Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RAG WEEK 09

• 11-01-2009 2:36am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭

Jst want to know when its on and whats happening ???? is it any gud:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,977 ✭✭✭mp3guy

9th of March, nothings been announced yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭Ostrom

No one goes to class, the SU is full of faux nostalgic (for whatever dead-horse flogging late 90's pop group happen to be &*^$ing for pennies on stage) mid-late teens drinking water and disrupting everyone in every decent working neighbourhood under the pretence of charity.

But rag week is a different story entirely...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

Are you talking levels of 'I can't move and I've waited 20 minutes for a pint' similar to those present on 'Christmas Day' out in the S.U?

Yeah, it gets very packed very fast. Last year we had no lectures on the Monday (out of respect for the recently deceased Prof. Thomas Kelly) and the place was packed by about half twelve. It might not get as busy as early this year since lectures are still on and yes some people still go to them (lecturers enjoy giving out exam hints during this week).

PrivateEye wrote: »
    Are you talking levels of 'I can't move and I've waited 20 minutes for a pint' similar to those present on 'Christmas Day' out in the S.U?

No idea, havent been to an NUIM ragweek in the SU.

Best avoided, I'm not quite sure what type of persons 'thing' it is, but I found the week better spent organizing your own fun.

And....you know....at home you can listen to proper music without pretending:

"oh wow, something 90's, thats fashionable, turns out I always liked *checks poster* the vengaboys!!!!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,359 ✭✭✭whiteandlight

Silent disco in the SU on Monday of Rag week was the best night I ever had in the union. It wasn't overly packed either. You really get out of the week what you put in, get involved in the fundraising events, go to different places eg union, home, pubs in maynooth and you should have a good week.

Hmm, now that you mention it that silent disco was most excellent, hope there's one again this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

10:00am Monday morning, it will be packed.

Fun, fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

Rag Week was always about holding off the massive piss up until the Rag Cup was over. We even won it once to fund the uber piss up. Bar exs were always nuts though. Way too packed. Best bar exs were ones with semi-decent bands and less then full capacity crowd. Haven't been to one in years tbh. I'm too old, wouldn't let me in :D

What bands played out in the S.U last year for Rag Week? Its basically more likely to be novelty-factor 'remember us?' type stuff is it?

Agree 100% about Silent Discos, fantastic on a good night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

Silent Disco was pretty good last year, I remember being torn between 5ive on my headphones and Cathy Davey singing my favourite of her songs....I just get cooler and cooler.

5ive as in that totally rubbish pop act who covered that Queen song? Hang your head in shame!! Didn't they play the SU a few years back?

I remember five-ive!

Shameful, shameful stuff....

¬_¬ I'm sure if they did, I would have heard about it. THERE'LL BE NO SHAME HERE!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭LittleKitty

Best rag week was ether last year,headfone disco, caty davey, DJ SASH!, casino night was pretty cool also or 2004 (battle of the bands all day wednesday was amazing, i went in at 11am and never left the su till bout 2am)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭pakblue

Hummm what did I do last year during rag week?

Cant seem to remember :D

Monday - I remember some lad who had 3 pints in his hands walk straight into a fence (set up for the carnival and didnt see it because it was so packed) and then fall flat on his face and his 3 pints all over the ground. Was really funny but I did feel sorry for the guy.

Tuesday - Went to my network lab :D with one of my mates (who is in DIT) from home, Then 4 other friends from home came down and then went off to the SU to sash and bewitched one of my mates got two lads kicked out. They all got pissed I stayed sober-ish ended up having about 25+ back in my house.

Wednesday - Only I went to was Dirty Sanchez

Thursday - Went to the roost and the less said about that night the better.

OH yea on Monday went to O'Neills then went to Dunnes and got kicked out for shopping :D

It was a good week.

