Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CCTV cameras that can predict potential crimes in advace to be rolled out in the UK.

• 28-11-2008 12:55pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭

CCTV cameras loaded with software that can predict potential crimes in advance that are to be rolled out on to British streets according to the Daily Mail.

THey can alert suspicious behaviour such as loitering and slow movemnt and then zoom in and alert the authorities. This is like Si Fi stuff taken directly out of the movie Minority Report or Densel Washingtons Deja Vu.

But the danger is that the innocent could be forced to account for their movements despite doing nothing wrong. Nick Hewitson, managing director of Smart CCTV, which has created the technology, denied it was a further infringement on privacy.
    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-1089966/Minority-Report-comes-Britain-The-CCTV-spots-crimes-BEFORE-happen.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Great. No looking at the arse of girls walking in front of me anymore :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

Domo230 wrote: »
    Its only 24 years later than Orwell predicted but finally 1984 is going to be a reality.

Yep

There's approximately 1 CCTV camera for every 14 people in Britain

Mark200 wrote: »
    Yep

How many do we have??:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Yep

That's a bit sh*t. Imagine the fights over who gets to use it next. They need more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

As long as the software is open source I'm ok with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,771 ✭✭✭jebuz

noblestee wrote: »

jesus, don't be such a knob!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

noblestee wrote: »
    This dose concern Ireland and many posters on boards.ie reside in the UK.

The Irish authorities are also very quick to follow the UK in surveillance technology as I have already pointed out in several threads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

jebuz wrote: »
    jesus, don't be such a knob!
    Careful now.

As for cameras, I've said it before and I'll keep saying it. If you are not breaking the law, you have absolutely nothing to worry about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Guru Maith Agut

This dose

What dose would that be then?

Terry wrote: »
    Careful now.

As for cameras, I've said it before and I'll keep saying it. If you are not breaking the law, you have absolutely nothing to worry about.
    Unless these things come in and decide youre going to break the law. Personally I don't fancy bein tackled by random gardai cause my movement suggests I'm gonna rape some girl.
    I might just want to feel her up without consent :pac:

Unless these things come in and decide youre going to break the law. Personally I don't fancy bein tackled by random gardai cause my movement suggests I'm gonna rape some girl.
    I might just want to feel her up without consent :pac:
    Don't loiter then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,477 ✭✭✭✭Raze_them_all

Careful now.

Easy for some to say, I would bet you've never been searched by guards while waiting for your gf/oh/friends only for family members to walk by, Can be rather embarrassing trying to explain that they were searching you because you were standing around waiting.

Don't loiter then.
    Keep moving so. I like your style

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

But the danger is that the innocent could be forced to account for their movements despite doing nothing wrong.

Much like driving while black, and walking while muslim (updated from the old "Irish while breathing". Nothing new there then. As long as they don't incorporate the penalty from the new offence of innocent while Brazillian, it probably won't change much on the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

No wai! Its a slippery slope. Would you really be comfortable with a higher power being able to monitor and record every move you make and every detail of your life and personality? The key thing is that western governments are relatively benevolent/democratic/whatever now compared to what Orwell describes, but mass-surveillance technology in a different, future government's hands would turn society into a nightmarish world.

Everyone should value their privacy, whether or not they are breaking the law. No government or authority should have the right to intrude into your personal life, just to check on the off-chance that you might be breaking the law.

Easy for some to say, I would bet you've never been searched by guards while waiting for your gf/oh/friends only for family members to walk by, Can be rather embarrassing trying to explain that they were searching you because you were standing around waiting.
    Are you ****ing kidding me?

When I was about 16 the cops would search me any time they saw me. Sometimes in front of my neighbours.
    I just never carried the hash with me, so they never found anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Dinter

cornbb wrote: »

Everyone should value their privacy, whether or not they are breaking the law. No government or authority should have the right to intrude into your personal life, just to check on the off-chance that you might be breaking the law.

When the Government place cctv cameras in my house then I'll worry about my right to privacy.

Otherwise if I'm out on the street I'll freely waive my "right" to privacy as it must be weighed against everyones right to walk around without being mugged, beaten up etc.

Are you ****ing kidding me?

