Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Levels of fitness and dealing with the stupidity of the general public

• 06-12-2008 04:15PM

I'm just curious to see what your definition of fitness is. My definition of fitness is being capable of doing what I want to do successfully i.e. what ties in with my goals etc.

My big big big BIG and consistantly regular hobby is weightlifting and recently enough, HIIT cardio. That's what I'm into. That's what I love. That's what I do. I do it because I want to look good and because I want to be healthy. I also do it because it's physically and mentally tough and I love the challenge of setting goals and reaching them. It also gives me transferrable skills (such as confidence, hard work ethic) into the real world which in turn makes me a better person overall.

The ignorance of the general public towards fitness shocks me to the point where I simply don't have the patience anymore to talk to people who simply do not know what they are talking about and don't want to learn but choose to instead blast it with ridiculous claims, the infamous one being "he's on steroids" (because protein shakes are steroids right? ;) ) Yet these same people don't know that chicken is a source of protein or even something basic like what a carbohydrate is, not to mention these same people have a diet that is simply appalling. It really annoys me.

Am I alone? Do you get annoyed by people who don't understand why you do what you do? It's blatant ignorance. So is Usain Bolt unfit because he can't bench his own bodyweight? Or are drug free bodybuilders unfit because they are slower than marathon runners in marathons?

I believe the general public perceive fitness to be a case of "how far can you run before you get tired?" and they don't seem to comprehend the fact that fitness enthusiasts who participate in events such as powerlifting or bodybuilding or even the high jump (Olympics) are fit for the goals they intend to carry out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

the infamous one being "he's on steroids" (because protein shakes are steroids right? ;) )

I believe the general public perceive fitness to be a case of "how far can you run before you get tired?"

It's ridiculous how many people will slate supplements and consider them to be very bad for you.:rolleyes: Yet they either smoke and/or drink regurarly, yet they feel they are experts when it comes to nutrition.

As regards perception of fitness, it isn't just JoePublic who thinking being fit means being able to run. Throw in some GAA coaches/players too, as well as the Defence Forces and other agencies!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

a good friend of mine is about 3 months away from being a qualified nutrirional scientist and hasn't a fúcking notion with regards to sports supplements etc. all tho she knows every enzyme on the face of the planet.. there still feeding her the creatine is the devil crap, and she considers my occasional protein shake to be cheating! ........ so its not just joe public

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭injured365

the thing about supplements is that thereis a general misconception that the more you take the faster you will get stronger, fitter etc. but taking in the correct amounts is far more affective that overdosing on it as the body is unable to metabolise large doses. This is the main reason creatine has such a bad rep. large doses of creatine are only supposed to be taken in the first few weeks of using it after that the doses should be cut down considerably. From my own point of view, i feel a well balanced diet, maybe with a higher than average protein intake, is just as affective as taking supplements

Yeah but it's not just supplements, that scratches the surface. It's the ignorance of people who don't understand what fitness is about. People who would hold the opinion that weightlifting is a waste of time or people who think cycling is the be all and end all and how just because you can't cycle 100 miles a day you're unfit. It's people who don't have the criteria to back up what they are saying yet come out with ignorant and offensive statements. At this stage, I take offence to the ignorance and stupidity displayed by the general population regarding fitness in general.

ah but theres sport specific fitness too............

what is your concept of fitness?

You could be supremely fit and not have a bulls notion about weightlifting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

People who would hold the opinion that weightlifting is a waste of time or people who think cycling is the be all and end all and how just because you can't cycle 100 miles a day you're unfit.

Well, technically according to their defination of fitness (ie fitness=being able to cycle 100 miles a day), then a person that is unable to do so, is unfit.

Likewise, you are a weightlifter and compared to your goals and what you are able to do, they (people that are able to cycle 100 miles a day) would be unfit.

I think you are talking about two different things.

1) fitness for purpose ie you are your weight-lifting and a person being able to cycle 100 miles a day. Specific goal orientated fitness. Or even a darts player who has a beer belly and is heavy...to achieve his purpose, he is fit.

2) ill defined "general fitness" that many people (including myself) would ignorantly throw around ie being able to run a few miles, be able to do 50 push-ups, chin-ups, not overweight, relatively well built...etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Yeah it's quite obvious that the elite fitness enthusiasts hang around this forum.

