Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Targets - The big 8

• 14-11-2008 10:29am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭

Runners of a certain standard aspire to the following targets, nice round numbers...

1 mile - 5 mins
    3k - 10 mins
    5k - 20 mins
    5miles - 30 mins
    10k - 40 mins
    10miles - 1 hour
    Half Marathon - 90 mins
    Marathon - 3 hours

for females, perhaps

1 mile - 6 mins
    3k - 12 mins
    5k - 25 mins
    5miles - 40 mins
    10k - 50 mins
    10miles - 80 mins
    Half Marathon - 2 hours
    Marathon - 4 hours

Have you completed the set? Or have you other targets?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭christeb

I'm at least 12 months away from ANY of them...I do wish I could get a sex change though - I'd be able for the female times. Although I've never gone out fresh and tried to beat 1 mile, maybe I'll do that over the weekend...

Have you completed all 8 RF?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

Club runners of a certain standard aspire to the following targets, nice round numbers...

1 mile - 5 mins
    3k - 10 mins
    5k - 20 mins
    5miles - 30 mins
    10k - 40 mins
    10miles - 1 hour
    Half Marathon - 90 mins
    Marathon - 3 hours

for females, perhaps

1 mile - 6 mins
    3k - 12 mins
    5k - 25 mins
    5miles - 40 mins
    10k - 50 mins
    10miles - 80 mins
    Half Marathon - 2 hours
    Marathon - 4 hours

Not to be too harsh but club runners don't aspire to those targets. Way too slow, at least the male ones. More realistic targets for club runners are

1 mile - 5 mins
    3k - 9:30 mins
    5k - 17:30 mins
    5miles - 27:30 mins
    10k - 36 mins
    10miles - 55 minutes
    Half Marathon - 1:14 mins
    Marathon - 2:45 hours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭gaf1983

How do people generally go around reaching those targets? Would you concentrate on them one by one - i.e. focus on the 5 minute mile for ages, then once you get that move onto the 10 minute 3km?

Do you know of any online training programmes that should get you achieving all eight?

Just to clarify those times are for a slow club runner before cfitz has a fitz.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 413 ✭✭zenmonk

I ran a 6.30 min mile once! and a 5k in 20.30 mins
    Jesus those times are fast!!
    Well maybe not if your running all your life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭MCOS

tunney wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭Peckham

Big variance in those targets - a 60 minute 10 mile is a very high standard, much more difficult to achieve than a 90 minute half marathon.

At the same time, wouldn't call them as a "slow" club runner.

tunney - the standards you've mentioned, they'd presumably be for a very good club runner rather than a run-of-the-mill club runner?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭cfitz

1 mile - 5 mins
    10k - 36 mins
    10miles - 55 minutes

Ah I'm not far enough under them to be passing remarks :)

I'd be delighted to run the 10 mile and half marathon times that you put down. (I've never raced those distances though so no-one can say I couldn't do them :p)

I'd say the 17:30 5k would be the easiest for a lot of people.

I've seen the tem 'club runner' used in books, but I'm not sure of what exactly is meant by it. In Ireland anyway, there is a very wide range of club runners that aren't close to international/professional standard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

Not to be too harsh but club runners don't aspire to those targets. Way too slow, at least the male ones. More realistic targets for club runners are

1 mile - 5 mins
    10k - 36 mins
    10miles - 55 minutes

All depends on the standard of the club runner I suppose. I have team mates who would be delighted with these times. Others would run these times in training.

A friend of mine (female 2'53' marathoner) once gave me this little checklist when I told her I wanted to break 3'30. I can safely say I knocked them all off the list and recently did 3'27' at Dublin. This little list was a decent reference for me because I distinctly remember the confidence boost of knocking the 10m off, the half off and knew I was in good shape for the marathon goal. Its also an interesting way to track where you are at. For example if you have achieved everything below 10m but are way off over 10m you could probably focus more on base training etc... In my case I got all of them up to 10m easy enough but had to work really hard for the last 3!

