Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stingiest thing you've seen stingy people do

• Registered Users Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭civis_liberalis

Sounds like your housemate got his idea from YLYL. Be careful what you say about him because he's probably reading this too!
    It is extremely unlikely he is on boards.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I agree for the most part, but despite our best efforts sometimes we get stuck in the company of these people. Maybe you have a group of friends or family that you really enjoy visiting/socialising with and but one person from the group is one of these stingy so and so's... do you give everybody a swerve because of that?
    Someone can be stingy, but it doesn't necessarily make them a bad person. But I would expect good friends to call them out on their stinginess and not let them away with it :)

My brothers are friends with a notoriously thrifty guy. To be fair, he's not exactly rolling in cash. The kind of guy who will spend 5 hours scouring travel websites to save €3 or €4 on a holiday and then spend another few hours running through combinations of online vouchers and such to try shave off another few euro.
    He also charged his girlfriend (now wife) rent when she lived with him (that's OK), but kept a rent book...

Anyway, he got married and had a small ceremony, just the registry office. That's fine, he doesn't have much money. Invited all his friends and family to the reception, food and dancing, afterwards in a local hotel, room booked out, well over 100 people there. So everyone gets all dressed up, has to take two days off work (he got married on a Monday), buy presents for the couple, and many people booked into the hotel to stay the night. All in all, most guests probably dropped around €300 before they even got there.

They get there and the "reception" is a hired out ballroom with a finger food buffet and the groom playing music over the PA using his own decks. Cost him less than €500 for the night.

Hmm, would have saved €15.

Not bad!
    Depends on the print cartridge, some cost €25 or more and only print about 50 pages!

• Registered Users Posts: 52 ✭✭luvnit!

I once had a man buy a litre bottle of vodka off me when i worked in a pub.

so a litre bottle of vodka costs a fair bit and even more when you buy it from a pub, yer man was well on it so he went ahead and paid for it.

next evening he arrived in again with the bottle of vodka in hand and asked for his money back.

he had taken a measure or so out of it (obv fell asleep when he got home) so i couldnt take it back!

But I still wonder who the hell would do this and expect to get their money back????

• Registered Users Posts: 28,898 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

luvnit! wrote: »
    I once had a man buy a litre bottle of vodka off me when i worked in a pub.

so a litre bottle of vodka costs a fair bit and even more when you buy it from a pub, yer man was well on it so he went ahead and paid for it.

next evening he arrived in again with the bottle of vodka in hand and asked for his money back.

he had taken a measure or so out of it (obv fell asleep when he got home) so i couldnt take it back!

But I still wonder who the hell would do this and expect to get their money back????
    My local has a policy that they'll give you a bottle on tab and if you replace it before the following night theres no charge. It means you get spirits in your local at Tesco prices.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

Quazzie wrote: »
    My local has a policy that they'll give you a bottle on tab and if you replace it before the following night theres no charge. It means you get spirits in your local at Tesco prices.

pub i worked in used to do that until the new owners took over.

One nigh as everyone was going out 3 people wanted to get a slab of heiniken (24bottles) going home after drinking there for 7 hours. I went up stairs and asked how much to charge for the slab and the stingy yokes after them been there all day wouldnt leave them off anything. 4.30 a bottle x24, they paid €103.20 for them bottles. crazy of them to pay for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

garv123 wrote: »
    pub i worked in used to do that until the new owners took over.

One nigh as everyone was going out 3 people wanted to get a slab of heiniken (24bottles) going home after drinking there for 7 hours. I went up stairs and asked how much to charge for the slab and the stingy yokes after them been there all day wouldnt leave them off anything. 4.30 a bottle x24, they paid €103.20 for them bottles. crazy of them to pay for it.

Guy used to own a pub down my way did the same,he charged full whack for takeouts at the end of the night even if we had spent a fortune there all night.
    His son was to take over the business but gave it up after his father complained about him leaving free peanuts on the bar stating "I never gave away anything in my life & neither will you!!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 Havent a Saloman Kalou

My mate was looking for a ticket to an ireland game a while back, anyway another friend said he'd sell him a ticket for cost price. When they got to the ground the seats were good so my friend thanked the other and asked where he got the tickets. He replied 'I won them'.€80 for a ticket that cost nothing , some friend .

• Registered Users Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

This part of the story reminded me that not everybody is a stingy fecker and even strangers on boards can restore your faith in humanity a little.