Head phone disco at the summer ball was class, I dont really like the SU but I had a great night at the summer ball.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

I was on antibiotics for rag week last year. The worst was that I finished my course on the Friday... :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭LittleKitty

I was on antibiotics for rag week last year. The worst was that I finished my course on the Friday... :(

Yeah, I know, the year the venga boys and electric 6 played i was on pain killers. I think i drank miwadi for the whole night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭cian1500ww

According to the calendar on the SU website its on 2nd March to the 6th March.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭TheeItcha

Rag week is great and all but the bar exes are horrible

MONDAY

12am-4pm DJ in The Bar with games and prizes!
    1pm-5pm DUNK TANK. Dunk your friends and foes. Drop into the Union to see about sponsoring people to go in the tank, get your lecturers in!
    2pm-4pm THE WEIGHTLESS ASTRONAUTS. Live in The Venue!
    4pm-7pmSTARS IN THEIR EYES Competition, hosted by Mickey Joe Harte, Pippa O' Connor and Brian Ormonde
    TRIBUTE NIGHT

KAISER THIEFS
    FATBOY TIM
    GREEN DATE
    DIRTY DC
    KINGS OF LEON

Tickets: €10
    TUESDAY

12pm-2pmRed Bull Paper Airplane Competition in the Large Sports Hall
    1pm-3pm DJ in The Bar with games and prizes!
    3pm-4.30pm CHRISTY MOORE Tribute Act.
    4.30pm-7pm DJ in The Bar with games and prizes!
    DANCE NIGHT

HEADPHONE DISCO
    BABY D
    MARK MCCABE
    DJ SASH!

Tickets: €12
    WEDNESDAY

All Day Campus wide BUSKING Competition!
    1pm-7pm DJ in The Bar with games and prizes!
    1pm-7pm LIVE BANDS in The Venue!
    THE RAG BALL

SCHOOL DISCO COSTUMES!
    2 UNLIMITED
    S CLUB

Tickets: €15
    THURSDAY

3pm-4pm ANDREW MAXWELL live in The Venue. Ticket prices TBC
    THE VENGABOYS BAR-EX

THE VENGABOYS

Tickets: €13

(Taken from NUIMSU)

Edit: New Rules: http://www.nuimsu.com/events/raise-and-give-week-ticketing-rules

meh.

wont need a ticket to get in to the bar during the day i hope?
    Acts look poor tbh, but Maxwell is a good land.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭Beau

No you wont need tickets for during the day.

Vengaboys were great last time, I'll miss it tough :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭conf101

Pretty poor line up IMO. Vengaboys have been done before, as has DJ Sash!

I guess Maxwell is a good name to get but I can't stand the guy, he's shoite!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭Duddy

Yeah, I know, the year the venga boys and electric 6 played i was on pain killers. I think i drank miwadi for the whole night.

My friend's 18th birthday is on the Friday this year :P

Yeah, a friend of mine person I hate is only turning 18 on Thursday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 WhenISingAlong

mp3guy wrote: »
    Yeah, a friend of mine person I hate is only turning 18 on Thursday

that's a bit harsh! I bet they're a lovely person

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭The guy

Last year my 18th birthday was two weeks after RAG week.

that's a bit harsh! I bet they're a lovely person

Nah, proper loser. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 WhenISingAlong

mp3guy wrote: »
    Nah, proper loser. :pac:

then why do you hang out with them? :P

The lineup doesn't look that great tbh

My 18th is on the day it starts :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 Jellybabs

so looking forward to the vengaboys did anyone see them the last time they played in maynooth ?? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Wristbands?!?!

Effort of bringing non-maynooth friends now too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭The guy

cian1500ww wrote: »
    My 18th is on the day it starts :P

So is my 19th.

How will I get an over 18's wristband seeing as I turn 18 the day it starts ????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭BuroniKiisu

Disappointing line-up. Andrew Maxwell is the only act I'll probably go see.