Give it to them ignorants both barrels everyone!

From Wikipedia;
    "Physical fitness is now defined as the body’s ability to function efficiently and effectively in work and leisure activities, to be healthy, to resist hypokinetic diseases, and to meet emergency situations"

How many people can claim to meet the criteria??

injured365 wrote: »
    From Wikipedia;
    "Physical fitness is now defined as the body’s ability to function efficiently and effectively in work and leisure activities, to be healthy, to resist hypokinetic diseases, and to meet emergency situations"

How many people can claim to meet the criteria??

Me im fantastic :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭Cpaw

itsallaboutheL Stay on topic Please.

Its all about what you are into really. I mean OP people who aren't into weights in general or cardio then you can expect them to be ignorant about it. I mean we all have our interests if you know what I mean.

Its easy to say people that dont have an interest in fitness, have no reason to to be in the know about fitness, but the amount of people that each year from coronary arterial dieases is frightening , 40% of all deaths are related. Then considering correct diet and a small amount of physical activity is all thats needed to help reduce this considerably i think that having no interest in fitness is irrevalent, how about having an interest in living???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭Pugmister

Just in relaion to the whole supplement thing, I think that at times the general misconception surrounding these is increased through people who train but have done no research at all into the area and therefore think gulping down ten protein shakes a day along with creatine and whatever else will have them looking like that fitness model in no time at all. More often than not (specifically when it comes to males) these tend to be the people training for the completely wrong reasons i.e to look good for the birds.

The thing that really annoys me is the lack of understanding that people have when it comes to realising the amount of effort it takes to get yourself into decent condition. People constantly want to put your efforts down or say that your appearence is easy to achieve and they could do it within 3 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,775 ✭✭✭EileenG

What really gets me are all the women who refuse to pick up even a pink dumbbell because "I don't want to get too bulky or get Madonna arms". Do you think arms like Madonna's happen by accident? Or that a few decent muscles will make make you more bulky than a pile of wobbly fat?

In my entire life, I've met ONE genetically gifted woman, who has the potential to put on visible muscle easily. The rest of us have to sweat and struggle just to look as if we even know what a gym is.

And for what it's worth, my definition of fitness is being able to stay one step ahead of my children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭Arctic89

It also gives me transferrable skills (such as confidence, hard work ethic) into the real world which in turn makes me a better person overall. .

Ah come on, thats going a bit far.

I agree with a lot of whats being said though, I get the "steroid" jokes about the protein shakes from everyone who's seen me drink one. Everyone telling them how bad they are for you and "your kidneys" while they smoke a twenty box of fags and drink a keg of beer.

Other than that though, most people I know would be fairly cool about the whole fitness thing. OP, seems like your expecting your friends etc, to praise you about how much time and effort you put into it,and all the knowledge you have about nutrition, but in reality, most people wont, because they're not interested.

The general public dont know as much about fitness as posters here would, but its mainly because they're not interested, they'd rather spend their time watching films, listening to music, reading etc, which is cool, what fun would it be for the fit freaks if everyone was a world-class bodybuilder/Olympic athlete.

EileenG wrote: »
    What really gets me are all the women who refuse to pick up even a pink dumbbell because "I don't want to get too bulky or get Madonna arms". Do you think arms like Madonna's happen by accident? Or that a few decent muscles will make make you more bulky than a pile of wobbly fat?

Madonna's arms are gorgeous. Muscle doesn't look good on women though, Sorry :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

Cpaw wrote: »
    itsallaboutheL Stay on topic Please.

If you have a problem with a post, report it. Otherwise leave the modding up to a mod please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

OP, didn't you post before that you plan on being a fitness instructor? I don't think you have even qualified yet, and you are complaining about the people you will be working with-perhaps you need to think again about either your above attitude to the general public, or to the choice of profession.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭Zamboni

OP, didn't you post before that you plan on being a fitness instructor? I don't think you have even qualified yet, and you are complaining about the people you will be working with-perhaps you need to think again about either your above attitude to the general public, or to the choice of profession.

