Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whats the funniest name you've ever heard?

• 12-11-2008 5:40pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭

I honestly used to have a boss in a utiilities company called Dick Short. Best part was that at times I had to give out his email address over the phones.It was [EMAIL="shortdick@....ie"]shortdick@....ie[/EMAIL]

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

That email doesnt exist :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

had a teacher called tina hunt. I asked her how her brother mike was keeping and she did actually have a brother called mike. Mike hunt just say it out loud

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

seanybiker wrote: »
    had a teacher called tina hunt. I asked her how her brother mike was keeping and she did actually have a brother called mike. Mike hunt just say it out loud

I don't get it. It's too cryptic. Stop messing with our heads man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Irish rugby league player

wayne kerr

Karoma wrote: »
    I don't get it. It's too cryptic. Stop messing with our heads man.
    lol thats not cryptic at all. Shout mike hunt at someone and see what they do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Stupid Face McBollocksinhismouth. Sounds fake I know...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭Sofa_King Good

Had an aunt called Evelyn, who married a Mr Devlin...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,696 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

there was a girl in my school called Imah Hoare....no messin:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

i knew a woman whose surname was 'horlicker'

its sarcasam. U fail at reading it young man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

Willy Stroker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

I did. They look as puzzled as I feel. It's too damn cryptic. Explain it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭starflake

Peter Mycock.... swear to god.. Had a fella called Ronald McDonald as a customer in work and a Michael Jackson...oh and Pat McCogg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭PurpleBerry

Teacher John Bates. Or, Master Bates to all the little 8 year olds :D

bluto63 wrote: »
    Willy Stroker

Ah yes! good old Willie

what were his parents thinking ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Dancor

Micky Phelan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭FruitLover

Got some low-flying aircraft around your area tonight?

there a knacker in waterford called martin luther flynn. A few elvis' around aswell

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

my brother works with a bloke called austin power

Was just about to post same thing. Ha ha
    Brother used to work in abb with a lad called austin power

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

the best one is still that student in UL about ten years ago, Aenus Boyle.

although, as a teenager i was with a french bird on holidays called Fanny. thought that was bad until i found out her surname was "Dupis"
    Fanny Dupis. nice.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Karoma wrote: »
    I did. They look as puzzled as I feel. It's too damn cryptic. Explain it.

Well you see, Mike Hunt is actually a man from America who used to import cigars, tobacco, etc into Europe. His first dealings were circa 1948, 3 years after the end of WW2. At this time there was a shortage of general tobacco type products, as most of the importation companies were still struggling to gain revenue after the war.
    Mr Hunt, a well known businessman from kenneticut, saw a gap in the market and ran importing ships to and from the port of Chasapeake Bay. His initial port was on the southern tip of England, a big enough populous resided to test his "importation business". Many of the local residents bought tobacco products from him. Obviously, as these were general imports, the quality was somewhat different to the standard the locals were used to. After a period of around 3 months, many of his inital customers started getting sick. It turned out that the tobacco had begun to rot, and bacteria multiply. From this, people were very upset at him, obviously. Whenever he came into the port, people would shout out "You Cunt". After a while he was forced out of business and needed to keep residence in America.

This is why when shouting it out, you are offending someone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭Wurly

I've a few.

I used to deal with a guy called Gay Rodgers. I worked with a dude in Australia called Sonny Day. Also, my boss in Australia was Catherine Badcock!! ha ha

My mothers friends are called Paul and Pauline Pew. Guess what they called their daughter? PAULA! F*ckin eejits.

All true!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭Sofa_King Good

I remember seeing a article in an email of 2 people who shouldn't have been allowed have kids call their son Drew Peacock

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭abitlonely

Almost all my college exams had Prof. Ronald McDonald credited on them.
    Also, Gay Horan & Ulick McGee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Shacklebolt

I also knew a Mike Hunt! Hes dead now though...

My aunt knows a Richard Head (Dick Head)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

Anel Blower.

Seriously (from South Africa).

or that famous irish same sex couple

'michael fitzpatrick' and 'patrick fitzmichael'

I rode a girl called,

olivia phelan good.

when i was done she was

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

Mary Hickey
    Isaac Weir
    Roger Meoff

Black girl called, Mia black - hunt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

snyper wrote: »
    Black girl called, Mia black - hunt

There is an Amanda Black Hunt on facebook.....Someone should tell her....She has kids for ****s sake.....all the little black hunts are offending people without even knowing it!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭Deliverance XXV

Apparently there's a chap on Facebook who's name is Richard Ramsbottom. And we all know Dick is short for Richard... Jaysus I'd say school were some tough years for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭neil_hosey

not rude or anything, but me da used to work with a guy called gregory shakeshaft. I always found the name funny!

:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Orange69

Longrod Von Hugendong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 764 ✭✭✭xbox36016

got to be brain o brain

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭camel toe

purvis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 792 ✭✭✭bigpinkelephant

By any chance does your brother work in a university? We had a lecturer of the same name!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

There is a Gordon Bennett managing a supermarket around me

There is a woman who married Martin Lesley, the all blacks coach. Her name is now Lesley Lesley

had german friend in ireland called 'Lothar' and the lads used to call him 'silk cut' :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,789 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Cliodhna Ramsbottom

Apparently there's a chap on Facebook who's name is Richard Ramsbottom. And we all know Dick is short for Richard... Jaysus I'd say school were some tough years for him.

the inn in the park pub in harolds cross is owned by john ramsbottom

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Parsley

My friend's dad, who was on the 1973 Limerick hurling team that won the all-ireland - Willie Moore.

Either that or Joey Joe Joe Junior Shabadu.

marcsignal wrote: »
    had german friend in ireland called 'Lothar' and the lads used to call him 'silk cut' :D
    there is a surname in athlone called fagg.
    Lothar fagg would be a healthy name

By any chance does your brother work in a university? We had a lecturer of the same name!

no, a well known insurance company that recently changed its name to a swiss city

There is an Amanda Black Hunt on facebook.....Someone should tell her....She has kids for ****s sake.....all the little black hunts are offending people without even knowing it!!!
    Ha ha ha thats the funniest post ever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭APM

worked with a guy called Tim Goodenough, thought that was a well funny name

• Closed Accounts Posts: 792 ✭✭✭bigpinkelephant

no, a well known insurance company that recently changed its name to a swiss city

I know them, they do my car insurance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭m3llowship

I work in a call centre so there are a few good ones!

My favourite are a two families in the same county in Ireland who are all customers of the company I work for. Surname for one family is Blood and the other is Cripp..... they both live on the same street to.

It cracks me up whenever either one call in!

Think I might tell them they are being smack talked by each other.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭abitlonely

Dean Windass almost funny