When I was about 16 the cops would search me any time they saw me. Sometimes in front of my neighbours.
    I just never carried the hash with me, so they never found anything.
    ah but how old are you now??? I've yet to see the guards stop anyone late 20's/early 30's on the street and search them. I'm 20, Mohawk and usually have a black eye from training, while I admit it's not the best look it doesn't give the guards the right to stop me and search me as much as they do, let alone what would happen if these camera's were brought in over here.I got searched once while waiting for my girlfriend at the time by the guards...In front of her family who were at the afters of a wedding, not a great first impression to give and all because I was just standing around waiting for her

Dinter wrote: »
    When the Government place cctv cameras in my house then I'll worry about my right to privacy.

Otherwise if I'm out on the street I'll freely waive my "right" to privacy as it must be weighed against everyones right to walk around without being mugged, beaten up etc.
    You'd be surprised how much they can see you do in yourhouse just by having camera's on the street opposite.

ah but how old are you now??? I've yet to see the guards stop anyone late 20's/early 30's on the street and search them. I'm 20, Mohawk and usually have a black eye from training, while I admit it's not the best look it doesn't give the guards the right to stop me and search me as much as they do, let alone what would happen if these camera's were brought in over here.I got searched once while waiting for my girlfriend at the time by the guards...In front of her family who were at the afters of a wedding, not a great first impression to give and all because I was just standing around waiting for her
    Get a haircut, hippy.

All things considered, most people have grown out of the illegal drug crap by the time they are in their late 20's. The people most likely to be carrying drugs are those on the fringes of society. Most of the time those people stand out.

You will continue to be searched while dressing like you do. The gardai have the right ot search anyone they suspect of carrying anything illegal.

Simple solution. Shave your head and keep your hands up.Worked wonders for me :D

Get a haircut, hippy.

You will continue to be searched while dressing like you do. The gardai have the right ot search anyone they suspect of carrying anything illegal.
    Dressing as I do? Jeans and a tshirt or jeans and a shirt is what I'm usually wearing
    Simple solution. Shave your head and keep your hands up.Worked wonders for me :D
    I would but I've a nasty scar that my hair hides that I wouldn't like to get re opened. Keeping my hands up didn't help last sat as seen by my execution on youtube lol

Well then. Next time you'll know to avoid little iraq in the middle of town

I used to think that, but I just now think it's a bit scary and somewhat worrying that it can soon get to the stage that you can't walk anywhere without the Government knowing that you're moving, where you were, where you're going to.

I'm not one of those tin-foil-hat guys by any measure, but still...

I don't think the current Government would abuse it, but future governments might.

Check out "True Stories: Taking Liberties" if you're interested. It opened my eyes a bit too.

Here's the first part on youtube:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j21rcnJ3EO8
    second:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cQv0cF_in3Y
    Third:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l2Ex_KaiXi8
    Fourth:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UZvgZSqDkKs
    Fifth:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=20frO8GMpJ4

I don't think the current Government would abuse it, but future governments might.
    It would be the up and coming pan European EU Police state I would be concerned about. We are already on the slippery slope of sharing traffic offenses with UK and the rest of Europe, next it will be public order offenses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 justmum

And how long do you think it'll take for all those criminals out there to figure this all out. In some countries for example there is a 24 hour patroll on every street and every corner, and it worked for a while but they got around it and the crime levels are back to what they were before it all came in to action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,231 ✭✭✭Fad

CCTV cameras loaded with software that can predict potential crimes in advance that are to be rolled out on to British streets according to the Daily Mail.

There's your problem,

RAG!

I used to think that, but I just now think it's a bit scary and somewhat worrying that it can soon get to the stage that you can't walk anywhere without the Government knowing that you're moving, where you were, where you're going to.

I'm not one of those tin-foil-hat guys by any measure, but still...

Check out "True Stories: Taking Liberties" if you're interested. It opened my eyes a bit too.

Here's the first part on youtube:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j21rcnJ3EO8
    second:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cQv0cF_in3Y
    Third:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l2Ex_KaiXi8
    Fourth:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UZvgZSqDkKs
    Fifth:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=20frO8GMpJ4
    I honestly do not care what information the government have on me.
    If they want my blood type, I'll gladly tell them. (Not that I know what it is though)
    If they want to know how many time I fart every day, I'll start counting. Although, I have no idea why they would need such a useless piece of information.

It would be the up and coming pan European EU Police state I would be concerned about. We are already on the slippery slope of sharing traffic offenses with UK and the rest of Europe, next it will be public order offenses.
    And the problem with keeping track of reckless drivers is?

They already share information on football hooligans. Do you have a problem with that too?

Listen, if they start taking liberties like telling us when to go to bed, then we'll have a revolution. Until that happens, you all need to relax.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 794 ✭✭✭hot2def

Careful now.

no, as long as you aren't breaking the law *or* find that measures like these diminish your privacy and/or quality of life.

