Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things that are a total waste of money

• Registered Users Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

The War in Iraq:rolleyes:

Fancy toilet paper - you're literally flushing money down the toilet.

Just wait a couple of decades, to see what you make of the effects of using sandpaper grade bog roll on your most delicate aera.
    Then you'll be in a postion to comment on the value of fancy toilet paper.

Besides your man....do ye even buy toilet paper?

My blood simmered today to hear an for the latest bull****e diet product celebrity slim.
    Why do even do that to yourself?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

The Government - lets sack the lot of them.

+ Their advisors \ Quangos . :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

IvySlayer wrote: »
    TV license.
    The Government - lets sack the lot of them.

QFT.

Both are completely incompetent and yet we "have" to pay for them.

Bastards.

• Registered Users Posts: 245 ✭✭gandhi123

• Registered Users Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

Sweetcorn. All it is is yellow poo-decoration.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,262 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Electricity.

Few sods of turf on the fire with a big kettle to hanging over it for the tae, a few candles and a horny wife.... tis all you need!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Cloak rooms in night clubs, €2 to leave you coat in WTF.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭towel401

gandhi123 wrote: »

i think my ma did once. not sure though. maybe someone on boards bought it for her. it had a nice smell off it though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Senna wrote: »
    Cloak rooms in night clubs, €2 to leave you coat in WTF.

• Registered Users Posts: 44 uiscebeatha

Here in Germany there's an English shop in Cologne where you can get things that you can't generally buy here like salt and vinegar crisps, barry's tea. baked beans, malt vinegar etc.....

Probably over-priced but if ya tasted the sh!te tea they have here!!!:eek:

What I think is hilarious though is that for a postage fee of between €10.99 and €21.99 they will ship your order to the U.K.

can't see the logic of spending double the price plus postage on things that are all in the local shop... or that tesco will deliver for a fraction of the cost! :rolleyes:

http://www.english-shop.de/shipping.php?osCsid=c7cfa175dca6ce24fd2892aeeba5da19

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,568 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Eircom broadband service - RIP-OFF BIG TIME!

Back away from it as soon as possible.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 90,747 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Politicians

• Registered Users Posts: 8,201 ✭✭✭ongarite

OP obviously doesn't have fancy HDTV or Sky+.
    Sky+ is one of the best consumer electronics inventions of the 21st century.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,046 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Solid gold suits. I spend way too much money on them.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Solid gold suits. I spend way too much money on them.

Yeah but the caviar wipes clean off them so you probably save on cleaning bills in the end.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,046 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

javaboy wrote: »
    Yeah but the caviar wipes clean off them so you probably save on cleaning bills in the end.
    I only eat solid gold, diamond encrusted caviar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭deleriumtremens

Food. Just metabolize your own organs FFS.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

Designer clothes, Starbucks coffee, Brand new cars, New video games, DVD's, Music, Gym membership, heating bills, Marks & Spencers food, Taxis....I could go on and on...

• Registered Users Posts: 441 ✭✭Alicano

mobby wrote: »
    Electric tooth brush :D

Got one for birthday last dec..have had a hollywood smile ever since!
    Totally worth it.:D

€3.95 yesterday for a feckin skinny hazelnut latte in starbucks - WTF???

My dad was paying though :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Wedding rings, 3 times your monthly salary me bollix. Not just in recession times.

3 times your salary???
    it's a bleedin recession, we'll just about be able to afford the barm brack!!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

Newspapers ............Want to hear the latest news ?

Go to www.boards.ie

• Registered Users Posts: 6,596 ✭✭✭anniehoo

IvaBigWun wrote: »
    Pets.
    Worth every euro and then some ;)
    galwayrush wrote: »
    Car Tax.:(

+1 i feel sick everytime i see the stupid form

Try spendin a fiver on tampax now thats painful! Even worse is askin the latvian garage attendant for them behind the counter when 3 blokes are in the queue behind ya ad you've only 4.90 in your purse!:o:o

Go to www.boards.ie

yeh always up to date!
    http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055463098

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,802 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Ruu wrote: »
    Wedding rings, 3 times your monthly salary me bollix. Not just in recession times.
    3 ?

I always thought it was 1.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,802 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Go to www.boards.ie
    Well yes boards has all the news but why pay for a newspaper when you can read them online...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭GirlInterrupted

IvaBigWun wrote: »
    So the recession is here eh? And isnt it just all a focking shambles?

Anyway, is these crunching times what do you think is a total waste of money?

For me:

OTT weddings. Go to the Registry Office and have a weekend in Donegal to follow.

Boy Racers. Whats wrong with a 3 grand car?

State of the art HDTVs Can you really tell the difference enough to justify the extra cost between that and a normal one?

Sky +. No explanation needed.

Any herbal. alternative, holistic, homeopathic therapy or drug. There are a load of charlatans charging 50 quid an hour for utter sh!te.

Organic food. Meh. Grow your own.

Extended Warranties. Just say no.

Pets.

In total agreement until that one.
    I will add:

Pot pourri
    Tarot cards
    Horoscopes
    Pilgrimages
    Any book by Cecelia Ahern or her ilk
    Women's magazines
    Most coffee machines
    Breadmakers
    Any kitchen gadget that gets used less than twice a week
    Anything that claims to reduce wrinkles/eyebags/make you younger/sexier/thinner/more fascinating.
    Self-help books
    Fake tans
    Fake nails

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

A lot of ye have mentioned products that can be got for cheap if you just shop around ;)

For me it's Electronics in Ireland... way too expensive... :(