The point is its a nice set of benchmarks to have. I also plugged 3hrs into the calculator and it brought up a set not too far off RF's checklist above. So here is the link, go ahead and create a checklist to a new PB for yourself!

http://www.runnersworld.com/cda/trainingcalculator/

My Checklist for cracking 3'30'

Mile 6'33
    3k 12'40
    5k 21'40
    5m 36'
    10k 45'
    10m 1'15'00
    1/2M 1'40'00
    M 3'29'00

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

For a moment I thought I had a couple of those 5m, 10k, 10m times beaten. :D

Then I realised I was looking at the females list. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

Club runners of a certain standard aspire to the following targets, nice round numbers...

1 mile - 5 mins
    3k - 10 mins

5k - 20 mins
    5miles - 30 mins
    10k - 40 mins
    10miles - 1 hour
    Half Marathon - 90 mins
    Marathon - 3 hours

for females, perhaps

1 mile - 6 mins
    3k - 12 mins
    5k - 25 mins
    5miles - 40 mins
    10k - 50 mins
    10miles - 80 mins
    Half Marathon - 2 hours
    Marathon - 4 hours

I've ran the first 2 , Hope to someday Go sub 30 for 5 mile and 40 for 10k..

Mile 4'45
    3k 9:42
    5k Never raced until this year 24 mins , want to go sub 20.
    5m 31' 1995 i think.
    10k never raced'
    10m never raced
    1/2M never raced
    M 4+

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭christeb

robinph wrote: »
    For a moment I thought I had a couple of those 5m, 10k, 10m times beaten. :D

Then I realised I was looking at the females list. :(

Funny!

I'll start on it this weekend by knocking off a hugely wind assisted 5 min mile.

Peckham wrote: »
    Big variance in those targets - a 60 minute 10 mile is a very high standard, much more difficult to achieve than a 90 minute half marathon.

At the same time, wouldn't call them as a "slow" club runner.

tunney - the standards you've mentioned, they'd presumably be for a very good club runner rather than a run-of-the-mill club runner?

Back of pack club runner. An average/slow club runner. Fast club runners would be alot higher.

No way are those "back of pack" times...

A 2:45 in this year's marathon would have you in the top-30 Irish finishers!

A 1:14 in the national half marathon championships would have you in the top-25!

Really? Was it a hilly half marathon course?

Disagree with you there slightly. Obviously top club runners will go quicker. However for the remainder I think you are overestimating the dept of talent in most AAI clubs. For example, only 25 runners went quicker than 74 minutes this year in the national half marathon. Similarly only about 70 went quicker than 36 minutes in the national 10k road race.

My mistake then, I thought the standard was higher.

I'd agree with you about the depth in Irish running and I think also a lot of the top guys don't run half-marathon/marathon so the depth is even less there. However that National 10k Road race figure probably isn't representative - I'd say there's 70 juniors in the country that can go under 36 minutes in any given year.

cfitz wrote: »
    However that National 10k Road race figure probably isn't representative - I'd say there's 70 juniors in the country that can go under 36 minutes in any given year.

I thought we were talking about senior club runners.

You may be also overestimating the dept in the junior ranks also though. If you consider only 57 Juniors took part in this years national Junior cross country. I'm sure the majority of them could run 36 minutes though I suppose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭aburke

1 mile - 5 mins
    3k - 10 mins
    [x] 5k - 20 mins
    [x] 5miles - 30 mins
    [x] 10k - 40 mins
    10miles - 1 hour
    [x] Half Marathon - 90 mins
    [x] Marathon - 3 hours

Nearly there.
    I ran very close to 5:00 for a mile on a damp sand track, and only ever raced 3000m over steeplechase [once].

That 10 miler time sticks out like a sore thumb - It seems much harder than the rest. I got to 62 and change, but no closer.
    Roll on Ballycotton!