Listen, if they start taking liberties like telling us when to go to bed, then we'll have a revolution. Until that happens, you all need to relax.
    You'd think that. But Hitler slowly took away peoples liberties and no one stopped him until he started invading other countries.

I don't think that's what's going to happen, but it's an extreme example of what could happen.

All the Government have to say is "it's to stop terrorism" and they can slowly get away with pretty much anything.

I've absolutely nothing to hide. But that doesn't mean I'd be ok with Government officials reading my msn conversations, listening in on my telephone calls, reading my e-mail and knowing where exactly I am at any second.

Just because I don't break the law and just because I have nothing to hide, doesn't mean I don't want/deserve privacy.

In the video that I linked to, people are arrested and given a criminal record for nothing more than peaceful protesting.....under the terrorist act.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Keeping my hands up didn't help last sat as seen by my execution on youtube lol

ha ha deadly. Send us on the link and I have a looksy

hot2def wrote: »
    no, as long as you aren't breaking the law *or* find that measures like these diminish your privacy and/or quality of life.
    How do security measures diminish your quality of life?

You'd think that. But Hitler slowly took away peoples liberties and no one stopped him until he started invading other countries.

I don't think that's what's going to happen, but it's an extreme example of what could happen.

All the Government have to say is "it's to stop terrorism" and they can slowly get away with pretty much anything.

I've absolutely nothing to hide. But that doesn't mean I'd be ok with Government officials reading my msn conversations, listening in on my telephone calls, reading my e-mail and knowing where exactly I am at any second.

Just because I don't break the law and just because I have nothing to hide, doesn't mean I don't want/deserve privacy.

In the video that I linked to, people are arrested and given a criminal record for nothing more than peaceful protesting.....under the terrorist act.
    Godwin.

Godwin.

I made more than one point in that post. So intelligent reply...... :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,288 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Dinter wrote: »
    Infrared , Thermal Imaging , Terahertz and hijacking of phones and webcams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I wonder how long it would take them to predict that someone's about to un-bolt a CCTV camera from its bracket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,269 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

R_t_d_H you really, really need to get a new hobby, a goldfish, or a hooker or something.

Is all this craic that you post on here part of your job or are you really that worried about all these schemes that are never going to happen?

CCTV cameras that predict the future??! In the midst of Stephen the Recession? :rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

bigkev49 wrote: »
    R_t_d_H you really, really need to get a new hobby, a goldfish, or a hooker or something.

Is all this craic that you post on here part of your job or are you really that worried about all these schemes that are never going to happen?

CCTV cameras that predict the future??! In the midst of Stephen the Recession? :rolleyes::rolleyes:

The goldfish have all been fitted with surveillance equipment and are working for the government. If you have one - flush it down the jacks - don't get caught with your trousers down. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Careful now.

What if your perving, like you know... Just throwing your eyes on lots of cleaverage and arses etc etc, only reason I go shopping to tell you the truth. Arses... nom nom nom... :P

So some people in scotland yard think that minority report is doable?

Predicting crime? Balls to that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭doonothing

Haha oh wow. Wont the criminals just stop loitering and moving slow?
    It'll be effective for a whoooole day.

I made more than one point in that post. So intelligent reply...... :rolleyes:
    Right, so the government are reading your e-mails and your MSN conversations and what not.
    Do you have any actual proof of this, or did you just imagine that they are doing it?

What if your perving, like you know... Just throwing your eyes on lots of cleaverage and arses etc etc, only reason I go shopping to tell you the truth. Arses... nom nom nom... :P

So some people in scotland yard think that minority report is doable?

Predicting crime? Balls to that.

Indeed.
    I believe the cameras are made through a joint venture between tynacorp and cyberdine.

And the problem with keeping track of reckless drivers is?.
    The problem is defining recless.

You have thousands of automated ANPR and Gatso cameras spitting out summonses in the UK. New laws being drafted in to ban drivers after just two speeding offenses if they reach 20MPH over the limit. (This is not much on a motorway). This is just one example of the way things are going.
    They already share information on football hooligans. Do you have a problem with that too?.
    I don't but when the whole country has to loose civil liberties over a couple of football hooligans I do see a problem.
    It may be too late by then.

I gave the boiling frog example in another forum and Ill give it again. The boiling frog story states that a frog can be boiled alive if the water is heated slowly enough — it is said that if a frog is placed in boiling water, it will jump out, but if it is placed in cold water that is slowly heated, it will never jump out.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boiling_frog

Right, so the government are reading your e-mails and your MSN conversations and what not.