I think it was physiotherapy but the point stands.
    I used to get frustrated because people didn't understand basic fitness principles but then again I know nothing about art, chemistry, x factor. Point is, you only seek info that you want.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Zamboni wrote: »
    I think it was physiotherapy but the point stands.
    I used to get frustrated because people didn't understand basic fitness principles but then again I know nothing about art, chemistry, x factor. Point is, you only seek info that you want.

True that. Also the OP really shouldn't be just directed at the general public-the chiropractor I saw about my slipped disc works with the Connaught team and Galway soccer team and had many a story about the lack of knowledge amongst those athletes! Like you say, you only know what you want to know.

Every now and again on this forum, a topic like this arises. I'll save you all the trouble of my usual rant against smug people by summing it up in one sentence:

Most of you are not as fit and strong as you think you are, in fact, I bet I train 15 year olds who are fitter and stronger. Stop moaning.

Yours,

I intend on pursuing personal training and physical therapy (the latter due to my fascination with the musculoskeletal system i.e. it's a hobby I have an interest in and want to learn more). And this was the statement I said originally; the key bit in bold
    I simply don't have the patience anymore to talk to people who simply do not know what they are talking about and don't want to learn but choose to instead blast it with ridiculous claims

Personally speaking, if I am a qualified personal trainer and people are paying me to get them in shape, I'm pretty sure they will want to learn and will listen to me when they see I am trying to help them and advise them. It's the people who spout off crap and have no interest in wanting to learn that really bothers me.
    Pugmister wrote: »
    The thing that really annoys me is the lack of understanding that people have when it comes to realising the amount of effort it takes to get yourself into decent condition. People constantly want to put your efforts down or say that your appearence is easy to achieve and they could do it within 3 months.

That's what also bugs me. People underestimate the work involved. It's like they are intimidated and have no other option but to come out with statements such as "What? You swim lengths every day? What's the point in that? That's a waste of time." or "Lift weights? Why do that? That's a waste of time. Why do you want to lift weights? It's boring. I'd much rather run."

The Entrepreneur - Not claiming to be a know it all.

Roper wrote: »
    Every now and again on this forum, a topic like this arises. I'll save you all the trouble of my usual rant against smug people by summing it up in one sentence:

Most of you are not as fit and strong as you think you are, in fact, I bet I train 15 year olds who are fitter and stronger. Stop moaning.

Yours,

Is this directed at me since I started the topic? I'm not claiming to be really really fit or really really strong so what's up with the derogatory tone? I'm just starting a topic that is of interest to me and something that I'd like to discuss. Is there something wrong with what I did?

Personally speaking, I am a qualified personal trainer.

Can I PM you for advice so? :) Seriously...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

there are different types of fitness not everyone knows this

just like not everyone knows there are different areas of science or insurance or whatever

everyone is ignorant to something unless they try and impress on you their opinions who the **** cares. if they say something wrong tell them they are wrong if they want to discuss further do and prove them wrong with facts if they dont, leave it. just the same as anything else. not everyone wants to do what you want to do it dosnt make them any less of a person

Is this directed at me since I started the topic? I'm not claiming to be really really fit or really really strong so what's up with the derogatory tone? I'm just starting a topic that is of interest to me and something that I'd like to discuss. Is there something wrong with what I did?
    What's up with your derogatory tone regarding people who don't like your version of fitness? Didn't you ask what a lunge was a couple of weeks ago? You're not special because you work out, none of you are. In fact you're probably much weaker, and more unmotivated and lazy than you think you are.

Your friends, family and colleagues are probably partly right about your creatine usage too. Not that it's a steroid or equivalent, but that you most likely don't need it, and it's not giving you the benefit you think it is. I've seen creatine benefit people, but mostly because they're fit and strong already and look after their diet well. Most people I see taking creatine are underweight, overweight and not very strong and they take creatine either because:
    a) They think it's the magic bullet to fitness and strength
    b) Cos this is what fit people drink right? I'll just go and get my shaker and knock it back in front of everyone.

In short, the arrogance about what other people think and say in this thread is like most kinds of arrogance, stupid, baseless and something that will probably trip you up at some stage in the future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 333 ✭✭CoachBoone

PeakOutput wrote: »
    there are different types of fitness not everyone knows this

just like not everyone knows there are different areas of science or insurance or whatever

everyone is ignorant to something unless they try and impress on you their opinions who the **** cares. they something tell them they are wrong if they want to discuss further do and prove them wrong with facts if they dont leave it. just the same as anything else. not everyone wants to do what you want to do it dosnt make them any less of a person

Drunk post?

