Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Running scared....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 Cualaman

Hi McConkey,
    Sorry to hear about your injury but dont let it get you down. Give yourself a chance to heal properely and you will be back in no time. The evenings are getting brighter and the weather is improving and all the hard work you have done in the last 5 or 6 weeks will stand to you when you get going again.
    Dont panic as its 251 days until the marathon so take your time and make sure you are ready before you go back running.
    I was up north at the weekend and treated myself to a Garmin 305 and so far its been really great although i am still trying to figure out how to use all the features i think it will be a great help with the training.
    So keep the faith you will be back in no time and flying again.
    Cualaman:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 506 ✭✭✭McConkey

Took yesterday as another rest day as I had a 9 hour shift and it was long enough to be standing on the leg I felt.

Headed off to the gym and pool in leisureland today, spent about 35 min doing widths of the pool and then spent about 30 min on the recumbant bike and another 5 min on the cross-trainer. Keeping it low impact. Ran a fitness test on the bike and got a 5/5 on that. No miles for me in the challenge but it felt good to get some exercise in, I missed it yesterday. Still limping somewhat although the temporary fix of Scholl arch supports has helped a lot. Had a little trip to the sauna and steamroom while I was there too :)

Not too sure when I can run again although I won't try anything till the limp is gone I suppose. Have physio again on Wed so a couple of more trips to the gym might be in order....

Haven't done anything besides walking on the leg at work for the last few days...still very sore with a lot of nerve pain :(

Went for a little walk today anyway, took it nice and slow, just 1.27 miles

Was a bit sore yesterday after the little walk on Sun so decided to leave it until I see the physio tomorrow. Limping a lot still so hopefully there'll be some good news and advice for me.

Time to ice again now...

Well, back from the physio, the pain!! Holy God, I was laughing with the pain cos I didn't want to shout, or cry for that matter. Turns out I had a very big pocket of fluid on my calf, tightening things up and generally getting in the way so she had to disperse it...oh man. She was pressing on it so hard at a couple of points that it felt like the bone would snap :eek: But it felt great once I stood up and walked around on it. Fair play to her. She was impressed with the condition of the heal anyway.

Story now is, go back in 2 weeks for follow-up, try to walk properly as I'm still limping so need to get that sorted. Seemingly I need to take more pain-killers than I have been taking and continue to ice. She gave me just the one stretch for now which I'm to do as many times as possible in the day. I'm allowed to swim up to 5 times a week and use the recumbant bike, and add cross-trainer from next week, all at low intensities. (time to join gym)

When I see her again I'll be referred on for orthotics and gait analysis (providing I'm walking ok by then) and she will be giving me a program to strengthen the knee and foot, and another for getting back out running-on grass first :)

Today getting around was certainly not as bad as the last few so there are signs of recovery-she said 4 weeks before i can run though-maybe we can change that when she sees me in two weeks time *crosses fingers*-toes already crossed due to crappy insoles :D

The bad news is she said it is going to be extremely sore tomorrow due to the work she did on it today :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭Peckham

McConkey wrote: »
    When I see her again I'll be referred on for orthotics and gait analysis (providing I'm walking ok by then) and she will be giving me a program to strengthen the knee and foot, and another for getting back out running-on grass first :)

Those physio treatments can be sore - many here will be able to relate to the pain!

Can the physio not do orthotics herself? I thought most physios did this.

Hi Peckham,
    I'm attending the college physio here, so the fee is greatly reduced from the norm and from what I can see this lady is working part time so I suspect that they do not have the facilities for anything more than the basics. They can do all the physical stuff and have ultrasound and the like but afaik they send these cases to the Bon Secours for this part of the treatment.

I had to have lung function tests done a few years ago and was also sent to the bons for that so maybe it's an arrangement that they sustain as it saves them buying more expensive kit that may only be used on and off. Its only e20 per session after the first consultation (E25) so I'd say money is probably the issue here. I will gladly pay if it means I can get back out running again :)

From reading the logs here I've seen people that have suffered a hell of a lot more than me (it wasn't too bad till she had to push all the fluid out of the muscle), last night I came across Honeymonsters infected toe/foot/body:confused: post from this time last year, how that girl can ever run again after that is an inspiration in itself. It felt so weird to be in so much pain and be wracked with laughter becasue of it!

Last few days off again-was working each day so don't want to put too much pressure on the leg. Still limping too.

Got to the gym today and joined up for one month, so will try to get there and the pool as often as I can for the next few weeks. Did 12 km on the bike, 2km on the cross trainer and tried a few minutes walking on the treadmill but it felt a bit sore so promptly jumped back off it-don't want to do too much too soon.

I can see it being a fair amount of time yet before the leg is good enough for running :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭Bally8

Hi McConkey hope your doing ok. Fair play to you for going to the gym and doing all that cross training. You know Im in a very similar situation and it would be so easy just to give up and do nothing. With time and a lot of patience we will be there at the start and finish of the Marathon. :)

Got to the gym this morning for a bit before work, just 20 min on the crosstrainer and 10 min on the bike but I have my induction and a fitness test in the morning so we'll get a plan into action for the rest of the month. Will try for a swim as well tomorrow.

Was limping and quite sore for the first part of the day but even though my legs were killing me all day I was actually able to walk properly for the first time in over two weeks this evening-maybe the limping has stopped and I'm on the mend *crosses fingers*

Back to the gym today for induction, thought they would be setting me up with a program but you have to book that seperately so will be back for that on saturday morning.

Did 10 min on the rowing machine to start, then 5.6 km on the bike then 5 min on the cross trainer, 1 mile walk on the treadmill, 10 more minutes on the cross trainer, another 10 on the bike (cardio) and 3 more on the rowing machine. Forgot the togs so no swim.