On Tunneys standards - I have the 5km time and very close to the 10km time. Not close on the rest at all. Probably due to the fact I race these distances much more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,549 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

I know the intent is good, but it's this kind of thread would put off people like myself from ever joining a club. Particularly when I see the 'back of the pack' times. Is it any wonder that Irish athletic clubs are in decline, if they target the top 5-10% of the field?

Roll-on Boards AC!!

Mine are as follows:

1 mile - 5 mins (Never tried, but this would be a struggle!)
    3k - 10 mins (Never tried, may be achieveable)
    [x] 5k - 20 mins (did 18 and a bit in a road race)
    [x] 5miles - 30 mins (29:55 Raheny 2007)
    10k - 40 mins (Never raced 10k, but could do this! ;) )
    10miles - 1 hour (Way too quick for me, 66mins in 2007)
    [x] Half Marathon - 90 mins (Yes)
    [x] Marathon - 3 hours (Just about! :rolleyes: )

....am nowhere near any of the targets Tunney mentioned!

I thought we were talking about senior club runners.

You may be also overestimating the dept in the junior ranks also though. If you consider only 57 Juniors took part in this years national Junior cross country. I'm sure the majority of them could run 36 minutes though I suppose

We are talking about seniors, I was just making the point that if loads of juniors can do it surely a lot more seniors could. I may be overestimating the depth in our junior ranks. Also, a lot of them might not be doing the mileage necessary for a good 10k. But if you look at the Irish junior ranking list for 3000m this Summer you'll see about 40 names that I think would hammer 36 minutes.

I know the intent is good, but it's this kind of thread would put off people like myself from ever joining a club. Particularly when I see the 'back of the pack' times. Is it any wonder that Irish athletic clubs are in decline, if they target the top 5-10% of the field?

Roll-on Boards AC!!

Without getting too big-headed, I would be in the top 5-10 in our club [if fit :-)]. We have over 120 members.
    The times quoted certainly don't reflect the 'back-of-the-pack' in Athenry AC.
    We welcome people at all levels- and the only standard is that you enjoy running. [Sounds a bit like Boards AC, no?]

I can vouch that other clubs, in Galway at least, pay no heed to standards. If you want to run, regardless of speed, you'll be more than welcome.

Alan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭Stupid_Private

I wouldn't say they're back of the pack times but just because the standard in Ireland is low doesn't make the times great.

In England to take part in the club marathon championships the slowest time you can have is a 2:45 marathon or a 1:15 half.

In France the qualifying times for the 10k road championships, half championships and marathon championships are
    34 minutes
    1 hour 14 minutes
    2 hours 40 minutes (not 100% sure on this one, may be 2:45)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 413 ✭✭zenmonk

Roll-on Boards AC!!

Absolutely, I ran alot when I was in my twenties but as I took it up late and wouldn't be naturally fit I never made the pace of the other runners or really felt part of my club.
    Sure I could keep up on the 10 mile runs with the non elites at 8 min pace but come race day I was well behind. I finished last in a cross country novice race and felt a bit duped by the coach who said I would be well able for it, I was no where near the pace required (my race pace was under 7 mins per mile). I did a good few road races with the club and these were great because there were people my own level and slower competing but I never ran xcountry again.
    Unless you can race around 6.15-6.30 per mile stay well away from cross country races as they don't have the general appeal of road races.
    Clubs are good to train with if you can find a club that accomodates your level but don't go near one unless you are 7 min per mile or better IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

zenmonk wrote: »
    Absolutely, I ran alot when I was in my twenties but as I took it up late and wouldn't be naturally fit I never made the pace of the other runners or really felt part of my club.
    Sure I could keep up on the 10 mile runs with the non elites at 8 min pace but come race day I was well behind. I finished last in a cross country novice race and felt a bit duped by the coach who said I would be well able for it, I was no where near the pace required (my race pace was under 7 mins per mile). I did a good few road races with the club and these were great because there were people my own level and slower competing but I never ran xcountry again.
    Unless you can race around 6.15-6.30 per mile stay well away from cross country races as they don't have the general appeal of road races.
    Clubs are good to train with if you can find a club that accomodates your level but don't go near one unless you are 7 min per mile or better IMO.
    I wouldnt agree with that totally, i think most clubs have standards from 5 min miles to 10 min milers. I was looking at a few clubs early in the year and all were open to this.
    On the CC running it does tend to have a higher class field then your normal 10k road race , But I wouldnt advise people to stay clear of them if you enjoy it run it.