Op, its something you just need to deal with. I remember years ago someone telling me how Damien Duffs fitness levels were terrible. Obviously, I was pretty surprised and enquired as to why he would think this.

"sher, he's always huffing and puffing on the pitch"

Since your going to become a personal trainer, your going to have to educate people on fitness for purpose. I wouldnt hold it against a person for being ignorant to certain area's but I do agree that when people who dont know what they are talking about give you hassle over your informed beliefs that it becomes frustrating. Their argument regularly descends to riduculing your argument, this in itself gives me comfort though because people who do this are ones who dont have any facts to back up their claims.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

CoachBoone wrote: »
    Drunk post?

ye big time but now iv corrected it and made it legible i stand by it :p

What's up with your derogatory tone regarding people who don't like your version of fitness? Didn't you ask what a lunge was a couple of weeks ago? You're not special because you work out, none of you are. In fact you're probably much weaker, and more unmotivated and lazy than you think you are.

Your friends, family and colleagues are probably partly right about your creatine usage too. Not that it's a steroid or equivalent, but that you most likely don't need it, and it's not giving you the benefit you think it is. I've seen creatine benefit people, but mostly because they're fit and strong already and look after their diet well. Most people I see taking creatine are underweight, overweight and not very strong and they take creatine either because:
    b) Cos this is what fit people drink right? I'll just go and get my shaker and knock it back in front of everyone.

In short, the arrogance about what other people think and say in this thread is like most kinds of arrogance, stupid, baseless and something that will probably trip you up at some stage in the future.

I don't take creatine so half your post doesn't apply to me.

I know what a lunge is in theory, I was asking a question about the practical form of a lunge as I was doing it slightly incorrectly. I'm not claiming to be special because I work out. My point is that why do people feel the need to put other people down because of what they do? And why is it that the people who do this are people who don't know a lot about it and who aren't exactly inspirational leaders in the field of fitness of any form.

I'm not going to get involved in the "how weak i am" part as that's you being a troll. And a bad one at that. I'm not being arrogant because the general public don't have a clue about fitness, I'm annoyed and a little bit let down by the fact by people who DON'T WANT TO LEARN but will still attempt to put other people down just because they are living a lifestyle differently to them:
    people who simply do not know what they are talking about and don't want to learn but choose to instead blast it with ridiculous claims
    That's what I said Roper, It's a bit different to claiming I have a derogatory tone towards people who don't like my version of fitness.

My version of fitness is this:
    My definition of fitness is being capable of doing what I want to do successfully i.e. what ties in with my goals etc.
    Again, I said this in the first post and I can't imagine too many people disagreeing with it or saying it's wrong or incorrect.

My point is, it must come down to the old saying that bullies put other people down to make themselves feel better. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭AlphaMale 3OO

Your're displaying a fair degree of arrogance yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭celestial

Yeah but it's not just supplements, that scratches the surface. It's the ignorance of people who don't understand what fitness is about. People who would hold the opinion that weightlifting is a waste of time or people who think cycling is the be all and end all and how just because you can't cycle 100 miles a day you're unfit. It's people who don't have the criteria to back up what they are saying yet come out with ignorant and offensive statements. At this stage, I take offence to the ignorance and stupidity displayed by the general population regarding fitness in general.

Listen man, if you are going to get bent out of shape and 'offended' by what people say or don't know about whatever then you are probably going to have a hard life. That applies to everything - not just fitness. Why should it bother you so much? If people are 'putting you down' then why don't you just ignore them, roll your eyes or just smile and nod?

Roper's point is that you are in no position to get offended or pissed about what you perceive about other people's lack of knowledge about what fitness may or may not be. In fact, no-one on this planet is in this position - mainly because no-one knows everything and fitness means different things to different people. Don't you think that the fact that you get 'offended' and annoyed at the 'ignorance' of others around this topic says more about you than about the people who are 'annoying' you?!

celestial wrote: »
    Don't you think that the fact that you get 'offended' and annoyed at the 'ignorance' of others around this topic says more about you than about the people who are 'annoying' you?!