Last winter my brother was sent abroad for a job on very short notice. Getting himself home to Galway and then his work tools and gear from Galway to Cork in time for an early morning flight was a bit of a problem.

I priced up the airport parking for him online, for the length he'd be gone. It would have cost over €300 and being winter time, the car probably wouldn't be inclined to start when he'd be arriving back on Xmas eve.

By the time we realised he would need a bus, it was actually too late to get one.

I posted on boards to see did anyone have any ideas. I didn't expect any response really tbh, it was fairly late in the day.

Boards user twowheelsonly offered a place to park the car at his folks place near the airport and a lift in plenty of time for the flight.

Not only did he fulfil that promise, but he met my brother and the other two that were with him on the north side of the city and directed him away from the early morning traffic, before heading off for work himself.

twowheelsonly's folks kept the car in a garage AND kept the car warmed up while they were away and none of them would accept anything in return when the lads came back. I think they managed to leave some bottles before tearing off in the car!

For every stingy fcuker like some on this thread, hopefully there's at least one like twowheelsonly and his aul' pair. Unfortunately this type of hospitality or whatever you want to call it isn't anywhere near as common as it should be.

Twowheelsonly is a top fella. I was posting in the photography thread, saying how the first thing I'd buy when I get a job (and there was none in sight) would be a camera but I was still enjoying seeing the pictures in the forum in the meantime. He PM'ed me, offered me an extended loan of his old camera and drove out to me the next day to drop it off. I still have the camera, I'm still a terrible photographer, and I'm still enjoying snapping away. Big thanks to twowheelsonly. He's a very generous and kind man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭HazDanz

Right I was out Saturday night and came back to a friend's apartment where a friend of my friend was there making some toast. She had a full fresh slice pan and was also making scrambled eggs and boiling some pasta for herself.

I turn to her and ask could I have a slice of bread politely after she is finished cooking her stuff (the eggs and pasta she was cooking were not hers but my friends) as I was starving from a good few drinks had.

She turns to me and says I'm sorry I can't give you any bread that the slice pan cost her 1.80 in the shop and that times were really tough. She suggested to me to solve my problem I could go to the shop around the corner to get some bread for myself.

Now I wouldn't mind a person who was strap for cash to keep the bread for themselves no prob with that or if she only had a few slices of the pan left. But it was the fact that she had earlier purchased drink worth the bones of 40 euro and also spent a sh*t load of her cash in the nightclub whilst out and had a FULL slice pan that grated me.

To add to this when she had finished making her toast and using my friend's eggs and pasta she took all the remaining supplies from those to my friend's room just in case I would try to sneak a slice of bread for myself or cook some eggs or pasta when she went to bed!

The way she acted had me in pisses laughing the next day when I woke up! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

HazDanz wrote: »
    Right I was out Saturday night and came back to a friend's apartment where a friend of my friend was there making some toast. She had a full fresh slice pan and was also making scrambled eggs and boiling some pasta for herself.

I turn to her and ask could I have a slice of bread politely after she is finished cooking her stuff (the eggs and pasta she was cooking were not hers but my friends) as I was starving from a good few drinks had.

She turns to me and says I'm sorry I can't give you any bread that the slice pan cost her 1.80 in the shop and that times were really tough. She suggested to me to solve my problem I could go to the shop around the corner to get some bread for myself.

Now I wouldn't mind a person who was strap for cash to keep the bread for themselves no prob with that or if she only had a few slices of the pan left. But it was the fact that she had earlier purchased drink worth the bones of 40 euro and also spent a sh*t load of her cash in the nightclub whilst out and had a FULL slice pan that grated me.

To add to this when she had finished making her toast and using my friend's eggs and pasta she took all the remaining supplies from those to my friend's room just in case I would try to sneak a slice of bread for myself or cook some eggs or pasta when she went to bed!

The way she acted had me in pisses laughing the next day when I woke up! :D

How could she be a friend of yours?

I think some people are too nice to these people. If a "friend" of mine wouldn't give me a slice of bread then I'd never forget it. Maybe it's just me but they wouldn't get a thing off me ever again!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭HazDanz

ColeTrain wrote: »
    How could she be a friend of yours?

I think some people are too nice to these people. If a "friend" of mine wouldn't give me a slice of bread then I'd never forget it. Maybe it's just me but they wouldn't get a thing off me ever again!

