Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you hate RTE???

• 20-11-2008 12:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭

Personally i despise RTE and what is is today. There is hardly any irish talent on the TV or the Radio and in fairness whoever runs the place should be shot. They cant think up of any original ideas from their {EDIT sorry i thought the apprenitce was RTE, but the programme about doin up you house is just as gay}, the that shambles that was Colm and Jim Jim the other night and even most of the people on the radio i cant even stand. Look at Gerry Ryan Nob Nation for example, the just ripped off Today FM's Gift Grub!

And it seems that if you get a job on 2fm you are guaranteed a television show of your own at some stage! it even boils down the soccer pundits, Ronnie Whelan and Ray Houghtan. Honestly if Ireland qualify for the nest world cup the entire team wont have to bother paying pensions as RTE will offer them a nest egg doind some sort of bad punditing or commentary on the soccer in 15 years to come.

As we have seen a lot of threads on after hours by enraged boardsy's giving out about the national broadcaster im just wondering what do you all really think of RTE?

Do you hate RTE? 215 votes

Yes i bloody hate RTE and what they have become.
    0% 0 votes
    No, I love RTE and think their great!
    73% 158 votes
    arrRTE Jaguar
    26% 57 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,099 ✭✭✭iseegirls

if only there was a TV forum . . . . . ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

I think they are great, sure didnt they have some roide on Nationwide on Halloween night. That alone was worth the licence fee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭stevoman

iseegirls wrote: »
    if only there was a TV forum . . . . . ;)

After hours poll cant be beaten im afraid!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

Haven't watched it in ages, don't think you should have to pay the part of the tv license that goes to RTE at all. They should just make it a subscription service, of course they know they'll die on their arse if they ever had to do that since they don't offer most people what they want to watch anymore.

In fairness though, 90% of channels are crap but I don't have to pay for the other ones to use my games consoles or DVD player :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

stevoman wrote: »
    After hours poll cant be beaten im afraid!

I thought the general consensus on AH was that the Poles should be beaten? :confused:

Was there a change to the charter?

EDIT: Oh polls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭pierrot

yes, its a ridiculous organization, who will continue to fund the likes of that Home Run ****e ( how on earth did that get on telly), and give their mates like Pat Kenny big new contracts even though everybody hates him.
    anything they will put money towards will be something 'edgy and controversial' , Raw being the latest example. horrible stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

brim4brim wrote:
    of course they know they'll die on their arse if they ever had to do that since they don't offer most people what they want to watch anymore.
    Anything to quantify that remark?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I think TG4 do an excellent job on the budget they have :)
    They have shows like Afraic or Ros na Run employing Irish staff and production crews. Good documentaries too, usually get an actor to do a new voiceover.
    Showing GAA games also that RTE would never show

Part of RTE too

i will say that the news is ok though, one thing we are lucky about is that we have a fairly impartial and un-interfered-with news service. And Sharon ni Bheolan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,477 ✭✭✭newbie2

...their gay apprentice programme...
    made by TV3 I thought....

pierrot wrote: »
    i will say that the news is ok though, one thing we are lucky about is that we have a fairly impartial and un-interfered-with news service. And Sharon ni Bheolan.

Ah Sharon......... :)

She's awful without a script though. She stutters and stammers and asks stupid questions as soon as things go off-script even slightly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

They cant think up of any original ideas from their gay apprentice programme
    If you're referring to The Apprentice, that's on TV3.
    Look at Gerry Ryan Nob Nation for example, the just ripped off Today FM's Gift Grub!
    True. Tis pathetic. Although Gerry Ryan doesn't have anything to do with it, it just happens to be aired during his show.
    And it seems that if you get a job on 2fm you are guaranteed a television show of your own at some stage! it even boils down the soccer pundits, Ronnie Whelan and Ray Houghtan. Honestly if Ireland qualify for the nest world cup the entire team wont have to bother paying pensions as RTE will offer them a nest egg doind some sort of bad punditing or commentary on the soccer in 15 years to come.
    You don't know what you're talking about, not having inside information as to what RTE's strategies are... etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭Creature

Yes.
    Reeling in the Years - Great
    Everything else - Terrible

spot on, TG4 ftw. Thats what you'll see about many minority language set-ups, because they are already at a disadvantage they actually have to work hare and be edgy, rather than being lazy and having a go at it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

i will say that the news is ok though, one thing we are lucky about is that we have a fairly impartial and un-interfered-with news service.

They are far from impartial

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭It BeeMee

their gay apprentice programme

I must have missed that one.
    Did anyone become a fully qualified gay out of it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭Randi

It BeeMee wrote: »
    I must have missed that one.
    Did anyone become a fully qualified gay out of it?

i dont think so, maybe the OP doesnt like gay people and everything he doesnt like has to be gay. I hate when people use that word to describe something they dont like. its like me saying this post is so straight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

I think rte news is as boring as ****. Fair enough it might be un-interfered-with, but it's ridiculously monotonous. I couldn't possibly sit through a whole rte news programme in one go

I think someone got a contract to be gay for a year. After that they get an appraisal on how their gayness was over the previous year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Mark200 wrote: »
    I think rte news is as boring as ****. Fair enough it might be un-interfered-with, but it's ridiculously monotonous. I couldn't possibly sit through a whole rte news programme in one go
    Not enough flying graphics, NEWS ALERTS!!!@!@! and sounds effects for you?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Yes, with an absolute passion.
    Total waste of stations. Utter garbage.