Not really, I just wanted to discuss the issue more so out of curiosity. This is not necessarily a personal post. I actually overheard part of the conversation in my gym and it got me thinking.

However I take ropers point on board about getting offended or annoyed by it since I don't know everything, however I wasn't claiming to know everything and I found it ironic he chose to direct the arrogant card at me when it was he who said something about how people who agree with me are weak and not as strong or as motivated etc bla bla as we think and how he trains 15 yr old who are stronger and fitter. That was arrogant. That's where he let himself down in my opinion.

forbesii wrote: »
    Your're displaying a fair degree of arrogance yourself.
    yes I am, but that's because
    a) I'm quite arrogant
    b) I'm in a position to be arrogant
    c) I'll never get my comeuppance
    Celestial wrote:
    Roper's point is that you are in no position to get offended or pissed
    Don't assume that was my point!

That WAS my point, but, still...

yes I am, but that's because
    a) I'm quite arrogant
    b) I'm in a position to be arrogant
    c) I'll never get my comeuppance

Whatever. You come across as an ignorant person. You're trying to make someone else seem or feel ignorant. You're the problem.

ig⋅no⋅rance
    –noun
    the state or fact of being ignorant; lack of knowledge, learning, information, etc.

Yes, I'm ignorant of quite a lot of things- quantum physics, baseball, french cuisine- but it appears as though I know enough to not throw stones in a glasshouse.

If you meant in terms of my manners, well then I can only assure you that I am a perfect gent. I'm well bred, posess a rapier wit and and go down a treat at cocktail parties, wine and cheese receptions and weddings. I'm available for hire for these and other occasions.

Seriously though someone who knows me has to step in on my behalf here, I'm not ignorant am I?

ig⋅no⋅rance
    –noun
    the state or fact of being ignorant; lack of knowledge, learning, information, etc.

Yes, I'm ignorant of quite a lot of things- quantum physics, baseball, french cuisine- but it appears as though I know enough to not throw stones in a glasshouse.

If you meant in terms of my manners, well then I can only assure you that I am a perfect gent. I'm well bred, posess a rapier wit and and go down a treat at cocktail parties, wine and cheese receptions and weddings. I'm available for hire for these and other occasions.

Seriously though someone who knows me has to step in on my behalf here, I'm not ignorant am I?

If that's supposed to be witty, you failed. Neither funny or witty. I'm more of a lurker than a poster but lots of your post irk me so maybe you are ignorant. And before you start flinging dictionary entries around again, I feel that word in the present day has taken on more meaning than any dictionary has accounted for, so just understand what I mean and leave it. Get your comeback in and go back on topic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 863 ✭✭✭Mikel

If that's supposed to be witty, you failed. Neither funny or witty. I'm more of a lurker than a poster but lots of your post irk me so maybe you are ignorant. And before you start flinging dictionary entries around again, I feel that word in the present day has taken on more meaning than any dictionary has accounted for, so just understand what I mean and leave it. Get your comeback in and go back on topic.
    I do enjoy the irony of someone throwing the accusation of ignorance while being ignorant of it's meaning
    'taken on more meaning' = 'I didn't know what it meant so I'll imply you were being pedantic'

ig⋅no⋅rance
    –noun

Dude what are you doing? You're on a message board and your displaying exceptionally high levels of arrogance and stupidity. I don't care how much you claim to know. You can't possibly think it's fair to act that way and then try and rescue yourself by getting a personal friend who knows you to step in and save the day (which has not yet happened, but I'm sure it will). You can't act like a dick and then say you're not one. I mean you've basically called me weak, arrogant, unfit and ranted at me for half a post about creatine usage when all I wanted to do was discuss something. This all stemming from the fact that you don't know me or what I look like. You've also gone off on one at me because I want to be a physical therapist. I suggest you grab a "Dr Pepper from the fridge" as you "comically" say from time to time. I'll leave you to it.

Mikel wrote: »
    I do enjoy the irony of someone throwing the accusation of ignorance while being ignorant of it's meaning
    'taken on more meaning' = 'I didn't know what it meant so I'll imply you were being pedantic'

What you just said is laughable. I'm well aware of the meaning of the word 'ignorant'. Why did you even bother contributing? Anyway this is childish and completely off topic so I'm not contributing to the thread anymore as I have no opinion on the initial subject.