Roll-on Boards AC!!

I totally agree with you. Having said that not many people in my club could meet some of the times stated. I hope Boards AC woks out for you, but if not don't be afraid to join physical (instead of a virtual) club. I know of loads that are crying out for members of all standards.

zenmonk wrote: »
    I finished last in a cross country novice race and felt a bit duped by the coach who said I would be well able for it, I was no where near the pace required (my race pace was under 7 mins per mile).
    Someone always has to be last.
    I have been 2nd last at Senior Interclubs,
    Bottom 10 another year.
    My claim to fame is setting a 5km PB in the national league in Tullamore, while finishing last.
    Was 2nd last in a Steeplechase too.

I'll probably be last or thereabouts at the Senior Inter clubs this year too.
    No big deal.
    I'll be well up the field in Ballycotton a week or two later.

Your coach was technically right - you were up to the standard, just at the other end of the scale.

In some ways, I've learned to love the races where I finish down the pack.
    You get a sense of perspective of your abilities, gain a bit of humility.
    No harm.
    Alan

aburke wrote: »
    ...gain a bit of humility.No harm.
    Alan
    Most of us are coming from the side of the fence where we have too much humility ('iation!) and need encouragement. :) I never ran in my youth at all (was never offered the opportunity, and never pursued it on my own initiative), but now greatly regret it, as it has become such a huge part of my regular life now.

My goals now, are to break into the top 10% of mainstream events, which I've done in Donadea, and just missed out in Dublin Marathon (10.35% or something similar), and also to get that all important Boston qualifier. Athletics clubs should be for those who are greatly improving, not just those who are great! Good to hear the Galway clubs are such inclined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,549 ✭✭✭plodder

I totally agree with you. Having said that not many people in my club could meet some of the times stated. I hope Boards AC woks out for you, but if not don't be afraid to join physical (instead of a virtual) club. I know of loads that are crying out for members of all standards.
    I was just looking at the results of the Raheny 5 mile race this year. It's interesting because it shows the club affilations of all runners. If you look at the runners who finished just under 30 min, less than half are associated with a club, and the numbers drop fairly dramatically after that. Beyond the 34 minute level, there are very few club runners involved.

I've always been amazed that clubs don't make an effort to try and recruit more of these people.

What is the problem? Is it that (Dublin) city clubs aren't interested in non elite athletes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Racing Flat

Roll-on Boards AC!!

As the OP that was the exact opposite intention of the thread, so apologies. Meant to 'motivate' to give food for thought for setting targets post marathon.

Maybe if I had explained this more, or Tunney had read the OP this would have been avoided. I distinctly said club runners of a certain standard, as obviously better club runners can do these at ease. The other point is that the numbers are so round - break 3 or 4 hours for a marathon is more satisfying for most than 2.55 or 3.55. Similarly 20 mins for 5k is a real mark to go for that people understand...

1 mile - 5 mins
    10k - 36 mins
    10miles - 55 minutes

Don't really have the same ring to them do they? When you're sitting in the pub in 50 years talking about running, no one is going to say, 'Did you ever break 74mins for the half', are they? But if you say 'I ran a 5 mile in 30 mins' it might mean more. Once you've broken the round number ones, well then you'll set new targets, obviously.

These posts are both ill-informed and elitist, as some others have indicated. Maybe the problem is with the lack of definition of a club runner. But go to many clubs and you'll get fellows who can go under 15mins for 5k and 2.30 for the marathon etc., but you'll also get fellows just under 30mins and 5 hours for those distances, respectively - look up any of the club websites for Dublin marathon results and you'll see a massive range.