Vegeta wrote: »
    They are far from impartial

I said they were fairly impartial. Actually in hindsight, I take that back.
    I think they give a fairly balanced view of world news, when compared to some of the bigger news stations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

Not enough flying graphics, NEWS ALERTS!!!@!@! and sounds effects for you?

That'd be a start

It just seems like they've all been trained to talk exactly like eachother

Well yes, there is a specific news-reading technique.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭Jay P

Look at Gerry Ryan Nob Nation for example, the just ripped off Today FM's Gift Grub!

That guy actually used to do the voices on gift grub but he had a falling out with mario rosenstock so he lefto to do his own thing. Needless to say, it was Mario who wrote the scripts on gift grub....

But yeah, RTE is pretty meh I have to say, not that I watch much tv as it is...

Dudess wrote: »
    You don't know what you're talking about, not having inside information as to what RTE's strategies are... etc.
    its obvious what their sratagies are! get a foot in the door with us on tv or radio and your here forever!! pat kenny, ryan tubirdy, ruth scott, dave fanning, gerry ryan...... need i go on. and they are all brutal personalities!

RTE is temp contract central. You DON'T necessarily get to stay there if you get your foot in the door...

I think they give a fairly balanced view of world news, when compared to some of the bigger news stations.

World views maybe, but Irish Politics? NO! they will report what is happeing, but not one repeorter will stick his neck out to embarress any politician!!! and why wouldnt they do that? because they wont bite the hand that feeds them as the goverment sets the rates of the TV license. In essence the Goverment really have RTE in their back pocket so to speak.

Dudess wrote: »
    RTE is temp contract central. You DON'T necessarily get to stay there if you get your foot in the door...

Sorry but i couldnt disagree with you anymore.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,714 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Sorry but i couldnt disagree with you anymore.

so you agree then?

copacetic wrote: »
    so you agree then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,470 ✭✭✭MOH

It's pretty dire.

Basic things I expect from a TV station:
    1. Show programs at the time they're advertised. Not 10 minutes later. Or five minutes earlier.
    2. Don't interrupt films for 30 minutes for the news.
    3. If you must interrupt films for the news, there is absolutely no reason to interrupt them for 30 minutes for bloody Telly Bingo.
    4. Don't chop off the last five minutes of a film, for no reason, then start showing it again after the next program has started.
    5. I've friends who went to the States on J1s. It's great craic hearing their stories, because I know them. I don't really care what a bunch of random strangers get up to. I didn't care last time when you sent those three eejits around the place, and I care even less now. Come up with better programmes.
    6. Give me back my license fee.

Basic things I expect from a TV station that RTE provide: 0/6.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,793 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Its a bit sh1t how we have to pay a license fee to them even though they have advertising to take revenue from. BBC manage on license fee alone. Commercial stations manage on advertising alone.
    The old argument was that we have a small population and so a tv company could never survive on the advertising rates payable. This is crap, tv3 do it (although with little home produced programmes).
    RTE run a very tight ship though obviously, Grainne Seoiges hair stylist only gets €450/show.

Sorry but i couldnt disagree with you more.

Dudess is right though. It is temp contract. I know a few people there who while they are making good money, can't afford to spend any of it because they never know when they will be out on their ear. Some people are very safe like the big name presenters but for many people working behind the camera, you never know when that next contract won't be renewed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

I don't hate it as such...I do hate being forced to hand over 160 quid a year for the privilege of putting up with the sub standard sh*te they turn out.

That said, I do think they do news and current affairs well...their sports coverage is well rounded (even if some of their commentary team/pundits are a bit grating)...they do get some of the new US prime time telly before the brits.

But, their slipshod attitude to programming and production values,t heir absolutely laughable scheduling (putting stuff on in the middle of the night whilst showing repeats at primetime evenings) their downright awful cueing/dubbing/editorial skills (cutting to ad breaks, like a child would cut with a pair of scissors), their insistence on paying excessive sums over long periods to lack lustre DJ's, presenters and other celebrity figureheads (Kenny, Ryan, Duffy, etc) because of some perceived notion that some other broadcaster in Ireland is going to usurp them and steal their figurehead, the apparent nepotism and "jobs for the boys" attitude, the seeming lack of support for homegrown talent (unless they can make a talent/phone poll show out of them), the frankly diabolical range of homegrown stuff they do turn out, most of which is a simple clone/copy of something that was successful in the UK two years back, and the whole air that surrounds 99% of everything they do just leaves a bad taste in my mouth.

