Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Need the ladies opinions

• 19-12-2008 3:29am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭

When I was terribly in debt earlier in the semester I stopped shaving, seeing it as an unnecessary drain on funds. My resultant beard would be an homage to my financial situation I thought. Now that I'm slightly less in debt I can afford blades if I so wish. But since I have feck all style sense I need the opinions of the ladies to guide me as to what would be best. Below are some pics of me, one shaven, one bearded. Please vote in the poll and let me know what you think I should be wearing! Remember your vote counts! :P

DSCF1057.jpg

Picture0016.jpg

P.S. Yes I know I need a hair cut, one thing at a time! :D all votes and comments greatly appreciated.

What should be done about the facial foliage? 61 votes

Shave it off, clean shaven is the better pic.
    0%
    Keep it, the beard hides the ugly!
    29%
    KieramissmattybuckieburdAlicathotshots85SarahSassy[Deleted User]mollybirdjojobradalieJaneyMcSarcasticFairyWhite_FeatherStones85livvyOsteosampatrickSTARRbanshee_bones 18 votes
    Keep it, the beard is secky!
    24%
    Karomavibe666spideog7KTRICAisling(",)Dragan4zn76tysfajdxpbanjopaulmahamageehadShelllzKatCookieGirlInterruptedD.Qm'ladyMrmoe 15 votes
    Other option (please specify)
    45%
    banquoluckatbrianthebardmickspanda100timmyjimmychristebParsleynetanyahuspinandscribbleDordtakolaJulesTropheusfonpoknoLovelyTomG&TPyjamaramaLockstepMorgase 28 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,349 ✭✭✭Samurai

keep the beard, its great for storing breakfast in

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

Keep the beard, but cut your hair a wee bit!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

trim the beard, slightly..... get a styleist to play with your hair and make it uber funked....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,000 ✭✭✭spinandscribble

beard. beard. beard.....oh yeah beard. also the first picture? hair is waaaay too long. it kinda gathers into pigtails...*shock horror*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

beards rule. Really handy for storing food in em and keep your chin warm if your on a motorbike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

As a fellow brother of the beard I say keep it. Its our last bastion of control.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

seanybiker wrote: »
    beards rule. Really handy for storing food in em and keep your chin warm if your on a motorbike

id like to say waiting for a bus and you can do the hole play with the chin hait thing that can make one feel way more intelgent then useual... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 375 ✭✭Curlypinkie

Trim the beard but CUT THE HAIR!!!

Think Chuck Norris, har, har
    :cool:
    Or Roy Keane for a tidier style.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

If you cut your hair and trin you beard you will look like Riker from Star Trek.

You don't want that.

Long hair + beard = the **** btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,035 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

Trim the beard but CUT THE HAIR!!!

Agreed - get a beard trimmer and shave it to a reasonable level. I got a cheap one in Boots for €13.99 which I use about once or twice a week to keep mine in shape. Just got it last month after deciding to keep a bit of bear going at all times.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

Dragan wrote: »
    If you cut your hair and trin you beard you will look like Riker from Star Trek.

You don't want that.

Long hair + beard = the **** btw.

Or Rick Dagless MD.

Don't want that either.

Hair + beard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Silverfish wrote: »
    Or Rick Dagless MD.

Don't want that either.

At least Rick Dagless is a good buddy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

It's beard and a hair cut from me.

Oh and your spelling is a bit fail-ish on the poll - secky?

g'em wrote: »

Sectarian.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

Sectarian.

Aaaaaah ok. So I fail at politics?

His beard fails at politics if anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭Morgase

Keep the beard! Beards rock.

It's beard and a hair cut from me.

It's just like sucky but with more vowel.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

Cut hair leave beard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,879 ✭✭✭Kya1976

Keep the beard, love it, but get a hair cut:);)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭wasabi

Ditto on tidy up the hair a bit and keep the beard.

And Dragan, FWIW I think Riker from Star Trek was hot :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

I see my postscript note was lost to ye! Ok I get the message I need a hair cut! :D Thanks lads (whats with that??) and ladies for your opinions. Anyone who wants to add to the debate please do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Not a lady :o but I say you should keep it and get your hair trimmed a bit. :)

beard. beard. beard.....oh yeah beard. also the first picture? hair is waaaay too long. it kinda gathers into pigtails...*shock horror*

Actually I think its longer in the second one, just the angle and stuff...
    trim the beard, slightly..... get a styleist to play with your hair and make it uber funked....
    Uber...funked??? Do I need a second thread for hair cuts? I was thinking of getting a few inches off the back and maybe one off the front, is that funky enough for you? :P
    His beard fails at politics if anything.

Dude, harsh. Having a beard is a necessary step on the path to socialism. Look it up its in Critique of the Gotha programme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭SeekUp

I don't particularly like beards, but I think it'd be just find if you trimmed it nice and neat.

No comment about the hair. ;)

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,361 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Long hair + beard ftw!