How did you reach that conclusion...?

You said that you don't care what kind of information the government gathers about you.

Would you be completely comfortable with them reading your msn conversations, your e-mails and so on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,063 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

I can't believe I've read three pages of this. Really, as Terry and others have said, unless real liberties with your personal information/freedom are being taken then there really isn't anything to worry about.

CCTV is great most of the time, it's a deterrant folks and one that is proven to work. Worry about something that really matters.

I can't believe I've read three pages of this. Really, as Terry and others have said, unless real liberties with your personal information/freedom are being taken then there really isn't anything to worry about.

CCTV is great most of the time, it's a deterrant folks and one that is proven to work. Worry about something that really matters.

Well what do you see as freedom?

Is the right to protest not a freedom?

The freedom of speech?

The right to remain innocent until proven guilty? - The UK has continuously extended the amount of time a "terrorist" can be held in custody without charge.

You should really check out the documentary I linked to earlier in the thread.

The problem is defining recless.
    Umm. The law already has a definition of reckless. Many of them infact.
    So if you don't obey these laws, then you are driving recklessly.
    You have thousands of automated ANPR and Gatso cameras spitting out summonses in the UK. New laws being drafted in to ban drivers after just two speeding offenses if they reach 20MPH over the limit. (This is not much on a motorway). This is just one example of the way things are going.
    I have a solution to this one.
    It's a bit radical, but bare with me on this.
    Are you ready?

Don't go over the speed limit.

Now I know your souped up micra can do a gazillion miles an hour, but the limits are there for both your safety and the safety of others.
    I know you would like to pretend that you are Lewis Hamilton, but you really are not that good of a driver and the road you are on is not the Nürburgring.

So if you don't break the limit, then you have nothing to worry about.

This goes back to my earlier point of not breaking the law.
    Have you copped that yet?

Don't break the law and the cops won't hassle you. It really is that simple.
    I don't but when the whole country has to loose civil liberties over a couple of football hooligans I do see a problem.
    It may be too late by then.
    how are people losing civil liberties over a few football hooligans?
    Really, I would like a thourough explanation as to how an entire country is losing their civil liberties because of a couple of football hooligans.
    I gave the boiling frog example in another forum and Ill give it again. The boiling frog story states that a frog can be boiled alive if the water is heated slowly enough — it is said that if a frog is placed in boiling water, it will jump out, but if it is placed in cold water that is slowly heated, it will never jump out.
    So you are equating humans to frogs now?

How did you reach that conclusion...?
    You wrote:
    Or are you just a bit full of yourself?
    How many people use MSN for conversations.
    Now, how many of those conversations are monitored?
    How many people would it take to monitor every single conversation on the net?
    You said that you don't care what kind of information the government gathers about you.
    I don't.
    I have absolutely nothing to hide.
    Ok, I look at porn on the net, but it's not kiddie porn, so I don't think they'll be kicking my door down any time soon.
    Would you be completely comfortable with them reading your msn conversations, your e-mails and so on?
    Yes, as they are willing to sit through what are usually dull conversations with my friend across the road.
    As for the e-mail, they're usually just reported posts from here or the usual viral of the day.

Are you planning assassinations via e-mail?
    People have been caught out that way before.

The freedom of speech?

The right to remain innocent until proven guilty? - The UK has continuously extended the amount of time a "terrorist" can be held in custody without charge.

Are you basing your life around a video you watched on youtube?

Don't watch S.O.D.'s "kill yourself" video if that's the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,063 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

The freedom of speech?

No thanks, I'd rather do other things with my time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

I gave the boiling frog example in another forum and Ill give it again. The boiling frog story states that a frog can be boiled alive if the water is heated slowly enough it is said that if a frog is placed in boiling water, it will jump out, but if it is placed in cold water that is slowly heated, it will never jump out.

Just because you found an analogy that fits the theory you propose, it doesn't mean your theory is correct. If this boiling frog nonsense really applied to humans, then how come you managed to find out they're turning up the heat? Are you immune to the boiling frog effect? When things really start to heat up i.e. Our real freedoms are being affected, we will notice and do something about it.

Besides I thought we'd agreed over on the Conspiracy Theories forum to use boiling a lobster as an example since the boiling frog thing isn't quite true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

No thanks, I'd rather do other things with my time.

You should totally check out the "2 frogs 1 pot" video on Youtube!