What were you guys expecting from the line up? I think its pretty good to be honest! Sash! with the headphone disco should be great craic with some knack dancing too http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P86fPsC_cCQ&feature=related, SClub and 5ive will be a bit of fun and Vengaboys will be serious craic! It'll beat your usual Bradys or Roost night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭Antbert

Do any of you have The Vengaboys on your ipods?

I can't see the fascination...

The last time they graced us (not me personally because I'm a fun-sponge who whinged like I am doing in this post) with their presence, everyone was saying it wasn't them. And quite frankly, how would we know? More worrying... How did the people who spotted it know? Avid Vengaboys fans I guess.

I hear S Club 3 (I don't get it, three of them?) are playing. I'll despair of humanity if that sells out.

EDIT: Re-read and S Club 3 have already been mentioned. So I didn't mean to say it in such a revelatory(is that a word?) manner.

ah come on vengaboys have some solid good laugh tunes. I went to see them last night and it was a great night.

Ah you can't really defend the Vegaboys. They're deep in the depths of ****e music. However, I will admit one can have guilty pleasure moments were such music might appeal. Generally they occur when massive amounts of alcohol have been consumed

hmm, I've bought no tickets yet, but I do love headphone discos! It's like SHUT UP DON'T TALK TO ME I HAVE HEADPHONES *Dances alone in smoking area*

I've a vague recollection of being wheeled through the Arts block on an office chair with my headphones still on last year, fun times.

LeixlipRed wrote: »
    However, I will admit one can have guilty pleasure moments were such music might appeal. Generally they occur when massive amounts of alcohol have been consumed

Yeh thats what I mean and I think thats what works during RAG week, I'd much prefer Vengaboys over some 'serious' Irish band like The Coronas or god forbid The Saw Doctors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭Antbert

You'd pick the Vengaboys over the Saw Doctors?!

Unimpressed.

I think it's the same kind of psyche that makes everyone go 'Oh my God I LOVE this song' when Dolly Parton comes on in The Roost. You don't love this song, but you're very drunk and you recognise it.

I however am unflinchingly cool, and will never go to the Vengaboys. Unless all my friends are going. Or some of my friends are going. Or I get given a ticket. Or someone says 'oh hey! We should go to the Vengaboys!' One of those was the reasons I went to East 17. To my credit, I left after two songs and moaned all night about how I'd paid for a ticket.

Beau wrote: »
    Yeh thats what I mean and I think thats what works during RAG week, I'd much prefer Vengaboys over some 'serious' Irish band like The Coronas or god forbid The Saw Doctors.

The Coronas are even lower on the scale of ****e music than Vengaboys :eek: At least the Vengaboys never took themselves seriously. But I agree with you in general. No point having really decent acts as you'd never get tickets and it's not really a week for music appreciation. It's all about winning the RAG Cup really though. Or regaining the title in my case. 2 years is a long time...

Just goes to show you can't please everyone. I for one think the line up is great, since I hate indie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 bright_eyes

We'll probably give the su a miss rag week and hit brady's, roost.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

lovin the lineup this year, Sash :P , im so happy its not full of indie or too much rock, nice bit of dance thrown in, gonna go monday to wednesday, couldnt be bothered with thursday in the slightest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 JeanH

I'd love to be going but due to being busy lately I failed to see the posters in time and that 2Unlimited will be at it! My first single was No Limit :D I've checked out their website though and it seems it'll just be Anita, Ray won't be joining her according to that. I was *truly disappointed. Truly, truly, truly.*

Are there still tickets available anyone know?

Now all NUIM needs to do is try get Corona (Rhythm of the Night, Try Me Out), Haddaway (What is Love?), Whigfield (Saturday Night), Doop. I should get the job of sourcing the acts! Music connoisseur I tell you.

Tickets still onsale!

my plan for the week:

Monday: SU during day, off to O' Neills.
    Tuesday: SU during day, off home to sleep
    Wednesday: SU during day, Bradys
    Thursday: ANDREW MAXWELL, Roost
    Friday: Sleep.

not touching any of them 'tribute band/90s band' events.