Krusty, if you were at my club this week, you'd have had an option of runnning with fellows at close to 5 minute mile pace for 4 miles in one group, or could have joined another group (split into subgroups) for a 10mile in times ranging from 65mins to 80mins - if this was too fast for you, you would have had the option of curtailing the 10 mile at 5 or 7 miles. If that was still too fast you could have gone to do a few laps of a field where there would be older fellows, fellows coming back from injury, meet and train girls doing walking and running, so something for all paces. And you'd be running with the club, so we'd call you a club runner. You'd be respected for your own times and goals and encouraged and helped to improve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

When I use the term "club runner" I tend to mean someone at the sharper end of ability. I don't know where I picked this up. Talking about the more mid-pack runner like myself, I would tend to say someone who is a member of a club. Technically not different nomenclature but means something different in my head.

For example, I would say 3 hours for a marathon is something any runner could aim at. sub 2:45 is starting to move into good "club runner" terrotory for me.

Regardless of the absolutes, I don't think women need 33% more time than men e.g. 3 versus 4 hour marathon.

plodder wrote: »
    I've always been amazed that clubs don't make an effort to try and recruit more of these people.

What is the problem? Is it that (Dublin) city clubs aren't interested in non elite athletes?

Not at all. All clubs will want as many members as possible to increase income from membership fees. I'd say it's more a case of these runners are not interested in athletics clubs, rather than the other way around. Anytime we are out running, if we see someone running who is not affiliated to a club we will invite them up to the club, some take us up on the invite, many don't...

I was just looking at the results of the Raheny 5 mile race this year. It's interesting because it shows the club affilations of all runners. If you look at the runners who finished just under 30 min, less than half are associated with a club, and the numbers drop fairly dramatically after that. Beyond the 34 minute level, there are very few club runners involved.

Are you sure they don't make an effort to recruit these people?

When I use the term "club runner" I tend to mean someone at the sharper end of ability. I don't know where I picked this up. Talking about the more mid-pack runner like myself, I would tend to say someone who is a member of a club. Technically not different nomenclature but means something different in my head.

Ditto.

Since I realised that not everyone shares the same interpretation of the term (back on page two) I've been racking my brains where I heard such a term and why I believe it to mean what I do. Can't figure it out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭thirtyfoot

Far from it. As Racing Flat has said you'd be pleasantly surprised if you decided to join a club. Up and down the country there are "non-elite" athletes in the clubs. In my eyes there are 16 elite irish athletes and 1 triathlete and they were in Beijing, the rest of us are mere club athletes whether you run a 10k in 50mins or a 100m in 10.70. Elite gets bandied about too easily I think.

Jaysus, when getting changed in the dressing rooms in Santry on a weeknight if you said "lads, did you realise we are elite", the young lads would ask "whats elite" and not realise that since they are junior international they could possibly be considered elite while the ould lads would probably have a seizure due to the excessive laughter:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

Runners of a certain standard aspire to the following targets, nice round numbers...

1 mile - 5 mins
    3k - 10 mins
    5k - 20 mins
    5miles - 30 mins
    10k - 40 mins
    10miles - 1 hour
    Half Marathon - 90 mins
    Marathon - 3 hours

I'll be using these to help me improve over 09, so much appreciated RF. I had been using a guide from Bruce Tullohs book running is easy, it's a 100 steps, I have it saved as a jpeg, not sure if I'm allowed to put it up though?.
    I'm currently at 52, which is to run 5 in 35 mins.

These posts are both ill-informed and elitist, as some others have indicated.

'Elitism' gets very bad press on this forum :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,549 ✭✭✭plodder

Not at all. All clubs will want as many members as possible to increase income from membership fees. I'd say it's more a case of these runners are not interested in athletics clubs, rather than the other way around. Anytime we are out running, if we see someone running who is not affiliated to a club we will invite them up to the club, some do, many don't...
    I think races would be a good time to do that as well. You get loads of people handing out flyers for races, but never for clubs. That's what I've found strange. And then you have the really big mass-participation races, surely the AAI could do something there, to encourage people to join a club.