Dude what are you doing? You're on a message board and your displaying exceptionally high levels of arrogance and stupidity. I don't care how much you claim to know. You can't possibly think it's fair to act that way and then try and rescue yourself by getting a personal friend who knows you to step in and save the day (which has not yet happened, but I'm sure it will). You can't act like a dick and then say you're not one. I mean you've basically called me weak, arrogant, unfit and ranted at me for half a post about creatine usage when all I wanted to do was discuss something. This all stemming from the fact that you don't know me or what I look like. You've also gone off on one at me because I want to be a physical therapist. I suggest you grab a "Dr Pepper from the fridge" as you "comically" say from time to time. I'll leave you to it.
    Dude, I think you need to calm down.
    Nobody 'basically called you' anything.
    On your studies do you read any psychology?
    Do you know what 'validation' and 'projection' are?

This all stems from the fact that you don't get the pats on the back you feel you deserve. I've read your first post again and you say you get offended by the comments people make to you. That's insane, actually offended?

Why does it bother you so much that 'the general public', although you probably just mean people you've met, aren't fulsome in their praise for what you do?
    Why do you need the validation? If you're training for yourself what do you care.
    Why do you expect everyone else to feel the same about it as you do?

Can you honestly say that if you met someone who was passionate about some other pursuit that you would never or have never said
    'Why are you into that, thats just driving around in a circle/ walking up a mountain/throwing a thing at a whatever etc etc etc.

When you break it down everything is 'just xyz' if you know what I mean.

Roper wasn't being ignorant, he just wasn't jumping in feet first to congratulate you for training and writing everyone else off as lazy slobs.
    These threads come up frequently, and the OPs always seem to think it's a home run, and get very put out if anyone might point out a tone of arrogance or smugness.

Don't believe me? You accused him of accusing you of being 'weak, arrogant, unfit..'
    Did he really? Where?
    Or did he just not row in behind your argument?

What you just said is laughable. I'm well aware of the meaning of the word 'ignorant'. Why did you even bother contributing? Anyway this is childish and completely off topic so I'm not contributing to the thread anymore as I have no opinion on the initial subject.
    How is it laughable?
    If you are well aware of the meaning why did you use it incorrectly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

Sheesh....I wish you people would report a post every once in a while instead of getting all cranky with each other. Now I have to go and read through this whole thread!

edit: ok, nevermind.

Mikel wrote: »
    Dude, I think you need to calm down.
    Nobody 'basically called you' anything.
    On your studies do you read any psychology?
    Do you know what 'validation' and 'projection' are?

This all stems from the fact that you don't get the pats on the back you feel you deserve. I've read your first post again and you say you get offended by the comments people make to you. That's insane, actually offended?

Why does it bother you so much that 'the general public', although you probably just mean people you've met, aren't fulsome in their praise for what you do?
    Why do you need the validation? If you're training for yourself what do you care.
    Why do you expect everyone else to feel the same about it as you do?

Can you honestly say that if you met someone who was passionate about some other pursuit that you would never or have never said
    'Why are you into that, thats just driving around in a circle/ walking up a mountain/throwing a thing at a whatever etc etc etc.

When you break it down everything is 'just xyz' if you know what I mean.

Roper wasn't being ignorant, he just wasn't jumping in feet first to congratulate you for training and writing everyone else off as lazy slobs.
    These threads come up frequently, and the OPs always seem to think it's a home run, and get very put out if anyone might point out a tone of arrogance or smugness.

Don't believe me? You accused him of accusing you of being 'weak, arrogant, unfit..'
    Did he really? Where?
    Or did he just not row in behind your argument?

Ah come on now, I'm not looking for any pats on the back. This is a discussion board and I was willing to discuss why the general public say ridiculous things but don't have will to learn the correct facts themselves. That's what it boils down to. If my use of the word arrogant was used a bit too freely to the point it made me look arrogant, then I apologize as that was not my intention. General public includes the media also, hence why they treat supplements like steroids. That's just one example. Maybe "offended" is too strong a word but I was quite annoyed when I wrote the post to begin with and that tone carried throughout. Offended is too strong of a word and I will refrain from using it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,775 ✭✭✭EileenG

Cpaw wrote: »
    Madonna's arms are gorgeous. Muscle doesn't look good on women though, Sorry :o

I love Madonna's arms too. And they are very muscular. How can you say muscle doesn't look good on women? Muscle is what gives us shape. Without muscle, all we've got is blob! I assume you think very low levels of bodyfat (as seen on competitive body builders) is not attractive?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

My point is that why do people feel the need to put other people down because of what they do?

