Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Whos on the dole?

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

haha the advice I was given by someone else was to bring a book to read while waiting, as the wait in the Limerick office is meant to be quite a few hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,276 ✭✭✭sdanseo

|MarK| wrote: »
    Why cant us students not go on the dole surely we need it more than anyone

I agree tbh, I have zero cash coming in and bills to pay. People who have to pay rent, ESB, phone, broadband, capitation, stationary, food, drink, heating and exam costs on top of maybe a car and all its associated costs - and that's before even getting out once in a while - should be able to sign on if they can't find a job. It's pure stupid.

I'm lucky, and realise it - I still live at home so most of the above is covered for me, and I won't be signing on myself. But I still have no disposable income whatsoever any more, I'm borrowing off the parents for the smallest thing. I really do sympathise for anyone in the same position that doesn't have that support.

And before anyone says it, I and most other students I know have tried to find jobs. But there's fcuk all out there. And all the lazy pricks who sat on the dole when there were jobs around are to blame. If you're too lazy to work for a living, stop signing on the dole. As a result of them, we let anyone and everyone into the country to fill the positions and now when Irish people need jobs, we can't just send them home again.

|MarK| needs to learn how to justify his statements. Calling people grammar queens in AH is the way to make the wrong name for yourself. :pac:

You have a point, but learn to back it up and proofread before you hit the submit button, please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭samhail

thanks fully never spent a day on it *touches wood*
    just looked at the brother when he told me that he would get more by sitting on the dole than getting a part time job. *shakes head*

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Can we change the title of this thread in 12 months time to:

"Who's not on the dole?"

12 months? everyone loves an optimist!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

On it from tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,215 ✭✭✭FX Meister

|MarK| wrote: »
    OMG people take u so serious in this thread,
    1. i know a grant form isnt actually impossible to sort out.
    2. i cant get a grant anyway means i dont qualify for a grant.

So you want to get the dole as you are a student yet your parents are loaded so you don't get a grant? I can imagine you won't be able to get a job when you finish college, if you can pass your exams. You don't seem very smart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

sdonn_1 wrote: »
    I agree tbh, I have zero cash coming in and bills to pay. People who have to pay rent, ESB, phone, broadband, capitation, stationary, food, drink, heating and exam costs on top of maybe a car and all its associated costs - and that's before even getting out once in a while - should be able to sign on if they can't find a job. It's pure stupid.#

And before anyone says it, I and most other students I know have tried to find jobs. But there's fcuk all out there. And all the lazy pricks who sat on the dole when there were jobs around are to blame. If you're too lazy to work for a living, stop signing on the dole. As a result of them, we let anyone and everyone into the country to fill the positions and now when Irish people need jobs, we can't just send them home again.
    The ironing is delicious.

Firstly, not only are you not content with getting college fees paid for with grants for those well off, you want free booze and to be put on the road!

You then have the audacity to attack those who were also unemployed. As for sending the foreigners home? They've paid a damn sight more PRSI than you have, they're perfectly entitled to sign on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭Crackerspray

Also on the dole, have as many friends (that are still working) looking out for positions for me - seeing as the CV's aren't worth feck all now!:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭RedXIV

FX Meister wrote: »
    So you want to get the dole as you are a student yet your parents are loaded so you don't get a grant? I can imagine you won't be able to get a job when you finish college, if you can pass your exams. You don't seem very smart.

I don't qualify for the grant either, garda and civil servent for parents who are paying a mortage and have 3 kids in college. I had to pay my way through college with part time jobs, believe me, not everyone who needs a grant gets them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,276 ✭✭✭sdanseo

The ironing is delicious.

Firstly, not only are you not content with getting college fees paid for with grants for those well off, you want free booze and to be put on the road!

I'm not particuarly well-off, I don't have any grant payable to me and I don't drink.

I'm advocating that the grant of €1300 or €3000 depending where you live simply isn't enough for students to survive on. Capitation alone is €900 this year. With no job prospects and no other support, and no dole, how can a student live on €400, or €2100, a year?
    You then have the audacity to attack those who were also unemployed.

I'm not attacking those that were unemployed. I'm attacking those who were too lazy to get off their arse and get a job. There's a world of difference between an utter waster and someone who genuinely wants work. My point is that until recently, someone who really wanted a job could get one.
    As for sending the foreigners home? They've paid a damn sight more PRSI than you have, they're perfectly entitled to sign on.

Granted, better immigrants have jobs than wasters. As for PRSI, I've paid plenty - in fact I'm in the middle of trying to get some of it back from the Revenue Commissioners (give me strength).

I'm not saying foreigners haven't kept our economy booming, or that they have done anything wrong at all, and I'm not advocating that they all be sent home - we can't do that even if we wanted to anyway. What I'm saying is that the lazy gob****es that wouldn't work for a living and preferred to scrounge off the rest of us are responsible, at least in part, for opening the floodgates. Now the jobs market is swamped. Students who need a few bob to live are beaten to it by polish lads who are already qualified managers etc or have more experience.

It just seems a little unfair - but the immigrants aren't to blame. They were welcomed with open arms - at the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

I am unfortunately, cannot wait to start working again, I miss life :(

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

I will be heading along to join the queue to sign on in 10 days time.