There is definitely a perception out there that they cater more for the elite end of the scale (even if that isn't true). I'm not a member of a club myself, and I've thought about joining one, but just never got round to it. I've only been running for 4 years anyway ...

Ditto.

Since I realised that not everyone shares the same interpretation of the term (back on page two) I've been racking my brains where I heard such a term and why I believe it to mean what I do. Can't figure it out.

My bad, writing club runner in the op - have amended now! To me club runner is anyone who runs at a club, but I'd say most people probably go with the Brendan Foster version, ie when commenting on the BUPA 10k once it gets to around 33mins he'll say ' now you've all the club runners coming in', but I'm not sure when the 'club runners' get replaced by 'fun runners'...Maybe a club runner is someone who's not elite, but is still a good runner - but elite and good runner are all relative:confused:

Well the 'elitism' on this thread (as I perceived it anyway) put people off going to a club. Does that not deserve bad press?

I'm all for elitism and trying to be as good as you can and think people should have high expectations, but it shouldn't be used in such a way that it puts people off in my opinion. In times gone by there was a sub 40 group in Dublin where you could only train with the group if you ran under 40mins for 10k. I think that's ridiculous. Let everyone come to training and the faster ones can group up together and the slower ones can go together.

Everyone loves Elites, but Elitism... Whole different ball-game. :D
    Elitism is the viewpoint that only those who are elites should be allowed to air their views.

I also didn't say there was anything wrong with clubs with very high standards, just that I wouldn't be able to join them. But if all clubs had extremely high standards, there would be no growth, only decline, as everyone has to start somewhere.

My bad, writing club runner in the op - have amended now! To me club runner is anyone who runs at a club, but I'd say most people probably go with the Brendan Foster version, ie when commenting on the BUPA 10k once it gets to around 33mins he'll say ' now you've all the club runners coming in', but I'm not sure when the 'club runners' get replaced by 'fun runners'...Maybe a club runner is someone who's not elite, but is still a good runner - but elite and good runner are all relative:confused:

Ok, well I think Racing Flat is a bit upset that his post was dragged off topic, so lets get back to the original question. I've never ran a 10 mile race or further so I'll leave those out and I'll refer to both Racing Flat and Tunney's lists:

1 mile - 5 mins

Haven't run many 1 mile races so when I broke this barrier it wasn't very significant as I'd already run faster than 4:30 for 1500m

3k - 10 mins

When I was on my first track season when I was 15 I went fairly close to 10 minutes so the following year I was dying to break it. Early in the season I got close a few times and I was getting a bit frustrated. Then in the Leinster U-17 championships I got my first Leinster track medal with a second place finish and was delighted to find out I ran 9:50.

5k - 20 mins

All my 5ks would have been much faster than this.

5miles - 30 mins

Not sure about this one, didn't take too long to reach it anyway.

10k - 40 mins

I ran the 10k in the community games but I didn't get my times. I'd say they were below 40 minutes.

1 mile - 5 mins

I ran 4:29 in the Leinster Junior 1500m I think. I remember breaking 4:30 for 1500m was a milestone for me anyway.

This is one of my favourite running memories. It was in the heats of the Irish Universities Indoors and I was 18 years old I think. My pb was 9:45 from the same race the year before and I'd never qualified through a heat ever! The race was quite controlled and I just stayed with the top group without thinking about times. When it sped up I faded from 3rd back to 5th but I held on at the end to take the final fastest loser spot by less than a hundreth of a second. And I knocked 19 seconds off my pb to run 9:26.

This one came easily to me, I remember running a 5000m schools race and being disappointed that my time was over 17 minutes.

Not sure when I broke this but I've run faster through 10k races anyway.

10k - 36 mins

I remember running 36:59 when I was about 17/18 but I think it was ages until I ran another 10k - maybe I only officialy broke 36 minutes relatively recently. But I would have run faster in cross-country at times.