I've said it before and I'll say it now: RTÉ should be made to stand on their own two feet as a business, cut the deadwood, tighten up the ship and quit relying on government backed legal powers to collect taxes from the public. That might compromise certain aspects of their public broadcasting remit, but tbh in this day and age TV and Radio is a commercially viable business, so why a whole host of people should be subsidised by the taxpayer to deliver a very average overall level of service, I really can't see.
    But of course like anything else in this country the status quo will remain and the bills will just go up...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭97i9y3941

im fed up with the amount of cooking programs rte has,same with the building ones,jaysus duncan do you ever stop building,thank christ your a star is gone,late late show is gone down alot since pat took over,he askes the obvious questions or woundnt have a controversial guests on,i found parkison on bbc more in touch with the guests,have to admit prime time investigates is good

Why do you pay for a tv licence if your paying sky digital to give you rte? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,745 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Loads of good stuff on RTE.

PrimeTime often excellent.
    Decent Arts Programmes.
    Some very good documentaries - e.g., the David Mc Williams programs, evn the Bertie ones recently.
    The PremierShip at 7.30 on a Saturday - excellent timing.
    Football coverage - Dunphs and Giles and OHerlihy still brilliant after all these years.
    Lots of American programs before they are shown on English stations.
    Excellent Aertel service - immeasurably better than BBCs effort.

Fred83 wrote: »
    i found parkison on bbc more in touch with the guests

I liked Parkinson but in the last few years he was a little too "in touch" with his guests. Sometimes he was so lovey dovey with his guests I felt like a voyeur for watching.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

RTE does some things well and some things badly.

Main presenters are paid way way way over the going rate,and don't give me the advertising revenue crap.

It seems to me to be a fcukin coterie of punters who stroke each other, and the peripheral media types who gain their "fame" by being liggers and blaggers who use the State broadcaster as a free vehicle to promote their wares facilitated by their mates who are subsidised by US

Needs a good fcukin flush out and the fat pigs who slurp at the groaning trough of our taxes need to be told to peddle their wares on the open market or accept reality.

Never a better time than this:eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Roadend

RTE does some things well and some things badly.

RTE should never ever attempt to make or comission a comedy programme ever again. The Lynch tripe got not one but two series.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭Papad

Yes, I dislike RTE instensely.
    I'm out foreign and they don't allow us to watch The Panel on their "RTE" website. When I asked them why not (after paying their heidious licensing fees for years), a spokesperson gave me some mumbojumbo about music copyrights. I understand why they don't allow us to watch sports, but "The Panel". Feck them. Feck them right in the ear.

i couldnt disagree with you anymore.
    Why? You're basing your comments on a handful of well-known presenters. These, and the benefits and security they enjoy, are not representative of all RTE staff and are not typical examples of RTE recruitment policies... by a long shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭KingLoser

Only suckers pay the license fee...

Upstanding members of society: Suckers.
    People who let the inspector see their TV: Suckers.
    Devoted financial fans of RTÉ: Suckers.

Papad wrote: »
    Yes, I dislike RTE instensely.
    I'm out foreign and they don't allow us to watch The Panel on their "RTE" website. When I asked them why not (after paying their heidious licensing fees for years), a spokesperson gave me some mumbojumbo about music copyrights. I understand why they don't allow us to watch sports, but "The Panel". Feck them. Feck them right in the ear.

so because of the stone roses "waterfall" *thats the theme tune of the panel*,is the reason your not allowed to watch it :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Just like to add that if it were down to me I'd sooner give the BBC their license fee, since they offer so much more in terms of value for money (and I watch/listen to a lot more of their output than I do RTÉ's), excellent radio, world class website, niche programming, well presented news, past pedigree particularly WRT comedy, no adverts apart from their own promos...the list goes on. I know all the arguments as regards bigger UK population equals more license revenue etc. but I don't feel this excuses RTÉ's overall standard of output...

Wertz wrote: »
    I know all the arguments as regards bigger UK population equals more license revenue etc.
    So you're just going to ignore this arguement?

im surprised the over paranoid e.u has intervened in all this,i mean sky and tv3 have often mumbled about rtes unfair advantage of having gov funding along with tv licence to pay for rte,therefore it could be classed as unfair competition?

so because of the stone roses "waterfall" *thats the theme tune of the panel*,is the reason your not allowed to watch it :confused:
    No. While you're correct that this song is the theme tune to The PAnel, the use of other music within the show causes major copywrite probelms when broadcasting over the internet. The same issues were holding Reeling in the years from going to DVD for sooo long. Only now do we have Reeling 80's - not 60's, 70's or 90's

The best bit about RTE is Mark Little's voice. Heard it in Wagamama one day in person, its very nice.

im surprised the over paranoid e.u has intervened in all this,i mean sky and tv3 have often mumbled about rtes unfair advantage of having gov funding along with tv licence to pay for rte,therefore it could be classed as unfair competition?
    WoW. mate you need to do your homework before you post. RTE do not get other govt funding along with the licence fee. TV3 get a % of the licence fee due to the Broadcasting Act. TV3 are a commercial station with no public service remit and are ownd by a multi billion dollar private equity firm. Sky have never moaned about RTE recieving the licence fee. As RTE is a public broadcaster - they are technically not in direct competition with TV3 or Sky as they are commercial stations.