Dude, harsh. Having a beard is a necessary step on the path to socialism. Look it up its in Critique of the Gotha programme.

But it's because of capitalism you can't afford razors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,252 ✭✭✭✭Madame Razz

Keep the (tidy) beard, but get a serious haircut.

However I think with a serious haircut and no beard you would like quite well also.

Ergo my conclusion is get a damn serious haircut!!!

The beard does suit you tho ;)

However I think with a serious haircut and no beard you would like quite well also.

What's the alternative? An insincere haircut?

I see my postscript note was lost to ye! Ok I get the message I need a hair cut! :D Thanks lads (whats with that??) and ladies for your opinions. Anyone who wants to add to the debate please do.

I was gonna ask you to join my pirate crew, if you get a hair cut your out as you can't pull off the below menacing piratey look.

I will be sad about it, but i'll still kehaul ya, ya scurvy landlubber!

4922980360a8744969838l.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭livvy

Keep it, the beard hides the ugly!
    I reckon the beard makes you look older. Great if thats what you want but you have years ahead of you for looking older. I would reckon a good shave and a hair cut. Im a clean cut sorta girl !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,252 ✭✭✭✭Madame Razz

What's the alternative? An insincere haircut?

LOL:pac:.... a serious haircut is one where inches would be removed.

An insincere haricut would equate to a trim.

Be serious Brian!!!!:D

why-so-serious.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭giddybootz

shave the sides off your beard....think that would work for ya!!

or failing that....keep the full beard...fuzziness is the new black!!

Dragan wrote: »
    I was gonna ask you to join my pirate crew, if you get a hair cut your out as you can't pull off the below menacing piratey look.

I will be sad about it, but i'll still kehaul ya, ya scurvy landlubber!

Lolz when it would still be shoulder length or just above it if I got a serious cut, there are plenty of inches to be taken at the back. I always wanted to be a pirate though! :D
    LOL:pac:.... a serious haircut is one where inches would be removed.

An insincere haricut would equate to a trim.

I'm always serious! *makes serious face* Weird the beard is winning, wasn't expecting that. huzzah!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,375 ✭✭✭fonpokno

Yes yes same as everybody else. Decent haircut and keep the beard.

Beards always win.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,365 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Short hair and beardless is the way to go. I really, really hate long hair on blokes and was never a fan of beards. At least it's a proper beard though and not a stupid goatee or something where you still have to shave. Can't see the point of that at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

I'm sure it's controversial, but a bit of designer stubble never goes astray I say.

A bit metro, but I reckon you could carry it off.

That and a decent hair cut

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 puppydoggrowl

The beard really suits you...keep it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Peared

Halfway between stubble and a beard is the best look, lets call it a steard.

Or a beabble.

And the hair needs to be messed up a little.

Swept back off the face yes, but less forcefully so.

And never ever ever a ponytail.

Unless you morph into Colin Farrell in which case it's ok.

Colin Farrell has a ponytail now? I haven't had a hair cut since september tbh, couldn't afford it for same reasons as not shaving, so its gotten very very thick. Will try to get something tomorrow or early next week if I can, its definitely starting to get a bit annoying, and I've wanted a few inches off the back for a while now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Peared

I think keep the hair for the winter, then when you cut it in the spring, shave it all off, bout blade 3.

Im not one for the middleman me.

:eek: No way in feck my hair is going to ever be less 3 inches long again unless I go bald (think the fringe is about 5 inches and a bit atm).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭GirlInterrupted

Keep the beard, grow the hair as long as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,308 ✭✭✭Pyjamarama

Peared wrote: »
    Halfway between stubble and a beard is the best look, lets call it a steard.

Or a beabble.

And the hair needs to be messed up a little.

Swept back off the face yes, but less forcefully so.

And never ever ever a ponytail.

Unless you morph into Colin Farrell in which case it's ok.

Agreed, steards are the way forward! clean shaven is bleh! Tidy the beard a bit, you can get an electric shaver thing for cutting hair instead of a beard that won't cut it too tight.

Agree about the ponytail thing too. Cut the hair a bit, maybe to your chin? Call me old-fashioned but I like guys hair to be shorter than mine!!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

The beard does suit you tho ;)

+1 would look fab :)

Have you thought about plastic surgery Brian?

Actually yes. I went to a consultant with a picture of you, and asked how much it would cost to look this good. After they stopped spluttering, they told me it would be far too expensive when all I needed was a brown paper bag. :rolleyes:

It costs a lot to look this cheap.

As per the almost universal opinion of the ladies lounge I got a haircut today. I've also trimmed the beard a bit, dunno if it will be up to scratch though?
    I know there's still a lot of hair (I asked her to thin it out on top but she didn't know what I meant and I didn't want to push it, things had gone well up to then) but keep in mind there's at least two/three inches gone off the back. Hope the loungers approve ;) Also the lady in the barber's shop said I had very healthy hair! yay for me!

DSCF1141_thumb.jpg

Picture0018_thumb.jpg

(Click to enlarge-you know you want to!) :pac: :D