Sorry no she's definitely not my friend. She's a friend of a friend. It was funny cause I thought it was just me she had a problem with so got another mate to go up and ask her for a slice but nope, my mate got the same response as me.

Stingy out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

We used to go for drinks with my wife's sister and her husband...

When he'd go to the bar he'd buy three packets of crisps... One each for them and one for us to share...

He'd ask for a double when I'd be buying and when he went up he'd try and sneak a quick shot in at the bar on his own...

He'd have his fridge full of old food he'd bring home form work that patients wouldn't eat, and he'd constantly steal crap from work he didn't need but thought he might at some stage..

Truly the meanest most dislikeable individual I ever knew...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

Freshers' Week in TCD this year, two men in suits come in and sit on the couches:

Man 1: "No Irish Times this year! They usually give you a free copy on Freshers' Week every year, you just have to walk through the gate and they give it to you. But I got none today!"
    Man 2: "Oh, cutbacks again, they're hitting everywhere"
    Man 1: "Oh, I know. It's ok though, I rang <insert-name-here>, she'll be over by UCD, I told her to go and see if they have free copies instead."

Seriously?! There's a shop right in front of you that sells it for €1.80!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭gizmorox

Sweeno wrote: »
    my friend bought some perfume or somethin for his g/f for xmas from boots, couple days later he heard there was 10% off so he brought it back, got a refund, then bought it again savin himself about 2 euro..

another one we were all sittin round the sittin room, couple spliffs goin round, same friend rang up mizonis pizza, asked what the minimum delivery order was, 8 euro was the reply, can i have 8 cans of coke please? nd they delivered em, we lived so close to mizonis we could see it out our sittin room windowand watched them as they walked over , they really hated us :D funny stuff

class:D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭lau1247

My mate was looking for a ticket to an ireland game a while back, anyway another friend said he'd sell him a ticket for cost price. When they got to the ground the seats were good so my friend thanked the other and asked where he got the tickets. He replied 'I won them'.€80 for a ticket that cost nothing , some friend .

I'm stumped.. how is this stingy??

Your friend is looking for a ticket to a match.. so in essence he will buy it off promoter, online or anyone..

the other friend had a ticket that he is willing to sell.. whether he won it or not is irrelevant.. why do you expect your friend to get it for free when the guy selling it would have sold it anyway in the first place..

the fact you said it was a great seat then cost price is probably more than fair..

I'd say 'some friend' for expecting ticket to be free, that's more stingy in its own right

West Dublin, ☀️ 7.83kWp ⚡5.66 kWp South West, ⚡2.18 kWp North East

• Registered Users Posts: 5,551 ✭✭✭veryangryman

lau1247 wrote: »
    I'm stumped.. how is this stingy??

Your friend is looking for a ticket to a match.. so in essence he will buy it off promoter, online or anyone..

the other friend had a ticket that he is willing to sell.. whether he won it or not is irrelevant.. why do you expect your friend to get it for free when the guy selling it would have sold it anyway in the first place..

the fact you said it was a great seat then cost price is probably more than fair..

I'd say 'some friend' for expecting ticket to be free, that's more stingy in its own right

OP isnt expecting it free (i think). Theres a happy medium there, like maybe could have sold it for "mates-rates", maybe €40 or something. Gun to my head, i think the person in the story is the stinge

• Registered Users Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭lau1247

cloud493 wrote: »
    I was in the spar over the weekend, went to get a roll from the sandwich counter, 3 polish girls there, they ordered the 2 euro chicken fillet mega deal roll, the girl at the counter wrapped it all, then they asked her to cut it into three :pac:

not really a stingy case, some girls do eat very little.. one third of a roll probably fill them up.. what's wrong with a little sharing??

it's not like they got the roll, wait till it was wrapped and priced before getting the deli person to add more stuff while paying for same price..

West Dublin, ☀️ 7.83kWp ⚡5.66 kWp South West, ⚡2.18 kWp North East

• Registered Users Posts: 793 ✭✭✭jaja321

seamus wrote: »
    Someone can be stingy, but it doesn't necessarily make them a bad person. But I would expect good friends to call them out on their stinginess and not let them away with it :)

My brothers are friends with a notoriously thrifty guy. To be fair, he's not exactly rolling in cash. The kind of guy who will spend 5 hours scouring travel websites to save €3 or €4 on a holiday and then spend another few hours running through combinations of online vouchers and such to try shave off another few euro.
    He also charged his girlfriend (now wife) rent when she lived with him (that's OK), but kept a rent book...

