Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Student residences???

• 14-01-2009 8:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 665 ✭✭✭

Going to Nuig in Sept, dont know where to live yet?? i think i have been put off corrib village already though! any ideas??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,001 ✭✭✭p1akuw47h5r3it

Going to Nuig in Sept, dont know where to live yet?? i think i have been put off corrib village already though! any ideas??

There should be a thd sticky based on accomadation. There's loads of threads based on people wanting to find out about accommodation (me included).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 665 ✭✭✭english4490

There should be a thd sticky based on accomadation. There's loads of threads based on people wanting to find out about accommodation (me included).
    what thd?? this is going to be something really obvious?!

What you mean. I don't understand???:confused:

what does "thd" mean????

ye.

Basically what I'm saying is there should be a sticky thread alomg the lines of " Your experiences of the S. Acomms." or something like that. There's loads of threads based on accommodation. I started one so I'm not moaning by thye way:):D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

Good idea every 4th thread is about best places to live etc.

kevmy wrote: »
    Good idea every 4th thread is about best places to live etc.
    So have you any advice on accomadation so??

I'm applying to Corrib Village as I'm not in colledge. It's getting mixed reviews. Ppl agree that it's not luxury but that's it's party central. It depends on what you want and I don't beleive C.V can be too bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 ShineadyRyan

Corrib Village is a Kip!!!!! I lived there in first year....yeah it's party central but seriously...you wouldn't let your dog live there!!! Have a look at gort na coiribe across the bridge, there's a good buzz around there.. Stay away from cuirt na coiribe - ive heard its really strict!!!

ya what i have heard it is dive! i would say i would like it for 2 weeks then get fair sick of it! ive heard its all house parties and what not becuse there is a load of under 18's who cant get in anywhere in town! gort does look much nicer and its not much father away! ive stayed in cuirt for the summer, its very nice but ya everyone said very strict!! wud gort be a good place for 1st yrs or wud it be maily for 2nd and 3rd yrs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 ShineadyRyan

There are alot of 2nd and 2rd yrs in Gort but I'm a second yr living with a first yr girl. It's grand like....Yeah house parties are grand in corrib but they don't go on all night, security it tight enough on non-residents and everyone just heads into town to the clubs!! ---I know cause I was underage until May!!!!:rolleyes::)

ya i am really thinkin of gort, cuirit ive stayed in before its very nice but i hear also very strict... would 1st yrs be very isolated living in gort? corrib is a kip but wud yuo regret not living there??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭EuskalHerria

If you are a fsrt year student go to corrib, i'm a first year this year and regret not going down there and meeting a few fellow first years, its where every forst year goes and the craic you have down there is unbelievable.

If you really think about it your not looking for your first home, your in the mix with a load of fellow first years who are just delighted to have their own independace and have the craic, worry about finding a decent place next year, go to corrib or you will regret it:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭Mallox

If you are a fsrt year student go to corrib, i'm a first year this year and regret not going down there and meeting a few fellow first years, its where every forst year goes and the craic you have down there is unbelievable.

If you really think about it your not looking for your first home, your in the mix with a load of fellow first years who are just delighted to have their own independace and have the craic, worry about finding a decent place next year, go to corrib or you will regret it:)
    ya i was thinkin you would make all your friends in corrib so ill prob go there .. does anyone know if the prices will come down due to recession haha ??? renting seems so much cheaper ... by the way can you get away with having people up to stay at ur apartment at d weekends or is dat too hard to do ??? in corrib village now is wat im talkin bout

Well corrib is a dump from the looks of things! anyone i have talked to thinks it was ok in 1st yr but they were really happy to leave! ive stayed in gort and i know its much nicer, and just sligtly cheaper! its also much nearer to town which does not seem to be a problem for a lot of people in corrib village as many are still only 17 and not going out in town! ill be turnin 20 during my 1st yr in galway like!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭Twinkle-star15

I'm applying for Gort na Coiribe anyway, it sounds much nicer than the other ones. Good to hear people who live there like it too! Cuirt sounded way too strict- even my mam was against it when she found out they lock the balcony doors permanently! What are the rules like in Gort? Is it any good for first years?

ya i know what you mean! i am hoping to go to gort too... ive stayed in both corrib village and cuirt! cuirt is pretty nice but its far too strict to live in as a student! i just hope if i go to gort that there will be other 1st years??? there will be other first years?????!!!:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 orright?

there will be other first years?????!!!:eek:

There'll be me anyway.

orright? wrote: »
    There'll be me anyway.
    Woo hoo 1!! u moving in alone or is there a group of ye>?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

I dunno where to live! and when is anybody putting in a deposit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 subnation

You can live with me!! Dunno where I'm gonna live either. Looking forward to partyin da **** outta galway... even tho goin back to college for second time. The real world sucks major donkey dick!! ANyone know what the major knacker holes in galway are, don't wanna move into a total dodge pit. :P

I dunno where to live! and when is anybody putting in a deposit?
    story of my life!! u thinking of a house or student accomadation?

you would think that in these times of recession the price of the student accomodation would come dwon like look at renting in the area has fallen by 3% and more .. its very unfair if you ask me

story of my life!! u thinking of a house or student accomadation?