1. 5k - 20 mins
    2. Half Marathon - 90 mins
    3. 10k - 40 mins
    4. 5miles - 30 mins
    5. 1 mile - 5 mins
    6. 3k - 10 mins
    7. Marathon - 3 hours
    8. 10miles - 1 hour

Only the 3k in 10mins left to do.

Well the 'elitism' on this thread (as I perceived it anyway) put people off going to a club. Does that not deserve bad press?

I'm with you on this. The funny thing is most elite (internationals in my scale of things) Irish athletes I know (less than 5 if I'm honest) do not display the amount of elitism sometimes bandied around on some of the threads here. I think this ties in with what Tinge has said.

I think you have to be careful when you grade runners as slow etc. At the end of the day its all relative.

Getting back to Peckhams OP. I would agree with most your times. If I sat in a pub and met a guy and spat out those times as his PBs. I'd say to myself, this guy is a very decent runner.

The funny thing is most elite (internationals in my scale of things) Irish athletes I know (less than 5 if I'm honest) do not display the amount of elitism sometimes bandied around on some of the threads here.

+1.

The first night I went to a club, I nearly killed myself trying to stay with a group doing 10miles in about 70mins. Afterwards I got talking to a fellow and he asked me what we did, when I explained wide eyed that we did 10miles in 70, he just said, 'Ya, those lads go at a fair clip'. It was a few weeks before I realised he can go under 48 for 10 miles. A few months after that though when I asked him what it was like running in a race with Bekele and he said 'Your guess is as good as mine - I was so far back it was like being in a different race.' I suppose that might keep you from getting too up yourself alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭Stupid_Private

It's off the topic of the thread but I feel equipped to answer this after only returning back to Dublin recently and going on the hunt for a club. I mailed and/or trained with 5 different clubs in Dublin.

One club told me there was no organisation to the mens team. I was just down at the club enquirinig and got talking to one of the women's team.
    Two clubs that I trained with had seperate trainings for the senior team and the other members which I thought was a bit crap. No one that I talked to knew when or where they trained.
    One club mailed me back and asked me for my times in 10k races this year so they could put me in an appropriate group. I replied with 34 minutes and I never heard back from them.
    One club didn't appear to have offer any coaching advice to anyone that wasn't one of the top top guys. You just went down, did your own thing and went home.
    The last club mailed me with a full break down on how there club works, the coaching involved, what I could expect, the various levels they cater for, and said they'd love to have me join. I never mentioned my times to them, just that I was looking for a club. That's the club I joined.

So my personal experience of finding a club in Dublin was fairly crap to be honest.

Just to draw a comparison with another 'amateur' sport if I may. Rowing.

All rowers in the country (ok the vast majority) are club rowers. That is they are affiliated with a Club. Even if you have your own scull and just tip away leisurely you have to house it somewhere, usually affiliating with some club. However a 'club rower' could be perceived as a club standard rower, that is someone who competes up and down the country and peaks at the national championships. Do well and you could be in the International development or selection fold. You are now at National standard. Get selected and represent at major events and you are Elite. Maybe this is a bit of a simplistic viewpoint but its one I have to use as I have never been an athletics club member. The difference with running is how many unaffiliated runners there are out there and quite a few who are a decent standard. So a club runner is someone who joins a club and competes nationally for the club. If they are winning national champs or winning their categories are they not Elite club runners.

The point is that the Elite of any club will be at or close to international standards and being so few in numbers (points about depth taken on board) is why they are called and referred to as Elite. I know quite a few International athletes and none of them would even consider themselves Elite because they are looking at the really really Elite... Olympic gold medallists et al.

The rest of us are club athletes, and just as there are different level of Elites, there are different levels of Club athletes. So as RR and RF say its all relative. There is always someone faster than you!

So getting back to the OP I'll go for that set of 8, I've got the 5k one in training but I have to agree with Peckham.. the 10 mile one si going to be a reach ;)