Aren't you doing the same thing here? People don't go to the gym so you put them and their "ignorance" down in a public forum where you expect everyone to agree with you.

Pot kettle black comes to mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,388 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

a good friend of mine is about 3 months away from being a qualified nutrirional scientist and hasn't a fúcking notion with regards to sports supplements etc. all tho she knows every enzyme on the face of the planet.. there still feeding her the creatine is the devil crap, and she considers my occasional protein shake to be cheating!
    Cheating who? Many qualified people do not have a clue, thats the whole problem the points system leads to, people studying subjects since they "got the points".
    I take offence to the ignorance and stupidity displayed by the general population regarding fitness in general.
    I take no offence really. Just like I do not get offended at people ignorance of other hobbies/interests I have.

Most people know how to count, they were taught it in maths at school. Most know where France is, they were taught it in geography at school. Most do not have a clue how to feed or exercise themselves, they were told to run around a field in school rather than actually get Physical Education.

That's all that really bothers me, the government might see obesity is a problem but do next to nothing to educate people. Instead they get their education down the pub, from the sun, and joe duffy.

Aren't you doing the same thing here? People don't go to the gym so you put them and their "ignorance" down in a public forum where you expect everyone to agree with you.

Pot kettle black comes to mind.

Look I don't know how many times people are going to jump to their own conclusions. The people I have a problem with are as I said all along, the people who spout off crap they don't necessarily know about but don't make any effort to LEARN. They are the people I have a problem with, I have no problem with people who don't like something once they know both sides to it. That comes down to personal opinion and tastes etc.

People who say something and it's wrong; I don't have a problem with. It's the people who say things that are wrong, but don't want to know the full story who I don't have time for and if that comes across as arrogant then fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,863 ✭✭✭kevpants

I think I'd sum this whole thread up with one word.

So?

Who cares about what the general public think. I get it all the time. I'm training to compete in powerlifting and as a result my ass is now my main bodypart. I admit I probably look like a fool because I go to the gym the whole time and don't have the tapered wide shoulders to skinny waist we males are all supposed to be striving for.

No one gets it. I'm pretty sure a lot of the people on this forum wouldn't think I'm fit to look at my gut and wouldn't understand why I don't want to look like a fitness model.

And I don't care. I don't care what they think, I do it for me.

Personally I don't get why anyone would want to look like a cover model for Men's Health or be a bodybuilder. I don't understand. I see it as narcisistic in the extreme but I won't be on here slagging them off and I don't expect to be slagged for thinking that. I don't get it like my friends don't get how I can bust my ass in the gym and be content with my gut and my gigantic ass.

I personally rant like a fool here about my perspective and I respect everyone elses right to rant their own sh1t, no matter how much of a tool I think they are.

So far on this thread I've been called arrogant, ignorant and stupid.

And yet, I'm the bad guy.

I like it.

Look I don't know how many times people are going to jump to their own conclusions. The people I have a problem with are as I said all along, the people who spout off crap they don't necessarily know about but don't make any effort to LEARN. They are the people I have a problem with, I have no problem with people who don't like something once they know both sides to it. That comes down to personal opinion and tastes etc.

People who say something and it's wrong; I don't have a problem with. It's the people who say things that are wrong, but don't want to know the full story who I don't have time for and if that comes across as arrogant then fine.
    Can you honestly say that you don't have any ill founded, uneducated opinions about anything? You don't have a few beers and start spouting nonsense about football, banks, teachers, boxing, global warming whatever?
    Roper wrote:
    So far on this thread I've been called arrogant, ignorant and stupid.And yet, I'm the bad guy.
    Blame Kevpants. His
    I think I'd sum this whole thread up with one word.
    So?
    should have been the first response on the thread, then none of this would have happened. He got here too late

ooh i could get in so much trouble right now!!