I haven't a clue, I just decided I'm going to galway and I live really far away so I probably won't get to go look and stuff

Rang gort this morning and they are booked out for 2009/2010! they have a big waiting list and its gettin bigger... there go my living plans for next yr....:mad:

Yea found that out not so long ago too... disappointed. Reckon gonna just have to find a student house around somewhere, maybe newcastle. But dont know much about the areas around NUIG.

corrib village anyone?

Dunno, thats at awful lot of money to be paying for a complete dump!

i had planned on going gort which is now booked out... fantastic.. corrib village is looking like the place im going to end up but it looks like a dive!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭laoise09

Wouldn't recommend Corrib Village. Cuirt na Coiribe & Gort na Coiribe are good residences but you should try Donegan Court - really close to the college - about 5 minutes to the main entrance. close to the city centre too. its a small residence. http://www.nuigalway.ie/student_services/accommodation_office/documents/donegan_court.doc

laoise09 wrote: »
    Wouldn't recommend Corrib Village. Cuirt na Coiribe & Gort na Coiribe are good residences but you should try Donegan Court - really close to the college - about 5 minutes to the main entrance. close to the city centre too. its a small residence. http://www.nuigalway.ie/student_services/accommodation_office/documents/donegan_court.doc

ya its a great location, i stayed there for a week a few summers ago, iting donegan court. is there many students there? and are they all 2nd and 3rd yrs???

ya corrib is way too overpriced alrite .. ya i was wonderin if you were to rent a house wat areas should you be looking at newcastle is one is there anymore .. is daft.ie d best place to search or would i be better off ringin the accommodation office??

Mallox wrote: »
    ya corrib is way too overpriced alrite .. ya i was wonderin if you were to rent a house wat areas should you be looking at newcastle is one is there anymore .. is daft.ie d best place to search or would i be better off ringin the accommodation office??
    look on daft, there is some n but most houses wont be on it again till the summer or near to it!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭Ardscoil Ris

I'm hoping to move into Donegan Court, but I need one more person. Maybe two. Anybody interested? PM me if your are.

I'm not a rapist or murderer. :P

I'm hoping to move into Donegan Court, but I need one more person. Maybe two. Anybody interested? PM me if your are.

I'm not a rapist or murderer. :P

ya i am looking at donegan now, i have been there before its nice and the location is class. but is it really just 2nd and 3rd yrs??

Don't think so. I know if you wave "I do Law" they seen to relax the rule.

Try their website. If that was a rule it would say something about it there.

Don't think so. I know if you wave "I do Law" they seen to relax the rule.

Try their website. If that was a rule it would say something about it there.
    haha im planning on doing corporate law! ya nothing on the website, but in practice is it mostly 2nd or 3rd yrs that live there i wonder??

just applied to corrib village woo :D:D:D .. going to live with two other friends .. one of them knows someone who works in corrib village so were gonna hopefully all live together in the same apartment next year .. cant wait .. :D too much sorry

Mallox wrote: »
    just applied to corrib village woo :D:D:D .. going to live with two other friends .. one of them knows someone who works in corrib village so were gonna hopefully all live together in the same apartment next year .. cant wait .. :D too much sorry

aint that just cute, it'l be fun to see how this "friend" works things out.!:)

haha im planning on doing corporate law! ya nothing on the website, but in practice is it mostly 2nd or 3rd yrs that live there i wonder??

I know I was talking to you in the Corp Law thread. I do Corp Law as well. That's why I said throw it out.

oh yes you were, thanks for that! how you finding the course now?? oh and in your opinion how bad is corrib village???:eek:

Finding it grand to be honest.

Corrib is an overpriced dump. All I can say really.

Finding it grand to be honest.

Corrib is an overpriced dump. All I can say really.

and would you recommend 1st yrs to live in theis dump or avoid it like the plague??:eek:

Depends on yourself. The place isn't going to kill you.

hmm. well i think its between Dunaras and donegan court now, which would you recommend overall? gort and cuirt are booked out sadly.

I don't really know Dunaras, but I hear good thing. Donegan is closer to college though.

ok last thing i swear!!! have u any idea is donegan just for older yrs? would a few 1st yrs be lost there?? just if u have any ideas... donegan is quiet small and unknown.. thanks!:)

If you get lost on your way from Donegan to college then your a spaz :p. It's down the road. 2 min walk in a straight line if your a fast walker. No idea if it's not taking first years.

ya i know where it is, but i meant i dont think its too popular with the 1st yrs! ok thanks anyways, galway here i come, i hope....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 vixen val

Hi everybody,

Im starting nuig in sept, and im looking for some guys/girls to share a house with in newcastle, my sis lived there during college and said its realy nice. im totally cool tolive with and real up for partying ;)