If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Do ye work?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 276 ✭✭badabinbadaboom

I'm 20 and since I left school in 2005 Ive had about 6 or 7 jobs, right now Im a government artist:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭bythewoods

I don't have time to work tbh.

I leave for school every day at 7.30 and don't get home until 6.30, traffic depending.

I'd love to for the money, but it's just not possible.
    *meh*.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭Captain-America

Jaysus. Travel a long distance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭bythewoods

Jaysus. Travel a long distance?

Not really...

I travel through 3 counties every morning.. but it's really not that far! it's just that there's always sooooo much traffic!
    And when i get off the bus it's another 20 minutes(ish) of a walk to school. Ewh, exercise :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,383 ✭✭✭Aoibheann

On a year out from college so working full time and loving it! :) My job is pretty cool, the people are great, the hours are grand.. couldn't ask for more really! The fact that I currently have a full time job given the economic situation and suchlike is fairly deadly so liking my job is a huge bonus! \o/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

I work part-time in a Deli kinda bakery thing 2 minutes away from my house.
    Only working like 12 hours a week although I'd love more!
    Manager, if you're reading this TAKE NOTE!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Yep, driving for a chinese takeaway. Good job. I make a silly amount of money (€120-€150 on a decent night for five hours) doing something I enjoy, I get to practise my driving, I don't wear a silly uniform, I don't have to get up early, the boss is nice and I often enjoy the work, chilling with friends outside while I wait for an order, and if nothing comes, I can sleep in the car. It's a good setup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,263 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Havew orked in two different bars(one was a golf club though) since I was 15. Only in my second place too, but locally, so much handier. Very busy now, but hey, gets me to where I wanna go(college and gigs).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

Working in a call center for Eircom, its alright when there isn't 30+ callers in the call queue, or when some bogger from CountyWhoGivesaSh1t is roaring down the phone while rubbish diddly-aye music is blaring in the background, banging on about how how is BB isn't Wireless. Some people just can't understand that you need the modem connected to your phoneline to receive BB..

Other than that the money is grand ! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,205 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

not too sure if i'm a teen anymore, i'm 22 :pac:

Started working when I was 12, set up business when I was 18 - I'll never be a millionaire but it's nice to pay your own way through college without working for some cunt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭Groe

Im 14 and would love a job but I haven't the foggiest where to start. Any suggestions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

First of all, leave your date of birth out on your CV, that way they wont know for sure if you're youn and will be more likely to hire you, worked for me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,205 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Groe wrote: »
    Im 14 and would love a job but I haven't the foggiest where to start. Any suggestions?

At your age, do what you think is fun, not what people think you should be doing. At 12 I was doing summer work at a funfair doing carnie work and I fcukin loved it - so sociable and met loads of chicks :D - Few years on I got into IT and started my own business

In conclusion, at your age, job wise, play it by year and just have the craic because you'll regret it at a later date

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

I'm on my 3rd job at 18, kinda depressing. The first one was 15 months in a play centre, then 3 months in the dreaded Clarks, currently working in Dunnes for about 14 months.

Dunnes is right beside college, so that's handy, but it's starting to kill me a little on the inside.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭donmeister

Rozabeez wrote: »
    Dunnes is right beside college, so that's handy, but it's starting to kill me a little on the inside.

It does that to everyone,believe me I know, worked there for nearly a year and a half :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,590 ✭✭✭Pigwidgeon

i shouldn't be working according to teachers (6th year) but i am working in a kid's adventure center for about 14 months now...

not fun with a hangover... really really not..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

I worked the whole way through 5th & 6th year of school, right through graduation from college in the same job. I never left due to exams...in fact work kept me sane through exams and all that goes with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,356 ✭✭✭papu

3rd job so far , working from home which is allright , means I have to actually do some work tho and not post all day on boards...:rolleyes:
    *considers current financial situation....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 862 ✭✭✭cautioner

Was working in a pub/restaurant for 5th year and during the summer but gave it up for 6th year. Being poor is poop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,409 ✭✭✭DenMan

I was working after my Junior Cert right through to my Leaving and then continued right through. Working looking back at it now saved me and kept me occupied and focused despite everything that was going on inside.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭donmeister

cautioner wrote: »
    Being poor is poop.

You said it.................:(

JohnCleary wrote: »
    not too sure if i'm a teen anymore, i'm 22 :pac:

Started working when I was 12, set up business when I was 18 - I'll never be a millionaire but it's nice to pay your own way through college without working for some cunt

Fair play.I would love to work for myself.Well'I don't have it too bad.The wireless saves me in the pub when I am having a lock in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭Limerick Dude

JC 2K3 wrote: »
    I work in the Science Gallery in TCD. I sit around all day playing with soldering irons, glue guns and LEDs for €10 an hour.

It's great.

You know a Hans Eckhardt?

Pretty sure he works there too .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

Already been asked and answered.

Sorry for the double post.

Just finished up my second job .

My first job was working in Dell last summer.

Now i just finished up working in River Island. Get paid monthly in there but i have a nice juicy pay slip coming my way on the 9th woop!

In second year of college now and i doubt the money i have earned is going to get me far!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,131 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

You know a Hans Eckhardt?

Pretty sure he works there too .
    JC 2K3 wrote: »
    Already been asked and answered.

Read the thread, n00b! :D

You know me too well at this stage that i do not read threads, i go to end and then decide if i have anything worth posting.....n00b!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

I don't work no more... :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭pepsicokeacola

give me a feckin job ffs. :(