Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anybody use o2 Webtext?

• 11-12-2008 10:32am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭

The new system offers more functionaity,

but is a load of crap and takes much longer imo.

The whole site has gotten much worse.

Mods feel free to move if this somewhere if is in the wrong place didn't think it belonged in the BB forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,035 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

I agree, what took a login page and one link to click now takes about 10. My address book seemingly disappeared and was nowhere obvious for me to find. It just looks daft and is not as simple as it used to be.
    *Curses O2*

But sure with free texts to any network these days I've no excuse to be using webtext to save credit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,524 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Its good by I only use it through the Eirtext app on my iPhone, and Cabbage on my Desktop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Fiend-Foe wrote: »
    The new system offers more functionaity,

but is a load of crap and takes much longer imo.

The whole site has gotten much worse.

Mods feel free to move if this somewhere if is in the wrong place didn't think it belonged in the BB forum.

Yep, agree with you there. When I signed in to it originally I was all "ooh" and "aah" at the 1000 characters and the Gmail-like contact filler. But it goes down more times than a two dollar hooker high on crack.

And then the page "an error occurred while processing your request", you know that page? We're best friends now. Yeah, been to the house. Played some video games together. Good times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,561 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Yeah the new site is sh*t, much slower to do anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭Fiend-Foe

*Curses O2*

*Raises fist*

SHAKE HARDER BOY!!!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Moved from AH.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

Guys there's numerous threads complaining about and commenting on the new O2 webtext as it is. Please use those.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

Enjoy Terry !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Cheers.

chin_grin wrote: »
    And then the page "an error occurred while processing your request", you know that page? We're best friends now. Yeah, been to the house. Played some video games together. Good times.

I still think he's a bastad,

Just lost a text I spend ages typing, wording correctly to warm her icy heart.

My poetry lost...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭manc

manc wrote: »

Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,524 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Cabbage ftw!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

Yeah it's really annoying. I also have free texts but I still try to use the webtexts if I'm in an area with no signal but I have internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭fbradyirl

manc wrote: »

That forum post about JSMS is a little old (as it now supports o2, Meteor and Vodafone + about 20 other providers). Check out the website or blog instead.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Did use it, though it was so crap, I changed my mobile phone to an a 087.
    Now much better off. O2 sucks a big one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭YDMHSSB

ya the new site is crap for sending texts. sending to multi texters is annoying as it does not list in proper order now and you only see maybe 10/15 names per page and u cant make bigger.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,661 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

I use Eirtext on mu iphone. Works grand.

Their website sucks air.

Just to let yous know, I've tested out both Cabbage and JSMS and cabbage is, in my opinion, better.

The JSMS one adds a line at the end of the texts you send saying "sent using JSMS" or something like that which is annoying. And they're sneaky about it too because they don't send it if you send a text to your own number.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭Tom65

My problem with the o2 webtext is that it's "down for maintenance" every hour or so. How much feckin maintenance can they have to do?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

My gripe with O2 webtext is that their old O2 Website site worked very well and this new "improved" site is well Sh1te....pure Sh1te.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

i would use it, if it actually ever worked.

it just freezes all the time :mad:

Move this to PI.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 586 ✭✭✭The Mighty Ken

Does anyone know if there's an alternative to Cabbage for the Mac?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 586 ✭✭✭The Mighty Ken

Does anyone know if there's an alternative to Cabbage for the Mac?

Scrap that. Downloaded JSMS. Very neat.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,551 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Everybody knows the O2 website is slow and crap, its been like this since atleast 1999.

We hardly need a thread about it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

Cabbage :D

Spare ribs any one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

themadchef wrote: »
    Cabbage :D

Spare ribs any one?

yes it is a very unfortunate name. I asked my mate what I should call it and for the laugh he said cabbage. And here we are a year and a half later :pac::(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭The guy

MY gripe with three is that they have no webtext. :mad:

The guy wrote: »
    MY gripe with three is that they have no webtext. :mad:

if that's your only gripe with three then you're extremely lucky tbh

Mark200 wrote: »
    Just to let yous know, I've tested out both Cabbage and JSMS and cabbage is, in my opinion, better.

