins

Those dishwasher tablets that you don't have to unwrap - because taking something out of it's wrapper is SUCH a chore!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Tupins wrote: »
    Those dishwasher tablets that you don't have to unwrap - because taking something out of it's wrapper is SUCH a chore!:rolleyes:

Some people with skin conditions find those very handy.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

javaboy wrote: »
    Some people with skin conditions find those very handy.

People missing Hand/s, Thumb/s more so.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

So the recession is here eh? And isnt it just all a focking shambles?

Anyway, is these crunching times what do you think is a total waste of money?

For me:

OTT weddings. Go to the Registry Office and have a weekend in Donegal to follow.

Boy Racers. Whats wrong with a 3 grand car?

State of the art HDTVs Can you really tell the difference enough to justify the extra cost between that and a normal one?

Sky +. No explanation needed.

Any herbal. alternative, holistic, homeopathic therapy or drug. There are a load of charlatans charging 50 quid an hour for utter sh!te.

Organic food. Meh. Grow your own.

Extended Warranties. Just say no.

Pets.

poor_people_lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Cormic

only someone who has never had sky+ could say it's a waste of money :p

Sky+ rocks.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

sky plus engineer less so. We're on our third box in a year and it's €100 each time he comes to replace it. Always happens just after the 90 day warranty is up!