Seems my blood pressure is a bit low, body fat is fairly good, lung capacity is above capacity for the particular gym but could be improved I'd say. Weight today 10 st 3 lbs so have put on 3-3.5 lbs since I got injured.

Back from Ennis today so headed to the gym for a bit. Did 1 mile at 4.4 miles/h on the treadmill, then 25 min cardio on the bike (6.8 km), 3 min on the rower-just not fit for it tonight-think I'm getting blisters from it! :))

Then went for 10 min on the crosstrainer and that was it for the evening. Back to the gym in the morning for to get my program sorted so will do another work out then.

Leg have vastly improved-wore regular shoes tonight instead of trainers/hiking boots I've been wearing for the last month! All ok so far....physio again on Wed so hopefully will get the go ahead to start doing a bit more training of the running sort again soon :)

So....am a bit tipsy writing my log.....:)

Gym today for program, did 15 min on the cross trainer (cardio), a load of weights and stretches though not enough to qualify for a work out just samples of each machine for the program. Did 10/15 min on the bike....can't really remember now......and most importantly did 30 ish min on the treadmill, I even ran a little bit :) couldn't resist. Sleepy time now :)

Rest day today-too tired after my late night last night :)

2.2 miles on the treadmill yesterday btw :)

Another day off :confused: bad me

Gym again today,

10 min on the rower then a bunch of weights, then 20 min on the cross trainer, 10 min on the step machine, some more stretches 10 min on the bike and 1 mile on the treadmill (running and walking). More stretches.

Find I'm a bit sore from the weights, will take a few days to get into it like the running I suppose :)

Physio again today, she found my right calf a bit tight which I have found myself when on the treadmill. She gave it a rub down and did some ultrasound on it, felt a bit better at the time but a little sore now.

On the up side I am now allowed to run again but on grass to build up the milage. She has decided to go with a wait and see approach to the orthotics which I am happy enough with as my leg feels fine at the moment :)

Will head to the gym later for another session and perhaps try a three mile on the grass later-or as much of it as I can manage :) I think I've gone a bit soft after being inside these past few weeks.

Will keep an undate of how getting back running is going as regards this type of injury....

For now though WOO HOO :)

Back out for a run this evening-my first real one in quite a bit....did the first 1.5 miles at a local pitch, in the wind, rain and dark then headed off to the gym for a workout.

2.5 min on the rower to start, 1.5 miles on the treadmill (incl some fast walking), 10 min on the cross trainer, 5 min on the stepper, 7.5 min on the bike as well as stretches and weights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭Bally8

Well done McConkey great to see you recovering well:)

Nothing tonight due to being stuck at work late :(

2.5 miles today at the sports ground in Ennis....hard going, on grass and tarred paths...around 10min 45s/mile.....or even slower maybe!

Finished work late so was too late for the gym when I got back to Galway and was so tired when I got home :( Tomorrow I'll do my three miles (or maybe a little extra if I can) and will do a session at the gym too :)

Going white water rafting on the Tay in Scotland next Friday, can't wait :) Going to go to a running shop called Run 4 it in Edinburgh while I'm there and get gait analysis done....hopefully will be buying some new runners then, will be especially good if the euro stays stong till I can buy some sterling on Monday...

Headed out to Barna woods today and did a bit of running in the area 4 miles, though I see from my garmin that what I call running really only qualifies as slow-fast jogging :rolleyes:

10min 27s/mile pace....then straight off to the gym where I did 5 min on the rower, 1.1 miles on the treadmill, 10 min on the cross trainer, stretching and weights, 10 min on the bike and 5 min on the stepper. Was so hungry leaving the gym that I could have cried...need to keep some snacks in my bag I think :)

Back from Edinburgh, survived the white water rafting and would definately recommend it to any of the thrill seekers here....brilliant fun and excellent company operating it-even got a CD of photos from them at the end.

So, I haven't run since the 15th and have lost most of my motivation over the past number of weeks, so hoping to count tomorrow as the start of a new burst of training, with renewed enthusiasm and a fire under my arse-basically :D

Was chatting to a fellow poster here earlier and after hearing her firsthand account of the Connemarathon yesterday as well as some gentle encouragement to head for Achill, I think that will be my next race (if I don't count the MINI-marathon, since it really is quite crowded)

So time to reassess the game plan and swing into action to prepare for 13.1 miles on the 4th of July :eek:/:cool:???

Well my first day back was an Epic Fail!! Due to bad weather never made it out :(

Did 3.2 miles Wed, 3.1 miles Thurs and 3.4 miles on Fri. Nothing since though due to being out last night, will try for a few miles before work tomorrow :)

Well, just back from a 4.3 mile jog on a lovely night. 30 weeks to go to Dublin I've seen mentioned here so I'm going to call this week one again after coming back from injury, being away and generally falling off the running wagon the last few weeks.

Using the Garmin now for the runs and it's nice to have all the info-even if it continually points out that what I call running is just slow jogging :o I'm not sure I'll ever be much faster though :confused:

So tonight was 4.3 miles with 10.24 min/mile pace. More tomorrow hopefully :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Meh, silly Garmin. Obviously calibrated by a man :pac::P

I wish that were true Rainbow....but I'm close to 6 foot tall so I can't use that excuse...mybe I just have a very lazy pace or something....:)

How goes it with you, all well? Lordi good?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Yup, it was :) Just finished my finals last week too, now just working on my final year project. Got the Great Ireland Run on Sunday now, assuming my knee decides to behave itself!