The JSMS one adds a line at the end of the texts you send saying "sent using JSMS" or something like that which is annoying. And they're sneaky about it too because they don't send it if you send a text to your own number.

Not true Mark. JSMS adds the URL to the end of a text if the text is greater than 160 characters long, and only if there is space for it (i.e. without using up more webtexts). There's no sneakiness about it. This happens when you send to any number, including your own.

fbradyirl wrote: »
    Not true Mark. JSMS adds the URL to the end of a text if the text is greater than 160 characters long, and only if there is space for it (i.e. without using up more webtexts). There's no sneakiness about it. This happens when you send to any number, including your own.

Ah I see. Woops :o

Oh well, the other one doesn't send any URL's at all as far as I know, so I'll stick with that

it doesn't :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,233 ✭✭✭jos28

I hate the new system. The old one worked fine,why did they change. I had at least 50 scheduled text messages stored in the old system- friends birthdays etc. Lost them when the system changed over. Spent ages putting them all back in again and guess what... None of the messages have been delivered. It is so slow and not user friendly:mad:

Ah I see. Woops :o

I prefer JSMS as it doesn't send my login details to an unknown third party server. It talks directly to o2, vodafone and meteor.

it's true that cabbage sends your details via a server but it's really just for simplicities sake. i did have client side sending but it was a lot of hassle to keep working and people had to download a new version every time something changed.

It comes down to people have to trust that I'm not going to use their login details for anything dodgy. And even with JSMS people are putting their logins into a piece of software that was written by you so they're putting them same trust in you.

Also anyone who doesn't want to send their texts through my server is free to put the sending scripts on their own server :)
    http://cabbagetexter.com/source.php

Sam Vimes wrote: »
    it's true that cabbage sends your details via a server but it's really just for simplicities sake. i did have client side sending but it was a lot of hassle to keep working and people had to download a new version every time something changed.

It comes down to people have to trust that I'm not going to use their login details for anything dodgy. And even with JSMS people are putting their logins into a piece of software that was written by you so they're putting them same trust in you.

Also anyone who doesn't want to send their texts through my server is free to put the sending scripts on their own server :)
    http://cabbagetexter.com/source.php

Yes I know what your saying. im sure there's nothing dodgy going on, Im just saying that many prefer a cleaner solution which isnt dependant on 2 servers to be running to work.

If people didnt trust JSMS, they can use network sniffer tools to see if it is sending login details to places it shouldn't (actually one person did and contacted us to say he found no trace of that going on).

To be honest I think that it's good that people have the choice between both programs.

Yeah right :p

Yes I know what your saying. im sure there's nothing dodgy going on, Im just saying that many prefer a cleaner solution which isnt dependant on 2 servers to be running to work.
    It's true it probably would be better but it's really tricky to do in vb and since i have to keep the server running anyway for the mobile version which would cost too much to communicate directly it's just easier for me. I actually have code to do it written in java that could be used for client side but that'd add another layer of complexity and possible problems
    If people didnt trust JSMS, they can use network sniffer tools to see if it is sending login details to places it shouldn't (actually one person did and contacted us to say he found no trace of that going on).
    me too. People often email me asking if there's a mac or linux version and i point them to JSMS

I've tried it myself but i can't get it to work through my company's proxy :P

If I had time I'd love to rewrite the thing in Javascript or using Sproutcore or some web standard that would run from a browser without the need for a plugin or third party tool like Java to be installed first. This would eliminate problems like proxy config and would allow many more people to use it.

Also if you write it in vb proxies take care of themselves :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭eVeNtInE

eVeNtInE wrote: »

Ah another long suffering 3 customer :P
    Come over from the dark side my good man

Unless you're with *spit* tesco?

Also if you write it in vb proxies take care of themselves :)

VB requires windoz - one thing I tend to avoid :)

"Three" need to sort that out and give people free webtexts!

VB requires windoz - one thing I tend to avoid :)
    A good tactic :D

This is true

.. I've tried it myself but i can't get it to work through my company's proxy :P

I presume you entered your proxy and port into JSMS preferences?