Anyway, he got married and had a small ceremony, just the registry office. That's fine, he doesn't have much money. Invited all his friends and family to the reception, food and dancing, afterwards in a local hotel, room booked out, well over 100 people there. So everyone gets all dressed up, has to take two days off work (he got married on a Monday), buy presents for the couple, and many people booked into the hotel to stay the night. All in all, most guests probably dropped around €300 before they even got there.

They get there and the "reception" is a hired out ballroom with a finger food buffet and the groom playing music over the PA using his own decks. Cost him less than €500 for the night.

She's worse for having married him! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭Rick Deckard

lau1247 wrote: »
    not really a stingy case, some girls do eat very little.. one third of a roll probably fill them up.. what's wrong with a little sharing??

it's not like they got the roll, wait till it was wrapped and priced before getting the deli person to add more stuff while paying for same price..

exactly, part of the reason they're all stunners and our wimin look like beached whales (bar my wife of course)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

exactly, part of the reason they're all stunners and our wimin look like beached whales (bar my wife of course)

And your mam and any sisters or aunts or female friends, right? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭Rick Deckard

Millicent wrote: »
    And your mam and any sisters or aunts or female friends, right? :rolleyes:

No, my mam never lost the preggo weight, my two sisters are porkers, one of my aunties is a bit of all right, but only after a few beers..

And as for female friends, with my attitude? no chance..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭cazzzzz

I'd like to think I'm a pretty generous person but, whenever I'm driving from Dublin down to Cork if someone gets a lift with me, something towards petrol (a fiver would even do) is always nice. Really annoys me when people are like 'I've no money, I'll sort you out next time' and then we stop in a petrol station and they buy food and stuff for the journey....grrrrr

• Registered Users Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

one of my aunties is a bit of all right, but only after a few beers..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

We have a couple of those Barnardos Sweets boxes at work where you put EUR2 into the box and take a bag of sweets. When they came to collect the money they discovered the box was EUR14 light. When they came the next time it was light again despite emails from HR.

One of my colleagues was telling me he caught one of the guys taking a couple of 2 litre bottles of milk from the Fridge and putting them into his bag before heading home.

The company gets takeaway food for us on payday. Same guy got called into HR for taking advantage.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

cazzzzz wrote: »
    I'd like to think I'm a pretty generous person but, whenever I'm driving from Dublin down to Cork if someone gets a lift with me, something towards petrol (a fiver would even do) is always nice. Really annoys me when people are like 'I've no money, I'll sort you out next time' and then we stop in a petrol station and they buy food and stuff for the journey....grrrrr

Aye, I feel your pain. However if anyone dared buy anything in a petrol station after telling me they had no money I would have no option but to order them out of the car and leave them on the side of the road.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭civis_liberalis

juan.kerr wrote: »
    The company gets takeaway food for us on payday. Same guy got called into HR for taking advantage.

Giz a job?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭Tayla

juan.kerr wrote: »
    We have a couple of those Barnardos Sweets boxes at work where you put EUR2 into the box and take a bag of sweets. When they came to collect the money they discovered the box was EUR14 light. When they came the next time it was light again despite emails from HR.

We used to have those boxes where I worked too, people would put in a few cent instead of €2. Unbelievable!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 598 ✭✭✭dyer

haha some legendary stingyness in here!

might as well add one of my own..

few years back an ex and i were sharing an apartment with a chinese girl who had just moved out that day. we returned to the flat later on that night anyway and tried to turn on the lights in the hall.. nothing happens.. so i make my way down the corridor and try the kitchen lights, nothing there either.. all the apartments around us seemed to have electricity so didnt seem to be that.. checked the trip switches.. all good.. so im wandering around the living room with my lighter anyway and find a note on the coffee table.. apparently said chinese girl had removed all the light bulbs in the apartment and placed them in a box in a locker in the basement of the building, along with various other items she obviously couldnt bring all the way back to china with her.. it was an itemised bill think she wanted 30p for every bulb or some **** with an address there to post the money back to her!

• Registered Users Posts: 270 ✭✭bicardi19

No, my mam never lost the preggo weight, my two sisters are porkers, one of my aunties is a bit of all right, but only after a few beers..

And as for female friends, with my attitude? small willy no chance..

Couldn't resist.